Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bosco

• 23-05-2005 10:16am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Is Bosco a Leagrnd of Boards...?I used to to love it (i think I still do).It was so Irish...

bosco1qu.jpg

Is Bosco a Leagrnd of Boards...? 119 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    82% 98 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    17% 21 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

What an annoying little sh 1t - RTE repeated it for about 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

bosco is tremendous..remember the tounge twisters on it ha ha clasic..was bosco a boy or a girl

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I used to love it when Bosco went into his/her house....

I just found a site that has Bosco Sightings and latest news....

Bosco Site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Geranium

Yeah well I'm obviously the most hardcore and extreme fan here seeing as I saw Bosco live in concert THREE TIMES. Oh and I know a girl who was on Bosco once, she was behind the magic door. So ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

I started a thread or three the same as this and I love Bosco!!!!! Search the Cuckoo Nest for Bosco and you'll find one by Bright Smile, We even have a plan for a giant pyjama party!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

friends.gif

roffle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

can we get clarfication if the producers of the show had genderised bosco?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

can we get clarfication if the producers of the show had genderised bosco?

Yes. He was a little ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Hester

ROFL at that Bosco site
    Red of hair and black of heart, he is always distinguishable by the trademark green and white striped pyjamas he wears, with red blusher applied to each cheek.
    Geranium wrote:
    Yeah well I'm obviously the most hardcore and extreme fan here seeing as I saw Bosco live in concert THREE TIMES. Oh and I know a girl who was on Bosco once, she was behind the magic door. So ha.
    I only saw Bosco in concert twice :( All I remember about it is a song about a lollypop tree.

I could be completely wrong about this, but does anyone else remember Bosco being kidnapped a good few years back? Maybe that was just wishful thinking on my part..

Anyway, I voted no. There's something seriously creepy about him now. I can see myself having nightmares about him in the future :eek:

I think I remember something about bosco being kidnapped....anybody with info on this..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Thrasher

Dub13 wrote:
    I think I remember something about bosco being kidnapped....anybody with info on this..?

Yeah. He was kidnapped about 7 years ago, before an evening performance (UCD, most likely).

Turned up in a box at Donnybrook Garda station two weeks later, with the note "I wan't to come home".

/T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

does anyone know how many episodes of bosco there were?

themole wrote:
    does anyone know how many episodes of bosco there were?

I would say 100s...

Anybody know if any of the co presenters went on to anything...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

one of the presenters (cant remember his name) was in Bull Island and also made a few apperences in Fair City.... wow that Bosco thing sure was a stepping stone to fame and riches!

Bosco Rocks!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

evil little ****! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

Hated the little fecker :mad: If it still exists the puppet should be burned.

dent wrote:
    Hated the little fecker :mad: If it still exists the puppet should be burned.

Blasphemy! You sir, shall be burned at the stake!

hear hear toiletduck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I heard one of the presenters became a junkie and another one was a cross dresser. Seriously.

And that magic f****ng door that only ever led to dublin f****ng zoo :mad:

And wasnt bosco originally meant to help us kids learn irish? úfásach was all the little toilet brush ever managed.

And then there was them board puzzles that a dyslexic mongoloid could have figured out quicker than marion (a babe, admittedly) and philip

to sum up:

Pats hat/chat/whatever else. legend
    Wanderly wagon. pure legend
    fortycoats. legend
    dilín ó damhas. proper hardcore
    Bosco. me hole.

Bambi wrote:
    And that magic f****ng door that only ever led to dublin f****ng zoo :mad:

:D:D I forgot all about that magic door....sure back in the 80s Dublin Zoo was all we had in this country.

exactly they were putting all we had to good use and wasn't it made in the 70's? less again back then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I remember when bosco first started so that would have made me about 8-10 i think, so it was 80s.

jaysus...i just realised...im old :(

I used to love when they went into Boscos house...it did not happen often,which made it very exciting when they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Bosco was brilliant :D I only saw his live show once and it was so cool, especailly as I'd won the tickets and it was the first time I ever won anything. I agree, I loved it when he went down into his bedroom! I think I'll have to watch that show tonight on RTE, if I can listen to Gerry Ryan for that long without feeling sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

Bosco is RTE's #1 kids' show of all time! And rightly so! The hours of entertainment that lil' guy provided... Or hours of torture, depending on whether you were a three year old kid or the unfortunate mother who the kid made sit through every episode every day :p

Actually, while we're on the subject, anyone up for petitioning RTE to show an episode one last time? I've heard they still have the footage.

They should definitely show it once more or release it on dvd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

toiletduck wrote:
    They should definitely show it once more or release it on dvd!

I could just imagine the mass burning of these DVD's. It would unite people as they brought Bosco memorabilia to fuel the flames. Ever wonder what stunted Bosco's growth. I'd say major crack abuse.

anyway.... yes petition, me likey lots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Shinny-dee

bosco=light of my life, my soulmate, taught me everything i know, i had the nightdress(im a girl its aiite) the slippers(which i am famous for used t wear them t playschool) went to see him in concert twice, cried when i missed it as a kid, sadly cried wen i saw it on gerry ryans thing the other nite!!i am forever indebt t frank, una, the magic door the man who painted it red.....margaret whats her name that owns bosco an i will never forgive those UCD ****s that stole it brought him (yes HIM) on a road trip t san francisco took pics on golden gate bridge etc.....yes sadness personified but a girls gotta have her childhood idol!!also like to add zig and zag and snotser(remember!!!)best thing t come outta RTE sinc nationwide!!haha :p

AAAAH ZIG AND ZAG!!!!!!!!! I love those guys and Ray Darcy! I have the tedies and I taped a Christmas special and oh Ray I had such a crush on him even though I was like seven!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Bosco is a true legend, loved that guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Shyster

was bosco male or female?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Can puppets be male or female?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Legend,everyone grew up watching him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Bosco = legend definately... supposedly merchandise dvds dolls etc are in line for the 05 christmas market...could this b the greatest christmas ever?? i think so!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭SixShot

I think it was a boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

i reckon RTE should repeat it late at night for stoners..

christ i'd love to see some episodes now just to see how bad it is..

Roar wrote:
    i reckon RTE should repeat it late at night for stoners..

What a good idea....lets start a petition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Dub13 wrote:
    I would say 100s...

Anybody know if any of the co presenters went on to anything...?

A Cork guy named Peter Collins was on it, he went on to present F1, Moto GP and sometimes the scottish premier league and some Uefa cup, LEGEND

out of all the presenters there has to be a bad boy/bad girl....come on dig up the dirt,any porn stars....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭curliq

bosco was SO a boy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Just read in the Star that there's a best of dvd due out for christmas!

and bosco allegedly performed a "sex rated show" at the electric picnic yesterday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Bontour

It is now almost 9 years since Mr. B went on "holidays" October 1996 was a good month for fun. It's true he was borrowed from DCU, and was returned safely within a month. For those with an interest, the scam was carried out by a good honest Clareman known as "Long Dinny" and a God fearing Mayo man by the name of Alan, neither students in DCU but staying with some good alcoholic Mountshannon Co.Clare DCU students. Both boys were butchers on their way to the west coast of the states via Dublin, Oxford and finally the infamous Haight Street in San Fran. Bosco loved San Fran, and really got into the spirit. He had a particular fondness for the Castro district, and was known to don a pink scarf while in that part of town.There are a few pictures of Bosco in dodgy positions with Barbie, totally out of his box in Mac's bar, in the blender behind the bar in Macs and general debauchery through the city. One or two pics of him with some white powder and a credit card but it might of been someone else who just looked like him. The joyful Dinny and Alan returned the tired and emotional Bosco once he lost all will to live and stopped entertaining the one bedroom flat he shared with 6 occupants. As for his new friends, Alan remains in San Fran and Long Dinny has returned home incognito and is still practicing his knife skills back west. Why the Lamberts didnt have a spare Bosco was the last thing Dinny and Alan expected. And to clarify the main Question, BOSCO was definitely a boy, although rumours are that he swung both ways.... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 jimmyoc

a pal that never talked back,never said mines a, never said i gotta a
    head ache, never said thats your last one, a true pal :

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Juliet17101

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/294871323

Bring Back Bosco petition - please sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 trinnernurse

ah bosco, lol......... and the wonderful gerry ryan......... had the misfortune of being a guest on the infamous sunday night "school around the corner" .............. CRIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!! :mad: :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Bosco is a true legend, his rhymes and songs still influence two entire generations of Irish people.

Bosco > any other puppet.