Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WTF am i supose to do

• 21-04-2005 11:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

Hi, I'm going to start with the background then you can get a better picture. I'm a 20+ fem and seeing a 20+ male. We have been seeing each other for little over a year! We went through some really crazy stuff. We have our ups and we have our downs. Our relationship started of as casual dating. Nothing serious. In the past 6-8 months have we have become a lot more serious. Like staying over in each other’s meeting family and friends! Going on holidays and talking about the future!

We both come from pretty messed up pasts. I've been in really bad relationships, this being the reason for our casual dating at the start.
    He had problems with his last few girlfriends and decided not to see anyone seriously for a very long time. He wanted a fun life. But we met. Within weeks of knowing him I new that this should be paused or something. Neither of us where at the time ready for each other.

I fell for him and he seemed to as well. We didn’t talk about this for a very long time. We kept our thoughts to ourselves. From a long line of un-trust worthy relationships I get very nervous I suffer from anxiety and fret over a lot of things.

We are great together. We started our relationship and we've gone through a lot together, even loss. He only recently told me of how our relationship could turn out in his eyes. Moving in together, having a family ECT. But not yet! This to me was great. We've had many more ups than downs.

I have never been so happy with another person ever!
    He says the same,

Here’s the problem! His ex girlfriend of nearly 2 and half years.
    At Christmas (the start of a bad spot) He went away with his dad and his brothers for the days between the 27 and the 30 on the 28th he phoned his ex aoife. He had gotten very drunk, so drunk that he hadn’t the ability to get onto the bed so he lay on the floor and rang people. She was the first to answer. He yelled and screamed and lost it at her for god knows what reason. She hung up (fair play) and then he rang me. Me being me (bad habit of taking abusive sh! t from people) stayed on the phone for over 2 hours of him yelling at me nearing the end (me in tears unknown to what I had done) he called me aoife! I then copped on and let it lie for a few days. We spend New Years Eve separate. And met on new years day. And talked. We seemed to sort things out after a few days. Things where fine apart from my family stirring sh!t.

Now he has kept the txts she sent him and the ones he sent her over Christmas. Since we talked things threw he said she was the only girl before me that he ever felt for. After they broke up he used girls left right and centre. Then we met! Things changed I was someone who had a heart and mind he understood. And I had been dreaming of him for years!

Last night he got a missed call from her. He told me this morning and told me he rang back but it went into her voice mail. He doesn’t know what it means and neither do I.

A-she wants to talk
    B-she was drunk and wanted a "word"
    C-she wants him back
    D-didn’t mean to call him

Just that missed call has sent me reeling! I’m shaky and scared. I want to stand by him. I don’t know if he'll be hurt by it or not. But I don’t want to loose him. I've never loved a man like this before.
    I just don't know how to handle what it could or does mean.

I'm being silly. Maybe I just need a slap and be told to cop on...

He has said there’s nothing to worry about, but I don’t know!

Thanks for reading all this...and for any help (good or bad)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Dooid

That's a toughie. It's a bit worrying that he should ring his ex first before you but then again he was drunk so who knows, he seems to be sending out mixed messages; on the one hand he says he wants to be with you but then on the other there does seem to be some unfinished business with this other girl. Why was he giving u abuse on the phone? Seems a bit hard to believe that he simply thought u were her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 the*who*

It wasn't me (in his mind) that he was giving out to. at the end he called me aoife.

I forgot my name isnt aoife! his ex is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hoochiemama

well the way i see it, he rang her first to shout at her. you know its not bad then! he rang her to give out to her. obviously he hadnt gotten a chance to give her a b*llickin when they broke up and it might just be closure for him.

another thing is, its completely normal for you to feel like this, most people feel threatened by the "ex" but there is something i think you've missed. he's being 100% honest with you. he has told you about every phonecall and text. hes told you all about her. and you know he didnt have to tell you that she rang the other night but he did. the fact that he isnt lying to you should show you how important you are to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

the*who* wrote:
    I'm being silly. Maybe I just need a slap and be told to cop on...

Indeed.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

hey. youre upset. understandably. and thats ok.

from your post, it looks like youa re being rational, trying to understand what is going on andyou are not being melodramatic. you have a head on your shoulders.

of course, inside that head, all sorts of things are running around. :)

but you know what, it seems like you guys have a good time, are good together.
    the only thing that may be a problem, is that he hasnt had final closure on his ex. if it was his forst real love, it will take ages. and thats just first love.

i suspect his reasons for being upset and for shouting, are that he was frustrated. he probably knew straight off that he made a bit of a mistake, and being a guy, just got frustrated at not being able to articulate what he wanted to say (which is most likely along the lines of 'oh bugger, i made a mistake, im sorry')

i think you should sit down, tell him that yo understand, but that yo ulove him, you want to be with him, and to be truthful to himself and to you in what he is feeling./
    he probably doesnt know what he wants right now. getting calls and keeping texts does not mean he loves her or wants her back. they may simply be his way of hanging onto something. nothing good, nothing bad, but just something he remembers, and it kind of keeps him stable.
    he just needs to start exorsising those demons. ask him to delete the texts. he can talk to his ex if he wants, but make sure that if she is starting any 'oh i miss you' crap, then its a sharp foot up her arse from him.

but the truth is, you both come from bad relationships, you know what its like to be treated like crap, and you wont take it again. it will only make you guys stronger.

if you want to keep your man, just try and understand him. he will not want to talk, so just care for him, and he will come round.

actually, thats probably the best advice ever given to a woman when talking about a bloke.
    if hes in a 'place' just care for him, hug hima dn tell him you love him. he doesnt need you solving his problems, digging info out of him or nagging. he just wants to think for himself. thats all it is :)
    /off topic

so, what do you think?
    do you think hes probably justa bit confused and frustrated?

and do you think you should find out what this chick wants first before running 17 different scenarios through your head? (and thats a woman thing to do! :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭HarryD

If my ex of 2.5yrs rang me and started abusing me on the phone,
    I certainly wouldn't want her back..
    She probably just wants to find out what the hell he was at phoning her
    and abusing her..
    It sounds to me like you're in a good relationship and have nothing serious to worry about.

I do know this, he's told me alot. I'm scared i might feck it up being the insecure me! I dont want to. I dont want to be jealous or hate her but i am and i do!

She hurt him so bad. From talking with me he's found that it wasnt all down to her. but she drove him so far that he started drinking heavily just to forget!

now he's hurt (physicaly) he did some damage to his heart from drinking so much!

I just want to protect him from her but i dont know who's going to protect me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hoochiemama

I know you're insecure. Tell your boyfriend this but tell him you can't help it and you know he would never hurt you. And tell him that no matter what you will be there for him and trust me, he will be there for you. it doesnt have to be either you support him through something or he suppports you through something. you can support each other

WWM- your answers, being a woman and all i got to about senario 36 before i wrote this very long post! but thats my biggest problem. I write great storys and i tend to use my life as the starting point. me being the stupid a$$.

I've only spoke to him over the phone but he seems ok. he rang me to say not to worry or play out stuff!

then we got talking about dreams. all last night he dreamed of having sex with her over and over. each time someone would interupt them...

i know that he dreams of sex with other people. and more than likely getting the phone call had her on his brain but it did make my gut turn!

the*who* wrote:
    then we got talking about dreams. all last night he dreamed of having sex with her over and over. each time someone would interupt them...

And he told you that? There's being honest and then there's being "too" honest"!!! He didn't need to tell you that.

B.

I know he didn't have to but it's a thing we do.

I'm not a silly little girl who thinks my guy only ever dreams of sex with me!

dreams happen for a reason. We are friend too you see he comes to me with problems and i to him. even if they are about each other!

i just want to keep my head in place!!!

i needed to let it out to some one with out loyalties!

you guys could tell me i'm being stupid (there will be no hard feelings) my friends will turn it on him because they will do what they think will make me feel better.. not always the best idea!

well, when i gave up smoking, i dreamed of smoking all the time. but it was more becuase i was happy about not smoking, and i could deal with it, not because i wanted a smoke :)

i think you genuinely have little to worry about. you have a very honest and open relationship where you talk to each other and obviously care about each other.

what goes on in your own head is going to ahppen regardless, and its ok to worry. but just remember all the good things in your current relationship, and how there is nothing similar to the old one, or to his old one.

the*who* wrote:
    dreams happen for a reason.

Yeah, but dreams sometimes happen because you've eaten cheese before you go to bed!

tbh it just sounds like you're thinking too much about things. learn to not analyse things so much. easier said than done I know!

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

Thank you very much to every one!
    what you guys have said and a cup of tea has help a lot!

kk-cheers

Imean they happen for a reason-

sexual dreams dont actually mean that its a sexual dream it could have a hiden meaning!

i wish i had my dream book hand(the web is pretty bad when it comes to translations)

and then saying that they happen for a reason could be just that. he was reliving part of his life, i dont mind that he has sex dreams about other woman but it did get my gut in a knot!

*Page* wrote:
    Thank you very much to every one!
    what you guys have said and a cup of tea has help a lot!

unmasked!

and you would have gotten away with it too, if it hadnt been for those pesky kids!

I couldn't be bothered be the*who*

but thank you i thought you of all people would have guessed

dunno, if went around trying to figure out who had additinal accounts and who they were, id never get around to answering any PI queries...

work!

i mean id never get around to doing any work!

back on topic. i've txted him told him that i care about him, i cant wait to see him and that i want him always!

and to let me know when he's free for a (playful) chat! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭MF2HD

So 4 months ago he had this phone shouting thing with the ex and then you and he is *still* texting the ex and pondering over missed calls from her and sharing that info with you

Come on you do not need that sort of sh1t in your life. You need to get strong for yourself, take a step back for a while to get some perspective on things

(I hope all works out for you)

He isnt still txting her. he has saved txt's from the night they argued and one she sent him on new years eve.(wishing him happy new year and all)

I just got off the phone with him(i'm still in work) we're going tomeet up for one drink and have a quite chat about whats happening. He says the only times he's thought of it was when i was on the phone and we where talking about it and when i sent him the txt. he said that he was worried about why she rang but after he tld me he didn't really care.

he's only worried about me and why i got upset about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

MF2HD wrote:
    So 4 months ago he had this phone shouting thing with the ex and then you and he is *still* texting the ex and pondering over missed calls from her and sharing that info with you

Come on you do not need that sort of sh1t in your life. You need to get strong for yourself, take a step back for a while to get some perspective on things

(I hope all works out for you)

yea totally agree , unless your getting 100% whats the point ,
    if i found out my fella was ringing and texting his ex lets just say he wouldnt be my fella anymore , if hes going on about missed calls form her and ringing her back maybe he hopes shes ringing to get back with him i dunno like but him ringing her when hes drunk and stuff , na thats the kinda sh*t you could do without .
    If it was me I would a dumped him by now , sorry if i sound harsh but guys who mess people around are just not worth it in my opiinion , hope it all works out somehow for ya .

well i'll keep that in mind oldyeller cheers

its good to see the good and bad view people have of this!

Na ive just been out with some losers and i hate to see people getting messed around ya know , I just wouldnt be comfortable with my bf ringing and texting his ex , shes the ex for a reason if hes still into her he shouldnt be messing ya around.
    I hope it all goes well just dont take any sh*t off him.

From the bits of the converstation we had about the phone call, he was mainly having a go at her because of the sh!t she put him through. and the effect its had on him!
    when they split up there was no argument. she just got up and walked away!

I've also been with many looser's this is why i don't want to feck this up. he's not a looser. he does all the right things!

the txts he sent where pretty nasty aswell, and he told me all about it the day we sat down.

Yea but she hurt him in the past , so leave it in the past , whats the point in ringing her up letting her know she got to him , he should ring you and instead of being mad , he should be happy with the girl he has now not thinking about what his ex did to him , I m sorry if i sound like im bitching here , im not really Im just the suspicious type.

i can understand this.

you see at the time we where going throgh a rock patch my mate had just killed himself and my guy wasnt to sure how to handle me (i was really broken)

so he vented on someone that wasnt me.

well good luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

*Page* wrote:
    He isnt still txting her. he has saved txt's from the night they argued and one she sent him on new years eve.(wishing him happy new year and all)
    Come on folks, someone else surely must be thinking the same as me - why the hell has he SAVED those texts from his ex??!!!!

I mean, I think that's very very very very odd :eek:

*Page* wrote:
    i can understand this.

you see at the time we where going throgh a rock patch my mate had just killed himself and my guy wasnt to sure how to handle me (i was really broken)

so he vented on someone that wasnt me.

But he did vent on you for 2 hours you said in a previous post until

"She hung up (fair play) and then he rang me. Me being me (bad habit of taking abusive sh! t from people) stayed on the phone for over 2 hours of him yelling at me nearing the end (me in tears unknown to what I had done) he called me aoife!"

Why can I ask is this series of events still an issue 4+ months later?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭cordelia

It sounds like you have the makings of a good relationship. It also sounds like you need a good injection of some self esteem. You do have a right to be annoyed with him for saving those texts, to be a little off put by his sharing his sexual dreams involving his ex with you. This doesn't mean that the world will collapse in on itself. It doesn't mean he's going to walk away forever. This is bothering you, otherwise why would you post it seeking advice and an area to vent?

He sounds like a good guy overall, a diamond in the rough so to speak. But if you don't let him know how you feel (albeit fairly and calmly, without the banshee nagging so many of us women tend towards after letting things build up) than you are doing a disservice to both him and your relationship.

If you would rather he work out what he needs to with the ex, then talk to him about this. Don't apologize for feeling the way you feel. Just DON'T try to tell him what to do, men never like that. However, most men appreciate a woman who's able to speak her mind in a respectful and sound way. It makes their lives SO much easier. Tell him you love him, but that you are uncomfortable with the intensity of all this vitriol passing between he and the ex. Suggest perhaps he needs to find some closure because it's starting to seep it's toxic way into your good thing.

Like I said, you CAN do this calmly, honestly, respectfully, lovingly. If you continue to act like all's fine, suppressing yourself, it will start to creep out in little ways. It always does.

And remember this: You are lucky to have him, yes, but he is also lucky to have you. Yes, he's the King, but you're the Queen, sister, and don't you forget it... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

tinkerbell wrote:
    Come on folks, someone else surely must be thinking the same as me - why the hell has he SAVED those texts from his ex??!!!!

I don't think it's that odd. People save the oddest things on their phones. If I got a text that I wasn't sure how I felt about (am I pleased, annoyed, pi**ed off? Not do I still have feeling for the sender). I might easily save them so I could read them and see if I could figure it out.

I had an ex about 4 years ago who I had split with a year before who started texting me. I knew I didn't want to get back with him but I still kept them a while as I wasn't sure what he really wanted an I wanted to figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

tinkerbell wrote:

Sentimentality. I have text on my phone that are 3 years old (note: need new phone).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Victor reply: -10 points

--

That sentimentality should not be strong enough to cause him to keep those texts if his current relationship was perfect (note word).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

My point wasn't about sentimental value. For example, I keep texts from my boyfriend that he has sent me, coz I like to read them :) Some of them are over two years old.

However! Why would you keep texts about a fight with your ex? That's just too strange, in my opinion. People usually keep texts for sentimental value, not coz there are harsh words in them.

Thanks again guys and girls we met up last night had a pizza and a chat was really nice.

I asked him out straight about why he still has the txt's and he took out his phone and showed me some of the txt's i sent him that he had saved. he said he keeps the stuff to remember! (he does have a very bad memory)

we talked about what would happen if she wanted him back he said nothing would happen. she can keep on wanteding. he feels they broke up for a reason.

He doesn't want me to be sad or up set by this but he see's that it gets to me. i told him of my insecurities. he just held me kissed me and asked what he could do to make it better.

He's a really sweet guy.

I'm so glad you both worked this out, I wish you both well for the future.

*Page* wrote:
    He doesn't want me to be sad or up set by this but he see's that it gets to me. i told him of my insecurities. he just held me kissed me and asked what he could do to make it better.

He's a really sweet guy.

thats your opportunity to tell him how to make it better.

guys arent mind readers, they need to be told. the only problem is that if a guy is low in esteem, is frustrated with his life or has some other angsty problem, he will probably get defensive, and take it as nagging, or that you feel he is not doing things properly (yes, guys play out 93 different scenarios in their heads as well)

just ensure that you tell him what you want while in a conversation.

in fact, sandwich it between two positive things and never make it sound like an attack, merely as a coy suggestion.

he still sounds confused and little unsure. he needs to lose the baggage.

well thats kinda what i did.

I told him that everything he did was great and that it makes me love him more everyday. and just knowing that he's here for me makes everything better. i told him that for a while i felt so scared that i might loose him. and this point he smiled held me close and told me not to be so silly! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Rossonero

Sorry if i'm a bit off topic but, why did say you both are 20+? Is there an age gap?

6 months he's younger

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I don't think I ever deleted a text. Mind you, I only ever got about 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

lol pickarooney :)

--

Page, perhaps slightly off-topic, but you've obviously thought about this a lot...

Your bf said that they broke up for a reason and there's no chance of them getting back together. From a male perspective that has the ring of truth, were I you, I'd be pretty sure he's being honest there. Especially when he asks what he can do to make you feel better (you both sound amazingly mature for 20yr olds).

My question is could you bear him to remain friends with her, knowing what you do about his feeling for you? Because people break up for a reason does not mean that they cannot be friends (they may actually be better friends).

Interesting topic, and I'm glad things worked out for you.

I have no problems at all about this situation!
    i have kept in close contact with most of my x boyfriends, i have sugested this but he feels it would get to him too much! he has a lot of negitive feelings towards her, i just dont want to see his past make him go down hill again!