Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Paddy Power $20 Freezeout 9pm Tonight

• 01-04-2005 10:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

Good Idea !!

Is this going to be at 9pm every night ?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Yea...I will play this a fair bit if its on every night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

This is the "Big Friday Freezeout" GTD $1000 prize pool. Tis on every Friday night. Bear in mind that the 9pm is GMT and we are now in BST (British summer time) so actually it is at 10pm our time. Also over the weekend two giveaways $50 each on Saturday and Sunday 12pm (GMT!!!)
    By the way culchie was thinking on the other thread about sites favouring the good players as they get more rake out of them.. (8am this morning as I hurled myself out of my leaba too!) and it occured to me... forgive my idea of poker stats BUT.. Poker dependent on your level is probably more like 60-70% skill and 40-30% luck.. So why would there be any need to favour flops turns rivers toward the better player when statistically they will win out most of the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

since there is a lot of money involved? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Hi Pit-Boss ...you need a holiday !!

Lets pretend me and you play on www.dodgypoker.com .... you normally play the 5/10 cash games every night of the week, I play a $10 MTT once a week.

I don't know how much dodgypoker.com would make on you, but it would be more than the $1 it would make on me for the MTT reg fee.

So, if we're plodding along in a MTT, and it comes to an all-in showdown, and bear in mind this dodgypoker.com ran by dodgy people ... who would you prefer to see win the showdown?

Multiply this situation by hundreds if not thousands of times (players)...then there is every incentive (by dodgypoker.com) to keep the players like you happy and content and stay with dodgypoker.com donating the substantial rake every hour, every day from the 5/10 games (you have the stats on typical rake from tables like that, I don't).... rather than me and my measly $1 per week.

Would you agree?

I have tried to log on to dodgypoker.com several times and find the site VERY confusing indeed! I am unable to register, find the buttons obtuse and have no interest whatsoever in the site content which seems to comprise of rows upon rows of unused internet sites. Ba Humbug!
    ;0)

very good :) ... you get my drift though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

This is the "Big Friday Freezeout" GTD $1000 prize pool. Tis on every Friday night. Bear in mind that the 9pm is GMT and we are now in BST (British summer time) so actually it is at 10pm our time. Also over the weekend two giveaways $50 each on Saturday and Sunday 12pm (GMT!!!)
    By the way culchie was thinking on the other thread about sites favouring the good players as they get more rake out of them.. (8am this morning as I hurled myself out of my leaba too!) and it occured to me... forgive my idea of poker stats BUT.. Poker dependent on your level is probably more like 60-70% skill and 40-30% luck.. So why would there be any need to favour flops turns rivers toward the better player when statistically they will win out most of the time?

Is this PPP only? Or can it be accessed through other tribeca (vc) accounts?

regarding the switching process, it is a little annoying (mostly because I'm lazy) but I've downloaded the software, tried to get it switched. I was told to set up a Paddy Power Account and then come back with the account name and the manager would change it for me.

All of that was fine, except I've already got a Paddy Power account, which I haven't used in ages and can't remember any of the details of, in the end I just kept playing VC...as I said I was lazy..it should be easier to switch between them or sign up for PPP.

Anyway, as mentioned in another thread I'd rather give my business to PPP who seem to making a real effort to pay attention to users needs (not to mention free pizze which is ALWAYS appreciated, anytime, day or night ;) ) I just wish it was easier, I'll try and root out my initial PP info over the weekend and make the switch..too much effort though :D

....and another thing :rolleyes: (Sorry Pit-Boss)

Is it possible to get a cheque from the poker section when withdrawing, or do you have to withdraw to your credit card ... I was looking to make a withdrawal, but couldn't see any other option or method other than withdrawing to my card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭viking

Just something I noticed.

When you log into PPP, you get a popup screen that also appears containing announcements. It says the freezout event is $10,000 Guaranteed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

500+ runners!! Sign me up! :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ok, lets presume that Dodgypoker.com is out there. They cant be using Tribeca or Prima or any of the other main sites because there is no way they would allow them to run a hookey game. Not only would it sink the server operators like a stone, it would take all the associated other operators with them. You think there might be a few law suits thrown around neh? :)

Ok, so dodgypoker would have to be out there on its own, which ends the argument for Prima, PokerStars, PartyPoker and Tribeca customers (effectively ending it for 90% of the main sites). But they might build their own s/w. Now, who do they tell? The programmer(s) would need to know, as would the bosses and their accountant probably. I guess that that programmer has a job for life then and will never need to turn up for work ever again, cos like... what are they going to do? Fire him? Uhhuh I dont think so!

Finally stat analysis would show stat blips for any meaningful cheating to be going on. In fact as PPP-PitBoss says, the first thing I asked for was stats about how many times AA vs KK all-in preflop held up for AA and we're waiting for those stats. However if you dont trust the operator by extension you cant trust us (as we'd have to be in on it too) and therefore you couldnt trust any numbers I'd give you. I could have just made them up. Funny thing trust innit!?

I understand your argument but wouldnt it be better again for dodgypoker.com if they made sure everyone got a bit of the winning pie? Then everyone will stay and there will be a bigger pool of players which means more games and more rake. Money only moves back and forth in a game of poker, even though players leave they will rejoin the next day, week etc. The money is still in play. The only way money leaves the game is the rake, think of it as a whirlpool effect as money goes down the drain (rake).
    Loading all the money onto a number of favoured players would just kill the game.
    Recently Peter Roche won a huge amount in the 100 Omaha game and the game didnt form for about 2 weeks because the other players were broke. Thats very bad for the house!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Michael D

how exactly do you enter the tournament, is there a specific website u have to go to?

OK,

Just to be very clear ... I DO TRUST PP or any other site that I play on.

However, to use the.... " I understand your argument but wouldnt it be better again for dodgypoker.com if they made sure everyone got a bit of the winning pie? Then everyone will stay and there will be a bigger pool of players which means more games and more rake " type defense is very fluffy and clouds, but is incredibly niave Dev .... that is why you have certification and auditing etc...

There are dodgy builders, dodgy car saleman, and given a chance dodgy poker sites as well ..... if I was a dodgy poker site manager...then I would look after the fellahs that contribute more rake, than that fellah entering the one mtt a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭tim3115

Anyone from the board playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Culchie wrote:
    Hi Pit-Boss ...you need a holiday !!

Lets pretend me and you play on www.dodgypoker.com .... you normally play the 5/10 cash games every night of the week, I play a $10 MTT once a week.

I don't know how much dodgypoker.com would make on you, but it would be more than the $1 it would make on me for the MTT reg fee.

So, if we're plodding along in a MTT, and it comes to an all-in showdown, and bear in mind this dodgypoker.com ran by dodgy people ... who would you prefer to see win the showdown?

Multiply this situation by hundreds if not thousands of times (players)...then there is every incentive (by dodgypoker.com) to keep the players like you happy and content and stay with dodgypoker.com donating the substantial rake every hour, every day from the 5/10 games (you have the stats on typical rake from tables like that, I don't).... rather than me and my measly $1 per week.

Would you agree?

Say you were on a dodgy website called dodgyboards.ie and the same people kept asking the same question over and over again, multiply this situation by hundreds if not thousands of times on every other poker forum since the dawn of time, is there not an incentive to have these people forcibly sterilised so that one day poker forums can be free of such nonsense?

Who's KeepPiece?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭BrendanB

That'd be me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Nice work Bren, what was the tourney like? Looks like it was under subscribed. How were the blind levels etc?

Sorry Hector, I should have included some maths in the question to keep you happy.

Pit Boss brought the subject up again....so sorry I'm sure, to talk about something that doesn't interest you.

Thanks, was a nice result. Was always hanging in, won a couple of crucial 50 50s at end. All the boards punters made final table, good results for johng and waylander as well as a guy called azz-something. Waylander was seriously unlucky to lose AK to KT to go out on the bubble.

As for the tourney, it was my first day on PPP, so I was working out the interface most of the time. I'm very used to stars, things aren't as obvious. I would love (a) to know how to turn off avatars and the ticker tape. I like clean things without unnecessary animation, and (b) that bet amounts are displayed beside chips. That aside, the game was fairly weak, tight play wasn't noticed and people were willing to pay you off. Blind levels were quick (12 mins), and went up rather quickly.

Iago wrote:
    Is this PPP only? Or can it be accessed through other tribeca (vc) accounts?

regarding the switching process, it is a little annoying (mostly because I'm lazy) but I've downloaded the software, tried to get it switched. I was told to set up a Paddy Power Account and then come back with the account name and the manager would change it for me.

All of that was fine, except I've already got a Paddy Power account, which I haven't used in ages and can't remember any of the details of, in the end I just kept playing VC...as I said I was lazy..it should be easier to switch between them or sign up for PPP.

Anyway, as mentioned in another thread I'd rather give my business to PPP who seem to making a real effort to pay attention to users needs (not to mention free pizze which is ALWAYS appreciated, anytime, day or night ;) ) I just wish it was easier, I'll try and root out my initial PP info over the weekend and make the switch..too much effort though :D
    Here is how I can make it easier.. or try ;0) anything you guys want let me know. If truly lazy the guys in the office will manually link your accounts for you :0). I know from playing myself online that switching is a bit of a pain in the bottom, but once you have done it I hope we will begin to create the kind of poker community at PPP that YOU want.. this is the plan. SO sorry about the typo in the opening page.. teasing was not the plan.. as it happens the registration fee was incorrect and in changing it from 1 to 2 ... a very very important zero found its way in! I will be more dillegent! So happy so many of you guys played it..Yes it was undersubscribed Davey, but I am leaving it up anyway as I hope it will grow in popularity.. I am hoping it will become an event that people play regularly. By the by I am posting satellites for the Fitz double change Paddy Power Poker (it is now!) May-Day masters! $10 rebuys.. three or four of them (dependant on demand from you) will post details later.
    Culchie... yes you may have your winnings by cheque ;0)
    Who did I miss?

BrendanB wrote:
    Thanks, was a nice result. Was always hanging in, won a couple of crucial 50 50s at end. All the boards punters made final table, good results for johng and waylander as well as a guy called azz-something as well Waylander was seriously unlucky to lose AK to KT to go out on the bubble.

As for the tourney, it was my first day on PPP, so I was working out the interface most of the time. I'm very used to stars, things aren't as obvious. I would love (a) to know how to turn off avatars and the ticker tape. I like clean things without unnecessary animation, and (b) that bet amounts are displayed beside chips. That aside, the game was fairly weak, tight play wasn't noticed and people were willing to pay you off. Blind levels were quick (12 mins), and went up rather quickly.
    Hi Brendan! 12 mins is almost the max for online poker rounds (15 max) Blacked out Avatars are on the way in next release. Roll over the pointer of your mouse on stacks on the table for amounts. I have recieved a lot of feedback on this aspect and I will schedule input to developement team about it forthwith!

"Love me.. Love my flush"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Pit Boss,
    Any word on being able to use Neteller?

Imposter wrote:
    Pit Boss,
    Any word on being able to use Neteller?
    Hmm I must have missed that question before.. Why would you even need to? As you can withdraw via cheque or credit card? I will find out however and get back to you.

A lot of people use neteller to transfer money between different poker accounts. VC have it so I can't see it being too difficult for you to do.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I asked this of the boss in PPP and he explained to me they they are concerned about breaking the Wire Act in the US which actually prohibits about 37 states from gambling on phonelines and that includes Internet. Its been asked for so often that its being considered but like Ladbrokes, PPP takes no US money knowlingly.

DeV.

Never thought of that.

Couldn't you get around it by verifying people's address somehow. Otherwise you are going to lose customers to VC (or they'll stay there) as they have that facility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

It was good to see 4 boards players at the final table of this tournie. Should have been 4 in the money too (top 6 got paid) but my AKs fell down to K10s when he hit a 10 on the river. If I had won that hand I would have had a share of the chip lead I think. Ah well thats poker, can anyone tell me who won in the end, I suppose it was the Del Martin guy who rivered me, he had a strong chip lead before that hand. I liked the structure of the tournie, and if I am home next Friday I will play it again. Hopefully it will remain undersubscribed for a few more weeks yet :D

Any chance of changing the PPP Irish Open internet banners to "Click here for free pizza?"

Anyone know if this tournie is on again tonight? May have to try to improve on my bubble position of last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

its on but its at ten not nine tonight. (daylight savings time)

Thanks Fathead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

um, was just about to resurrect this post too!
    10pm!!?? Oh no, clashes with the $50 10K guaranteed freeze out at ladbrokes........ummmmm what to do, what to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

My pleasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

How many runners were there last week ?

Also when will PPP be updating to the "correct" time ?

Canaboid wrote:
    How many runners were there last week ?

Also when will PPP be updating to the "correct" time ?
    Oh the correct time is it??? ;0) Im sorry the server clock is in GMT and is affixed as it were to the time of the Server which is in GMT. When I first posted we were in line with GMT and now we are in BST (British Summer time) Confused yet? Suffice as to say it is at 10pm our time (which is in fact 21:00GMT). I have advertised this on the splash page when you open up the client. We had around 31 last week so it was undersubscribed. Nonethesless I am entrusting it to those who requested it (HINT) and will leave it up in the hopes we get more subscribers. (does that help azzeretti?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Nice little tourney. busted out 4th when 2nd in chips. My QQ was beaten by AJ. Still $100 for $20 is not bad.

I know this is one of those 'I know, it's on the development todo list' things, but it would be nice to have more information about the structure of a tournament before entering. One of the good things about pokerstars is their tourney window, giving full breakdown of blind levels, lengths, stacks, hand-for-hand etc. It'd be cool if on PPP you get some of these as well.

BrendanB wrote:
    I know this is one of those 'I know, it's on the development todo list' things, but it would be nice to have more information about the structure of a tournament before entering. One of the good things about pokerstars is their tourney window, giving full breakdown of blind levels, lengths, stacks, hand-for-hand etc. It'd be cool if on PPP you get some of these as well.
    Yes it would. Shhh but there is (shh and post on boards?!) big developement with MTT's coming...
    So here is the dealie guys.. I will leave it up again for next Friday.. but do you think I need to review it.. or rename it "The Boards $1k GTD Big Friday Freezeout"?? :0)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I forgot all about it,I will play next friday if I am free.

Thanks, good to hear.

I dunno about the game - I'd be interested in the numbers of PPP real money punters online - is it people are on and not playing, or just not on? I would have thought the scheduling is a bit tricky, I presume you've market research and stuff for this kind of thing, but my guess would be that many of the Dublin regulars play the 50/50 in the Fitz, and many of the casual players are in the pub. Leaving me playing for food money, Mike for solid gold house money and a few others for I don't know what.

I presume ye can't run it indefinitely with 30 entries, if you are going to keep the guaranteed pool. Maybe stick up the buyin to 30?

(Oh yeah, and longer levels. Please. Many fish, need time)

Played this last night, nice little tourney. Blinds are steep but it keeps it lively.
    Mooched along for the early blinds picking up a pot here and there and then made a terrible error when i flopped trip 10 and checked it twice from utg without noticing the straight draw. River. Gutshot. Doh!
    Went out in 8th when my all in on AK met 10 10. I hit a set, he hit a house.
    I'll play it next week.

Could not play in the end last night, but I'll be back next week

A reminder that this is on tonight at 10pm. Anyone playing ?

I'll be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭podgeen

if i make it home in time ill play....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Playing the Fitz 50 game at 8.30, so ya I should be playing this at 10 :)

If I do well enough in the cash games beforehand, I'll be playing this.

Don't know, doesn't look like there's many tonight, early days yet.

I'm there as Skilgannon