Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ouija boards?

• 05-05-2005 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭

i was thinking of using one with a few friends some time but i'm not sure about it just yet. I've heard alot of people are scared witless by them and weird **** happens afterwards and then again i heard that its just a simple way to tap into your subconcious. does anyone have any experience with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

no, but I think it would be a great activity for a 21st or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Was in a house once when there was a group using the Ouija board, I am hugely sceptical of all things paranormal but even I to this day, can't explain the way the house shook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Oh we got a nice glow in the dark one from Toys-R-Us in Times Square in New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

are you kidding about the house shaking. one of my friends was saying that he did it with a few lads whan they were kids and one of them started babbleing to himself and that his aul lad came down and totally distroyed the thing and went beserk with him for doing it in his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Appearently, it's a very dangerous way of communicating. A secence is ment to be safer.

Then again having never tried either, I can't say. I'm curious to do it sometime.

Has anyone ever used a glass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

theres a link here for a web based one at

http://www.museumoftalkingboards.com/WebOuija.html

i'm not trying it till i know more about it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

daithimac wrote:
    and then again i heard that its just a simple way to tap into your subconcious
    And this would be a pleasant way of passing the evening why exactly?
    I've given my views on the Ouija [post=2222580]recently[/post] so I won't repeat myself, but tapping into your subconcious is something to do in psychoanalysis or a supportive environment with people you trust and preferably done relatively slowly.

daithimac wrote:

I asked it "Is this a pile of crap?" It said "Yes" :D

Spirits communicating through Javascript's Math.random() function? There are some things I'll remain sceptical about :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

My sister and 3 of her friends were staying over one night in 2002, her 3 friends did the Ouiji Board, she didn't. Her 3 friends are dead now, they all died within a 6 weeks of each other, all aged 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

is that true sjones?

Talliesin, great post on the other thread. You really killed that discussion ;)

Taking a slow and steady approach, how does one become experienced in these things? I assume it takes a year of ten?

Personally I like to keep an open mind but can't help my skepticism creeping through at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Yep. Freaky eh? One was suicide, other two were murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

You will get answers with one, but everybody agrees that the 'communication' that comes through is useless gibberish usually, and they can often have negative psychological effects on certain types of people.

If you're really interested in the paranormal, I'd say reading and research is the best way to go about developing an understanding - if any of us will ever truly understand much of it in our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

sjones wrote:
    Yep. Freaky eh? One was suicide, other two were murdered.

Are you serious? Like come on now? Really? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭r3boot

what does the word ouji comefrom ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

A friend of mine did a Ouija board on his own while on LSD when he was younger. The next day he came to school scared ****less and told me that he asked "When will I die" and the whole room, the whole building shook. He was so freaked out. Then I told him that it was most likely the earthquake that happened at the same time that night.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ouija

Ouija is apparently a trademark, didn't know that.

r3boot wrote:
    what does the word ouji comefrom ?

Originally they were sold as children's toys and the word was a mixture of 'oui' and 'ja' both words for yes in French and German respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Kernel wrote:
    Originally they were sold as children's toys and the word was a mixture of 'oui' and 'ja' both words for yes in French and German respectively.

Rather inglorious isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

gordon wrote:
    A friend of mine did a Ouija board on his own while on LSD when he was younger. The next day he came to school scared ****less and told me that he asked "When will I die" and the whole room, the whole building shook. He was so freaked out. Then I told him that it was most likely the earthquake that happened at the same time that night.
    wondering do I know you in RL..same thing happened to a friend of mine. We were on school tour, don't think he was on lsd but as it was holland there was an abundance of other things he could have been on.
    The room we were in started shaking and the boys came running through our room screaming that they had knocked the glass over.
    It was na earthquake..not that they get many in holland, just happened at exactly the same time.

<edit> what country was the earthquake in Gordon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Listen, a lot of people think that it is a load of nonsense and I myself is sceptical of a lot of all these paranormal things like mediums,reincarnations, UFOs blah blah but I have done the Ouija Board.

I did it when I was 15 with a few friends in one of the girl's house and believe me it works! I dunno how or whatever but it can! At one stage only two of us were using it and I would ask a question in my mind about the other girl (I suspected she had an eating disorder) and it started answering my questions and I could see on the other girls face that she knew what I was asking. It was really freaky. I can't remember want we used to put our fingers on (for spelling), some small object, but I could feel the pull of it and I definately wasn't pulling or pushing it and as their was only two of us, itwould have been harder to manipulate it.

After, i swear their was a funny presence in my room at home. For a good two years. There would be strange smells in parts of the room, things of mine would disappear and reappear. Fair enough the last one could be me just forgetting, but it happened on numerous occasions and the smell was pretty nasty and would come and go.

Wheather its real or not, it fecks you up in the head and I wouldn't suggest you trying. But probably most people will now want to go and do and see if it works. Simple case of telling child, 'don't touch that' and they burn themselves.

[I]You've been warned!!![/I]

Also, I wasn't drunk or stoned etc.. and I ain't some looper.

Larianne wrote:
    Wheather its real or not, it fecks you up in the head and I wouldn't suggest you trying. But probably most people will now want to go and do and see if it works. Simple case of telling child, 'don't touch that' and they burn themselves.
    The friend I was referring to has been on medication since. (15 years) Not a pretty sight tbh.

solas wrote:
    The friend I was referring to has been on medication since. Not a pretty sight tbh.

Yeah, I can fully believe it!! Not nice thing to hear. Hope he/she can sort themselves out. I could see how it can take hold of you.

Be careful folks! :o

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Larianne, my experience was really similar to yours, including being aware of a presence. Ive posted about it before. I wasnt getting involved in this thread up to now, because of exactly your point, itll encourage others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭smidgy

This kinda stuff is very real. I have read in church literature that it is always the devil that communicates through this medium, you may think you are communicating to someone else but it is always satan. I knew a 3 lads who were communicating with some 'spirit' and crazy @~** started happening to them. They had to give it up, it just opens up a whole world of $H!T.

smidgy wrote:
    This kinda stuff is very real. I have read in church literature that it is always the devil that communicates through this medium, you may think you are communicating to someone else but it is always satan. I knew a 3 lads who were communicating with some 'spirit' and crazy @~** started happening to them. They had to give it up, it just opens up a whole world of $H!T.

In fairness, I haven't heard anything from the Church or a lad that went to school with a lad down the pub, I've dabbled, and mentioned before what happens. You do get words spelled out, but the jury is still out as to what causes this (it can most possibly be the subconscious). The information you obtain is fairly general, useless and trivial. Afterwards you feel uneasy and unable to sleep, as though you are not alone (again could be psychological effects of thinking about what you have done, or even tapping into a part of your brain/subconscious. My advice, nothing bad has happened to me, or anyone else that did it, but it isn't unheard of to happen to others, so why bother playing with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

I dabbled with that when I was in college. Never. Again.

In a nutshell:
    4 friends of one of the guys in on the session were mentioned by name, and not in a happy story either. They were killed in a car crash that night.
    Glasses, and I mean big tankards here, exploded into a million pieces where they stood. As I walked home from the house where it took place, every street light switched off as I passed it (I actually stopped and waited to see if it was some sort of cooling cycle, but they didn't come back on). Not much sleep (read: none) was had that night.
    I did speak to a priest about it a coupla years ago, but he just reckoned it was a load of old cock. Ah well, maybe we were masters of telekinesis and we just didn't realise. ;) Just thinking about that night still scares me 11 years later. :(
    Bottom line: If you're going to do it, who am I to tell you not to. Just be as prepared as you can for the possible consequences.
    BTW, I actually had attended a couple of sessions in other locations prior to this one, and nothing happened. Nada. Nothing at all. I guess we were just "lucky" that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭goin'_to_the_PS

daithimac wrote:

how does this work i type my q in and nothing happened

Garibaldi wrote:
    I dabbled with that when I was in college. Never. Again.

In a nutshell:
    4 friends of one of the guys in on the session were mentioned by name, and not in a happy story either. They were killed in a car crash that night.
    Glasses, and I mean big tankards here, exploded into a million pieces where they stood. As I walked home from the house where it took place, every street light switched off as I passed it (I actually stopped and waited to see if it was some sort of cooling cycle, but they didn't come back on). Not much sleep (read: none) was had that night.
    I did speak to a priest about it a coupla years ago, but he just reckoned it was a load of old cock. Ah well, maybe we were masters of telekinesis and we just didn't realise. ;) Just thinking about that night still scares me 11 years later. :(
    Bottom line: If you're going to do it, who am I to tell you not to. Just be as prepared as you can for the possible consequences.
    BTW, I actually had attended a couple of sessions in other locations prior to this one, and nothing happened. Nada. Nothing at all. I guess we were just "lucky" that night.

Jaysus, that's bad. The more i hear about the whole thing the more it seems like it's equivalent to playing russian roulette to figure out how a gun works. But as we all know, nothing stops the curious! ;)

Kernel wrote:
    Jaysus, that's bad. The more i hear about the whole thing the more it seems like it's equivalent to playing russian roulette to figure out how a gun works. But as we all know, nothing stops the curious! ;)

Yep, if someone wanna try drugs they're gonna do it.

I don't know if it's your sub-concious or spirits or the devil. But it did start off with a young boy contacting us. blah blah..

Can't explain the weird smell in my room though. And it would change in location. ANd it wasn't just me who could smell it.

Anyway, you've been warned. Luckily nothing really bad happened me like those people in the car crash. Jaysus that's terrible!! :o

Believe me, those were just the highlights.

As a matter of interest, anyone know if any studies have been done regarding the correlation between Ouija sessions and deaths, or is it all just considered to be, as the aforementioned priest might say, a load of old cock by the scientific community? Not necessarily saying that one may be directly responsible for the other, but with regard to prediction of deaths/accidents/significant events (no need to restrict it to deaths, I guess). Has anyone ever heard of positive outcomes of Ouija sessions?

I don't know of any studies done, but it sounds lke an interesting idea.

Using an ouija board is the equivalent of using a sledgehammer to open a window. Problem being it can make the window damn hard to close again, and thats why I dont recommend it.

Probably any priest or well meaning person will tell you its a load of old cock, in order that you put it behind you and not go off the deep end, mentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I did a Ouija board years ago with a few lads. I reckon one of them was taking the píss and moving the pointer though. We asked who it was we were speaking to and it spelt out "SATAN". We dropped the Ouija and legged it anyway. I don't think I'd do it again regardless.

Reasonable point, KatieK. However, when you and four others (four invlved in the session and one unwitting participant asleep on the couch in the next room) have experienced events such as those described, the "load of old cock" response seems like nothing more than a fob off, no matter how well intended. Still, that too is understandable. I don't think I'd believe what happened either, if it hadn't actually happened to me.

I still went off the deep end, mentally. But it was the IT industry which did that to me. ;)

So, which body, if any, might actually carry out such a study? There may well be an obvious answer to that, but I'm new to this forum and haven't dug too deeply.

Garibaldi wrote:
    Reasonable point, KatieK. However, when you and four others (four invlved in the session and one unwitting participant asleep on the couch in the next room) have experienced events such as those described, the "load of old cock" response seems like nothing more than a fob off, no matter how well intended. Still, that too is understandable. I don't think I'd believe what happened either, if it hadn't actually happened to me.

I still went off the deep end, mentally. But it was the IT industry which did that to me. ;)

I didnt mean to come across an not believing you, I also had a priest say it was my imagination, I hated him for years for that. What happened to me (I was alone, noone else to move the pointer) was real and involved information that I didnt know, but I checked it out afterwards. As regards the death thing, I dont know what to believe, in my case I now feel protected from spirit and fear of that kind of thing is not an issue.
    Garibaldi wrote:
    So, which body, if any, might actually carry out such a study? There may well be an obvious answer to that, but I'm new to this forum and haven't dug too deeply.
    Who would want to be involved considering whats been said here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Garibaldi wrote:

Sounds like the making of a good horror movie to me, so college masters graduate dude takes it upon themself as a thesis.
    Start counting the cliche's.

On a more serious note, the more I read the more I want to try one despite teh dangers been noted

Dr. Loon wrote:
    I did a Ouija board years ago with a few lads. I reckon one of them was taking the píss and moving the pointer though. We asked who it was we were speaking to and it spelt out "SATAN". We dropped the Ouija and legged it anyway. I don't think I'd do it again regardless.
    Of course if you had accidentally evoked the second most powerful being in Christian mythology then, given that he's not known for his laidback cool-and-grooviness, dropping the board and running may not be enough to get you out of that one.
    So what you had in fact contacted was at most the equivalent to someone using a name like I_AM_S4T4N on the Internet.

KatieK, I didn't mean to imply you didn't believe me, although I can see why you'd think I did. And to think, someone on another thread said communications was a crap course! :D

Gillo, it's *my* story!! I demand a fee...or, at least, a long, well-paid acting career!! :D

garbaldi wrote:
    so, which body, if any, might actually carry out such a study? There may well be an obvious answer to that, but I'm new to this forum and haven't dug too deeply.
    I'm interested to know too, that's not to say I want to get involved with a ouija board nor am I suggesting people start messing with it in order to gain some statistics, I was referring to statistics of past incidents. Maybe you could start a poll here.

<edit> I was talking to someone about the subject earlier this week and he said they did a poll in the states some time back as part of a natinal radio show (with over a million listeners) and they recieved tens of thousands of e-mails and fone calls and there was less than one percent positive experience in all of them.
    I don't know how accurate his version of events are or even if there stattiscs available, but it sounds about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭hawkmoon269

Well after reading this thread whatever curiosity I had about taking part in a ouija board session has evaporated! :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

solas wrote:
    and there was less than one percent positive experience in all of them.
    By positive do you mean something actually happened, or one percent of the events were positive as in good ?

I'll see if I can stick a poll up tomorrow. Work kept intruding all day and now it's time to go home. If anyone else wants to put one up in the meantime, be my guest...

steve wrote:
    By positive do you mean something actually happened, or one percent of the events were positive as in good ?
    Couldn't say really, didn't discuss in detail but I assumed he meant less than one percent who didn't have a bad experience. Could be one percent who had a positive experience as in something good happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

there was a thing on fm104 about this topic and a psychic lady came on and sad basically never do it unless you are very experianced at some sort of clensing ritual.
    as a matter of interest can u make them urself/do one on ur own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭SirIrish

This, like psychics,crystal balls,tarot cards ,mediums etc... are all money making scams !!

1) When I was thirteen I lived by a graveyard in which priests were buried in tombs above ground. These things were really old. Myself and a few of my friends were in the graveyard playing hide and seek(yeah I know) and we noticed that one of the walls on one of the tombs had fallen down revealing a really old coffin floating in water(no we didn't knock the wall) . Anyway one of my friends ,a girl dared us to do the ouija board beside the open tomb and it just so happened she had one at home. So scared ****less but not going to be shown up by a girl four of us agreed to do it including the girl the other three chickened out. So she went and got the board and then we set it up beside the open tomb. We asked it a few questions and it moved like it's supposed to and we got bored after a while and went home. NOTHING AMAZING HAPPENED and I later found out that the girl was the one moving the whatchamacallit around. We're all still alive today and nothing out of the ordinary happened to us.

2) Later on in my life I was bartending in NY and it was early morning and there was nothing much happening when a big limo pulled up outside. Out jumped this guy with a suit that prolly cost more than my house and jewlery that would make BA jealous. So he comes in and sits down orders a drink and we get talking. Turns out he's a "psychic" and that's where he's made his money. I tell him I thing it's great that he's doing so well but I don't believe in them and think their all fake. So he decides to give me a reading. I say ok but I wasn't going to tell him anything about me except my date of birth. For 30 minutes he tried his best but couldn't get one thing right about me. Was talking about dogs and people I never heard of and events that never happened in my life. So at the end of it I told him this and he just laughed. He then said to me that it is all bull and baiscally all he does is work off his own experiences and he'll hit a nerve and then just works on that. He did say though that I was the only one that nothing clicked with. made me think I musta had a crap life.

Anyway yer all free to believe what you want but I'm convinced it's all bull. If it were that bad do ye think they'd be allowed sell the boards in toy shops??? or any shops for that matter :confused::D

SirIrish wrote:
    it's supposed to and we got bored after a while and went home. NOTHING AMAZING HAPPENED and I later found out that the girl was the one moving the whatchamacallit around. We're all still alive today and nothing out of the ordinary happened to us.

Good story about the 'psychic' guy. I accept that there are fraudsters, but there are also people here who have had personal experiences with these things, and I have had some results myself when I messed about years ago. It doesn't always work, but if you leave a door open, soon or later someone/thing may come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

SirIrish wrote:
    the other three chickened out.
    I'd have been one of them.....you'd never catch me near one of those boards...I was always curious but wasn't riskin it...

sirIrish wrote:
    When I was thirteen I lived by a graveyard in which priests were buried in tombs above ground.
    no doubt all the dead priests were keeping you safe :o

SirIrish wrote:
    This, like psychics,crystal balls,tarot cards ,mediums etc... are all money making scams !!
    Youre being a little unfair, many posters here dont actually want your money, ;) but have had things happen that are curious and warrant discussion.
    SirIrish wrote:
    Anyway yer all free to believe what you want but I'm convinced it's all bull. If it were that bad do ye think they'd be allowed sell the boards in toy shops??? or any shops for that matter
    My theory, based on nothing more than my own thoughts, is that whether these things work or not is down to the ability of the user, conciously or unconciously, to open the channel. Some people are good at it, some arent.

Graveyards, despite their spooky aura would not be the best places to do this kind of thing. The dead haunt the living, remember, and they have more active places to hang out :)

SirIrish wrote:
    Look at all the money we're making from it. Wheeee. :rolleyes:
    SirIrish wrote:
    Anyway yer all free to believe what you want but I'm convinced it's all bull. If it were that bad do ye think they'd be allowed sell the boards in toy shops??? or any shops for that matter :confused::D
    You can buy pens and pieces of card in shops, which is all you need anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Dr.Feelgood

Is there any reading i should do-or subjects i should educate myself in before using one- just to be as safe as possible- no harm in damage limitation is there- i'm sure not only the "evil" or bad spirits can be evoked-

Somebody has to have had a good experience with one?