Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slagging

• 19-04-2005 1:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭

I am a secondary school student brand new to Ireland from America, over the last 8 months there is one thing that stands out from American schools is the slagging.....they do it constantly....to everyone and anything and especially to me...(wonder why there is only 2 americans at my school?)

Is it because they feel bad about themselves and hence need to make others feel bad in order to reaffirm themselves?

Is it peer pressure to impress?

It's driving me insane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

What school are you in?

I think the best advice would be to slag them back, that'll shut them up!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

welcome to irish humour - as a nation, we love to slag, I do it all the time, if you take it well and slag back then you will be accepted as being able to take a bit of friendly banter
    if you get upset however......

I am assuming it is just friendly banter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

A lot of Irish people do it. Some don't mean any harm, some do, all I can really suggest is that you slag them back or ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Depends on who you slag back - as you may end up with a black eye. It will pass after they get to know you. If its been going on for a few months go to your principal. It is a form of bullying after all. How severe is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Orionetheus

I'd rather not say

I'm more of an intellectual...I don't enjoy slagging.....

Is it because they feel bad about themselves and hence need to make others feel bad in order to reaffirm themselves?

Sorry Pi mods,

But op, I believe it is the Dr Phil language you're using couldn't be the most popular way of speaking. Answer: Slag them back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Eoghan-psych

As someone said earlier - welcome to Irish humour. Nothing is safe, nothing is sacred, nothing is off limits [the psychotic ravings of mods over on the Humour board notwithstanding].

We, as a culture, don't have the 'politeness complex' - we don't see the point in being 'nice' to everyone. Craic and laughter supercede all else.

Its been going on for 8 months straight non stop...............I was made to switch class at one point because my teachers complained the slagging was so bad it was disrupting class...it's much better in my new one......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

What do they slag you about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

If you're goin' on like that all the time, than good luck to ya! Just because you consider yourself an intellectual doesn't mean you're beyond a bit of light hearted slagging.

If, however, they're being bástards or you consider it bullying then do something about it, such as reporting them.

there in lies your problem if you are living in ireland

as a nation, we will not have anyone thinking they are better than the rest of us
    if you do not enjoy slagging you are living in the wrong place I'm afraid, I really do suggest you learn to slag back

can you give us some examples of the type of slapping?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

Making you move class room??

This isn't a soultion if your in secondary level you get mixed into different groups for different subjects(or thats how my school did it)

are you being bulied or is it playful slags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Eoghan-psych

Dr. Loon wrote:
    If you're goin' on like that all the time, than good luck to ya! Just because you consider yourself an intellectual doesn't mean you're beyond a bit of light hearted slagging.

If, however, they're being bástards or you consider it bullying then do something about it, such as reporting them.

Exactly. The Irish penchant for slagging is universal - right up to and beyond university level [by which time all non-intellectuals have been thoroughly weeded out, so there goes that explanation].

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

You may be sensitive to it now, but believe me you will eventually develop a thick skin where slagging is concerned, and it will run off you like water. You may also have gotten better at put downs of your own by then. It is the ONLY way to deal with this. Sensitive people either get used to it, or leave, unfortunately. Like the price of drink it is one of the joys of this country.

Oh, and dont ever let them know their getting to you. Even if they really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I'd rather not say

I had that attitude when I was younger. When I got older and a bit wiser, I copped on that it wasn't anything serious and not to take it personally :)

Being an intellectual and indulging in friendly slagging with your peers aren't mutually exclusive. It's something that is very much overdone in this country, but most people don't mean anything by it, it's just a habit rather than something serious.

That said, sometimes bullying is "disguised" by slagging, there is a fine line between the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

I, like you, am also a foreigner to these lands, but I think being English anywhere in Ireland bar Dublin is the worst. This "Slagging" is all I got for the first three years I was here and I can't understand it myself, I feel it's an Irish thing as it doesn't happen in England in schools to the level it does here. I don't really rate "**** off home English ****" as "Friendly banter"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Laguna wrote:
    I, like you, am also a foreigner to these lands, but I think being English anywhere in Ireland bar Dublin is the worst. This "Slagging" is all I got for the first three years I was here and I can't understand it myself, I feel it's an Irish thing as it doesn't happen in England in schools to the level it does here. I don't really rate "**** off home English ****" as "Friendly banter"

well thats more like being racist. I'm sorry to hear that happens you. The OP never stated what they actually slag him about. It could be because he's from america or it could just be because lets say for example he has an unusual hair cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

It's Ireland - people slag each other. More often than not, it's just friendly banter. I have a thick skin so I take no notice if people slag me. Ya just gotta give it back to them! If they are slagging ya, you slag them.

This attitude of "I'm an intellectual" blah blah, will not work here. You will be slagged if you make out that you're better than everyone else. It's just the Irish way I'm afraid. I'm sure there are American mannerisms that are different to the way we do things over here.

Ya just gotta adapt. Take the slagging in your stride, and when the world says screw you, you say screw it back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Well, I'd have to say like most of the others posting here, that slagging is part and parcel of Irish culture. Its just the way we are! Everyone gets a slagging from time to time, regardless of who they are or how smart they are. I would'nt take it personally to be honest. Just try to be witty and you'll fit right in. Maybe watch a Tommy Tiernan DVD or something to give ya some idea of our sense of humour....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Exactly. The Irish penchant for slagging is universal - right up to and beyond university level [by which time all non-intellectuals have been thoroughly weeded out, so there goes that explanation].

Roysh, so all the Orts students in UCD are intellectuals :eek: ? (Sorry for going OT)

OP - you still haven't said what type of slagging you are getting. Some of it can be taken with a good sense of humour, but the type of comments that Laguna mentioned (which I was also subject to) is bullying pure and simple. The problem is that there is sweet FA you can do about it - reporting it doesn't really help in school, you just have to try to give as good as you get.
    Being an intellectual and indulging in friendly slagging with your peers aren't mutually exclusive.

Exactly - get over yourself, even Einstein enjoyed slapstick comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

nesf wrote:
    I had that attitude when I was younger. When I got older and a bit wiser, I copped on that it wasn't anything serious and not to take it personally :)

Being an intellectual and indulging in friendly slagging with your peers aren't mutually exclusive. It's something that is very much overdone in this country, but most people don't mean anything by it, it's just a habit rather than something serious.

That said, sometimes bullying is "disguised" by slagging, there is a fine line between the two.
    Those are exactly my sentimonies.

You need to be very comfortable with yourself or at least appear like you are. Chances are you make it obvious that it gets under your skin - this only makes them want to do it more.

Laugh when they say it (if you laugh, it's OK to be a little embarrassed, that's part of the craic), don't be afraid to poke fun at yourself. Try not to poke fun at anyone specifically, rather broad stereotypes. "Feck off ya prick, go harvest yer potatoes Paddy" will get a chuckle.

If the slagging is very personal, and quite obviously intended to hurt you, then it's over the line, they're bullying you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I think its all been said!! Just slag them back!! Be friendly about it though. Unless its on a level with bullying then accept it. Im Irish and people have slagged me all my life.. i just ignore it. Laugh at them, sometimes slag them back and thats it :D

I think its more you though than you being American. Most Americans i know not only give as good as they get.. in some cases i can mention they start it in the first place!! Like my Brother in law and i are always slagging each other when I go to the US. (my wife is American).

Just learn to adapt. If you know any ghetto talk then use it.. They will not know what the hell you are talking about then you can teach it to them and hey presto you suddenly find people want to get to know you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

Theres a train of pyschology that goes that people that engage themselves in frequent slagging of peers use slagging as a form of communication because they dont possess good communications skills.

K-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Kell wrote:
    Theres a train of pyschology that goes that people that engage themselves in frequent slagging of peers use slagging as a form of communication because they dont possess good communications skills.
    K-

There's a train of psychology that suggests you shut the f*ck up! Either that or spell "psychology" correctly... ;)

To OP - See? Friendly slagging :D

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Kell wrote:

K-
    It's a form of male bonding.

I can't remember where I read it (or completely how it goes), but a good line goes;
    "When Mary, Alice, Paula and Christine go out for drinks, they're known as Mary, Alice, Paula and Christine. When John, Peter, Alex and Chris go out for drinks, they're known as Dickhead, Wanker, Shortass and Gob****e".

I enjoy humour plenty....I live on it....making fun of others is NOT funny...sure a gay joke here and there or a laugh when someone REALLY does something stupid...but it's just, the walk up to you and make fun of you un provoked.....I find that a bit redundant....

slag me about anything from my shoes to my hair.....

I enjoy humour plenty....I live on it....making fun of others is NOT funny...sure a gay joke here and there or a laugh when someone REALLY does something stupid...but it's just, the walk up to you and make fun of you un provoked.....I find that a bit redundant....

slag me about anything from my shoes to my hair.....

you still haven't given us any examples of what type of slagging you are getting?

i thin he ment they slag him from his shoes to his hair!

oh ****e where to start.......

They don't like my long hair...call it a mullet...
    Don't like my head...my hair makes it look big
    Don't like me athletically because i'm not good at football since its not as popular in the states (all we play in PE)
    Don' like ME in general.....

Abuse wise...

Lucozade on my head
    snowballs on snowdays
    Riot at our tuckshop targetting me
    Tripped in the hallways
    Shoved into
    Pelted with paper in class
    etc etc

thats not a fun slag its bulling!!

why where you moved from one class to another?

where they punished?(ie dentention)

Talk to your school councler or your year head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Dooid

That's a tough one, like the rest said it is part and parcel of the Irish mindset. I personally don't mind a slag if it's intended to be funny and there is some possibility of a response in which case you might feel more empowered by slagging back, I'd imagine you wouldn't have too much trouble outwitting them but it seems largely the case that it's more about insulting and abusing you than anything else. I dunno what you could do, I guess alot of dealing with this kind of crap is feeling empowered, like there is something you can do even if you choose not to. What do you think you'd need to feel empowered against these morons, aside from a baseball bat?

agreed
    that's not slagging, you obviously have spoken to your teacher if you have been moved to another class?

As *Page* has said, that's not harmless slagging - that is bullying, unfortunately reporting these things to teachers etc doesn't tend to help things and responding in kind is likely to result in handbags at dawn. Does your hair look like anything on this site? If so, it is a mullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Yes thats bullying.. well except the mullet part :D Thats funny to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭scribs

I am a secondary school student brand new to Ireland from America, over the last 8 months there is one thing that stands out from American schools is the slagging.....they do it constantly....to everyone and anything and especially to me...(wonder why there is only 2 americans at my school?)

Is it peer pressure to impress?

It's driving me insane!

My young american friend,
    I feel sorry for you. This truly is a culture shock for you. We Irish live to take the piss/Slag each other.
    You are in a difficult position as you are in teh minority so your an easy target and unless your whitty as f*ck and can throw teh slags back quick sharp you shall remain a target for your svhool going years.
    Whats teh name of that funny american chap who was Irish and workedin all teh crap jobs in Ireland and mad a programme out of it. No he was funny and I woul dhave ranked as one of teh best piss takers and slaggers out there. However teh fact that he was American and in the minority meant he was always a target.

Not......even.......close....... to a mullet I know what mullets are...I think americans invented them haha

Going to my year head wont help it'll make it worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭scribs

scribs wrote:
    My young american friend,
    I feel sorry for you. This truly is a culture shock for you. We Irish live to take the piss/Slag each other.
    You are in a difficult position as you are in teh minority so your an easy target and unless your whitty as f*ck and can throw teh slags back quick sharp you shall remain a target for your svhool going years.
    Whats teh name of that funny american chap who was Irish and workedin all teh crap jobs in Ireland and mad a programme out of it. No he was funny and I woul dhave ranked as one of teh best piss takers and slaggers out there. However teh fact that he was American and in the minority meant he was always a target.

Jesus - I apologise for my crap spelling just read what I wrote - bleedin disgraceful - my english teacher is rolling in his grave right now

Oh yes and on our outdoor pursuits trip they did the "situp challenge"......2 guys held you down and you were about to start trying resistance situps...but then you got an ass in the face....

I was the only one to get a nickname off of that...."Teabag" looking back it was funny....the nickname was not.....

Note:They got 4 other guys......including my best friend whom is canadian yet they only made up the nickname for me......strange world.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭jimmytango

they probably slag you because your a nerd
    or you look funny

or your just an embrassment to the school and nobody likes you

remember you are a US citizen
    and alot of irish people aint to happy with america
    due to certain activities over the last 2-3 years
    so maybe if you apolgise for who you are
    and what yer goverment stands for
    you might get a hi as apposed to a hey yankee doodle dcikhead

you will not be billed for this advice

germans did!!

why wont it help?

nah im not a nerd.....

I'm not too happy with the USA right now and I cant blame them...but its stupid people like them that make the irish look bad....how will bullying me bring back the dead people in Iraq? How will bullying me undo bush's handywork

it wont help because then they will know I told and hence get in MORE trouble

you could wear a t shirt stating you were not old enough to vote for bush?

anyways, have you made any friends at all,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I'm Irish and I don't really get the whole slagging thing but I've learned to put up with it once it only happens in small doses. However, I have met some people who just "slag" all the time, and always about the same thing over and over and at times, it's been clear that this is thinly-veiled bitterness towards me/the universe/who knows what. Anyways, I avoid people like that because I find it all very tedious. So, stick to people who have other ways of keeping you company as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

it wont help because then they will know I told and hence get in MORE trouble

I hear you, but you shouldn't have to go through hell, just for the sake of not being called a rat or a snitch.. F*ck 'em! Bullies should all have their nads chopped off. They deserve everything they get :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Its a vicious cycle your stuck in there buddy. I've never being bullied, but I've seen others being bullied during my days at school. Its usually down to one little sadistic prick who likes to poke fun at people. This is'nt slagging, its this one guy (i think) enjoying making a mockery out of you and his friends probs join in so that he does'nt turn on them. If it persists, find a new school. You should'nt have to put up with that sh*t mate.

they wont know if you do it in confedence.

Having friends is harder since im such a target not many want to affliate with me....there are plenty I talk with at school but they abandon me when I might need them

They bully me in part because I AM confident....I'm an extrovert and im incredibly outgoing...they don't like that it would seem....my Chaplin wouldnt let me do a speech in assembly he badly needed someone for because he was afriad I would be booed offstage....

I've made a few real friends along the way...about 5 or so......plus some girls (the girls here are absolutely lovely they are always helpful and friendly save for a few)

Oh I see what your saying

Who else would tell about all these things? No one....I don't think the kids would buy...someone among you decided it was unfair how you've been treating me.....they cant suspend or expell all the students......we're talkiong more than 20 maybe 30....

I've made a few real friends along the way...about 5 or so......plus some girls (the girls here are absolutely lovely they are always helpful and friendly save for a few)

Well, the only consolation is that while the lads are making complete tossers of themselves, you are getting in with all the talent :D