Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Gaa Open Croke Park To Soccer !!

• 05-04-2005 9:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭

I have just learned that the GAA will open Croke Park ( and only Croke Park) to soccer and Rugby while Landsdown Road is being redeveloped. Apperently this proposal will have the votes to carry through and unless there is a last minute change HQ will be hosting Irish soccer games. Apperently we have meath, Donegal and Tipp to thank ???

Personally Im delighted, if its true

Comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Very positive news. Delighted to hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

w00t!

lets hope it goes well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Alany wrote:
    I have just learned that the GAA will open Croke Park ( and only Croke Park) to soccer and Rugby while Landsdown Road is being redeveloped. Apperently this proposal will have the votes to carry through and unless there is a last minute change HQ will be hosting Irish soccer games. Apperently we have meath, Donegal and Tipp to thank ???

Personally Im delighted, if its true

Comments?

where did you hear this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

That'd be excellent if it passes - is there any significant internationals pencilled in during the period of redevelopment?

I presume we can't start inviting Brazil round for friendlies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

anyone when this will be passed? And when redevelopment is starting?
    And... have tickets been allocated to the Ireland Vs France match yet?
    If they havent, perhaps they can switch to Croker?

(That'd be feckin class!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

The Motion should pass at congress which is comming up very soon. I dont know when Landsdown will be redeveloped but I would hope that croke park becomes available to soccer straight away as the FAI have stop using the temp seating at the terraced ends of landsdown asap.

I got the info from a few places including RTE 1 radio, gaelic gazette and from a friend of mine on my teams council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Alany, do you know what Rule 42 motions are being debated? Is this the only one or is there a general one (not a temp 'while lansdowne is being redeveloped' one)?

im not 100% on this but my understanding is several motions will be discussed but only the temp opening of Croke Park has enough votes to get through ?

I understand that some counties will put motions forward to open up all grounds but they will not make it passed a vote ?? Im still trying to get my head around congress and how it works to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

the Roscommon motion to be debated will only allow Croker to be open while Landsdowne is being redeveloped.

So until the wrecking ball starts at Landsdowne then no other sport will be played there (except the American Football back in 1997?

Alany wrote:
    im not 100% on this but my understanding is several motions will be discussed but only the temp opening of Croke Park has enough votes to get through ?

I understand that some counties will put motions forward to open up all grounds but they will not make it passed a vote ?? Im still trying to get my head around congress and how it works to be honest
    Was there a motion dealing with just Croker for all time (not just the renovation of Lansdowne)? Imo discussing this just for the period of renovation is stupid. Similarly only discussing Croker is also imo stupid. The whole rule should be discussed and the best way for the GAA to move forward, given todays conditions, should be agreed. That would include Croker, provincial grounds and local grounds. Discussing a short term fix, for financial gain, for a rule that is a problem, is hardly consistent with keeping to the aims of the association, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Alany is jumping the gun big time. Certainly there has been a general movement towards opening it up, but its wrong to say that its in the bag.

At the moment it looks like:
    Leinster 12-0
    Connacht 4-1
    Munster 4-2
    Ulster 2-7
    Total 22-10

That'd be 69% (need 67%), however all counties votes are not equal, depends on the number of clubs in the county, and there are 4 or 5 still to vote and I've just guessed how they will vote. So its goina be very close, and there's a good chance the Yes camp will edge it, but its far far from in the bag.

And it is only for when Lansdowne is in renovation, and its only for Croker (all previous votes on the issue have only ever been with regard to Croker only). Anything more than that would not receive the requisite votes.

Whether it'd be a "short term fix" or a first step to something more, we'll have to wait and see.

But certainly the votes for it at this time have nothing/little to do with financial gain, and more to do with being good neighbours and helping out the IRFU/FAI in a time of need rather than them having to go abroad (not to say that they wont be charged market rates of course)

Here's a comprehensive guide to the voting from the Indo - its goina go right to the wire. The Indo are predicting a narrow win for the Yes side, but if only 6 votes go the other way, the vote will be lost:

Leinster
    In favour: Dublin 11, Meath 11, Wexford 11, Laois 10, Offaly 10, Kildare 9, Wicklow 8, Longford 6, Kilkenny 5, Carlow 5

To decide: Louth 6 (next Monday), Westmeath 6 (next week)

Prediction: 98 for, 0 against

Ulster
    In favour: Donegal 7, Cavan 7

Against: Antrim 11, Tyrone 8, Derry 7, Fermanagh 6, Monaghan 6

To decide: Down 8, Armagh 7

Prediction: 14 for, 53 against

Munster
    In favour: Waterford 7, Kerry 8, Tipperary 9, Clare 10

Against: Cork 11

To decide: Limerick 11 (next week)

Prediction: 45 for, 11 against

Connacht
    In favour: Galway 10, Sligo 6, Roscommon 6, Leitrim 5

Against: Mayo (six votes) initially decided against changing Rule 42 but have given their delegates the facility to decide on the day

Prediction: 27 for, 6 against

Schools/Colleges /Handball
    Difficult to assess where votes will go.

Prediction: 3 for, 2 against

Past Presidents
    Ten past presidents can vote. Eight, possibly nine, will vote against

Prediction: 1 for, 9 against

Management Committee
    The 11 members of Management include the four provincial chairmen of whom three would be in favour

Prediction: 5 for, 6 against

Overseas
    North American Board 8, New York 6, Canada 4, Australia 4, Europe 4. London 5, Britain 30 (Lancashire 5, Yorkshire 4, Warwickshire 4, Scotland 4, Hertsfordshire 4, Gloucestershire 4). Total: 56 votes

* All 56 overseas delegates are unlikely to travel. The American Boards could oppose changing Rule 42, but Britain and Europe are more likely to favour change

Prediction: 36 for, 20 against

TOTAL For 229 Against 107

* The voting strength of a county is dependent on the number of registered clubs. One delegate is appointed for every 10 clubs in the county, subject to a maximum of 10 delegates and a minimum of four. In addition, each county board is also entitled to send their central council delegate

* Some Central Council delegates may not vote the same way as their counties

wow..well thats informed. To be honest I may be jumping the gun, I may have a little too much faith in my friend who expalined to me its a dead cert Croke park will open to soccer ( on the temp basis) but hes usually right and then everything else i heard pointed the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 騎手

no other sport will be played there (except the American Football back in 1997?
    Maybe the GAA don't consider american football to be a real sport?

keep it on topic please...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

On top of that they've moved the all-ireland finals in 2006 to accommodate the Ryder Cup - don't know where it mentions golf in the GAA Rulebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think the fact that it is a temporary situation will swing it. Plus all the warm fuzzy thoughts soccer fans will be sending towards them. Even the pinko liberal journos will admire the magnanimity of it all. "Everyone's a winner babe". :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Here's a comprehensive guide to the voting from the Indo - its goina go right to the wire. The Indo are predicting a narrow win for the Yes side, but if only 6 votes go the other way, the vote will be lost:...
    Great post Rooster. Didn't realise the overseas vote was there or so strong. They could determine the whole thing.

I hope it will be 'Yes'. Croke Park is great and a credit to the GAA. And i would love to see Ireland, rugby and soccer, playing there.

I think redevelopment of Lansdowne is due to start next year after the 6 Nations.

On top of that they've moved the all-ireland finals in 2006 to accommodate the Ryder Cup - don't know where it mentions golf in the GAA Rulebook
    And moving the date of the All Ireland final by a week is the same as letting soccer being played in Croker :rolleyes: :D

In any event we're not accommadating the Ryder Cup, we're using common sense not to have a fixture clash. It would have been really stupid of the GAA not to move it by a week - and thankfully they're not that stupid.

Back on topic, it is somewhat ironic that the balance of power rests with the overseas delegates! And the way they'll vote is almost impossible to predict. Some will be old school and determined to stick to the traditional ways, whereas others will recognise that GAA can't survive in most overseas countries without using facilities provided by soccer, rugby etc. therefore they would feel compelled to vote Yes. And according to the Times during the week, typically about 40 of the 56 delegates turn up, so a lot will depend on which 40 or so turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

I think the GAA have no option but to open it up on a temporary basis while Landsdowne road is being redeveloped. They use soccer pitches overseas and there would be a public backlash if they said no.

They still should be able to decide on the basis of whats best for the GAA. The extra revenue should be great for grass roots GAA

Overseas
    North American Board 8, New York 6, Canada 4, Australia 4, Europe 4. London 5, Britain 30 (Lancashire 5, Yorkshire 4, Warwickshire 4, Scotland 4, Hertsfordshire 4, Gloucestershire 4). Total: 56 votes

* All 56 overseas delegates are unlikely to travel. The American Boards could oppose changing Rule 42, but Britain and Europe are more likely to favour change

Prediction: 36 for, 20 against
    New York vote NO
    London vote YES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

My heart breaks as a TRUE irishman not a TRAITOR, like any person who even contemplates the idea of opening up croke park. last year as a kerry man tears of joy rolled down my cheeks to see Kerry win sam, the thought of god save the queen in croke park, the foreign game being played on that hallowed soil where TRUE IRISH men ie micheal hogan bleed to death after the tans shot him in there or do ye people have any knowledge of Irish History. I personally had two great-grand uncles who were shot dead by the tans for playing Gaelic Football yes for playing Gaelic Football and the thought of those other games being played in there is a thundering disgrace. Croke Park was not built with tax payers money the national lottery provided more money than the government. The GAA provided over 40% of the funding. The FAI are a 26 county organisation, the IRFU will not allow arhran na fiann at away games, why oh why should these traitors be allowed access to the sacred soil that is Croke Park. The GAA were a major influential factor that helped unite our nation to fight the British and free our country why should their headquarters be opened up to these bigots ??? Ireland is not united to this day encount of Britain. and for those sive heads out there who have forgotten our nations history that our own men bleed and suffered to create, Why should the GAA give the IRFU/FAI/Bigots a oppurtunity to make financial gains from that ground, and promote the foregin game here ? It is easy for the likes of westmeath/wicklow clare and other counties to say open up croker, yet we dont see them there often. It is the likes of Cork and Kerry the noble sportsmen of the south, we havent forgotten our history and heritage.

now i know that all will be said is i'm a bigot/Racist and knows nothing and there will probably be calls to ban me, But this my opinion on the matter and there is plenty for the "YES" side so if this is a truly democratic forum let my views on the matter stand.

KEEP THE FOREIGN GAME OUT
    REMEMBER BLOODY SUNDAY 1920 - CROKE PARK

Regards netwhizkid

P.S I like soccer to watch on tv i dont like rugby. I also hold no ill-feeling towards england only Dr. Rev. Ian Paisley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

netwhizkid wrote:
    My heart breaks as a TRUE irishman not a TRAITOR, like any person who even contemplates the idea of opening up croke park. last year as a kerry man tears of joy rolled down my cheeks to see Kerry win sam, the thought of god save the queen in croke park, the foreign game being played on that hallowed soil where TRUE IRISH men ie micheal hogan bleed to death after the tans shot him in there or do ye people have any knowledge of Irish History. I personally had two great-grand uncles who were shot dead by the tans for playing Gaelic Football yes for playing Gaelic Football and the thought of those other games being played in there is a thundering disgrace. Croke Park was not built with tax payers money the national lottery provided more money than the government. The GAA provided over 40% of the funding. The FAI are a 26 county organisation, the IRFU will not allow arhran na fiann at away games, why oh why should these traitors be allowed access to the sacred soil that is Croke Park. The GAA were a major influential factor that helped unite our nation to fight the British and free our country why should their headquarters be opened up to these bigots ??? Ireland is not united to this day encount of Britain. and for those sive heads out there who have forgotten our nations history that our own men bleed and suffered to create, Why should the GAA give the IRFU/FAI/Bigots a oppurtunity to make financial gains from that ground, and promote the foregin game here ? It is easy for the likes of westmeath/wicklow clare and other counties to say open up croker, yet we dont see them there often. It is the likes of Cork and Kerry the noble sportsmen of the south, we havent forgotten our history and heritage.

now i know that all will be said is i'm a bigot/Racist and knows nothing and there will probably be calls to ban me, But this my opinion on the matter and there is plenty for the "YES" side so if this is a truly democratic forum let my views on the matter stand.

KEEP THE FOREIGN GAME OUT
    REMEMBER BLOODY SUNDAY 1920 - CROKE PARK

Regards netwhizkid

P.S I like soccer to watch on tv i dont like rugby. I also hold no ill-feeling towards england only Dr. Rev. Ian Paisley.

troll or bigot ?......hhhmmmm .

'the thought of god save the queen in croke park, the foreign game being played on that hallowed soil' , I was gonna be making a post in response but I feel id only be wasting my time .

Big Ears wrote:
    troll or bigot ?......hhhmmmm .

ditto.

a quick search will give you prior threads on the opening of Croke Park.

Despite the biased/trollish nature of your post, it stands that it is your opinion.

I think you need to get out more tho :: it's thoughts like yours that are the root of the problem with GAA in this country.

let the games commence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

netwhizkid wrote:
    blah blah balh

more blah....

....blah
    Troll/biggot....i'll bite! ;)

Yeay...I'm a traitor. I play rugby.... And I'm from wicklow... and i go to Croker every time we get there, usually to play Meath and once to play Donegal in a Natianal league 1/4 final. Perhaps my team aren't quite the "noble men of the south" :rolleyes: but they try their best despite the faction fighting between our clubs...lol

I hope Croker is opened up and i find it quite interesting to watch the spread of Counties for and against at the moment and try and compare it to the actual results

oh and "personally" i've had members of my family murdered by republicans too including a grand uncle by the INLA...and he was a big GAA man in Coalisland. And you know what i say....so fucking what....it's history now and if we keep dragging this shite up, this fucking country will never have peace.

Embarrasingly, I dont think that was a troll, so I'll bite too.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    It is the likes of Cork and Kerry the noble sportsmen of the south, we havent forgotten our history and heritage.
    Did you not know that noble Kerry voted YES!
    Our leader, Sean Kelly, from Kerry no less, is also a firm advocate of the YES vote.

And what happened 80+ years ago is totally and utterly irrelevant to the question as to whether we should let the Irish soccer and rugby teams play in Croke Park when Lansdowne Road is being renovated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

And what happened 80+ years ago is totally and utterly irrelevant to the question as to whether we should let the Irish soccer and rugby teams play in Croke Park when Lansdowne Road is being renovated.

Hear hear Rooster,

As both a GAA player and a supporter, it's a credit to the organisation how far they've come in the last 10-15 years. The games have grown in a way that would never have seemed possible when Timofte faced Bonner in the summer of 1990, and commentators spoke of how a wave of soccer frenzy would sweep the country afterwards. Thankfully as a nation, out three main sports, Gaelic Games, Soccer and Rugby have had great success as the country has developed on the world stage. What have the GAA to fear from soccer and rugby. Beside the economic benefits (which is an open and shut case as far as I can see), no true Irish man or woman wants to see the faithful boarding a ferry or plane to Liverpool/Cardiff/Glasgow to see their fellow citizens represent the green.

I'm lucky enough to be a steward in Croke Park, and I have to say it's the best stadium I've ever been in. I've been in the Stade de France, and countless stadia in the US, and Croker is way up there. In the last month I've been in a sell-out Lansdowne rugby & soccer match, and I look forward to the day that these athletes can play in Croke Park. I've played both soccer and rugby growing up, and continue to play GAA, and the notion of competing for kids to play sports is rubbish. If the GAA used their heads, and pumped the vast finances that can be generated from renting their head quarters into developing hurling, camogie and girls football in the likes of Dublin and the north of the country, then the so called "nationalists" would have nothing to worry about.

netwhizkid wrote:
    The FAI are a 26 county organisation, the IRFU will not allow arhran na fiann at away games, why oh why should these traitors be allowed access to the sacred soil that is Croke Park.........................

Why should the GAA give the IRFU/FAI/Bigots a oppurtunity to make financial gains from that ground, and promote the foregin game here ?

The national soccer team represents the 26 counties, because a section of the so called fans of both the Republic and Nothern teams are some of the most mindless, bigoted fools you would come across. Soccer can bring out the most infantile and narrow-minded theories, (actually much like any organisation I guess) but thats another thread.

As for the IRFU, they are a model for an all-Irish, inclusive sports organisation, whos ideals are not sullied by race or creed. Amhrán na bhFiann is sung at Lansdowne Road as it's the Irish stadium, and Ireland's Call si the teams anthem when abroad. I have no problem with tha, as the problems with integration in Northern Ireland are far too complex for any of us to understand.

As a footnote, when you see a man who played in Ireland's 6 nations defeat of World Champions' England in Twickenham last spring announcing that he's going to stand for the UUP in the elections, you have to think, where did it all go wrong!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Originally Posted by The Rooster
    So if british forces stormed an all-ireland final this year and murdered players and spectators, would that be okay with you ? it seems to me as if it would and i seem to understand that you would welcome their team to play their Foregin game in OUR gaelic games stadia.

Originally posted by The Rooster
    Did you not know that noble Kerry voted YES!
    Our leader, Sean Kelly, from Kerry no less, is also a firm advocate of the YES vote.

Kerry may have voted yes but ask the Kerry fans on trains and buses hauling themselves up to rip-off Dublin for that almost annual day trip in Mid-September and they'll tell you a thing or two about Croke Park and our history and why it should be kept closed to the foreign game.

Sometimes the representatives of a county do not actually represent the actual views held by that county. I'm quite sure that the Donegal GAA supporters are appalled by their county reps decision to back the opening up of Croke Park to the Foreign Game.

Money Money Money !

I will admit that if Croker is opened it will be a big financial windfall to the Grab All Association. If i thought for a minute that this money would filter down to the small clubs where moms and dads are driving overloaded cars of youngsters to games every saturday and in evenings i would not mind so much History aside, BUT and the big BUT is that our small clubs in rural parishes and in impoverised inner-city slums will see nought but a penny, This will be swallowed up by red tape, the inevitable "backhanders" :mad: and so on and so forth. At last weekends Cork Vs Kilkenny NHL match only 2, yes two stiles were opened many supporters Cork and Kilkenny alike went to the pub rather than queue for ages to get in. The GAA won't use any money gained to make things better. So why should we allow them to use it when i as an average Joe Soap GAA fan won't benefit in the slightest, i will get is to the principals of what the GAA was founded for :- To Promote Gaelic Games, be thrown away, Republic of Ireland Vs England Venue Croker attendance 82,000 isn't going to promote Gaelic games very much is it ?

I will continue to oppose the Foreign Game in Croke park, but what can i do as one person, I feel that the decision has already been taken to open croker, I know quite alot of the GAA rules, like any good kerry man, and i think theres one saying that all kit wear has to be O 'Neills, although some inter-county sides use azzuri wear. The footballs are nearly all O 'Neills, to comply with this rule this has been launched, isn't it a bit of a Coincedence don't you think ? :(

Look its my view, your all perfectly entitled to your view, after all thats one of the the great things about being a democratic free state away from oppressors.

I will not hold it against people to go to Croke Park and watch a non GAA event there after all isnt U2 playing there in the summer. The winds of change are blowing, i don't like it but i'll have to grin and bear it :(

Regards netwhizkid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

netwhizkid wrote:
    So if british forces stormed an all-ireland final this year and murdered players and spectators, would that be okay with you ? it seems to me as if it would and i seem to understand that you would welcome their team to play their Foregin game in OUR gaelic games stadia.

Now now, calm down there. I think if the British forces were even to storm an Orange March in this country (and in this instance, I refer to the Republic of Ireland, and a few do happen each year) and murder Marcher and spectator, you'd have an equal uproar due to the breach of national sovereignty. Let's not forget that Bloody Sunday in Croker was over 80 years ago, and we've all moved on a lot since then.

netwhizkid wrote:
    Kerry may have voted yes but ask the Kerry fans on trains and buses hauling themselves up to rip-off Dublin for that almost annual day trip in Mid-September and they'll tell you a thing or two about Croke Park and our history and why it should be kept closed to the foreign game.

Hmmm. Tempted to mention the rumour about Kerry fans only travelling for the final here, but then again I'm from Mayo so I'm probably just a bit sore from having been there last September.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    Sometimes the representatives of a county do not actually represent the actual views held by that county. I'm quite sure that the Donegal GAA supporters are appalled by their county reps decision to back the opening up of Croke Park to the Foreign Game.

Democracy Democracy Democracy!
    netwhizkid wrote:
    Money Money Money !
    netwhizkid wrote:
    I will admit that if Croker is opened it will be a big financial windfall to the Grab All Association.

Grab All Association?.Are you sure you're not a troll?.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    If i thought for a minute that this money would filter down to the small clubs where moms and dads are driving overloaded cars of youngsters to games every saturday and in evenings i would not mind so much History aside, BUT and the big BUT is that our small clubs in rural parishes and in impoverised inner-city slums will see nought but a penny, This will be swallowed up by red tape, the inevitable "backhanders" :mad: and so on and so forth. At last weekends Cork Vs Kilkenny NHL match only 2, yes two stiles were opened many supporters Cork and Kilkenny alike went to the pub rather than queue for ages to get in. The GAA won't use any money gained to make things better. So why should we allow them to use it when i as an average Joe Soap GAA fan won't benefit in the slightest, i will get is to the principals of what the GAA was founded for :- To Promote Gaelic Games, be thrown away, Republic of Ireland Vs England Venue Croker attendance 82,000 isn't going to promote Gaelic games very much is it ?

To be fair, the money for local Clubs does not come from out of thin air, and Croke Park was not built from Lottery draws in Dublin 3. There's a wad of debt there that needs to be paid off at some stage, and the sooner the better. If the IRFU or the FAI indicate a wish to play in Croker, then I don't see a commercial reason as to why it should not be done. My own personal opinion is that the GAA should at least be Asked (see various threads on the subject) as a common courtesy.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    I will continue to oppose the Foreign Game in Croke park, but what can i do as one person, I feel that the decision has already been taken to open croker, I know quite alot of the GAA rules, like any good kerry man, and i think theres one saying that all kit wear has to be O 'Neills, although some inter-county sides use azzuri wear. The footballs are nearly all O 'Neills, to comply with this rule this has been launched, isn't it a bit of a Coincedence don't you think ? :(

Look its my view, your all perfectly entitled to your view, after all thats one of the the great things about being a democratic free state away from oppressors.

I will not hold it against people to go to Croke Park and watch a non GAA event there after all isnt U2 playing there in the summer. The winds of change are blowing, i don't like it but i'll have to grin and bear it :(

Regards netwhizkid

You are indeed perfectly entitled to your opinion, and indeed before anyone who gets a notion otherwise, you've probably paid the same amount to the exchequer as the rest and therefore as entitled to decide who plays in Croke Park as anyone else is.

I do however think that at least for the duration of the refurbishment of Lansdowne Road that the GAA should allow an exemption to rule 42, and within their own parameters.

The notion that historical factors should play a part in this is defunct in my opinion. Hurling and Football are both Modern games, have changed with the times and have a modern (and despite the attempts of many to convince otherwise) and sophisticated following. Any doubt that people may have to the above would be removed upon a visit to the Premium section to Croker for any Championship game.

It would be no harm if the Association allowed other games play in one of the greatest stadiums on earth. It would, in all honestly be an excellent showcase for the GAA, and what can be achieved by a non-profit organisation when people have enough passion about something.

Other organisations need to cop on and realise that they need the GAA more than the GAA needs them, however for the GAA to leave the door open (without having to ask anyone in) would do it no harm either.

That's my EUR 0.02, for all it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭SeanW

At present, Ireland does not have any world class facilities available to general sports. Croker? GAA only. Lansdowne Road? A bog, or so I've read, with not enough seating capacity for many international events.

Whatever about the GAAs long term policy, to force "home" games to have to played in Cardiff or somewhere while Lansdowne Road is out, would IMO be nothing short of criminal.

There seems to be a siege mentality in the GAA (and other parts of society) that I completely fail to understand.

I looked at a map of County Board votes in the Indo yesterday, ALL NI boards voted against any change, while ALL republic boards - with the exception of Mayo and Cork, voted for change. That's funny because the North is about 100 years behind the rest of Ireland, where a DeVelera-esque "The Outside World Is Evil" attitude prevails, in opposition with the "We Own The Croppies" view of the Unionist/Loyalist side reminiscent of 19th century England. The people of the Republic Of Ireland and Great Britian are now a more educated and more worldly people who have long since (largely) abandoned these views and both now confidently look to the future while preserving their past - but not living in it.

It should come as no surpirse then that these six County Boards still view the "foreign" sports of soccer and rugby as evil threats against which Gaelic Games are at war.

Its time for these people to grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Its a secret ballot so it could go either way, decision should be announced in the next hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭foxybrowne

It'll be a sad day for Ireland if Croke Park is opened up to foreign sports. :(

foxybrowne wrote:
    No foxybrowne, it will be a sad day for Ireland if people have to travel to the UK to see Ireland play their home games, not to mention the loss of Millions of Euro in to our economy, but let me guess you'd rather Irish Citizens spent their hard earned cash in the UK. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭e38418

foxybrowne wrote:

x2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭foxybrowne

irish1, if people wish to travel abroad to watch foreign games, well no problem, arenn't they right, let them go.

foxybrowne wrote:
    irish1, if people wish to travel abroad to watch foreign games, well no problem, arenn't they right, let them go.

We'r talking about our national teams here, how stupid would Ireland as a nation look if their national sides have to play their home games in the UK?

The economy would lose millions, if Croke Park is opened the economy keeps the millions and the GAA get a nice sum to invest into their game. I think you'll find that a lot of people who go to Croke Park on a regular basis also support the Irish soccer and rugby teams. FFS they let american football in and boxing and concerts etc. Is american football not a foreign game :confused:

So if british forces stormed an all-ireland final this year and murdered players and spectators, would that be okay with you ? it seems to me as if it would

I would have a very big problem that as would all supporters of changes to Rule 42.
    i seem to understand that you would welcome their team to play their Foregin game in OUR gaelic games stadia.

What you're saying is that there is no difference between an act of genocide, and allowing soccer in Croke Park? That's just insane.

If you want to be totally immature and live in the past, that's your business. Just don't pretend to be surpirsed when a confident, educated and outward looking Ireland leaves you behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

irish1 wrote:
    Is american football not a foreign game :confused:

I really hope they open it.. but, I think its a case that there isnt much chance of any "Brits" or "God Save the Queen Anthems" being there at an American football match.

Maybe we havent moved on much at all in this country. Opening croke park is just the tip of the iceberg. Ive studied Irish history and yes we got stood on and abused for years.. but.. wouldnt it be better to say that the last time an English man stood on the pitch in Croke park, he was on a rubgy team that got soundly beaten and we all had a pint afterwards.

Just my 2 cents worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭e38418

irish1 wrote:
    No foxybrowne, it will be a sad day for Ireland if people have to travel to the UK to see Ireland play their home games, not to mention the loss of Millions of Euro in to our economy, but let me guess you'd rather Irish Citizens spent their hard earned cash in the UK. :rolleyes:

maybe im the only one who thinks its worth it to keep croke park irish?
    weve managed so far and if the problem was so huge then we would have done something about it before now. the money wasted on berties spike springs to mind

e38418 wrote:
    weve managed so far and if the problem was so huge then we would have done something about it before now. the money wasted on berties spike springs to mind
    It's only while Landsdowne road is been re-developed, as for keeping it Irish - American is not very Irish. The GAA would gain from opening it up for a few years.

e38418 wrote:

No me oul flower, you're not alone, the six county boards of Northern Ireland (a society still fundamentally divided by sectarianism) and people on this board who equate changes in Rule 42 with genocide, and that the Gaelic Games are at war with the invading evil-army of soccer and rugby. The same people who supposidly don't understand that being patriotic doesn't mean being backward and stand-off-ish.

You're in good company.

irish1 wrote:
    It's only while Landsdowne road is been re-developed
    I have no problem with soccer or rugby being played in Croker once it is on the GAA's terms (timeframes, rent etc)but the problem I have with todays vote is that the rule is only changed during the redevelopment of Lansdowne.

While there are other motions on the agenda regarding rule 42, none seem to have a chance of passing. I feel the entire rule 42 issue needs discussing and a decision made that clears the issue up once and for all. This should include discussion of all grounds nad not just Croker. Allowing other sports to compete in Croker during the redevelopment weakens the GAA's position in deciding how their stadiums are used as it gives the non-GAA public and the media the "Well sure it did no harm opening croker" argument which doesn't hold true, imo, for all stadia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I think the GAA should open it up, but make sure its handled properly. For instance what would happen if the GAA scheduled a leinster final for a certain date and then UEFA come along and say Ireland has a home game on the same day. I reckon the GAA should rent it out in certain circumstances, but make it certain that they wont be bullied into compromising their own intentions.

Also, i feel a lot of hostility between the "No-changers" and the "Open it up-ers" is due to their states of mind. For years the GAA was seen to be in competition with other sports, and were fighting a losing battle with rugby/soccer as players decided to go for the money of the other sports (a smart choice i guess). Then they build themselves up and build a world class stadium. All of a sudden we have men in newspapers, media etc. DEMANDING croke park be opened up. Rugby/soccer fans, no interest in GAA (seemingly) except they want the stadium. I think that the GAA should open it up alright, but i also acknowledge its their own decision to make, and theyre perfectly entitled to keep it shut.

I feel no sympathy for fans having to travel abroad for ireland home matches. It would sadden me but then you have to ask why are they in this situation? Soccer and rugby have never been stronger, they are industries, laden with money. Ive no idea how between them they let Lansdowne Road get so bad. If you see old pictures of croke park it wasnt much more than a field, yet it has developed while lansdowne road stood still.

Also, regarding the O'Neills and Azzuri jerseys, i believe the rule states that they must wear kit which has been produced in ireland/by an irish company or something to that effect, and not specifically oneills. Hence Kerry were allowed wear Adidas because Adidas set up an outpost in ireland. Something like that anyway

yesssssssssssssssssssssss

Croke Park has been opened up. More to follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭krattapopov

does the central council still have to give it the go ahead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

How right was it that I heard it officially from Uncle Bill O'Herlihy just now on RTE2.

Let the games begin!

From BreakingNews.ie
    Sligo motion to open Croke Park passed
    16/04/2005 - 16:48:55

A secret ballot has passed a motion to open Croke Park to allow international rugby and soccer matches to be played there while Lansdowne Road is being redeveloped.

The final result was 227 to 97 for the motion for the temporary relaxation of the controversial "Rule 42".

It was 165 for and 153 against taking the crucial vote to a secret ballot.

Out of 326 delegates eligible to vote at the GAA’s Annual Congress, 325 votes were counted with one spoiled vote.

Cavan, Wicklow, Clare, Roscommon, Kerry and Longford had withdrawn their Rule 42 motions to support a similar one from Sligo.

Earlier today it was decided by 165 votes to 153 to hold a secret ballot on the motion.

Already decided today:
    - The mandatory wearing of helmets for Under-21 hurlers has become law.
    - Kicking tees have just been made optional for football goalkeepers.
    - Floodlighting coming to Croke Park, and with the possibility of a retractable roof.

Floodlights as well thats great news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

great news i bet if this was 10yrs ago it would never of happened good to see we have lost or corrupt image

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 kingofvillan

Finally the last great piece of institutionalised bigotry in ireland has gone. Bring on France!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭cgf

Folks,

Has anybody thought this thru?

What's going to happen when the 1st group of English rugby supporters stop off in The Hill 16 or Sunset House pubs en-route to Croke Park for a pre-match pimms :eek:

Seriously though, great news, modern Ireland, modern thinking.