Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young and loosing hair.

• 22-03-2005 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I know there's a few threads about this but here's my story anyway:

I'm 19 and I'd say I started getting a receding hairline just before I was 17.

My dad is loosing his hair but he still has an okay amount up on top.
    I read that heritary baldness actually is dependent on what your mothers side of the family is like and I can say they all have decent heads of hair. Or am I just clutching at straws?

I was also born with a fairly high hairline in the first place so a receding hairline makes it look even worse.
    Infact, if I didn't think I was gonna loose more of my hair I'd consider getting my hairline pulled down through an operation (I saw someone on TV get it done before I think.)

Anyway, I just want to know if any people around here have been in a similar boat as me and how it affected (or is affecting) them.

Also, I've had my head shaved and supposedly look good with a shaved head even though it makes my hairline even more visible. I've see some people here say that a guy who shaves his head in my situation makes it seem like he's over consious about his hair. What do you think?

I can't say that it affects my conifidence too much. I do go up to women in clubs and the likes frequently enough and I'd like to think I have a good personality but I have yet to this day had any luck with them. So obviously it's purely a physical thing.

As I've said I've seen women in similar threads say that men loosing their hair doesn't bother them. Well when you're 19 it bothers them. Fair enough, maybe when I'm 25 or older it will start to become less of an issue but I really don't fancy waiting around 6 years before I have any look with the ladies.

One more thing- Sorry about the long post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I first noticed my hairline receeding when I was 19, I was shocked and appalled and thought I'd be bald within a couple of years. However it didn't come to pass, 8 years later I still have a good head of hair. Although I definitely have less than I did when I was 16 and if I get my hair cut tight it's quite obvious that it has gone back a bit at the temples.

I believe this is known as an "adult hairline" and it is normal, doesn't mean you're going to go bald anytime soon. Having an adult hairline may make you look a bit more mature which could be advantage when it comes to attracting women.

Believe it or not there is actually a scale for classifying male hairlines/baldness. It's called the Norwood scale. Have a look at this and tell us what stage you're at.
    http://www.methelsapollo.com/Images_Methels/bald_chart_norwood1.gif

BrianD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks but I already know about Norwood scale.
    I'm near enough to a Type 3 according to that scale. But as I was saying, I was born with a high hairline...if I was born with a lower hairline it would probably look closer to a 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Hereditary bladness starts from the front at an early age. My dad has it and my sister is a carrier of the gene. I've got a full head of hair though. To be frank, it never bothered my dad one bit - he just used to wear a hat a lot to keep warm!

There are treatments out there that block the receptors for testosterone which cause male hair loss. You should ask your doctor about them.

The drawback is they are expensive and you need to use them every day.

The important thing is that they significantly slow down hair loss and there is some regrowth, but if your hair loss is extensive to begin with, then the effect is lessened. Thus you should start early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

DrIndy wrote:
    There are treatments out there that block the receptors for testosterone

Surely that would mess with your moods and sexdrive!

DrIndy wrote:
    The drawback is they are expensive and you need to use them every day.

Well seen as I'm living on about €2 a week right now I can't see myself being able to afford any of that stuff.
    I don't really believe in it either to be quite honest and the results from it I seen on the net look a bit pathetic.

Seriously though, I need some opinions from women here.
    Does it have any real turn off for you?
    And I'm not talking about women that are in there late 20s onwards, I'm talking about women the same age as me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

MPB has been related to diet and exercise.

Try a vitiman supplement to help you out. My hair is also receeding, and I'm only 19 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

It blocks dihydrotestosterone which is pretty specific in its effect on hair loss. it does not affect mood or sex drive in any other way at all....

The brand name is Rogaine or the drug name is minoxidil. It is not cheap, but it does work well if used early on. I know someone who uses it, he had visibly thinning hair and after a few months on this stuff, was back to normal again.

Few women are so shallow that they would reject a decent bloke purely on his hairline. If they are then they are not worth the effort! Self confidence is what counts and if your self confidence would be boosted by reducing the hair loss, go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

I read that heritary baldness actually is dependent on what your mothers side of the family is like and I can say they all have decent heads of hair. Or am I just clutching at straws?

I was also born with a fairly high hairline in the first place so a receding hairline makes it look even worse.
    Infact, if I didn't think I was gonna loose more of my hair I'd consider getting my hairline pulled down through an operation (I saw someone on TV get it done before I think.)

Anyway, I just want to know if any people around here have been in a similar boat as me and how it affected (or is affecting) them.

Also, I've had my head shaved and supposedly look good with a shaved head even though it makes my hairline even more visible. I've see some people here say that a guy who shaves his head in my situation makes it seem like he's over consious about his hair. What do you think?

I can't say that it affects my conifidence too much. I do go up to women in clubs and the likes frequently enough and I'd like to think I have a good personality but I have yet to this day had any luck with them. So obviously it's purely a physical thing.

As I've said I've seen women in similar threads say that men loosing their hair doesn't bother them. Well when you're 19 it bothers them. Fair enough, maybe when I'm 25 or older it will start to become less of an issue but I really don't fancy waiting around 6 years before I have any look with the ladies.

http://www.hairlosstalk.com/discussions/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Also, I've had my head shaved and supposedly look good with a shaved head even though it makes my hairline even more visible.
    One of the lads has his head shaved and mentioned this has caused his hairline to recede. Is it possible you have the cause and cures mixed up?

Shaving your head doesn't cause baldness!
    That's like saying wearing a hat causes baldness.

Both untrue I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Coney Island

I have same problem and got a lot of info on the net.

Firstly though I advise you to go and see a good dermatologist.
    Minoxidil (external use), Proscar and Propecia (oral use) is the best you can find around to fight hairloss, however do not expect miracles!

Hair transplant could be an option (but you are too young now, wait to be at least 25 and that you reach a steady situation where you stop loosing you hair), however be careful, most of the surgeons who do this type of surgery are jerks who will take you a lot of money and you will have no hair regrowt. If one day you decide to do it, my advise is to fly to Canada or the US where you can find the best surgeons in the world for hair transplant. Their names are Shapiro (Minneapolis), Cole (Atlanta), Hasson and Wong (Vancouver), and a few others.

Another option is to use cosmotic products to cover baldness. The best around are Toppik and Volluma (there are others but Toppik is the #1). You can buy these products here: http://www.hairshopeurope.com/shop/

Please let me know if you want more info and I can advise. Any product/name referenced above can be found on the internet via google.

Thanks Coney Island but I'd need to find money somewhere to get all that stuff.
    It would more than likely be a case of being able to afford a months supply then not being able to afford any more for two months after that which would be pointless.

There has yet to be one young female to reply to this post...I'd like to know what they HONESTLY think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Id say im a stage 3 now and im nearly 33 years of age.Id have to say straight out i dont want to go bald(slap head :D as they say).But if i had the money id get some sort of transplant(well maybe).As far as i know your right in saying its from your mothers side,if your mams dad is/was bald.

The hair transplant you might of seen was on Nationwide on Rte.I have the link to it if you want me to email it to you.But your 19 dont worry about it too much hey you might worry it all off quicker.

Women dont really get what all the fuss is about when a man is going bald(like my wife),she doesnt care if i do,she says its more acceptable for a man to go bald,which ofcourse she is right but its not fair god damn it.But hey look at Bruce willis and Sean Connery.Sure look at the smileys not a blade of hair on them. :D

goodluck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

Hey im 21 and im getting a depleated hair line and I personally dont give a fcuk about it! it doesnt bother me or my wonderfully beautiful better half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Surely that would mess with your moods and sexdrive!
    Yup. There is one on the market. Cost about £90, dunno about euro now, but its 30 pills, one per day, for a month. As with all these things, it may take 5 months or so, if anything happens.
    Victor wrote:
    One of the lads has his head shaved and mentioned this has caused his hairline to recede. Is it possible you have the cause and cures mixed up?
    Scientificly, the hair loss is releated to the amount of sun your head gets. You'll see alot of northeners (we get little sun, so our hair thins quicker) go baldy quick, but if you look at China (lots of sun), etc, and you won't see much baldness at all.
    Also, Victor, if you have no hair, its easier to see he hairline retreat, than it would if you had some hair covering the retreat, so that is proberly what happened to the lad.
    Shaving your head doesn't cause baldness!
    That's like saying wearing a hat causes baldness.

Both untrue I believe.
    It doesn't cause it, but if you are going bald, it helps the hair go, I find.

=-=

I did the whole cap-wearing thing, but then I noticed that it just went quicker, and found out about the sun to head thing, and it made sense, as now I don't wear a cap, and my heads shaved, and the hairline is not retreating as fast. I started losing it @ 17 (24 now), and there's not much you can do about it. Also, chicks seem to prefer the shaved head look, to the nearly bald look.

=-=

When shaving (with a razor), go gently over the head, starting at the front, going back. At the back, from the bottom, and shave upwards. If you rip off the skin, get a new blade. Whereas a new blade may cut you, a blunt one will tear the skin. Nasty, esp. when your doing a rush job 10 minutes before going out on a Saturday night :rolleyes:

=-=

/edit
    Chinese are rumoured to think that men with bald heads have a very active sex drive. Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Every civilisation believes that bald men are more virile. Scientifically (love the sun bit btw :D ) overproduction of testosterone is a direct contributor to baldness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭athena 2000

Well then I vote that you start dating older women! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭SirIrish

I started losing my hair when I was about 16 -> 17 it has receeded a bit but apart from the odd slagging from friends and family (only in jest not malicious) it hasn't effected my life in any way.
    They way I see it is if the only thing you have to worry about is a receeding hairline then dude you'll have a great life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

Well then I vote that you start dating older women! :)

More mature anyway! Any girl with a bit of sense of what to look for in a guy wouldn't give a toss where your hairline is. Keep your hair neat / shaved, put a smile on your face and stop worrying so much about how you look. Lack of self-confidence is more likely to keep the girls away than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

To be fair, I think people are being a bit too literal about women's views on baldness. Sure, most women won't look at a guy and say "Ew, he's losing his hair, I'm not touching him with a ten foot pole" but it is quite likely that when they look at him they might think "He's not very attractive". They mightn't even realise the reason, but it might alter their opinion subconciously.

I'm twenty and my hairline has receded a little bit. According to that scale I'm only about a one and a half, but I'm not gonna worry about it. I've got pretty long hair, that'll cover it til maybe thirty, if it keeps getting worse I'll shave it.

Life's too short tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Hey,

I myself am 19 and like you the old receding hairline popped up just before I turned 17.

When I was a teenager I constantly shaved my head so I literally never had any other type of haircut. Then one day I shaved my head and the next day I go into school and there is a few sniggers. I go home and sh*t my hair is suddenly receding at the sides!

Well 2 years or so on its still there but it hasn't got any worse. I would be a type 2 on that scale thing. I often wonder if it was because I got my head shaved constantly but I know for a fact that stress can contribute to hair loss and I would defintiely say that about 2 years ago I was a very stressed individual. My dad is in his 50's and he has a great head of hair! I don't have any brothers and my mother has no brothers so it is impossible for me to compare as to whether it is hereditry.

It doesn't bother me too much in terms of I don't get down about it but I am constantly aware of it especially while looking in the mirror. Luckily now I'm out of school and I get alot less comments about it. I was never bullied or anything about it but my mates would let you know by saying ''Going a bit bald there.''

Luckily for me I would say I'm a decent looking guy and I do have alot of confidence in terms of my apperance. Despite the hairline I do experiment in many different styles. Last summer I grew my hair longish (Liam Gallagher length) then I got it cut short threw a bit of wax in it and funked it up. I'm in the process of growing long again but funnily enough I was considering getting it cut again maybe shaved because its the cut that suits me best.

You should make the best out of your hair. Don't be afraid to show your hairline. Experiment. Growing your hair long is a great way of covering it up but only grow it long if you want to and have patience. If you want to get it shaved get it shaved. If you want to funk it up with a bit of wax do it. All the people who slagged me about my hair all have dull short back and sides type cuts. Honestly the sound ladies love blokes who are more adventurous and individual when it comes to their haircuts. Who would look more attractive a bloke with a full hairline with a dire cut or a bloke who is slightly receding who shows more personality by making the most of his hair? Its an easy answer!

Alot of men will expereince balding at some points in their lives. I see so many blokes in their 20's who are going bald. It is more common than you think. I even notice alot of footballers our age who would have similar hairlines. Arjen Robben, Aiden McGeady etc. Do you think the ladies would turn them down? I don't think so! Even though we are a few years younger enjoy your hair while it lasts. You could try these pills or whatnot but they are expensive. My advice is there is very little you can do about it but make the most of your hair while it lasts and stay happy! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭apeking

My advice is there is very little you can do about it but make the most of your hair while it lasts and stay happy! :)

I'm in exact same position as u guys, 21 going bald for bout 3 years, jus get 3back and sides and a bit on top, have a hot girlfriend and all for my troubles going with her for 8 months.

Its all good, just be yourself and the rest will sort itself out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I'm nearly 24 and have been going bald or at least had a receding hairline since I was about 16 or 17. Its never bothered me in the slightest. I just shave my head the whole time, girls love a bald head if ya ask me. Baldness is hereditry on both sides of my famiily so it wasn't much of a shock when I did start to loss it slightly at the front.

At the moment I have a very high forehead with it receding fairly far back at the temples.

Don't worry about it!

Thanks lads (And one lassie I believe) for all the replies.

To be honest, these days I only feel down about the hair line thing now and again.

What was said about spiking my hair and stuff would be great but even when I wasn't receding that never really suited me anyway cause of the high hairline.

I had longish hair up till the other day (the fringe was near my eyes) but my hair is in between staight and curly...so basically...it just looks like **** if it ain't short or doesn't have a bucket of gell in it ;)

So far I've only ever thought about trying out minoxil or anything like that as a passing thought. I know I never will bother though- It just seems like a waste of money for a fairly crap result.

Maybe I'll grow my hair back a bit and give the Morrisey look a go? hehehe

Anyway, I'm sure I'll feel better this weekend if I succeed in scoring a 30 year old who thinks I'm 25.

I'm off milf-huntin'....;)

Thanks again.

Hey,

I'm 23 myself and although my hair is really thick, I'd noticed my temples getting thinner over the past two years, but very slowly.

The lads here have mentioned propecia, which is about the most effective thing you can take for hair loss.I've been on it for about 5 months now and have noticed that the temples are starting to look a bit thicker.

Thing is tho, that propecia is 80e a month,and totally unaffordable for most, but there is another way...

Propecia's ingredient is finasteride 1mg,nothing else.There is a drug on the market called proscar (for men with prostate problems) that is finasteride 5mg.When I went to my doctor he gave me the perscription for the proscar and told me to bite off a quarter of a tablet every day.

Works out at 18e a month this way which is well managable for me...

Food for thought anyway.

observer wrote:
    Hey,

I'm 23 myself and although my hair is really thick, I'd noticed my temples getting thinner over the past two years, but very slowly.

The lads here have mentioned propecia, which is about the most effective thing you can take for hair loss.I've been on it for about 5 months now and have noticed that the temples are starting to look a bit thicker.

Thing is tho, that propecia is 80e a month,and totally unaffordable for most, but there is another way...

Propecia's ingredient is finasteride 1mg,nothing else.There is a drug on the market called proscar (for men with prostate problems) that is finasteride 5mg.When I went to my doctor he gave me the perscription for the proscar and told me to bite off a quarter of a tablet every day.

Works out at 18e a month this way which is well managable for me...

Food for thought anyway.

Proscar/Propecia (finasteride) is the best thing around, however I never tried it myself because I read that it could have bad effect on sexual performance (although this happens only in a slight%). However everything would get back to normal if you stop taking it, so there would be nothing to really worry about. I just don't feel like taking it....

At the moment I use Minoxidil 5%, although I have to say that the first few weeks you start taking, you have a big hair loss, until it get stable after the first few weeks. This is cheap if ordered online from the US, I usually buy it here http://www.onlyhairloss.com/men/minoxidil/generic_minoxidil.htm?source=google .

For whomever has hairloss problem on the crown and doesn't feel like taking medicines, I advise a product called Toppik (can be bought on the internet, it cost about 50 Euro and last for about 6 months)...it is cosmetic, a kind of powder to be put over the crown or wherever the hair are missing and will have a smooth effect on your hair and increase the intensity.... it works great, you will forget about your baldness in no time (obviusly the assumption is that you are not completely bald!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭s10

think im going to order .. Minoxidil 5%

im 30 & its becomming increasingly upsetting for me,
    my dad has more hair than me atm so it kinda caught me off guard.heriditary wise snot the easiest thing to see neither,
    im a 1.9 on the scale :)
    met my cousins for my uncles funeral during last summer
    (from two different families from tronoto & vancover)
    & u could see the steps of baldness, from me 30 - 40 - 42 - 47
    & 47 year olds hair is not pretty (earmuffs)....

so i'll give it a go pessimistic style & report back here ina few months, fingers x(ed)
    cheers for ur research Coney Island

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Dr Cox's Ego

observer wrote:
    Propecia's ingredient is finasteride 1mg,nothing else.There is a drug on the market called proscar (for men with prostate problems) that is finasteride 5mg.When I went to my doctor he gave me the perscription for the proscar and told me to bite off a quarter of a tablet every day

Would most GPs do that for you?

Ive been losing my hair slowly over the past 8 or so years but things came to a head when I got my haircut last week and it definitely pssing me off now , Im probably around Type II. Its added a lot of weight to my face when Im actually quite trim which in turn has affected my confidence slightly.

Id say Id have to spend about 5 grand with these guys http://www.hairireland.ie/Transplants.htm but Ive read very mixed reports on transplants in Ireland.

Which company did Jimmy White always used to advertise on the back of newspapers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭s10

dunno , in my first job , the manager got it done he had black hair , and had a nice runway strip , really good job . cheaper prob to go abroad , though .

s10 wrote:
    think im going to order .. Minoxidil 5%

im 30 & its becomming increasingly upsetting for me,
    my dad has more hair than me atm so it kinda caught me off guard.heriditary wise snot the easiest thing to see neither,
    im a 1.9 on the scale :)
    met my cousins for my uncles funeral during last summer
    (from two different families from tronoto & vancover)
    & u could see the steps of baldness, from me 30 - 40 - 42 - 47
    & 47 year olds hair is not pretty (earmuffs)....

so i'll give it a go pessimistic style & report back here ina few months, fingers x(ed)
    cheers for ur research Coney Island

Be careful though, one of the collateral effect of Minoxidil is a big shock loss in the first 2-3 months (just want to warn you), then those hair you loose should grow back. Don't expect huge regrowth though, but at least you can limit the loss of what you have now.

Would most GPs do that for you?

Ive been losing my hair slowly over the past 8 or so years but things came to a head when I got my haircut last week and it definitely pssing me off now , Im probably around Type II. Its added a lot of weight to my face when Im actually quite trim which in turn has affected my confidence slightly.

Id say Id have to spend about 5 grand with these guys http://www.hairireland.ie/Transplants.htm but Ive read very mixed reports on transplants in Ireland.

Which company did Jimmy White always used to advertise on the back of newspapers?

For successful hairtransplants I advise to fly oversea to doctor Hasson & Wong (Vancover), or Shapiro (Minneapolis). They use the strip technique.
    Whereas if you have more money to spend you can try doctor Cole (Atlanta), he operates with the FUE technique.
    You can find more info about the difference between strip and fue on the net (search in google).
    There are very few doctors able to carry out a good job here in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Im almost 18 and although baldness is present in both sides of my family, I still have a thick (and wild) head of hair. I live in fear though.... :p

Theres been some great advice here, but really, you should just take the simpliest advice of all! Lifes too short, and if loosing hair is your only worry in life, then you have a sweet one :)

observer wrote:
    told me to bite off a quarter of a tablet every day.
    Bite?!?!? :eek:

Most tablets (not capsules) are designed to be cut, not bitten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

What's the difference between biting off a quarter and cutting off a quarter if theres no score on the tablet to do so??

You can see what you are doing when you are cutting it? :rolleyes:

Unless you have eyes in your mouth (they should put that in an Aliens movie) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Dr Cox's Ego

has anyone ever heard of Nourkin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I have a receeding hairline. Finally bit the bullet and while I didn't shave my head I cut it damn close. Looks good. I'm happy I did it. I don't think it's a self concious thing, quite frankly why keep your hair long just to show u can still grow it.

I'm off the opinion now that anyone going bald should just cut their hair close and be done with it. Why waste good money trying to keep something that is hardly important in the long run. While it's a matter of choice I reckon those who keep growing it are the self concious ones. I don't even have to think about my hair anymore cos it ain't there to worry about it :)

Going bald wasnt easy for me.
    At the age of 14 -18/19 or thereabouts i had really long hair (and even got jealous looks from girs over it! i still remember my old religion teacher commenting on how lovely it was lol). But from 20 onwards it started receeding and now im practiaclly bald. Alot of people here say it doesnt affect confidence etc, and thats really cool, but i guess im one of the ones it did affect, i can honestly say going bald has been one of the worst things thats ever happened to me, as i never really had great self confidence but did have some (i did pretty well with women, anyway) and even tho now i have a loving gf i wouldnt trade the world for, i still get depressed about going bald.
    Every now and again someone will make a joke, and even tho its not malicious it really does hurt...i see it as akin to myself walking up to someone overweight and saying 'hey tubby! who ate all the pies?? look like it was you, fatty!!'. and while i laugh it off and take it well part of me still gets down about it. The bottom line is losing my hair has shattered the bit of self confidence i had, and almost brought me close to suicide..and i see it as being something not be joked about really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Besprechen

daRobot wrote:
    What's the difference between biting off a quarter and cutting off a quarter if theres no score on the tablet to do so??

exactly how big are these tabs? your incisors have gotta be pretty accurate to take a quarter off each day! Also, I didnt think a doctor could legally prescribe you medicine specifically designed for a particular ailment for something else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 talker

im 24... ive had a horrible hairline ever since i can remember. when i was 12 or so, i was afraid to wear baseball hats backwards because (through the whole in the back) you could see my widows peak. i never really paid too much attention to it until about two years ago when my girlfriend and her mother pointed it out ON 2 SEPERATE OCCASIONS (!!!). it really affected me. it still does. everytime i look in the mirror i pull my hair back and freak out about how bad it looks. over the years it has slowly gotten worse. id say im a 3 on that scale right now.

i bought rogaine once. i even bought girly shampoo with a bunch of B vitamins. smelled like a chick because of it. none of it worked for me. in my experience -- dont waste your money on that stuff. i know its hard to accept but i think its something that we all are going to have to deal with.
    im not an ugly guy in the slightest... well, atleast i dont think so. i also have a amazingly gorgeous girlfriend who i fully intent on marrying. she admits that my hair has gotten progressively worse since weve known eachother. but she also says shes completely fine with it. mind you -- she first mentioned my receding hair after we were only dating a week or two. so, obviously it didnt bother a beautiful girl like her.

bottom line...
    heres to all of the premature balding guys out there!!! stay positive. shave it if it makes you feel better. know that you have a lot to offer. and thank you all for letting me know that im not the only one with this problem.

I know how devestating hairloss can be for everyone but I'm a girl and am going through a nightmare with my hair at the minute. My mum noticed it looked thin at the front 3 months ago and it's got steadily worse since then. I'm 27 and like most girls am very particular about my appearance so this is getting me down so much. I've been to the doctor who did some blood tests that all came back normal so she told me 'It's just one of those things' and sent me on my way.

I've been desperately looking up websites etc for something to help and so far I've started using Nizoral shampoo (available over the counter from Boots), Head High vitamin tablets and eating more protein. Studies on Nizoral have shown it can help prevent hairloss at it's active ingredient can block DHT the male hormone that causes hairloss.

Anyway, I've had no results so far but have been told it takes several months for anything to work on hair anyway. I'm just hoping something helps because I don't think I can live with it. I have to wear my hair in certain ways to make my scalp less visible but it's getting harder to hide. As bad as hairloss is for men, I don't think it would put a girl off him but I don't think there are many men who would look twice at a bald/thinning haired woman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 talker

maybe its just me... but i thought britney spears looked sexy with her head shaved... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

OP, you're obviously very hung up on how you appear to others (your choice of nick would suggest this - nevermind the thread).

Coming to terms with your hair loss will be far more beneficial to you than throwing money away on quack remedies. I'm a type VI on the Norwood scale, started losing mine at 19.

Accept the fact that you (like many many of us) are going to be a baldy. See it's not so bad really!

The ladies dig Captain Picard, Vin Diesel, etc. so don't let it bother you in that regard.

We have lost most of our body hair through evolution, consider yourself to be one rung higher on the evolutionary ladder than the rest of the Apes! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

mad m wrote: »
    But hey look at Bruce willis and Sean Connery.Sure look at the smileys not a blade of hair on them. :D

goodluck.

Classic stuff.

OP, don't worry about it, women seem to care way less than us guys. Just roll with it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

Finistride, quarter tab a day, Rogaine twice a day, Nizoril, 3 times a week.

If you go to the Blackrock Clinic for treatment that's non surgical, you will be told the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

DrIndy wrote: »
    It blocks dihydrotestosterone which is pretty specific in its effect on hair loss. it does not affect mood or sex drive in any other way at all....
    Are you talking about Saw-Palmetto extract? If so, avoid, various stories about it inducing man-boobs, although no proper clinical-trials have been carried out.
    The brand name is Rogaine or the drug name is minoxidil. It is not cheap, but it does work well if used early on. I know someone who uses it, he had visibly thinning hair and after a few months on this stuff, was back to normal again.
    Really only an option if you are a total cue-ball and will give you the type of whispy hair that grows on your forearms. Horrible, smelly and expensive.
    Few women are so shallow that they would reject a decent bloke purely on his hairline. If they are then they are not worth the effort! Self confidence is what counts and if your self confidence would be boosted by reducing the hair loss, go for it.
    Completely agree. As the late-great Linda Smith once said, all wimmin care about in a guy is a clean-shirt and a nice smile.

Everyone says that you inherit the maternal line genes with hair, but I'm not too sure. All the guys in my late-mum's side had feckin' afros into their 70's where my hair is exactly as my father's was at the same age from looking at old family pics (receeding and bald patch).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

young, losing hair and cant spell 'losing'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

Do what i did and shave it all off, you won't regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

young, losing hair and cant spell 'losing'

that is the most delayed put down i've ever seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

maybe he meant his hair is loosening