Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are you at work today?

• 25-03-2005 11:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭

The dart is running on a saturday service... the streets are eerily empty save for a few tourists... the bagel place on the corner is closed... why are you here?
    I didn't want to waste my annual leave day.. but its sooo nice out I'm really regretting it now. Anyone else the same? Why are you at work when it feels so wrong??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Likewise I wasn't wasting an annual days leave when I'm only gonna bother workin 10-2...with an hour lunch break in between :D And it was a pleasure driving into work this morning 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

In [former] communist Czechoslovakia... they don't care much about good friday. I keep having to remind myself it's easter at all.

They do have an interesting custom for next monday though.. you get to go around beating woman's legs with sticks and demand that they give you eggs - like NOW goddamnit! Crazy Czechs, TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭babaduck

Making up for 2 days I took off last month. It's so quiet & there was no traffic on the road... I love it when it's like this.

Sitting here doing my personal filing... first time in 3 years I've got my act together!!!

Off to France on Sunday for holidays so I DON'T CARE about having to work today!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I volunteered to work today.
    I get an extra day off for working it. Also I'm on call so that's like working anyway, so I may as well be in the office. If I wasn't here, I'd only have slept till half one in the afternoon, pootered about doing nothing till tonight, when I'd realise the pubs are still closed, and prob go to bed early.

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Is good friday a public holiday or a bank holiday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Is good friday a public holiday or a bank holiday?

It's a public holiday as far as I know, and it's up to the discretion of the employer as to how it affects their employees..

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

In Ireland it is a bank holiday only. If I had the choice I would work it but my place has it has a day off so I have no choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

I had the choice of double time or else being able to take 2 days off some other time - I'm also working Monday so it means I'll get 4 days to take off :) The money would have been nice but this way it's tax-free :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

there was no point in taking the day off. am only going to be working four hours anyway, might even get out before that if I get finnished what I have to do early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭windowgazer

Technically, today is just a normal working day in relation to pay. You're not owed anything extra (time off, pay etc). But alot of companies either make their staff take it out of annual leave or they treat it as a public holiday and give time off or double pay. Its a weird one....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

there was no point in taking the day off. am only going to be working four hours anyway, might even get out before that if I get finnished what I have to do early.

I'm the same ... the great thing is that my clients think I'm off, so I'm getting sh!t lots done \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I volunteered to work today.
    I get an extra day off for working it.
    You are lucky as there is no reason to give you an extra day. Your boss might be ignorant, lucky you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

CathyMoran wrote:
    In Ireland it is a bank holiday only. If I had the choice I would work it but my place has it has a day off so I have no choice.

Your employer must inform you of forced holidays one month in advance or possibly in your contract. Otherwise I think you have a case for an extra holiday (i.e. no forced holiday) and be paid for today.

rubadub wrote:
    Your boss might be ignorant,
    Most are!!! Hehe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

It's a stupid day to have off anyway as there's not much to do. Some shops open, some closed, pubs closed, etc. I'd rather be in work TBH as it's just another Friday to me, so just as well we don't get it off.

I see a lot of other companies here on the industrial estate are closed today though.

I fretted over the plants in the office and gave them a bit of tlc... the things you do when bored...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's just another Irish "Let's take a day off work for the craic".

Good Friday is neither a public holiday or a bank holiday. It's a religious holiday, and there is no reason why anyone should not be working. It's just that we're Irish and we use any old excuse to take Fridays off.

I'd prefer to be in work tbh. :/

So... the banks are open seamus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

seamus wrote:

Good Friday is neither a public holiday or a bank holiday. It's a religious holiday, and there is no reason why anyone should not be working. It's just that we're Irish and we use any old excuse to take Fridays off.

Pff, I wouldn't.
    Then again, double pay \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭dsab

Our Company treats God Friday as an official Holiday.

That means I get triple pay and an extra day off. That`s why I worked already paddys day, and will also work on monday.

F*** all to do, lunch delievered, and will only work till 2. Could it get any better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

i'm at work cuz the part timer we got to do days like this told us to feck off and left us in the lurch... working monday too... balls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Well my office is the only one open in my entire building.

It's just me and the 2 secuirity guards and a big dog.

It's great as I'm just getting over the flu and still have a manky headache... so the peace and quiet is rather lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I have no life. I live in work atm.

and we're not entitled to 'have' today off. Not a holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

i've had 2 calls since 9:00, I spent 3 hours tidying our store room(its a tip) and the bloody coffee shops in East Point are CLOSED!!! :( and i'm stuck here until 5:30!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

tk123 wrote:
    i've had 2 calls since 9:00, I spent 3 hours tidying our store room(its a tip) and the bloody coffee shops in East Point are CLOSED!!! :( and i'm stuck here until 5:30!!!

Yeah I tried to hit the coffee shop up at 9am and was crushingly disappointed.

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

I'm freelance so I don't get paid if I don't show up. It was worth it for the drive to work though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Working here too. Not too bothered.

Saw a Ferrari 360 spider today too, and had a cool lunch down by the sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

logic1 wrote:
    Yeah I tried to hit the coffee shop up at 9am and was crushingly disappointed.

.logic.

Somebody told me that they were opened for an hour or two this morning and then closed! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

made to work today.....

was annoying that tara street was closed...had to walk to pearse for the dart.

does this means that traffic will be quiet though for heading to cork this evening??

So... the banks are open seamus?
    I dunno. Are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I work shift and was rostered in, same with Monday. I get three days in lieu though - two days for working the bank holidays and one 'priverlage day' whatever the hell that is. Means that I can take the weekend of the 9th and 10th off and actually be off for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

im in work at 6 of the clock, xtra-visions busiest night of the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Volunteered to provide cover cos I'll get a day in lieu again when it'll actually be useful. Didn't show up til about 12 and I'll be gone by 5, have absolutely feck all to do and I'm the only one on my floor so I've got my music pumping and boards.ie to keep me company :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

seamus wrote:

Its actually the only bank holiday of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

started work at 3 and i'm on until 11.
    surprisingly dead today considering i have to offer support for the hospitality industry... surely thay'd be busier than usual over a bank holiday weekend :confused:

oh yeah. what the **** is up with AIB being closed today? (didn't check any other banks)
    god i ****ing hate banks and their retarded opening hours :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I took the day off, suckers......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

tman wrote:
    god i ****ing hate banks and their retarded opening hours :mad:

The banks were closed because today was a bank holiday (but not a public holiday). 'Tis simple enough...
    its a religious holiday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Good Friday in Ireland is a bank holiday, meaning the banks are closed.

I used to work for Bank of Ireland, and the biggest problem with the Easter weekend is payroll.

Payroll clerks need to be reminded that, if their staff are normally paid on a Friday, they need to do payroll a day early for the Easter weekend so their staff are paid on a Thursday, else they'll have to wait for Tuesday after the long weekend (something that tends not to go down well with staff).

well... they're still a bunch of lazy bastids!

what the hell is the point of banks only being open when people are at work?

Actually it would seem I got a little confused. I've no idea if Good Friday is bank holiday, I'll assume majd knows what she's talking about.

There's still no reason why anyone shouldn't be working (except if you work in a bank). :)