Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People taking justice into their own hands?

• 09-05-2005 2:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

This morning when I got into school this morning I was horrified to hear the stories of what had happened over the weekend to a guy in my year. Half of our year (6th year) was at some 5th year's party. A guy in my year saw a plastic window on a shed and decided he would throw a shovel at it for some reason. He threw the shovel at the window and broke it. He realised what he did was stupid and went up to the owner appologised and offered to pay for the damage. Once the owner caught a glimps of what he had done he started punching the crap out of him. He and a couple of his mates then actually dragged him into the shed so that nobody would see and continued beating the living daylights out of him. They viciously kicked him in the head, punched him in the head and smacked him with a hurl in the head. When people started seeing what was going on they all started to gather around the shed. When a bunch of 6th years saw what was going on they broke it up. They told me this morning when they went over to break it up there was blood absolutly everywhere. The also said that the guy was completely un-recognizable and completely unconcious. His face was beaten to a pulp. The guy that suffered the beating was one of the most frail guys I know and a couple of people said that another kick to the head probably would have killed him. An ambulance was called and he's now in the hospital. One side of his face is swollen beyone belief and he has undergone catscans and will probably need cosmetic surgery. His nose is broken and he has a shattered leg. All of this is one month before he is meant to start the leaving cert. I think he wants to press charges for assault and attmpted murder. Would dragging him into a shed to beat the living crap out of him be considered attempted murder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭hawkmoon269

Were the Guards called? If so were any arrests made? Would people at the scene be in a position to testify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭dawballz

Jaysus thats serious. Was it the other 5th years who kicked the shít out of him?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Only Human wrote:
    Would dragging him into a shed to beat the living crap out of him be considered attempted murder?
    I would imagine the charge would be for GBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

i think a beating of that nature would definately entail criminal proceedings along those lines, and dragging someone out of public view to continue it could be taken as something more than a spur of the moment thing. not sure if it would count as pre-meditation or not being as it was a continuation of the beating, but it's still grounds for a GBH charge and possibly attempted murder. once you start using weapons it is firmly in the 'murder' type territory, especially something like a hurley.

not good.

name and shame is wht i say. go to the papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmcquaid

that is a pure outrage and he should defiantly press charges i know i would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

re: thread title, that's not really justice. just a downright vicious attack.
    No window is worth that kind of violence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Were the Guards called? If so were any arrests made? Would people at the scene be in a position to testify?
    Yeah the guards were called and I think a few people already gave a statement. I know pleanty of people that were there who are willing to testify and pleanty of people who want to get their own justice. The guys who were beating the living crap out of him apparently just got a new car. I think a couple of lads in my year want to put a brick through his windshield, put a few dents in it or slash the tyres or something. Taking justice into their hands is a realy stupid idea because if it were taken to a civil court or even a criminal court the judge might show a slight bit of sympathy towards the guys at hand. I've heard of it happening before in child molestation cases where brothers of victims took the law into their own hands on their own accord and hospitilised they're brothers abuser. As a result the abuser got a shorter jail centance. Besides that the old saying goes if you take an eye for an eye you both end up blind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭hawkmoon269

Only Human wrote:
    Yeah the guards were called and I think a few people already gave a statement. I know pleanty of people that were there who are willing to testify and pleanty of people who want to get their own justice.

Good, I'm glad to hear it.

dawballz wrote:
    Jaysus thats serious. Was it the other 5th years who kicked the shít out of him?
    Yeah, I'm not sure if there were three or four 5th years in on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Get everyone who saw anyting to go and give a statement and do it as soon as possible. The suspects will then be asked to give statements and it the file will be sent to the DPP. Take a few pictures of the scene or the state of the guy after the assault and give them to the gards too. Obtain a medical report which will also be attatched to the file and include a copy of all medical costs undergone. Do this all as soon as possible as there is a time limit on when you can press charges afer the event happened. I just recently was told by the gardai that I couldn't do anything about when I was assaulted as the file was with the DPP for too long and the case wasn't brought against the fella soon enough. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Definitely advise your friends to go nowhere near the people who beat the guy up. If they do anything to his car, or whatever, they will also get into trouble, and that's the last thing that you guys need right now.

tinkerbell wrote:
    Definitely advise your friends to go nowhere near the people who beat the guy up. If they do anything to his car, or whatever, they will also get into trouble, and that's the last thing that you guys need right now.
    Not to mention how uncivil and childish that would be. I was trying to pursued a bunch of people not to touch the car or lay a hand on the people who bet him up. Two wrongs don't make a right no matter what the case. I hope his car doesn't get damaged for the sake of the guy in hospital.
    I think the name and shame idea is the best way to go. The tabloids thrive for this kind of thing.

Just got off the phone with my mate who was visiting him in tallaght hospital. He said the gaurds told him not to say anything so I guess he's definatly pressing criminal charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

To be honest regardless of how childish it would be if anyone done that to someone close to me or a good friend I would be inclined to take justice into my own hand and have them severely hurt by myself or others.
    The justice system is quite easy going in this country so i'm a firm believer on taking justice into your own hands when it comes to scumbags like this.

• Well the throwing the shovel at the window was effing stupid and immature but obviously he didn't deserve to be beaten half to death. I think he could press charges for GBH, can't imagine how he couldn't win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

They viciously kicked him in the head, punched him in the head and smacked him with a hurl in the head. When people started seeing what was going on they all started to gather around the shed

Thats a disgrace, and what's more or a disgrace is that it was allowed to happen. I'm sure if he put a shovel through the window, he had an audience to see it happen.

I doubt he did it by himself for no reason.

So whoever was with him deserve a beating themselves so to speak for letting it happen.

If hes as badly hurt as you made out, then the scumbags responsible should be both fined and jailed.

Personally, if I saw that happening to one guy, I'd just see red and kill all of them....childish I know but I couldnt bear to see someone beaten like that for a reason that was totally not enough to warrant a response even a fraction of what he got.

The poor bastard.

Let us know how he gets on? Legally and hospital wise.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

basically its not his decision what they get charged with. He can get all the evidence together and it will be sent off to the DPP who will decide what to charge him with. Murder would seem to be unlikely though however assault causing GBH carries a hefty sentence.

Also from his point of view the best thing he can do is take his own case against them for assault. This is only way for him to get damages.

(Let us know how he gets on? Legally and hospital wise.)
    Will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

padser wrote:
    basically its not his decision what they get charged with. He can get all the evidence together and it will be sent off to the DPP who will decide what to charge him with. Murder would seem to be unlikely though however assault causing GBH carries a hefty sentence.

Also from his point of view the best thing he can do is take his own case against them for assault. This is only way for him to get damages.

Slightly off topic but do you know if it is possible for me to take my own case against someone after the Gardaí left it too late?

Simona1986 wrote:
    Slightly off topic but do you know if it is possible for me to take my own case against someone after the Gardaí left it too late?

It depends on what the crime was. You can take an action under tort law for a certain period of time after it happened but there is a limit. Unless it was an extremely serious crime (for example some of the paedophilia cases you see in the courts today from 30 years ago) the courts are unlikely to make an exception. You also face lots of problems though trying to prove crimes after a period of time, witnesses forget things and contradict each other.

If you tell me what the crime was i can probably tell you how long you have to start proceedings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

They should all be named and shamed. Scumbags. Never heard of anything like that before when I was in that school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

****ing retard wtf was he doing throwing a shovel through someones window.

Sounds nice and frail indeed, bet he wont do that again.

Odd how so many people stood and watched.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Barrie

Well the throwing the shovel at the window was effing stupid and immature but obviously he didn't deserve to be beaten half to death. I think he could press charges for GBH, can't imagine how he couldn't win.

He realised what he did was stupid and went up to the owner appologised and offered to pay for the damage.

Well at least he offered to pay and appologised(Well tried to but got a serious beating) for his immature jesture,That sounds mature.Maybe he was under the influence of drink?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭ExOffender

I can understand the guy whose window was broken giving the shovel-throwing guy a crack on the jaw or whatever. I wouldn't, but a lot of people would. It's a party. People get drunk and they do stupid things. If you're the host of the party, you have to deal with these stupid things. I've never heard of a party where three or four sober people sat down, thought it over, and decided "The best way to deal with this is to drag him into the shed and beat him unconscious". So I assume they were also drunk. Where were the shovel-thrower's friends?
    But he should definitely press charges, and if possible sue for the cost of any medical treatment, etc. Best thing would be to send them a cheque for the window.
    I bet the host's par-tays will be slightly less well-attended in future tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭A$$A$$IN

You'd be surprised how ppl just stand and watch. I was set on by 3 lads a couple of years ago for no reason at all and did anyone help me, nope. ppl are afraid to get involved for fear of their own safety. On topic i know blind rage can sometimes make a person do something they wouldn't normally but what happened here was just callous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Only Human wrote:
    A guy in my year saw a plastic window on a shed and decided he would throw a shovel at it for some reason. He threw the shovel at the window and broke it.[QUOTE/]
    He vandelised someone's property.
    Only Human wrote:
    He realised what he did was stupid and went up to the owner appologised and offered to pay for the damage.
    I'd like to know how you know that he went to offer to pay, and that they didn't just see him do it, and decide to beat the crap out of him.

=-=

From the sound of it, they were either very drunk (very drunk people tend to get very vicous), or this was part of some ongoing fued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

First off I wouldnt expect a hell of a lot from the guards. I have 10 year old nephew still waiting after fifteen months for charges to be brought against an eighteen year old man for picking him up and smacking his head off a gatepost for no reason. resulting in him being hospitalized and is afraid to go out and play with other kids because of it. This guy still hangs around with his mates accross the road from the nephews house. 18 year old's house is accross the road from my sisters. No day in court despite hospital evidence, witnesses, garda statements, etc

only last week the same nephew was hit by a plank of wood, again for no reason by one of this fella's friends. luckely he only received bruising and his injuries were not as severe this time. Again no reason, and again the guards came and went and nothing else happened.

He might get a few bob if he takes a civil case against these people but as for criminal charges, it takes alot to get a guard to get up off their butt to do anything.

Naming and shaming people is also a bad idea. especially before a case has been taken. your entering into the relms of libel law there, and it could **** up your friends prospects of taking a case against these people.

, it takes alot to get a guard to get up off their butt to do anything.

if the guards have taken statements etc what more do u want them to do????? they dont prosecute people themselves. thats the DPP