Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody been to mayfair yet??

• 25-05-2005 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭

just wondering whats its like fancy a change and its closer to me than the fitz, anybody been down there whats the turnout like for tournies and whats the place like in general pros and cons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I was in town for a pint last Monday, and decided to check out there €10 tourney for the craic, registering at 8.30pm.

Turned up, 8.20pm, ...... No-One else there, not one !

In fairness, it was the first night, but 'leapfrog' or whatever the " hard working girl's " name was who was in charge of marketing it better get the finger out !!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Culchie wrote:
    Turned up, 8.20pm, ...... No-One else there, not one !

So you won it...nice,what was the prize fund your own 10 euro back :D

No, it was a €1K Guaranteed , so I did win !

Gonna stick the winnings on AC Milan as well ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

I stumbled in on Saturday night. The bouncer a complete di*k wouldn't let my mates in, we were fairly well on. I started muttering on about your one Leapfrog off some website, he let me in but he was in stitches.
    Went upstairs €70 to play Texas, this is at half three Sunday morning.
    A bit steep so, I went home, looked a bit of a muppet.
    But I too was well on so didnt care.

Culchie wrote:
    Gonna stick the winnings on AC Milan as well ! ;)

No point in just handing it over to the bookie on a long shot ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭dsab

Just as a quick note. Went into the Mayfair last nite for the Freeroll. 14 people were in it. At the end they gave away 2 Tickets to the monthly 100, 50 for third and 20 for fourth.

Standard of play was quite good for a freeroll, at least not an all in festival.

Format was 1000 Starting Chips, rebuys were 1000 as well, and Top-Up 1500.
    they provided two dealers, not sure if that`s the standard for the freeroll.

90 minutes rebuy with two levels of 45 mins. 50/100 and 100/200. After that freezeout with blinds going up every 20 minutes.

All in all enjoyable way to spend 3 hours, especially as I won one of the tickets. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I was there last tuesday for the €30 freezeout. Tournament was structured pretty well. Standard of play was variable to say the least, but not great overall. There were only 16 runners I think, so it was fairly quite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bigun

You should checkout this thread as it has comments from people who played there in last week tournies.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=267294

i personaly like the mayfair as it has a relaxed atmosfear and the dealers are of a good standard.

As far as the comment about the door man goes, i have personaly known the guy for years and he is far from a d**k. the door policy is if you arive at the door half cut and its your first time you might not get in.
    that seens reasonable to me. the cash games are 50 euro buy in with blinds at 1 and 2 euro with a pot limit.

Tonight they are running a 30 euro freezout and they will add 300 to the pot if they get 25 runners. Kicking off at 8:30

Hope to see you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Ive been going there for years and they have only started poker over the past half a year. The doorman is grand once you get membership but they are strict on letting people in. The place is poorly run tbh

Actually anyone got a recent poker schedule? I got one from ages ago when nobody used to play poker at all except at 2 in the morning for a game of against drunks. Nice to hear they got it up and running finally

Mayfair got a website ? Nothing came up on google search

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Culchie wrote:
    Mayfair got a website ? Nothing came up on google search

http://www.mayfaircasinoclub.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 saxet

Phew! where to start answering all the questions.

Thanks for all the positive comments on the poker front, always nice to know when we are getting it even relatively right.
    And of course there are the negatives.

In relation to the first poker night, I would like to say that we have over thirty entrants for our first competition which took place on Monday 13th June, and we added €1000 to the pot, this was won by Doc Farrell.

On subsequent nights, the poker has not had as high an attendance, but we are promoting it through the internet, flyers, pub advertising and newspaper adverts.
    We really are very keen to promote ourselves as much as we can, and any feedback is always welcome.
    Our poker nights will get busier, like all things it does take a little time.
    The website is being updated as we speak and all the tournament information will be there by the end of next week.
    Thanks to our supporters, to those we dont have yet, come on down, were really not that bad..!!
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

anyone go to the 30 euro freezeout last night? many there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

jobless wrote:
    anyone go to the 30 euro freezeout last night? many there?
    I was there - only 9 runners last night, but very fun nevertheless. The Mayfair added €130 to the prize pool :D bringing the total prize pool to €400, with €280 for 1st and €120 for second. As long as they continue to do this, I will play religiously each Tuesday!

The winner was a massive chip leader from 30 minutes in, he kept on catching cards / flops and having people going all in on him while he had the nuts! I came 2nd in the end.

must have been over very early then....might head in next week...what was the standard of play like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

nice one paul. must be easier when my mate isin't there to get lucky on you!

The standard of play was alright, nothing special and not particularly muppetish either. There were only 3 of the 9 that I would consider complete beginners. It only took 90 minutes to get from 9 players to 3, maybe another 45 minutes to get to two, and half an hour heads-up. So we finished around 11:15, nice and early. The chip leader had almost a 3-1 lead over me when starting heads-up and I never drew level, though got close at times. Great heads-up practice though :)

I suppose im one of those 3 complete beginers as i got knocked out first :) .

Although after getting 52, 63, 93, 85 and the like for the first 10 or so hands i did think i was strong when i finaly got AQ and by then by the time the turn card came i had trip aces with only the river to come. but sure enough i was beaten by a flush.
    But thats poker and i will sure enough go back for more.

they have a 25 euro scalp on friday so i will more than likely go in for that. last week there was only 9 runners but it was a bit of fun anyway.

ionapaul what seat where you in?

No, you are not one of the three I was thinking of! Anyway I'm fairly rubbish so what do I know?

I was in seat 7 - which became seat 6 once you were gone. The guy immediately to your left (seat 2) won. I'll be back next week, but will probably stick to the Fitz for the time being on Friday nights, nice big prizepool there :)

Must be near to a full time player these days Paul ? ;)

(Sorry, I'm just jealous)

Bigun wrote:
    I suppose im one of those 3 complete beginers as i got knocked out first :) .

Although after getting 52, 63, 93, 85 and the like for the first 10 or so hands i did think i was strong when i finaly got AQ and by then by the time the turn card came i had trip aces with only the river to come. but sure enough i was beaten by a flush.
    But thats poker and i will sure enough go back for more.

they have a 25 euro scalp on friday so i will more than likely go in for that. last week there was only 9 runners but it was a bit of fun anyway.

ionapaul what seat where you in?

whats the structure for the scalps as regards buy-ins, rebuys etc....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 zonemelt

ionapaul wrote:
    The standard of play was alright, nothing special and not particularly muppetish either. There were only 3 of the 9 that I would consider complete beginners. It only took 90 minutes to get from 9 players to 3, maybe another 45 minutes to get to two, and half an hour heads-up. So we finished around 11:15, nice and early. The chip leader had almost a 3-1 lead over me when starting heads-up and I never drew level, though got close at times. Great heads-up practice though :)

A 9-way deal would have been profitable from the very beginning there! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

we are promoting it through the internet, flyers, pub advertising and newspaper adverts.

The only place I have seen it advertised is when it's mentioned here just for your info.

jobless wrote:
    whats the structure for the scalps as regards buy-ins, rebuys etc....?

its €25 buy in with 2 €20 rebuys or 1 rebuy and 1 topup at 90 min's
    and you get €5 for every player you knock out.
    but due to the low numbers last week they lowered the rebuys to one €20 rebuy or a topup at 90 min's.
    blinds are two 45 mins intervals and then 20 or 30 (cant remember which) mins at freezout level. Reg at 8:00 Kick off 8:30.

Hope this info helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Schedule for tournements anyone? Couldnt find it on the webiste

Rnger wrote:
    Schedule for tournements anyone? Couldnt find it on the webiste
    Mondays FREE ENTRY super satellite for the monthly €100 No limit Texas Tournament.
    Unlimited re-buys for 90 mins.
    Reg at 8:00pm start @ 8:30

Tuesdays: €30 no limit Texas Freezeout, Casino will add €300 to prize pool if over 25 players.
    Reg @ 8:00pm start @ 8:30

Fridays: €25 No limit Texas Scalp tournament. 2x€20 re-buys or 1x€20 rebuy plus 1x€20 top up.
    Players will get a €5 bounty for every opponent they knock out of tournament.
    Reg @ 8:00pm start @ 8:30.

Sundays: 6:00pm.
    FREE ENTRY Super satellite for the monthly €100 NO LIMIT texas tournament.
    unlimited €10 re-buys for 60 mins.
    Sundays: 9:00pm
    €20 Pot limit texas hold em. 3x€20 re-buys or 2x€20 re-buys plus 1x€20 top up.
    registration from 6:00pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

cheers leapfrog (in disguise)

might pop down friday

How about a 'sticky' for all the casino tournaments ...seems to be the most asked question ???

Nothing on Thursdays...?

roryc wrote:
    cheers leapfrog (in disguise)

might pop down friday
    Sorry rory but i think you might have got that slightly wrong as i am a little bit chubbier than orla and i have a beard and glasses.
    However she does have a new nickname but its a bit "sexier" than mine.

later :)

Bigun wrote:
    its €25 buy in with 2 €20 rebuys or 1 rebuy and 1 topup at 90 min's
    and you get €5 for every player you knock out.
    but due to the low numbers last week they lowered the rebuys to one €20 rebuy or a topup at 90 min's.
    blinds are two 45 mins intervals and then 20 or 30 (cant remember which) mins at freezout level. Reg at 8:00 Kick off 8:30.

Hope this info helps.

thanks for the info.....might head in friday.....how many do you normally get for this?

they got only 9 last week but it was the first friday so they should get more as time goes on.

i won't be playing this friday as i'm off to see U2 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Bp!

Hey

ive played in the Mayfair twice now, both times on a friday night, the 1st time i played was about a month ago, there was only about 9 of us so we made our own table game, was good game, im sure a few of ye from here were playin, anyone remember the 2-2 vs A K and the A on the turn, be good to know whose who, i came 3rd that night and sat down at the cash game, which was enjoyable, good players there and we all made some money of each other :cool: and then the drunks come in...my god they are a funny bunch!

was there last weekend too but very low turn out, prib cause of the U2 gig, i think i met the worst poker player i have ever met (hope he doesn't read here! ;) ) but he had the whole setup, sunglasses, hair gelled back, suit and the whole lot but brutal at the game itself...i raised in late position with A Q suited, flop comes Q high, i bet into him, he thinks then calls, another balnk, i raise most of his chips, he comes over the top for another $25 (one more chip) i call, he turns over a 3 7 offsuit with only gutshot on the river which he missed :eek: .he rebought and was gone 3 hands later,. all in after the flop with a Q 4 hopin to catch a heart on river...give that man as many rebuys as he wants i say!!.was only really an american who seemed like a challenge but he got a bad beat against a lucky player who caught trips. i didnt stick around for the cash game that night though

the good nights seem to be during the week but i cant make those one, pity cause i like the mayfair too and got some good dealers there too...dunno much about this leapfrog ye're on about though

bp