Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nationals

• 05-04-2005 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭

hey does anyone know when the AIMAA Nationals are on? I need to reclaim my title or just get a better one.... I had a mag with all the dates in it but my instructor took it cuz his picture is in it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

then ask him for your magazine back then. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Le Rack - what title did you have and what grade are you now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

At the time girls 14-16 white to orange belt third in sparring. I coulda won though cuz since there was only three of us left Mr. Fox made us pick a number between one and ten!! So the girl that got the number automatically got first or second!! And I had kicked her ass a thousand times befor and a thousand times since. I was very angry... And I'm going for brown in a couple of weeks so still purple.

I did and he gave me back one of his thats like a year old! And kept mine cuz theres a picture of himself in it!!!

Le Rack wrote:
    At the time girls 14-16 white to orange belt third in sparring. I coulda won though cuz since there was only three of us left Mr. Fox made us pick a number between one and ten!! So the girl that got the number automatically got first or second!! And I had kicked her ass a thousand times befor and a thousand times since. I was very angry... And I'm going for brown in a couple of weeks so still purple.

Was that the one in Wexford? I had a few people at that, hopefully the next one they run will happen a little smoother, eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Off topic but does anyone have a calender of events for TKD competitions for this year? Wouldn't mind doing one or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Le Rack wrote:

thats not Paul Fox by any chance is it ??

Oh yeah I know, John and Linda Phillips (my instructors) were in charge of it, they were under so much pressure cuz they had people set up to help who didnt turn up and everyone was late for registration, well turned up at the last minute anyway cuz I was there when the doors opened but it was at least an hour before any others started turning up. I love them though, they're like second parents to all their students, they have five schools now with over 250 students!!!

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Off topic but does anyone have a calender of events for TKD competitions for this year? Wouldn't mind doing one or two.
    I'v got one in the mag my instructor took so on tuesday when I get it back I'll post the events for the next couple of months.

vasch_ro wrote:
    thats not Paul Fox by any chance is it ??
    I dont know his first name. Big tall guy, short black hair, glasses, champion of many things......???

That sounds very much like Philip Fox, the TKD instructor here in UL.

It was the champion of many things that clinched it for me, sounds like you are talking about Phil all right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

It was the champion of many things that clinched it for me, sounds like you are talking about Phil all right!
    Why? Does he carry all his medals and trophies around with him ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

pma-ire wrote:
    Why? Does he carry all his medals and trophies around with him ? :D

No they would be to heavy to carry all the time
    These days he just carries a photo of them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

Ger Healy wrote:
    No they would be to heavy to carry all the time
    These days he just carries a photo of them:D

I do that with my kids :D:D:D

And any way back to this years nationals.....
    so does anyone know?

Aren't alot of these TKD events only open to invite only due to the fact that there are so many clubs/groups, and clubs/groups affiliated to those groups?

no dont think so they're usually all open events. Iv herd our club is going to it anyway i just cant get any details

There was a junior TKD event somwhere in Cork yesterday, was that a national event can anyone tell me, few kids from my club went to it.

Anyone here compete or know of someone that did?

I got my Mag back but cant find any actual dates for the reall big nationals, so does anyone have any info at all please???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Don't know about the AIMAA competitions, but I know that the IUTF Connacht Open is on in Galway this Sunday, competition starts at 12. Our nationals are on in November, usually in Neptune Stadium in Cork.

ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Good place to ask...

www.airport-tkd.com

Don't know about the AIMAA competitions, but I know that the IUTF Connacht Open is on in Galway this Sunday, competition starts at 12. Our nationals are on in November, usually in Neptune Stadium in Cork.

The connacht open will probably be pretty small, the same old heads. The IUTF nationals should be good though, there's been a good few foreign competitors at it for the past two years.

Yeah, competed in Neptune last November, was a disgrace. The whole thing was fixed in favour of IUTF, but then that tends to happen, or so I'm told! I hope they won't do the same next Nov.

Wasn't at the last one so I really can't comment on it but I was there the year before. That year the black belt divisions were judged by people from all different groups, I don't think anyone could claim it was biased towards IUTF competitors. In fact no IUTF competitor was even placed in any of the BB patterns sections! In the team event, I was on the IUTF team that lost out to the Italians in what was a pretty dodgy (IMO) judges decision, we certainly didn't get any home town decisions in that anyway.

I know most of the IUTF black belts pretty well and the vast majority are all sound people who I don't think would be intentionally biased. To be honest I have seen plenty bad decisions in iutf competitions but I think the majority of them were down to poor quality judging rather than biased judges. I could be wrong though.
    What section were you in? What group are you with?

Iv seen really bad bias in competitions, at the worlds in October, I was a blue belt in open girls so there ws black belts and all up to age 17 i think, from about 15, but my fight was shameful, the girl was the same height as me but couldnt lift her leg past her own knee let alone my belt/waist. All her kicks were to my legs and all mine were to her head and torso but she was declared winner! in fact my hand was raised but when i went to the table to give my name I was told "oh sorry, we know the other one won" afterward eveyone who seen the fight came and told me that it was ridiculous and I had the fight, I even watched a recording of the fight a few weeks later and nearly all the tecniques she used were illegal, and she got no warnings or penalties whereas I got one for a low kick which was an accident cuz she turned into it! She was even kicking me in the back of the knee continuously to try send me down!!!! I'm still really angry over it but dont ask who the judge was cuz i cant remember!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

The whole thing was fixed in favour of IUTF, but then that tends to happen,

i've heard there's lots of shady dealings in TKD. I reckon the big boys in the organisations need a kick up their arse. I'd love to see at TKD practioners and all kenpo, sports kickboxing guys all in the same competition. because imo, they're all the same (no offence). especially, for continous semi contact point acculumation type competition. is this feasible?

i dunno i just know i have witnessed major favourtism in TKD at so many different events, and it is really ridiculous that at the World Championships of a competition with people from around the globe there is still such goings on, in the patterns the girl that won the nationals last year won a medal at the worlds and i remember thinking that the judging panel was almost the same as the nationals, in fairness the girl is brilliant at patters but the competition is much heightened when its a world competition with all balts rather than Irish comp. with only white to orange!

i've heard there's lots of shady dealings in TKD. I reckon the big boys in the organisations need a kick up their arse. I'd love to see at TKD practioners and all kenpo, sports kickboxing guys all in the same competition. because imo, they're all the same (no offence). especially, for continous semi contact point acculumation type competition. is this feasible?

Well points is points, continous is continous.
    TKD groups generally don't support each others events, there not that likely to support kickboxing competitions in any great numbers.
    The continous sections in kickboxing competitions tends to be a bit different to TKD comps. In TKD you generally see most people going side kicks and concentrating on kicking in general. Often times in Kickboxing comps the sections look more like full contact style, just with the contact toned down a bit.

Don't get me wrong I have nothing against the IUTF, just simply against the way this particular competition was run. The judging was most definately biased. I'm not being a sore loser, it was quite evident, in both patterns and sparring.

Many of my senior, and my instructor included stated thie disappointment.

Enough said, I rest my case.

To answer your question, at the time we went through GST (Great Southern TKD) and I was an 8th Kup (yellow belt). We have since gone independant under my instructors own name.

Fair enough, I'll take your word for it. There is nothing more annoying than crap judging. I think anyone who competes in these kinds of competitions experiences it.
    If you were a yellow belt you were probably fighting in points ya? TKD people = not able to ref points IMO!
    Good to see IUTF and GST people back competing with each other again. Hasn't happened in a good few years.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Fair enough, I'll take your word for it. There is nothing more annoying than crap judging. I think anyone who competes in these kinds of competitions experiences it.
    If you were a yellow belt you were probably fighting in points ya? TKD people = not able to ref points IMO!
    Good to see IUTF and GST people back competing with each other again. Hasn't happened in a good few years.

Sorry, don't mean to sound so arguemental, but we (our club) we're very much pi$$ed off with the whole event. Why haven't GST and IUTF competed together in sometime, is it because of this poor judging etc? Just curious.

We are Redking TKD now, my instructor is 4th Degree Black Belt, Mr Ruari O'Brien, from Cork. He is a really great guy, very patient with all students, and has over 15 year experience under his belt (pun intended). Not only that but he is a former International team coach.

If anyone is interest in his website, its www.redkingtkd.com Still under contruction, but worth the look, for contact details and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

The last tournament I was a referee at was a GST event in Cork where the Mugendo Kickboxers were invited to come down and compete.
    I always try to be fair and score the points I see,some may see bias in any event where more than one organisation is represented.I do know that the Mugendo lads did win some of their sections ,probably in proportion to their numbers at a mainly TKD event.
    I met Ruari O'Brien up at the PP Seminar the other day,fit looking guy and game for a laugh.Rick Clark enjoyed demoing stuff on him anyway :)
    I'm not sure what is happening with GST these days as it's Mark Buckley runs the local clubs and he's gone from Brians group with a while.Wonder if that means I'll have to buy another Dobok now to go with my RITA and GST ones??

Sorry, don't mean to sound so arguemental, but we (our club) we're very much pi$$ed off with the whole event. Why haven't GST and IUTF competed together in sometime, is it because of this poor judging etc? Just curious.

No need to apologise. If you pay €20 to enter an event and then feel that you're gotten screwed over then it's fair enough to be pissed off. Did ye complain to the tournament orgainiser about it?If not, why not? Do you know the names of the people who were judging your section?

Don't really know what happened between GST and IUTF. The two groups used to be pretty close, competed together, even trained together from time to time. There was a falling out between the head instructors. I know one former iutf instructor who left under bad terms joined GST, think that might have been the cause of a lot of it but I dont really know. Theres probably more to it.

Musashi wrote:
    The last tournament I was a referee at was a GST event in Cork where the Mugendo Kickboxers were invited to come down and compete.
    I always try to be fair and score the points I see,some may see bias in any event where more than one organisation is represented.I do know that the Mugendo lads did win some of their sections ,probably in proportion to their numbers at a mainly TKD event.
    I met Ruari O'Brien up at the PP Seminar the other day,fit looking guy and game for a laugh.Rick Clark enjoyed demoing stuff on him anyway :)
    I'm not sure what is happening with GST these days as it's Mark Buckley runs the local clubs and he's gone from Brians group with a while.Wonder if that means I'll have to buy another Dobok now to go with my RITA and GST ones??
    Musashi, Mr O'Brien is about the same age as myself (24 or 25) and certainly is a fit man, he trains hard, attends a few seminars (so you have found out) and is not only a 4th degree in TKD, but I'm told he has a BB in Karate also. And he has a very strong groups of students between Tipperary and Cork.

I get on very well with him, and have great respect for him indead. I spoke to him tonight at training (8pm to 9pm) and he mentioned he had met Paul and yourself.

Perhaps your clubs will end up competing against ours in the future... I've no idea! Would be an honour to meet ye both at some point.

Added- Just to say about GST, I really never had much dealings with then, as I am only training in TKD over 12 months, and we split from then in January or so. I don't know Mark Buckley but do know Brain and his son (forget his name) through our trip to Holland for the EU championship. I'm sure GST is still going strong. Brians website is www.gotogst.com I still have my GST Dobok, never bothered to get the new Redking one, as I also have an internatinal one with Ireland on it from the EU champs. I'ma poor student so can't afford these things.

Sorry to bump this up, but are there any National events in Tkd coming up in the next few months or so (open events) that I could attend, would like to build up some experience in competition and sparring events. Have yet to win a fight in fact!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 BALKAL

Sorry to bump this up, but are there any National events in Tkd coming up in the next few months or so (open events) that I could attend, would like to build up some experience in competition and sparring events. Have yet to win a fight in fact!!!!

There is a competition in Bandon on the 1st of May for both seniors and juniors. This is being run by Bandon TKD.

On the 29th of May, there is a competition in Cashel run by Redking TKD also open to seniors and juniors.

I know both guys running these tournaments and am certain they will be judged fairly and efficiently run!
    Musashi, Mr O'Brien is about the same age as myself (24 or 25) and certainly is a fit man, he trains hard, attends a few seminars (so you have found out) and is not only a 4th degree in TKD, but I'm told he has a BB in Karate also. And he has a very strong groups of students between Tipperary and Cork.

I don't want to disparage Mr. O'Brien as I know & respect him from Shotokan, but he is presently a 2nd purple (and an excellent one) in karate, not a BB.

BALKAL wrote:
    There is a competition in Bandon on the 1st of May for both seniors and juniors. This is being run by Bandon TKD.
    Won't make it to that. Will wait til after my college exams to compete, don't wanna be busted up siting exams now do I?
    On the 29th of May, there is a competition in Cashel run by Redking TKD also open to seniors and juniors.
    I train with the cashel group, hope to see a good crowd there, will be competing in this event myself without doubt.
    I don't want to disparage Mr. O'Brien as I know & respect him from Shotokan, but he is presently a 2nd purple (and an excellent one) in karate, not a BB.

Thats correct, my wrong, he put me straight himself on this on Saturday. And yes, I believe he is very good at Shotokan too.

Will anyone on here, be competing in the Redking TKD event in Cashel on the 29th May??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Do they have a class for Older Fat ****ers Who Used To Train Hard?

I've been making enquiries about getting you lads invited to any comps held by Mr. Mark Buckley or ITF in the future. If they are up for it I see no reason Mr. O'Briens members should be excluded from TKD Comps. especially those held in the South East!! Seems there was one a couple weeks ago in Kilkenny? but I was too late finding out about it. Any other news I'll let yourself (Memphis) or Mr. O'Brien know through his website.

Musashi I have sent you a PM on the matter.