Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the nightlife like in Belgium???

• 05-05-2005 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭

I'm off to Belgium, whats the story regarding beers, nightlife etc... over there???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

It's a good while since I was there.

Schuman district is good, where the Irish normally congregate, either working in the EU, or nannys/au pairs for people who do.

Wild Geese good pub, as is Oscar Wildes.... I think there is a Kitty O'Sheas as well, all in the same area of town.

I preferred Brussels to Paris, even though I know I'd be in the minority, I think having worked in France, it must have prejudiced me against the French !

Centre of town is very nice. Mannekin Pis a HUGE disapointment, even though the streets around it are cool.

Antwerp is within an hour of Brussels and is a really nice place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭smileygal

Beers great, mad beer glasses and lots of variety.

Nightlife atmosphere - well there was none!(Brussels City Centre). It seemed that they didn't have a tradition of staying out late/letting down the hair. Very disappointing and off-putting for returning there. Unless the Ambassadors' Ferrero Rocher Parties are the happening place....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Brussels is a really great spot. Been there twice. My brother used to work in Schuman. The belgiums are not big into staying out late and that, but I can assure you you'll have a great time in the Irish pubs and that.

The wild geese is a nice spot. Plenty of pubs and restaurants in the city off the Grand Place, further out you go the cheaper restaurants get. All belguim pubs serve up their beer in unique beer jugs. Plenty of beers to choice from too, be it white beer, fruit beer, and various lagers. been about 4 years since I was last there, but I'm sure prices are still fairly reasonable.

Buying beer in supermarkets is a good money saver also.

Hope you have a great time. Enoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

best club in brussels - Fuse
    gent - Culture Club

these are sweet places to visit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Banterville

Cheers for those posts! Can't wait to go!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gaui3d0pnbz86o

fruit beer(esp raspberry) is the business, so so good, as it trappist(sp beer) i didnt like the caramal beer though so steer clear unless you really really like the sound of it!

from what i remember(which was a lil while ago) a bottle of beer(belguin stuff) was about 1.25~2 depending on how close to tourist spots you were

also i agree maniquin pis was ****e

I'll be studying in L'Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-neuve and since the college empties at the weekend I have decided to travel. Where are the best places to visit???

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Just go everywhere, you're on a great train infrastructure hub .... just go for it.

Paris, Geneva, Lyon, heck you can go to Zagreb if you want .... enjoy !!

You can probably get a discounted train season ticket or inter-rail or something like that, sorry can't be more specific, 10 years (omg) since I did the 'travel anywhere I feel like at the weekend' phase..... just go for it Banterville !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Darkwing Duck

Not to harp on, but does anyone know what Brugges is like? I'm off to Brussels and Brugge at the end of the month for a wee holiday, and as everyone has already given a bit on on other areas I was wondering if anyone knew anything about the nightlife in Brugges? (Such as any chance of a decent Czech beer over there :D )

Thanks for any advice you've got

The Duck

Yeah thanks Culchie. I can't wait for those spontaneous weekends all over europe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gaui3d0pnbz86o

brugge is nice, kinda has an school tour\old person vibe off it, as its real relaxie. plenty of places to eat and drink, very touristy. the best and cheapest chocs can be found there(shop around, prices vary wildy!!!)

nightlife nothing to write home about imn my opinion didnt look for any so could have missed it. i just drank in a nice beer garden all night

why would you want czech beer when so much belguin goodness? why why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Gent is the business. Go there its a student town. Its has a big strip of bars and clubs with some of the best birds I have seen. Its very dutch there where as brussels is more french style. We had a deadly time in both but I'd say if we didnt have our tour guide (friend of mine) we would not have found any nightlife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Darkwing Duck

Thanks for the help lads and ladies, some of this fruit beer sound like it may well be in order ;)