Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Fu%*ing Game!

• 20-04-2005 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭

Can u remember when you completely lost it .ie went really angry/Temporary insanity, in a game where it just just got sooo bad , ie throwing the joystick around and screaming?!

Empire Strikes back on the snes, Darth Vader managed to kill me after i got though the whole game without losing one life, and u had to start right back at the levels start, which was next to impossible! ill never forgive him for that ! :mad: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Pga tour golf.... when it all went to sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Happened me once or twice alright but what stands out in my head is when a "friend" of mine back in school got beat in snes StreetFighter2 for the 20th consecutive time - he lost it completly and in a rage, yanked out the controller from it's port and screamed how ****e the game was and that I was cheating by using Guile etc etc and then storming off home.....

I was a bit pissed off my snes could've been damaged but looking back, I have to chuckle....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Mario Kart used to infuriate me.
    Special Cup (whatever the last one was called after Star), one or two coins, Bowser or Donkey Kong would bump me and because of their weight you stalled. Then I'd end up with no coins and someone else would hit me and I'd spin out.
    Would always happen when I was leading. God damn cheating AI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

Mario Party! When your winning and some crazy random event in the final turn, usually initiated by an irrelevant party, makes you swap everything with the person in last and turns the game upside down. Very frustrating after 50 turns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Diddy Kong racing versus a pig boss if I remember... You had to make it around the course and time jumps over water perfectly... Even a slightest mistake meant you couldn't catch up with the boss and overtake him...... I almost threw my n64 out the window and probably would have followed it out had I not finally beaten the race after I dunno how many attempts and almost beating him each time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,386 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I usually do a lot of shouting at the TV but have never gotten into a rage. I like challenging games but if it's frustrating I use some language that I never knew was part of my vocabulary. One series that really annoys me are the Mario Kart games because of the cheating AI. My brother once broke the shock function of my dual shock controller after slamming it off the ground during a particularly hard license test in Gran Turismo 2was failed for the umpteenth time. I also have a friend who's brother broke his hand after punching through the wall of his computer room because of the license tests Gran Turismo 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

not many games get me annoyed but halo 2 does when i play online and i have been shootin someone and they shoot at me with the same weapons and i end up dying! grrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Had to be mario kart on the snes. Trying to shave off those last few seconds of your time, the lap is going so perfectly on the last corner you feck it up which results in the pad being thrown against the wall.

Also Goldeneye facility level trying to get under 2:05. Torture.

Guy I know had a playstation and Final Fantasy 7. I only played it a bit at the start. He played it though to the end and was on the boss sephiroth I iirc and brought his playstaion to my house. He showed me the boss and said he has nearly beaten him. I ask for a go against him and guess what I finished it. Wasnt very happy with that, I thought it was funny though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Some of the levels in Command And Conqer series, where you have like ONE spy to go around the entire enemy base, you spend about half an hour moving slowly, planning everything, then out of nowhere a guard dog comes up and eats you in half a second.

Argh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yeh i've never really go in a rage but games that frustrate me are

Counter-Strike - really frustrating but i love it really.
    street fighter II - was crap at it but my brother was worse and he kept beating me (button basher)
    pro evo4 - just frustrating but in a good way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

The first Project Gotham Racing got stupidly hard towards the later levels (something MSR on the Dreamcast was also guilty of).

Especially on the 'endurance' levels where you could easily race for 14 laps, focused hard the whole time, making those tight corners and creeping slowing up to pole position.

Then WHAM the AI controlled car decides to rear end you on one corner and 3 seconds later you're back in last position, damn I nearly threw the controller through the screen on one occasion :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

FFVII

Every FPS on a console that I've had the misfortune to pick up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Viewtiful Joe 2 :mad:
    there's one section in it where you have to hit 3 switches with silvias replay deelio, after using joe's mach speed to stun the enemies that are carrying the switches.
    for some reason i just cant hit the switch on top of the deelio... i tried so many ****ing times, i even checked a faq :(
    that nice feeling of superiority for owning a game before most other peeps soon wore off, and i haven't played it since the first week i got it (back in december)
    that ruined an otherwise damn fine game for me.
    it's most likely something obvious that i'm supposed to do... might go check for any newer faqs now actually...

fzero gx
    man that's one steep difficulty curve! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Guy I know had a playstation and Final Fantasy 7. I only played it a bit at the start. He played it though to the end and was on the boss sephiroth I iirc and brought his playstaion to my house. He showed me the boss and said he has nearly beaten him. I ask for a go against him and guess what I finished it. Wasnt very happy with that, I thought it was funny though!!

He was pretty easy to beat though. The only time I lost it was dying for about the 100th time fighting either the ruby or emerald ultimates because I didn't know what materia you needed to beat them. God damn it they were hard.

Counterstrike is about the only game that I lose the head with these days. Mariokart when your mate gets 4 lightnings in a row and just as it's about to wear out mario runs into you leaving both of ye in last place. Grrrrrr :mad: I got my revenge though by getting 5 in a row a few weeks later.

BloodBath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

Some of the licence tests in GT spring to mind, and PES4, you spend the whole game trying moves to score and you finally do in the last ten minutes, then the computer scores in one of its only attacks gah

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,386 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

tman wrote:
    fzero gx
    man that's one steep difficulty curve! :eek:

Those story mode challenges really get on the wrong side of me :mad:

I had trouble with the last boss of FFVII as well. I don't believe in levelling up in RPGs but the ridiculous difficulty jump of the last boss in most of the games really annoys me. I never level up though. I just do the subquests until I get the 'ridiculous magic of smiting'.

However the most annoying was the FF9 final boss. No matter how high your level was if you didn't get lucky with his attacks you would get annihilated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Football manager 2005 the game can piss you off in ways only a fellow fm player can know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

Retr0gamer wrote:
    However the most annoying was the FF9 final boss. No matter how high your level was if you didn't get lucky with his attacks you would get annihilated.

lol I beat him first time with no trouble what-so-ever, must have been real lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Funny thread, brought a few smiles...

I don't know if it's me but pretty much every game I played (on the NES, SNES, PS, PS2 and more recently on the PC) frustrated me at one point or another... I broke 4 NES pads, 6 SNES pads (damn you Super Mario!!!), 2 PS pads and 1 PS2 pad. More recently, I broke my PC keyboard playing Call of Duty online (punched it and it broke in half - thank God they're cheap).

After reading myself I think the problem lies with me... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

games ive lost my temper at:

-counter strike
    -joint ops
    -supermario world
    -all FF games have made me angry at some point especially X-2
    -super mario 2 and 3
    -those WWF games can annoy me when they keep counter attacking infinitely
    -gran turismo 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

gran tourismo licences always pissed me off

other than that, playing SWG and waiting 4 hours for a krayt dragon to spawn, running around the canyon on tatooine, then having one spawn on top of me as my buffs are wearing off and im leaving. then when i get back to kill it someone else killed it. i felt better after i killed him for being overt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

Someone should design a controler that is made to break apart when it is thrown to the ground, that would give you that satisfaction ofo destroying it, but then when you have cooled off and you can continue to play with it by pyutting it back together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Final Fantasy X-2:
    Every. ****ing. Cutscene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Final Fantasy X-2:
    Every. ****ing. Cutscene.

the annoying cut scenes werent what made me angry at that game as much as the characters and annoying voices that they have and incessantly use in battle, oh that made me angry allright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Counter strike is the most annoying game in the universe, and the worst thing about is its worth it for the gameplay...

You're running along, some guy walks into view, you line up, fire, keep firing, three round bursts again and again and by all logic he should be dead five times over, then he sees you and BLAM fires a million bullets into the air near you, they all miss except for the last one which just HAPPENS to hit your head. AAAAHHHHHHHRRRRRGGGGGGG!!! Die ffs die!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

I don't believe in levelling up in RPGs

heh? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

quarryman wrote:
    heh? :confused:

Levelling up is a stupid method of character devolpment...

Hahaha I have 80 HP, meaning that you sir will have to spend ten minutes stabbing me if I am to die...hahaha stupid level one mage hahahha

And there are ten thousand other thigns wrong with it but I won't get into it...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Mario Kart on the GC.

Coming first, need third or higher place to win super special magic (16 race) cup for the gold kart on rainbow road:
    Red shell, red shell, blue shell, blue shell, passed, big banana, passed, bomb, red shell, passed, line. 4th place. GC through expensive TV, shape of me in window, a murder, 20 to life being visited by a criminal pshycologist. Grr.

otherwise, i'm a happy-go-lucky kind of a guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Used to do it a lot when I was younger, lately though some of the time trials in burnout 3. Last level of Super Mario Bros, missing one of the pipes or even worse going down the wrong one. Gosts 'n' Ghouls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Doom 3 - after 5 minutes, how many more stupid monsters are going to jump out at me, .... I'd have been more entertained if they we Marty Whelan monsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

Anything multiload on the spectrum. Taking notes of the counter readings for each part, "Press play on tape" etc. Oh and cheating bloody RTS games that keep pumping out new units even after you've cut off all their raw materials.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I seem to recall my gameboy breaking years and years ago, conveniently around the same time that I got stuck on Metroid 2. Fzero and Fzero GX have also probably contributed in a negative way to my blood pressure...but nothing was ever as irritating as the arcade version of Art Of Fighting....gah. Stupid b*stard King! Kick my ass, will you? Oh. You just did. Again. And again. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH! (And then that crappy "revelation" that she's a girl.....grrrrrrrrrr)

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Most frustrating game I ever played was called China Miner on the C64. A rip-off of Manic Miner. I doubt anyone here has ever played it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

oh yeah i broke a mouse against my wall before when playing Frontier
    i was in a brand new panther trader, had gotten the crew together (took nearly a year at the station) had loaded up a full hold of robot parts going to van maenan, where they are illegal.

then i misjump.......my drive is destroyed, im several real years from van maenan even with the accelerated time. then when i reload the game im back in my kitted out constrictor that i was using for military work.

i forgot to save.........(4 hours gameplay)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

smile.gif

"And what did we learn today class?"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

That the gameboy-wall interface is volatile?

i know some one who broke there gameboy because they headbutted it too much when playing Batman animated series.

Another annoying RPG was Xenosaga. The battle engine was a joke. The game allowed you too boost which meant skipping ahead of everyone else and getting to go. The CPU could do this also but instead of keeping track of the boost the CPU did it whenever it felt like it. What resulted was getting beaten by normal battles because the CPU decided to boost 4 times in a row and bosses that after they take more than half everybodies health with an attack do it again and wipe you out with no chance to counter or heal. The last boss was also ridiculous. It had an attack that killed all my characters instantly unless I spent hours levelling up. I didn't. I got the uber powerful summon thingy instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

Halo 2 has been doing it for me latly, you empty all your ammo into some annoying american kid only to have him turn around and shoot you once and you die, argh.

Lost the head so much with my c64, broke so many joy sticks in frustration when id get killed and have to start over again and spend hours reloading some crappy game. Finally got a good black stick that wouldnt break no matter what i did to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

Pro Evolution Soccer

It makes you think your controller is broken. After whacking it and tossing it across the room a few times, it MAKES SURE your controller is broken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

Shadowman on the N64 about 5 or 6 years ago - in one of the later temples there was this particular jump (can't remember specifics tbh) and sometimes you'd jump it no problem but other times you'd just fall into lava for no reason :mad: (/Edit: forgot to mention you'd then have to start the temple all over again fom the start!)
    Eachtime you'd jump it the exact same way but sometimes you just wouldn't make it. So I was playing it one night for a couple of hours and this was really pissing me off so I threw the controller at the post of my bed but it didn't break. Played some more and fell again - AAAAAARRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHHyousonofaf**kingb*itchm*therf**ker!!!!!!!!!!! I threw it again but this time I smashed it into bits :o
    Man I loved that game though (one of the few who did I think).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

PES all incarnations, "IT WAS NEVER A ****ING FREE".

Soul Caliber 2" he did not just hit 27 times in 2 seconds!!!!!!"

Super Mario Sunshine," i made the ****ing jump".

Killer instinct "ahh only 426 hit combo, you disappoint me"

Bubble Bobble" bugger didnt see him"

Grand Prix on N64/Original Wipeout/F Zero "WALL!!!!!!!"

Wonderboy on C64" WTF its starting on level 1 again"

Metroid Prime " that game beat me"

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

KdjaC wrote:

kdjac

n00bUs M4xlmus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

KdjaC wrote:
    Meta Ridley on hard mode was an absolute hoor of a boss
    i say "was"... i guess the tense should be "is" though, seeing as i never managed to beat the cocksprout :o
    and you have to face him so goddamned soon after barely scraping through the Omega Pirate battle (and that long stretch between save points in phazon mines, leading up to the power bomb)
    ah well... i'm happy with my 200% normal mode game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

just played this evil level on jak 2. Simply put you must start at one end of these series of connecting walkways...fall off and your dead...and then the game just sends in wave after wave of troops in front of you and behind you and they dont stop. You cant sprint through it cause get to close to the dropships and they bomb you. so you have to concentrate moving slowly each step (dont go down wrong walkway or you'll never get out) trying your best to kill Everything...was at it for close to 3 hours tonight...i was fairly pissed off by the end.

-maximo...HOW THE F*CK DO YOU SAVE IN THIS GAME?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

MOHAA last level on hard is just taking the ****ing piss.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭dearg_doom

KdjaC wrote:

kdjac
    Agreed, but it's only really the last corner that is *impossible*, much F5/F9-age!!

And what a **** ending.... "The End"... WTF I was expecting a congratulatory video sequence thanking me for saving Europe or something! Ah well...

I remember the most frustrated I ever was while playing games was in SuperMetroid, just when ye had to let off a Powerbomb in the glass tunnel to get into Meridia. I couldn't figure it out FOR SO LONG (in fairness, it's not exactly an *obvious* solution now) I just didn't know where to go, I must have checked every inch of the gameworld a hundred times over for a door I might of missed or a hidden tunnel and read that bloody 'guide' a million times!!

So I gave up.

Broke my heart it did, because I was having so much fun, 'twas a brilliant game even just up to then.

Until... a month or so later I happened to be reading SuperPLAY, which used to have a 'help' section where readers would ask questions and get cheats/hints from the guys. Someone had sent in my exact problem, and just knowing it wasn't just me gave me a feeling of "phew, I'm not such a bad guy, it's *their* fault!!"

So I tried it, couldn't believe that mere mortals could concieve of such ingenious level design and finished the game later that week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

KdjaC wrote:

kdjac
    If I knew in advance that my only reward for dying about a hundred times and going through hell to finish that final MOHAA level was to simply jump onto a train and that was it, I wouldn't have done it! I actually wondered was my disk broken...where is the ending cut-scene?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Twisted metal black on the PS2 wrecked my head for ages couldnt beat the final boss no matter what i did. Then as mentioned above - no ending movie (well ok a very short one of the boss exploding).
    Actually does anyone know if there is SUPPOSED to be any movie sequences for that game at all ?? There were hardly any at all and i was just beginning to wonder if maybe it WAS my disc after all.

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    -maximo...HOW THE F*CK DO YOU SAVE IN THIS GAME?

Take 50 coins to the pool in the hub levels.
    I remember the most frustrated I ever was while playing games was in SuperMetroid, just when ye had to let off a Powerbomb in the glass tunnel to get into Meridia. I couldn't figure it out FOR SO LONG (in fairness, it's not exactly an *obvious* solution now) I just didn't know where to go, I must have checked every inch of the gameworld a hundred times over for a door I might of missed or a hidden tunnel and read that bloody 'guide' a million times!!

Was stuck on that for ages as well. Gave up on the game too. I started the game again a year later and after searching the whole game for the 5th time I finally coped it. It was so satisfying seeing the glass crack and then after a few seconds it shattered :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭redmosquito

Street Fighter 2 Turbo, played at ten star speed and hardest difficulty, beat the game with all 12 characters apart from bloody Dhalsim! The others weren't to bad but I must have spend 5 or 6 months on and off playing as him and every time M. Bison would beat me, even if I had taken a round off him and only had to hit him once more to win he would still come back, the b****rd!!!

Three broken controllers and a broken t.v later I decided to just pack the game in for good!!