Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 Nyc

• 31-03-2005 11:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

Has anyone got any good advice for stayin in NYC for 3 months, how to live cheap n all that, prop. thinkin of staying in Astoria, Queens. Seems like the best out the affordable places on list of harlem, washinton heights, astoria, forest hills and bruswick.

For anyone looking for info 4 NYC it best two websites I have come across so far

www.nytimes.com >real estate, jobs
    www.villagevoice.com > real estate, jobs

anyway hope somone responds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭yeraulone

look around greenpoint in brooklyn, its cheap enough and probably a little safer than queens and especially harlem. Are you planning on renting an apartment with people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 jmc2004

yeah four lads including me, Thanks, I'll check that one out as well, i have job lined up already in central manhattan. Its 10/15 mins from astoria. so want to be close by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Novo

I stayed in Astoria, Queens last year. On Crescent Street. It's a grand area. Mainly Greek. It is very easy to get to downtown on the N. There arent many great places to go out in Astoria, but there is a few bars and the odd club. To live cheap: dont eat out all that much and have a few cans(or whatever) before you go out. Drinking in New York isnt cheap. There were a few Irish bars that we went to though near where we lived that would give us a buy-back for every drink we bought. So for every drink we bought the barman would buy us one back. And he wasnt coming on to us! It is what they can do if you just get chatting to them and if you tip.

Also beware the corrupt New York Cabbie who might try and take you for a ride if you are a bit pissed. There are these stalls (a bit like hot dog stalls) in Astoria where the greeks make lovely food. You could get dinner there. Only about $5 for a huge portion.

Thanks, Astoria sounds really cool anyway, but greenpoint equally looks cool, not sure which one, prob come down to what price we can find a place at, what prices did u get your places at when u were there.

This is a good one for 1 and 2br, not many 3br tho
    http://newyork.craigslist.org/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Novo

We got a one bed place for $1400/month. We actually got it off a broker but didnt pay any fees. They tried to get us to pay a "finders fee" of 1 months rent but we didnt pay it and just payed the rent each month. There was 4 of us staying there. Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

jmc2004 wrote:
    Has anyone got any good advice for stayin in NYC for 3 months, how to live cheap n all that, prop. thinkin of staying in Astoria, Queens. Seems like the best out the affordable places on list of harlem, washinton heights, astoria, forest hills and bruswick.

I lived in Sunnyside, Queens. It was a lovely area. 15 mins on the subway and you are in times square. It was a pretty quiet neighbourhood, i felt safe in it at all times. Woodside is another area just past Sunnyside which is pretty good. Astoria seems to be fine as well.

Avoid Harlem and Washington heights. Can be dodgy at times.

thanks Novo, there's a chance i'll get away with the no fee! no finder fee etc...,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭frankmcfrank

hey im going out this summer also, what sort of jobs did ye get im still looking and probably will still be looking when i get out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Bah

hey im going out this summer also, what sort of jobs did ye get im still looking and probably will still be looking when i get out there!

Same here... have a few job offers, just nothing in New York. 2 from Maine, one from Baltimore, MD, one from Tennesee and another from Long Island. At least they give me options if things dont work out in New York - maybe you should try applying toa few different places too, just incase?

i just stick away from jobs websites and contact ppl direct, like loads of people are looking for jobs, i got one in a gym on madison ave, but its not definite. just seach for what shops are in new york, then just send in your cv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 coolout

You guys seem pretty sound when it comes to advice. A friend and I are thinking of heading out for the summer to New York. Have accommodation available (bunking up with relations...although it may be news to them?!?) but am wondering if it's feasable to head out without a job? If we trawl the streets ourselves have we a shot of getting a job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Coolout - this thread is over 4 years old..there is no need to zombify it.

If you read the sticky at the top of the forum, you would know there is now a deidcated forum for all these kind of stuff..pop over there and you might do better ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=925

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Please don't raise the dinosaur threads.

Try the indy travel forum for advice on working holidays, but please note seeking advice on working illegally could get you a ban. Link under my name <----

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

BuffyBot wrote: »
    Coolout - this thread is over 4 years old..there is no need to zombify it.

If you read the sticky at the top of the forum, you would know there is now a deidcated forum for all these kind of stuff..pop over there and you might do better ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=925
    Hah! Great minds...