Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irelands Dumbest Person?

• 14-04-2005 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭

From today's Independant.

Man milked dry in computer sale scam
    THERE is no use crying over spilled milk . . . but one man can be forgiven for shedding a few tears when he reflects on how he paid €700 for a new computer and ended up with four litres of bainne instead.

The middle-aged man was approached on The Parade in Kilkenny and asked if he was interested in buying a new lap-top.

He was told it was a once-in-a-lifetime offer and €700 would secure the state-of-the-art machine plus accessories. After a few minutes of negotiating, the man reached for his pocket and parted with the money in €50 notes. He received no invoice, sales slip or guarantee - just a case said to contain the computer.

In a scene which could have come straight out of British sit-com 'Only Fools and Horses', the vendor then beat a hasty retreat.

When the man opened the case he found four litres of milk wrapped in cardboard. The milk gave the specially designed hold-all weight and the cardboard gave it the feel of a lap-top.

Sgt Pat Murphy of Kilkenny Garda Station said people should only buy goods from legitimate vendors or from sources they could identify. Anyone with information is asked to contact Kilkenny gardai at 056-772-2222.

Imagine buying a laptop off a total stranger without even asking to look at it first. This guy deserves exactly what he got. Even if there was a laptop in the case how would he know if it was not stolen or if it even worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Who doesnt like a milk surprise... but i suppose a laptop for that kind of cash would have been a better investment... what a moron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

yeah dumbass.

Anyway is anyone looking for a laptop.... the milk....eh....delivery man just dropped off my shipment. Their going cheap. I can meet in carpark or similar dodgy areas :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭abccormac

There was somebody on here who got stung exactly the same way not so long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

abccormac wrote:
    ALWAYS LOOK IN THE BOX, people should be more careful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I think there was a similar scam going a few years ago with a camcorder, and they had a working one to show the person and switched it at the last moment.

What an idiot though - especially as Dell laptops can be bought new for the same price or less :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

What a dumbass! What was he doing with €700 in cash! thats what Id like to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Maybe he was hanging around in the carpark looking to buy a laptop. Seems like the thing to do in Kilkenny. Why else would you have 700 in 50's in you wallet in a carpark?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭pat kenny

Thats an old scam that happens to people all over the world, I seen it happen more than once usually while on holiday and usually the item is a mobile phone and buyer sees it but there is a bag change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Probably a farmer... I've seen them with thousands of euro in their pockets. Tax evasion and all that.

John

Better have been the best bottles of milk ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

sgt Pat murphy :D:D

sorry that cracks me up for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

yeah, it happened to astraclub only a few months ago. Man what a stinger... lol. Ah well at least he wont need to buy milk for a few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Kingsize wrote:
    sgt Pat murphy :D:D

sorry that cracks me up for some reason.

I know him. Big Guy.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i have no sympathy for idiots like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

abccormac wrote:

Its a popular scam. I put a link to the [wiki]scams[/wiki] into the biki when I see them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

What an absolute donkey.

Who hands over 14 €50 notes for a giant lucky bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

yeah Similar scam was tried on me when i was in boston a couple of years ago...(was just walking past Tower records on my way to the Pru for those who know Boston) when a van pulls up beside me saying did i fancy some top of the range Bose speakers, there had been a mistake and two had been ordered and they had to get rid of one for what ever reason....TBH, i was falling for it till i realised that If something sounds too good to be true it probably is

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I would hate to be such an idiot thats would be so depressing knowing more than anything that you are such a simpleton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Myth wrote:
    Better have been the best bottles of milk ever.
    i bet the milk tasted sour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

While ago now my cousin was walkin down the road, and some pikeys pulled up in a car and offered to sell him a picture phone for dirt cheap price back then, 80 quid thereabouts. Bein suspicious, he asked them to place the phone on the ground as he handed over the money. They place bag on the ground, he hands over money, they fly off and he opens the bag to find 2 ****in Dairy Milks :D

He was recountin the story to me and another cousin, and didnt laugh much when he asked "So did ya eat the dairy milks? :D

Life experience and Snatch has thought me that you dont buy food off a pikey even if your children are starving, its a sacm whatever it is or how good it looks

This laptop story reminds me of a post here a while back, some guy complaining that he had been fleeced by some Romanians who he tried to buy a laptop off in a car park in Blanchardstown :D

Theres one born every minute.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭Jesus1222

Irelands dumbest person = anybody who gave money to that "Women Empowering Women"....haha. How I laughed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

^^^^^

I vaguely remember that. Even the name of the scheme smelled of 34% cheese and 66% fraud, sprinkled with a smattering of bullsh1t

Didnt Gerry Ryan have to angrily deny on air that his wife was behind it after some rumour went about? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

In "Going Postal", one of Terry Pratchetts latest books, the main character is a brilliant scam artist. His moral self justification is that he doesn't scam honest people - he only scams dishonest people because an honest person wouldn't want to take advantage of someone down on their luck.

What a great defence!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

eoin_s wrote:
    I think there was a similar scam going a few years ago with a camcorder, and they had a working one to show the person and switched it at the last moment.

No... that was in a Tupac film.

I remeber reading about the guy on boards who got stung. It was in the carpark in Blanch SC. They had parked the car in an area where there were no cameras.

One thing that the article failed to mention was a description of the conmen. The boards poster described them as Black. Why couldn't the article do the same? They are obviously the same people.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It's a common scam that has been going on for ages, in various forms. He won't be the last to be conned by it. As to Women Empowering Women, anyone with a basic bit of maths knowledge would know that everyone that puts money into the pool can't get a multiple of it back out. Some will, but they are the smart ones. Pyramid schemes work for some people in it, but not all, obviously. That one should have been called Women Scamming Women.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Linoge wrote:
    They are obviously the same people.....

Obviously! I mean, they had 2 eyes and ears - they must be the same guys.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Jesus1222 wrote:
    Irelands dumbest person = anybody who gave money to that "Women Empowering Women"....haha. How I laughed.
    I remember try to talk some friends out of doing that and telling them that it was just a dodgy pyramid scheme. One of them turned around and very sincerly said "but it's not a pyramid, it's heart shaped"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

The moral of the story is before you hand over the cash, to make sure your new 'laptop' doesnt make any sloshing noises when you pick it up and shake it. :D

Seriously, considering it's strangers you're dealing with, why would not not look inside before handing over cash? it's another stupidity tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

"It's immoral to let a sucker keep his money"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭dearg_doom

'Hey.. that's not the Wallet Inspector...'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Is it just me, if I was shelling out for a second hand laptop never mind a dodgy one I d at least like to see it going. Have to say though very stoopid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

He should be fined a grand for being a complete and utter amadán

Trojan wrote:
    In "Going Postal", one of Terry Pratchetts latest books, the main character is a brilliant scam artist. His moral self justification is that he doesn't scam honest people - he only scams dishonest people because an honest person wouldn't want to take advantage of someone down on their luck.

Actually that is the whole concept behind con artist. All cons are based around the mark thinking they are ripping off the con artist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

RuggieBear wrote:
    a van pulls up beside me saying did i fancy some top of the range Bose speakers, there had been a mistake and two had been ordered and they had to get rid of one for what ever reason

yeah something very similar happended to me on Gardner Street in Dublin about a year ago, thankfully I didnt buy anything

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Linoge wrote:
    One thing that the article failed to mention was a description of the conmen. The boards poster described them as Black. Why couldn't the article do the same? They are obviously the same people.....

With a memory that good you'd be a champion at this new card game I've just learned. Simple enough, I put down three cards and you just have to remember which one is the queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

I put down three cards and you just have to remember which one is the queen.

Yes, its funny how you are naturally drawn to your own kind....

They were Romanian actually IIRC. It was literally months since I read the post. Anyway, that wasn't the point of my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Maynooth

It must be Tony Fenton.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Linoge wrote:
    Yeah, it was them black Romanians.*
    stevenmu wrote:
    I remember try to talk some friends out of doing that and telling them that it was just a dodgy pyramid scheme. One of them turned around and very sincerly said "but it's not a pyramid, it's heart shaped"
    More "pear" shaped.

* /me wonder just how big the black Roamnian population in Ireland is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

silas wrote:
    What a dumbass! What was he doing with €700 in cash! thats what Id like to know?

Probably on his way to Western Union wire money to the seller of the Playstation 2 Original Box advertised on Ebay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I have no sympithy for stupid ppl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

About 12 years ago, I bought a watch off a guy in a parking lot.

And it turned out to be a really nice watch, and I enjoyed it for years, and it really did look rather cool, though I'm pretty sure it was a fake. That being said, for 25 quid I paid for it, I was pretty happy.

Moral of the story, take pictures of people who try to sell you stuff like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Wouldn't you hate to be yer man arriving home to the missus that evening?!

"Ah good man, you got milk! We were almost out..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Curse you magic beans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

What a muppet. This scam is really old too, it's been used for selling TV's, but you really get a box of bricks. If he was carrying around that much cash and parted with it so easily I'd say he can afford it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Even if it was a laptop he got, how the heck was the guy to know the spec, or anything? Dumbass, he'd be JUST as big a jackass if he actually got a laptop after paying 700 to a total strange, let alone being ripped off...

Wonder what'd happen it you asked to see the laptop, and said "Right lads, I'll hold on it, and I'll give you 700."?

these people who get off are so stupid, if they can pay 700 for some milk, does that mean those of us who have old laptops we don't use and are worth pennies, can sell them to people on the street for 700 claiming they are top spec?

At least whoever gave you 700 would still have some sort of a laptop instead of a few pints of milk from the local spar....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭shaneos

it is kind of ironic :rolleyes:

without the laptop he can't even check what is being said about him on boards.ie!

HavoK wrote:
    Even if it was a laptop he got, how the heck was the guy to know the spec, or anything? Dumbass, he'd be JUST as big a jackass if he actually got a laptop after paying 700 to a total strange, let alone being ripped off...

There are 3-4 threads on this already. Basically the scam works like this.

1. Ask do you want a laptop for XXX amount.

2. You get to inspect the laptop to see that it is all working fine and the spec and a nice fancy bag with it.

3. You offer less then the cash they want they refuse (or if you offer the cash they then ask for more).

4. They get stroppy and say no deal and drive off.

5. They stop a short way and drive back and then say "Ok then we will let it go for that"

6. You thinking you are making a good deal hand over the cash. They hand over a second bag with milk in it and drive off.

Now at that point if you ask them to open the bag beforehand they just drive off.

If you try to be smart and try to keep the laptop before the cash exchange your looking to just getting a beating instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

could this be the new way of touting tickets