GF wants my email password

• 11-05-2005 01:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭

My girlfriend recently gave me her email password. Her ex had been emailing her and she wanted to prove to me there was nothing going on. So she said here's my password, you can log in and read the emails.

The other day she said that since I have access to her email account she thinks I should give her my password! I don't think so!! I have absolutly nothing to hide but I don't see the reason I should give her my password. She is making a big deal out of it now.

What do you guys think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

if you've nothing to hide - what's the problem?
    you asked for hers???
    Her ex has been mailing .. big deal .. ex's can still be friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Personally, I'd tell her to feck off, just because she gave you her password doesn't mean you have to give her yours. It sounds like she just gave you hers so you would feel compelled to give her yours. If she doesn't trust you for some reason this sort of thing isn't going to help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

Well you may have nothing to hide now but perhaps you will in the future. I say don't give her the password. If she kicks off about it just ask her why she doesn't trust you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Eoghan-psych

PWD123 wrote:
    My girlfriend recently gave me her email password. Her ex had been emailing her and she wanted to prove to me there was nothing going on. So she said here's my password, you can log in and read the emails.

The other day she said that since I have access to her email account she thinks I should give her my password! I don't think so!! I have absolutly nothing to hide but I don't see the reason I should give her my password. She is making a big deal out of it now.

What do you guys think?

I think that if she doesn't trust you enough not to be going through your email, you have bigger issues than whether or not you should give her your password.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭babykiten

sounds like double standards to me mate- just open up and show her you have nothing to hide- just like her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Hester

You're entitled to your privacy, as is she. I wouldn't want a bf to have my email password.

How did she come to give you her password? Did you ask at any time to read her emails? Were you making a big deal about her ex emailing her?

If she's happy enough to let you read her emails, that's fine but it doesn't mean that she should make you feel bad about for wanting to keep yours private. Maybe you could suggest that she changes her password to something you don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

seems like something more there else you'd give her the pw 'specially as you have nothing to hide.

what are you afraid of?
    you're not whipped if thats what you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

you should have turned down her offer ("I dont need to look, i trust you"), she has you by the nuts now. Cant believe you fell for that old one....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

give it her, let her look and change it again afterwards, no big deal if you don't have anything to hide.
    if SHE gave you her password then she cannot ask you to give her yours.
    but to stop a fight, might be wise to do so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 the vivster

i agree if you have nothing to hide then just give her your password if you dont then thats just giving her a reason to doubt you there fore causing more arguements than you might want ... just give her your password big deal she'll only feel stupid when she see's you have nothing to hide anyway and possibly just stop cheacking them after awhile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Eoghan-psych

i agree if you have nothing to hide then just give her your password if you dont then thats just giving her a reason to doubt you there fore causing more arguements than you might want ... just give her your password big deal she'll only feel stupid when she see's you have nothing to hide anyway and possibly just stop cheacking them after awhile

I disagree - if she's insecure enough to *want* to check the emails, then the absence of anything to be worried about probably isn't going to satisfy her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

I'd put my foot down on this one. Unless you asked for her password, she has no right to demand yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

If you've nothing to hide whats the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

MrPinK wrote:
    I'd put my foot down on this one. Unless you asked for her password, she has no right to demand yours.

Amen
    She has no reight to open your post
    therefore she has no right to open your email
    Tell her get over it.
    There seems to be a bit of a trust issue between ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

babykiten wrote:
    sounds like double standards to me mate- just open up and show her you have nothing to hide- just like her

Why should he? He hasn't given her any reason to be suspicious. Maybe she originally gave him her password because secretly she thought he was up to something, Aha. how do you like them apples!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Don't give it to her. If you have to, open up your inbox and let her have a search, but keep your password to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

She only gave you her password originally so she could later ask for yours.. she's a devious cow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

How do you know he hasn't been bitching at her like a aul' nag to get her password, and then she said "right you've seen mine, now show me yours"?

"OOOO!! MY password? No no, I don't think so, you should just trust my saintly little self, even though I gave you a hard time to get your email password..."

So come on OP - why did she give you her password? Have you issues with her ex?

What's good for the goose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Yeah I wouldn't give her my password. Do you open her letters that come inthe door?
    Girlfriend or not, i'd keep it to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

hussey wrote:
    if you've nothing to hide - what's the problem?
    you asked for hers???

He didn't ask for it...read here..
    PWD123 wrote:
    So she said here's my password,

I'd give it the whole you should trust me deal... and then route all the dodge emails to another mail address. I mean i get loads of mails from people i don;t need being read by other people... just lads stuff.. jokes etc etc.

Everybody's got something to hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

I wouldn't give it to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

MrPinK wrote:
    Hell yeah.

And if the worse comes to the worst, give it to her. And after she's looked at it once, change the password.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

fu.ck it.... this thread just made me realise that my missus has my password to my mail accounts... bah... time for a change. (of password that is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

I'd give it to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Nuttzz wrote:
    you should have turned down her offer ("I dont need to look, i trust you"), she has you by the nuts now. Cant believe you fell for that old one....
    Hammer. Nail. Head.
    It's the classic "check-raise" my friend.

Your only out as I can see it, give her your e-mail p/w, and then either subtly migrate to a new e-mail account over a period of time, or keep changing your p/w every odd week (she'll soon get tired of asking).

...you did walk into it though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

She only gave you her password originally so she could later ask for yours.. she's a devious cow..

I agree with this. The amount of couples that seem to play little games with each other is ridiculous.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

If she wants another email account tell her to look at www.hotmail.com or www.yahoo.com or www.don'taskformypasswordyouinsecurewagon.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Peace wrote:
    He didn't ask for it...read here..

I'd give it the whole you should trust me deal... and then route all the dodge emails to another mail address. I mean i get loads of mails from people i don;t need being read by other people... just lads stuff.. jokes etc etc.

Everybody's got something to hide.

the impression he gave is that he thought there was something going on between his Gf and her Ex, and she gave it to him to prove him wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

How do you know he hasn't been bitching at her like a aul' nag to get her password, and then she said "right you've seen mine, now show me yours"?

"OOOO!! MY password? No no, I don't think so, you should just trust my saintly little self, even though I gave you a hard time to get your email password..."

So come on OP - why did she give you her password? Have you issues with her ex?

What's good for the goose...

Jesus JD you're on a serious anti-men rant over the past couple of days.....between this and the reply to the 'are irish women ugly?' thread yesterday, someone's got a bee in her bonnet>

I reckon you should give her the password, let her check it, and reset your password afterwards so you're both all square.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

Bingo. He fell for it.

Beware of Greeks bearing gifts and all that...

You have a right to email privacy as much as you have a right private thought.