Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dissapearing Ntl digital Channels!!

• 29-03-2005 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭

What the hell is up with ntl digital in waterford for the last 24 hours plus, at the races blank screen,ditto boomerang channell,ditto reality tv.sky news was blacked out now back again.Going to ring that shower tomorrow ,will get some brain dead teenager on the other line.O yeah i get that flickering black screen as well on all channels and flashing green lights like a traffic light!!!!Why do we have to put up with such a shoddy service.What makes me laugh is that a lot of people in waterford only got ntl digital because their Anologue sky sports was to be turned off,now nearly two years later they tell us you can now get sky sports without getting NTL DIGITAL.What a shower of complete and utter w%£&*$^!
    Angry from Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

Go and have a nap and cool off.

You can't be serious in saying you miss BOOMERANG?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

I find Boomerang essential for my Flintstones fix. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭JohnC.

Thing is, it's not just Boomerang. It can be any channel at any time. And it happens a lot. It is appaling service. If there was some actual competition, NTL would have to shape up or be in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

Its not the channels its the shoddy service they give us!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

I believe "shoddy" would be an understatement.

I got charged a couple of bills ago for seeking the support of the freephone helpline, and keeping the person (who didn't have a clue) more than 15 mins (when trained personnell would have it sorted in 2 mins)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Im having the same hassle with the flickering on most channels (along with the flashing 3rd light on the box when the flickering starts), and Sky News went missing for the day yesterday and only turned up again this afternoon. Its impossible to get any help from the callcentre and the best they do is send out a technician on a 9-6pm appointment. Useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

There are two channels missing at the moment FTN and UK tv G2, the info screens are often empty on all channels or sometimes only a some. The menu is usually a programme late.

Christ its so shabby...

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭chorus techy

This is a one of the many software glitches in the decoder (it is partly the reason programme listings "double up" in the EPG, or why the EPG mysteriously goes from a 3 day one to a 24 hour one).

Rebooting the box each and every morning usually solves most problems, as the boxes seem to "reset" themselves at 5am (reset meaning go arseways).

NTL has an awful lot of glitches in their STB code - just have to shut up and put up I'm afraid lads, as you might as well be talking to yourself when you ring them up. And it's not the people on the end of the phones, its ntl management who are bad. Hopefully once the sale goes through, we will see vast service improvements, as the new owners will have to completely re-write the software, as ntl corporation owns most of the coding for the software, and they will also have to remove the ntl branding etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Kahless wrote:
    If there was some actual competition, NTL would have to shape up or be in trouble.

there is, it's called Sky

Mossy Monk wrote:
    there is, it's called Sky

Not if you want ITV and Channel 4. That is what is stopping a lot of people taking up Sky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭chorus techy

Much of the stuff on Channel 4 is shown either first, or repeated, on E4. ITV shoves a lot of stuff onto either TV 3 or ITV 3, so you will get to see most of the stuff in the end. And hopefully it will not be too long until ITV and possibly channel 4 come to Sky Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

they were on sky previously but moved off it iirc

Much of the stuff on Channel 4 is shown either first, or repeated, on E4.

There isn't much I watch on C4 shown on E4. And then there is the time of year when E4 almost turns into The Big Brother Channel.