Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst thing you done at a Works Do?

• 11-05-2005 10:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭

Reading the naked thread got me memory jogged, shudder.

Have you done anything plank stoopid at a works do? I have.

It was the first time Ive been out with anyone from work. The whole team woz there and the bar was free. It was at Landsdown Road.
    I was pally with a few of the 'lads', a couple of which were leaving soon so they did not give a toss about anything.
    The bar was free apart from spirits. They were, however, dishing out free cheap Vodka.
    I can drink beer and wine till the cows come home but Vodka does funny things to me and is usually avoided. But when in Rome.

So the few of us started doin shots of vodka in quite laddish style and pretty soon we were getting there.
    Somehow it was decided that I'd run accross the pitch at landsdown bollok naked.
    Which I did.
    Then proceeded to do a merry little jig when I got to middle of the pitch , with my tackle flapping etc.
    I thought only the few chaps where we were sitting out side the bar could see.
    But the main bar is raised up a level and the whole place , about 100-150 work peeps, quite straight laced suit and tie folk could see. And they had a camera.

The rest of the night is a blur.

I woke up next day with the worst 'oh my god ,I dident' moment of my life.
    No hangover though?? I had to go into work as well that day. I felt like i was going to my execution because I'd just started there. Sure of the sack.
    BUT
    It turns out I became a bit of a ledgend for it and gave every one a giggle. Never will be let to forget it though and I dont touch spirits at workd do's any more. And the photos are up on the wall.

So I have learnt an important lesson about self control at a work do You are basically still at work so behave kids ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Dublin8

man :eek: if that would have happened to me i would have quit the job my self. Good that u have that much courage to enter the building again :)

thank God i have never been drunk in my life

definately not worth being drunk :eek:

i better do some work now hheeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Nothing really that bad although I have been really drunk at a few of them. "Shifted" one of the girls from the office, then proceeded to ask her mate out and "shifted" her while the other was at the bar then girl number one was sitting on my knee on way home in taxi with girl number two in the front seat. Fook did I get a slagging for that. Ah the merriment of drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭juno75

man if that would have happened to me i would have quit the job my self

Not an option, rent etc. I really did not want to go in. One of the worst mornings of my life.

I still love drinking. Just not cheap Vodski

petes, Wot style, I reckon we could cause some trouble if we ever worked together :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

heckled my boss whilst he made his speech. Not good day. Twas only a part time job, but I learnt a valuable lesson. Work do's == work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Half-Bicycle

Spoke to a pair of large breasts for most of the evening. Poor lass. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

got in an argument with a dickhead barman......and got our entire christmas party thrown out...about 60 people. :o

got in an argument with a dickhead barman......and got our entire christmas party thrown out...about 60 people.

Star, instintly made me feel better :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Dublin8

so next time ur not invited in any party

got in an argument with a dickhead barman......and got our entire christmas party thrown out...about 60 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Dublin8 wrote:
    definately not worth being drunk :eek:

I beg to differ.

Btw great story juno

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I've done some bad things in work in the 6 years I've been here.. Some I can't post, but one time at a 'launch' for one of our products, there was free beer aplenty..

I snogged some girl who was just hanging around (no idea who she was). And a female colleague came up to me and starting laying into me about yer one being 14 or something.. I can't really remember. What I do remember, is the smack in the side of the head she gave me when I said, 'no it's okay, she showed me her ID'..

Later on in the night, after a drinking race with a mate's girlfriend, I threw up over a balcony, onto the ground beside where a load of middle management types were eating their bbq food.

Even later on, while waiting for a cab home, my brother went to the chipper, and came out to be greeted by the sight of me, kaks around my ankles trying to take a leak through a fence. An image that will stay with him forever no doubt..

Classy aren't I... I blame the generosity of my employer :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Luring a work collegue into a closet
    Snogging certain female co-workers whilst their men were around (shame on me)
    Getting loads of free drinks by cracking onto the girl who controled the number handed out

I think I have done worse, but I probably dont want to remember any of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

We met up in a bar near work for a few frinks before we went out for a meal, we were having these shots (haven't a clue what they were), i hadn't eaten since lunch....and get hammered pretty quick. The store manager had to assign one of the other managers to look after me.

After the meal we went to a wine bar and I wouldn't believe that they didn't sell Bulmers......i had to settle for white wine. When everyone was up dancing, i tipped everyone's wine into my glass...............gross i know but i was off my face.

Actually, me+ work+ drink always ends up in a mad crazy night where I do something.....always the case

I've way too many to tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

To cut a long opening short free beer was involved.
    Me and my boss were messing about mock punching each other (both tanked) My depth perception was a little off and instead of stopping in front of him as i'd intended i smacked him one straight in the mouth and blew him clean off his barstool. :(:o

Luckily enough he didnt mind too much the next day.
    Just told me to be more careful in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Ph3n0m wrote:
    Snogging certain female co-workers whilst their men were around (shame on me)

No, Shame on them!

B.

I think we should be all locked in a free bar for a few hours.

It may proove to be an intresting experiance - if anyone survives...

juno75 wrote:
    I think we should be all locked in a free bar for a few hours.

It may proove to be an intresting experiance - if anyone survives...

I second this, but who will suply the booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

who cares, it could even be a BYOB - as long as I have my JD and coke, then I am anyones :)

That stuff sends me loo laa. Was another time, it wasnt really a works do. Was someone from works wedding so everyone from work was there including bosses etc. Drank a load of aftershock and was carried out. There was pictures. omg. Someone found me later bent over a fence(luckily with my trousers on before you ask). There was a drop the other side of the fence of about 10-15 foot. Some poor bastard fell over and a bright spark thought " I know lets tie a rope to his leg and the other end to a tow bar. Thats how they got him out. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

Went out for a 'drink' on the way home the Thursday before my birthday and word got round that my birthday was comin.....out came the manager's bar tab and mutiple tequilas/sambucas/vodkas later I was legless, literally. I was propped up between a female and male colleague as they dragged me towards a cab.

Well anyway's female decided to go for a walk which meant I collapsed face first on to the kerb, next thing I remember is wakin up in the morning.

Still w@sted i threw on the suit and headed for the office...not realising how bad I looked. My boss came in and the quote goes 'what the f'ck are you doing here you're dripping blood on to your desk get to hospital you lunatic'!

So I did, the diagnosis.....broken nose, fractured cheek bone and extremely sore head, now there's a picture of me with blood on my chin, two black eyes and a wonky nose sitting at my desk plastered all over the office.

Classy guy or what! :D

Fook me everytime someone says something else reminds me of another time.
    Was out with a few work people. What made it worse was I was staying in one of their houses in a different town. So we ended up completely wasted. After the niteclub we were messing about outside when one of the girls fancied a piggyback. I obliged and she was'nt the lighest of girls. Only thing was where we were going was on a slight incline downhill. I went over head first, no hand to stop my face from bouncing of the ground. Ended up in casualty. Thank fook I didnt break anything. Had to take a week off work too.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Hey Juno, That wouldn't happen to have been an Irish Life and Permanent do, would it? Sounds extremely similar to something that happened when I was there. Hardly anybody knew the guy before hand, and straight afterwards, everybody in the whole section would say "Hi" when they walked past his desk.

shakaman - You sir are HARDCORE. You have My Respect.

Hey Juno, That wouldn't happen to have been an Irish Life and Permanent do, would it? Sounds extremely similar to something that happened when I was there. Hardly anybody knew the guy before hand, and straight afterwards, everybody in the whole section would say "Hi" when they walked past his desk.

Lo Cat,

Busted. I was wondering if it was wise to post but I never saw anyone from there on Boards.
    Ive only just managed to regain some pride ;)

juno75 wrote:
    shakaman - You sir are HARDCORE. You have My Respect.

I still wouldn't get my c@ck out in the middle of Lansdowne Juno! :p

I still wouldn't get my c@ck out in the middle of Lansdowne Juno

Im proud of my manliness :p

But do I earn your respect?

juno75 wrote:
    Im proud of my manliness :p

But do I earn your respect?

Respect where respect is due Juno, that is an absolutely legendary p'ssed up tale! Walking the hallowed turf of Lansdowne starkers....definitely one for the grandkids!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

I left early Juno, so I didn't see anything, heard all the stories though.

It was extremely fun with the quiz that they had, we had to come up with a caption for a picture of the boss showing his fist to a girl. At this stage, myself being new there, didn't know that it was a picture of the boss, so i put down the first time that came to mind, which was something to do with his fist :)

A very fun night.

Jeeeez, Lo mate,

yeah,that was hilarious. We came up with all sorts of dirty filth for that one!!
    i forgot about that!
    Are you still there?

Was only working there for the summer.

If I heard the stories right, and you are who i think you are, then I sat beside you for that summer. And I did nothing at all. :)

get a room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Half-Bicycle

Speaking of Landsdowne, I remember one Xmas some years back, the DART arriving on the platform and on the Northbound side, some fella in a suit was squatting in the corner, trousers around ankles - obviously full of cheer. The look on his face as he realised several hundred people were observing his "motions". Priceless! :D :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

Told the Gaelic journalist of the year at the Daily Record press awards that I'd rather go home with the award then her, promptly went home with her award, woke up the next day with a glass pillar, a headache and a fear of the printed word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I had great plans at the Christmas party of getting hammered and trying it on with a girl I fancy at work. The first part went OK, but I completely forgot about the second part :o

UOTE]And I did nothing at all. [/QUOTE]

Lo N,
    They ended up giving me another contact down in cork! Im doing my usuall amount of work :D:D
    Probably back with Frank for the summer, another XP thingy.
    Wot u at these days?
    I had great plans at the Christmas party of getting hammered and trying it on with a girl I fancy at work. The first part went OK, but I completely forgot about the second part
    [Q

That describes just about every night I have lately :confused:

So did you get you PC biult in the end?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

juno75 wrote:

Lo Cat,

Busted. I was wondering if it was wise to post but I never saw anyone from there on Boards.
    Ive only just managed to regain some pride ;)

Juno75, fair play... great story!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭endanagle

bosses wife was out with us and was going on and on and on about something really boring and uninteresting... so i politely turned around to her in front of half the ppl at work and said "would you please shut the **** up"...

of course didn't remember a bit of it and had no idea why she kept giving me dirty looks at work after that but one of my workmates helpfully explained it to me!! :o

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

For my work leaving do in France it happened to coincide with St.Paddys day this year. Town was mobbed & Irish pubs were packed. Got the team out on the lash, ... as the night progressed many of us ended up pretty hammered whilst the managers kept to the sparkling water.......ended up wrapping an Irish flag around my bosses head and exclaiming "where the f*ck is big Rusty?" when he was standing beside me. Didn't know this until someone told me. Next day at work arrived in with two broken knuckles after crashing a friends racing bike into the side of Strasbourg cathedral. Could barely type my going away email. Was wearing the clothes of someone else too, tiny shoes and massive shirt. Good laugh though. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Coltaine

I was caught getting pleasured by one of the girls I worked with in one of the back rooms..at least they were good enough to just close the door and leave straight away. I kept my head down in work for a few weeks after that.

UPDATE!!

Maybe this was not a wise idea, someone from that job stumbled accross this thread and has put 2 and 2 together and mailed it round to the whole place

HI JOE and the gang :p

Oooooo the shame

The bad man made me do it!!!!

Next day at work arrived in with two broken knuckles after crashing a friends racing bike into the side of Strasbourg cathedral.

I like you style :D

Finally got the computer the computer finished, had to send the motherboard and graphics card back after i fried them though. I'm in the middle of my exams at the moment, which i think i'm going to fail.

Not work related, but definately cringe worthy, first time I met my girlfriends parents, I was so nervous. The dad asks me "do I smoke much?", to which I reply yes, and normally the next question is "are you giving them up soon?", so i had "yes" all prepared for him. Of course, he goes and asks me "Do you do much drugs?", and I just couldn't stop myself from saying yes. Turned beetroot red and decided to just go with it. :) A great first impression.

This thread was found? After I admitted doing nothing? :eek:
    No chance I'm ever showing my face in there again then.

hehe , bit of a freudian slip there mate, Drug are bad MMmmkay?

Im getting a lot of slagging for my beahviour on that night.

Does everyone I know read after hours without me knowing it??????

Off Topic - N, you got Rome Total War? Get it!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 toyomi

I've done some bad things in work in the 6 years I've been here.. Some I can't post, but one time at a 'launch' for one of our products, there was free beer aplenty..

I snogged some girl who was just hanging around (no idea who she was). And a female colleague came up to me and starting laying into me about yer one being 14 or something.. I can't really remember. What I do remember, is the smack in the side of the head she gave me when I said, 'no it's okay, she showed me her ID'..

Later on in the night, after a drinking race with a mate's girlfriend, I threw up over a balcony, onto the ground beside where a load of middle management types were eating their bbq food.

Even later on, while waiting for a cab home, my brother went to the chipper, and came out to be greeted by the sight of me, kaks around my ankles trying to take a leak through a fence. An image that will stay with him forever no doubt..

Classy aren't I... I blame the generosity of my employer :o

jazus your hilarious!!!! lol
    On leaving our xmas party 2 years ago i need to go to the loo, so into someones front garden i went and did a number two!!!

need to go to the loo, so into someones front garden i went and did a number two!!!

You could put a hip hop beat to that rap :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

In my old job,i riddled one of the managing directors with a full canister of paintballs at one of these team bonding yokes.Me behind the mask breaking my hole laughing and all i could hear was "STOP STOP PLEASE".I turned on my heels and legged it back into the forest,home free.