Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pope

• 02-04-2005 12:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

the pope is dying, and you boards ppl tolerate sigs like this http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=239372

I am too disgusted to figure out how to post a link but its the_edges

as a man dies you tolerate photoshopage pics of him fondling a naked womans chest, to laugh at and degrade a dying man and his beliefs,

disgusting !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Could have been worse/better

april%20fool.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

I call for a 'Pope' forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Tbh, I'd say he's had that one for longer then you have even been here. I assume you are some sort of 'religious' person. If it was any random person, or even say Michael Jackson going for some kids you probably wouldn't have a problem with it.

PS .. Welcome to the introw3b :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Look WhiteWine, I had €40 on him shuffling off the mortal coil on April1st, and then the fúcker has to go and last a bit longer.

I don't see The Vatican putting him on life-support, isn't this just another form of euthanasia?

Are they allowed to remove his feeding tube or did Bush try and ban that too?

I think regi would make a good pope.

Winters, I reckon we'll see a fairly quick about-face on that whole mercy-killing issue pretty soon.
    That'll teach the bastards for spreading false information about contraceptives and their advantages in combating AIDS and other STIs.

Karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

shameful behaviour boys regardless of your religion or lack of.

That'll teach the bastards for spreading false information about contraceptives and their advantages in combating AIDS and other STIs.

Well, according to the US Government you can cure your son/daughter of gay by "seeing a family therapist"... Y!

Maybe soon we will abstinence and refrain from the transfer of any bodily fluids between humans, similar to the movie "Demolition Man".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Yeah that sig is a bit insensitive in fairness.

It's free expression, and I think it's rather funny.

Hadn't noticed it before this thread.

Thanks WhiteWine.

Kevin - what if we don't adhere to a religion?
    Hypothetically, what if Winters and I abhor organised religions for the suffering and loss of life they have been responsible for over the centuries?
    Are we not allowed to voice our opinions as you are yours?

And the 2^6 million dollar question: won't Baby Jeebus™ forgive us our tresspasses in the end regardless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭NinjaBart

popelaptop.jpg

WhiteWine wrote:
    I am too disgusted to figure out how to post a link but its the_edges

So moral outrage is an excuse for sloth and ignorance?

NinjaBart wrote:
    popelaptop.jpg
    "ph33r my l33t divine-powered hack0r skillz"

He isnt dead yet people but he probably will be soon and may he be at peace.

May he be at peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 WhiteWine

SyxPak wrote:
    Look WhiteWine, I had €40 on him shuffling off the mortal coil on April1st, and then the fúcker has to go and last a bit longer.

I don't see The Vatican putting him on life-support, isn't this just another form of euthanasia?

Thats not he point, when your mother is on her deathbed how bout i post a few pics of her doing double anal while sucking on a big dong, im sure you feel happy about that right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

WhiteWine wrote:
    Thats not he point, when your mother is on her deathbed how bout i post a few pics of her doing double anal while sucking on a big dong, im sure you feel happy about that right

THE POPE IS YOUR MOTHER?? :eek:

I'd have to say fair play to her.

SyxPak wrote:
    So moral outrage is an excuse for sloth and ignorance?

sloth and ignorance is an excuse for incorrect spelling six pack ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Why didn't you post with your original screen name white wine?

fade2black wrote:
    Why didn't you post with your original screen name white wine?

sorry, can you elaborate ?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

I was just wondering the same thing.

The irony of that post should become apparent to you any second now WhiteWine.

Pfff, I don't like the brits so I'm off to make a few animated gifs of princess diana flying through a windscreen then dancing the macarena while midgets jizz all over her. :rolleyes:
    Even if you don't believe in anything religious, he's still a person and deserves some dignity don't you think?
    I'm not hugely religious myself, but I've enough cop-on not to offend people who hold the pope dearly, just for a cheap chuckle.
    There are plenty of things around here that are not allowed because they might offend people, what makes this any different?

WhiteWine wrote:
    sloth and ignorance is an excuse for incorrect spelling six pack ?

well if you want to be pedantic that sentence should have read:

"sloth and ignorance are an excuse for incorrect spelling"

he really is a true Catholic....doesn't practice what he preaches

WhiteWine wrote:
    when your mother is on her deathbed how bout i post a few pics of her doing double anal while sucking on a big dong, im sure you feel happy about that right

As long as you pay for the redistribution license and royalties for each hit, yeah, sure.

It will help pay for the funeral.

Well the thing is how are we to take all this its being reported as him being dead one minute the next he isnt I mean seriously i took this screenshot off a news site i read

pope.png

There are plenty of things around here that are not allowed because they might offend people, what makes this any different?
    Because as Winters already pointed out, the_edge has had that sig for a while, and it is only in the light of current events that it has been raised as being offensive.
    I have a Star of David, a robotic leader, and a cartoon character in my sig.

SyxPak wrote:
    I have a Star of David, a robotic leader, and a cartoon character in my sig.
    BUURRRRN HIMMMM!!!!
    and it is only in the light of current events that it has been raised as being offensive.
    Ah right, I get it... pope touching boobies isn't offensive otherwise, yeah cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

cool do we get to slag jews next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Asok wrote:
    He isnt dead yet people but he probably will be soon and may he be at peace.

May he be at peace
    :D Made me laugh. Thanks.
    No. Slag the Jews week is the week after Judgement day, when we can run aound shouting "we told you so".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Just noticed this fine thread.
    To the OP...I have this sig for a while now. Long before the pope decided to pull a sickie. I thought it was bad enough for someone to actually take the time to PM me and call me a "tool" (Yes Kevin_rc_ie) but for a thread to be started about it....Jesus H.
    I removed the sig but after seeing this thread it's back.

How will you sleep at night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Asok wrote:
    Well the thing is how are we to take all this its being reported as him being dead one minute the next he isnt I mean seriously i took this screenshot off a news site i read

pope.png

zombie pope? LMFAO!!!!!!!!

P.S.: and edge, keep the sig

lol edge fair play for removing it. it's stupid either way. was i the only one that pmed you. hope i didnt upset you calling u a tool. tired and emotional etc. no excuse. i'm sure ur not a tool. well. i don't know. hope u can sleep tonight after my outburst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

best
    thread
    ever.

i hope the pope gets to heaven,
    if anyone deserves it, he does.

Yeah, cool, and then say..am...I dunno...Hindus the week after that?

ffs dude, you can't plan spontaneity

And Donkey: funny - yes, offensive - not to people with a sense of humour and a realistic perspective on life.
    Personally, I find the Vatican's position on homosexuality, celibacy, female clergy and disinformation regarding contraceptives and their advantages in helping to prevent the spread of AIDS and STIs in 3rd world countries to be more offensive than the sig in question.

So, concisely, and for the people in the cheap seats at the back I have this to say:
    [strike]Fúck[/strike] Flip off out of it ye shower of muppets.

disinformation regarding contraceptives

explain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

tbh, **** the pope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

lol edge fair play for removing it. it's stupid either way. was i the only one that pmed you. hope i didnt upset you calling u a tool. tired and emotional etc. no excuse. i'm sure ur not a tool. well. i don't know. hope u can sleep tonight after my outburst.

Your sins are forgiven child.

pope_finger.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The archbishop of Nairobi, Raphael Ndingi Nzeki recently said that "Aids... has grown so fast because of the availability of condoms."

They tell people that condoms are useless against the spread of HIV because of tiny holes in the condoms.

oh yes. absolute fact and proof there. hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

popesees.jpg

oh yes. absolute fact and proof there. hmm.

Well, yes, yes I think it is.
    Seeing as a Google Search for "Vatican AIDS Contraceptives" gives quite a few links to similar articles and reports from fairly well known news sites.

to be honest, i've not read fully those links but appears that the Vatican has not denied that condoms used correctly will stop transmission of the virus thru semen but they are maintaining the attitude that abstinence is the only way to be certain you don't get the disease.

remember that condoms are not freely available in large parts of africa. this is not the vatican's fault. and remember the low education standards of a lot of sub-saharn africa. listen mate, if you knew a potential sexual partner had aids would u still have intercourse and use a condom. that's the way you have to look at it. if you continually have intercourse with infected partners you will get this disease if you're living in african conditions.

Chalk wrote:
    ashingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A29404-2005Jan22.html[/url]

seriuously, find out what your favorite dude actaully says before you deny it.

exactly. a bit of research never did anyone any harm.

Besides its not as if the church's opposition to contraceptives is some big secret. :rolleyes:
    And not only do they disapprove of the use of condoms but, as has been pointed out, they openly discourage and misinform people on the consequences of using them.

The Pope is the front-line if an institution of bigotry and hypocrisy and people are entitled to their opinion on the matter....and if they choose to express that opinion through humour then so be it. Who are you to say otherwise?

to be honest, i've not read fully those links

whats your damn point then

well certainly according to your logic i can say what i want.

secondly, i think my above point is valid and i'll stick by it regardless of what links you post. i think a lot of you ppl are talking tru ur ar'se about conspiracy theories to kill ppl on the RC behalf.

You cannot defeat the fact if you do not want to contract HIV you should not have sex with infected people. How is this disinformation or lies?

to be honest, i've not read fully those links

i would suggest you do.
    they are maintaining the attitude that abstinence is the only way to be certain you don't get the disease.

do you abstain from sex or do you use condoms?
    listen mate, if you knew a potential sexual partner had aids would u still have intercourse and use a condom. that's the way you have to look at it

what if you don't know for sure if a person has it, and yet you are aware that you are living in a country where the disease is rampant. should you not be allowed to protect yourself against the possibility of contracting the virus??
    if you continually have intercourse with infected partners you will get this disease if you're living in african conditions.

same is to be said if you are living in a first world country....what happens if you are continually sleeping with an infected partner without knowing, and you're not using a condom? what would the response of the majority of society be if you contract the virus? you would be seen as an idiot for not protecting yourself.