Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why arent girls allowed to join rugby teams?

• 17-03-2005 1:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭

Always wondered this as id like to play but im not allowed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

There's loads of women's rugby teams around.

For more info: http://www.iwrfu.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

women can't compete on mens teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

2 reasons: scrums and tackling. Can you imagine in a scrum when the guy shoves his hands up between the girls legs to grab the Jersey and then a chest high tackle.

girls cant play on guys soccer teams either. vice versa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

why the hell not?
    we are good enough to muck around with in the park on good enough to muck around at training, just not allowed join the team?

good enough to muck around with in the park

lol that's true.

it's for the same reason why guys can't play on girls teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I doubt she meant playing on men's teams.

Where abouts are you in the country Jezza?

If you want to get in contact with any clubs with women's teams gimme a shout.

Women's teams don't generally have contested scrums, except in Division 1. You can be age 16 and up to play in the IWRFU leages and cup matches, but you must be over 18 to be in the front 3.

If you're on the Northside of Dublin you're more than welcome to come training with us in DCU, we're not just a college team as we're registered with IWRFU and play in Division 3 of their legue. We'd be more than happy to have you down.

Or I can put you in contact with a club in your area if there is one.

Just drop me a PM or a mail to amz[at]boards.ie

I doubt she meant playing on men's teams.

then her opening statement makes zero sense.

Neither does much of anything she says to be honest.

so how often do you get:

so you play rugby, and you're a chick, you lesbian?

then her opening statement makes zero sense.
    i want to play on mens team only i am not aloud.
    amz im sorry that wsa jumbled up...

so how often do you get:

so you play rugby, and you're a chick, you lesbian?
    i get 'too small' a lot.
    totally being sexist.
    whats my gender got to do with anything except spiders though?
    i dont think its fair.
    Boys are just scared cos girls could kick ass

Ok ... Do you actually have any concept of how dead you would be if you attempted to play full contact rugby against/with a men's team?

I play with women and some of the bruises/bites/breaks etc. I get a pretty bad.

Kevin, online I get quite a lot of comments like that, but when people meet me they're usually too afraid because I'm so hairy and masculine.

Honestly, I just find that people think it's funny that I play rugby, some people say it's because of how I look.

Obviously rugby isn't considered a very feminine sport, but I don't play it to be girlie, I play it because I enjoy it.

why not?
    thats like saying boys cant do ballet

Amz wrote:
    but I don't play it to be girlie, I play it because I enjoy it.
    yeah see there you go. fair play to you.
    but getting bashed up a bit wouldnt really matter if you had fun.
    do you need to be masculine??

no it's like saying a boy can't get the female lead role in a ballet.

if girls were allowed to compete on men's team, therefore men would be allowed to compete on women's team. therefore mens and womens teams would cease to exist and only teams would exist. then all the guys would be playing on the top teams. and all the girls would be playing on the bottom teams. and then we'd have seperate genders. i don't think it's a genderism issue. it's not like why can't girls be priests. it's more like why can't girls be kings. they can't. they can only be queens. guys can be both kings and queens. but that's a different story.

I play rugby, some people say it's because of how I look.

you're a winger, who was posting in the "girls with big bosoms what cloths can they wear" thread. definetly funny looking.

jezza wrote:
    why not?
    thats like saying boys cant do ballet

Ive yet to meet a girl that I wouldnt be fairly confident of doing serious damage to if i hit them. Men on the other hand im fairly sure could get back up and smack me back.

A 17/18 stone man running full pelt into you is going to hurt a lot, do you think you could handle that? I wouldnt fancy it and im a 16 stone man.

I've played indoor football against Tony Ward and I have to say I didnt like the idea of him running at me with the ball at his feet in a sport where you only tackle with your feet, never mind him haveing the ball under his arm charging me.

I'd love to put her in a game against lads just to teach her a lesson. Jezza have you any idea how badly your ass would get kicked?

oh yeah me too stekelly. i go around looking for girls who i could smack a bit and get a bit of a desent fight out off too. finding it difficult. irish girls are so weak. i'm being serious. you should see some of the girls in eastern europe.

Stekelly wrote:
    Men on the other hand im fairly sure could get back up and smack me back.
    I wouldnt fancy it and im a 16 stone man.
    well im nearly 8 stone and im still growing and i wouldnt even be on the senior team.
    and besides ive never got seriously hurt at training, just a bruise or two.

you're a winger, who was posting in the "girls with big bosoms what cloths can they wear" thread. definetly funny looking.
    What?

woops. rereading that i can see it makes little sense.i'll just leave it like that thou.

jezza wrote:
    well im nearly 8 stone and im still growing and i wouldnt even be on the senior team.
    and besides ive never got seriously hurt at training, just a bruise or two.
    Jezza, you might think you can compete with the boys, but realistically and no matter how much we'd like to think otherwise, they are stronger and more physical than we are.

In an ideal world men and women would play together at a professional level, but the reality is that that's never going to happen.

I've played tag rugby, which has to have mixed teams and trying to get one of the lads to pass to you is like trying to get blood from a stone. I'm not a bad rugby player myself, but lads just don't see it like that, even though if a girl scores a try in tag it's worth more points ... Go figure.

woops. rereading that i can see it makes little sense.i'll just leave it like that thou.
    Can you at least try and clarify what you meant as I really am lost here?

well, big and stronger and also better. don't forget that male soccer and rugby and any sport players, almost without exception are miles ahead of their female counterparts in all ways, skill, determination etc. etc. etc. i don't think you can just make a big sweep at males and say ur only better cos ur bigger. men are better cos they're better.

men think they are better because they have their head stuck up their own asses..... whats the problem with mixed teams?
    thats where im getting stuck tbh
    amz... i think kevin was on about the thread in fashion/appearence about tops gals had to wear with big chests

Jezza if you are so intent on beating lads at sport, you might want to start playing some non-contact sports. Give golf ago, blokes hate losing to women golfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Its a fair question, and I agree with Jezza. I think if shes already 8 stone she should certainly be able for many of the teams in the Dublin area. Indeed it is clearly because the men are scared, Victor Costello is shaking in his size 20 boots.

Give golf ago, blokes hate losing to women golfers.
    that wrecks my head just looking at it on telly.
    i was the only girl on u-14 hurling team and we won our final!
    whats the difference with rugby

Female sprinters are set to outrun their male counterparts in coming years so I wouldn't be too sure about male superiority in all sports.

Jezza, I've no idea what that thread's about so I'll just smile and nod.

jezza wrote:
    that wrecks my head just looking at it on telly.
    i was the only girl on u-14 hurling team and we won our final!
    whats the difference with rugby
    The nature of the game is so completely different. There's a lot more brute force and power involved. Under 14 hurling isn't comparable to men's senior hurling and is definitely not the same as senior rugby.

Tell you what jezza9. Come out and have a game of 4football whith a few of us. I'm willing2 to tackle you like I would a man. If you still want to 3give rugby a go after that we can have a6 friendly game of that too.

Amz wrote:
    Female sprinters are set to outrun their male counterparts in coming years so I wouldn't be too sure about male superiority in all sports.

Jezza, I've no idea what that thread's about so I'll just smile and nod.

??

Show me some proof of that? No woman will ever be the fastest person in the world, unless evolution has something serious to say about it. True the gap is closing all the time but that's only because woman take athletics much more seriously now than they used to. That trend will level off.

Stekelly wrote:
    Tell you what jezza9. Come out and have a game of 4football whith a few of us. I'm willing2 to tackle you like I would a man. If you still want to 3give rugby a go after that we can have a6 friendly game of that too.
    jesus i nearly would it'd be worth it just to hold you to that rugby game, i can hold my own on most things. although im in kerry.

aparently the rate of improvment in speeds in quicker in female short distance sprinting then mens. again. it's i'll beleive it when i see it. even jezza know's what i'm talking about. hey jezza just dress as a boy and go train with them. simple solution.

It's been stated in several sports science journals Davey.

Evolution is already having a say in this.

You're a bit naive if you think otherwise.

i do???
    i think my dad may no that im actually me and not joe down the road?
    oh wait...you were being sarcastic. this is my point why have bloke sgot a problem????

uum wrote:
    imagine if pat lamb hit a girl. get out of it, youre either mad or dreaming
    oh now... im perfectly sane.
    im happy for youthat you can knock people out but since when wsa rugby a sport to intentionally hurt others?

uum wrote:
    what the fcuk?
    are u stupid or what? how many girls do you kbow that bench press over 60 kg? the min for a male rugby ail 1 player even though they dont mesure as extensively as american football is 100kg as a forwarsd. i bp 160kg and i reckon i could actually kill a normal person if tehy hadbt got weak neck musckes. ive knocked out many with a shoukdere block. imagine if pat lamb hit a girl. get out of it, youre either mad or dreaming
    I bet you're a real hit at parties.

wow this has got weird. i think jezza is entitled to play rugby. if she wants to play with boys, to prove that girls can compete with boys on a level playing field fair play to her. but we all know why girls play boys sports. it's because they like boys a little too much. is there some guy on the local rugby team u want to get in a scrum with jezza?

no ive been actually with some of them out of a scrum ;)
    not all mud and blood!
    but most of them are mates of mine, but theres some who think 'you cant cos your a girl" which pi$$es me off.
    This would be something id love to do but i cant cos blokes wont let girls

Amz wrote:
    It's been stated in several sports science journals Davey.

Evolution is already having a say in this.

You're a bit naive if you think otherwise.

Well Amz, I'll eat my underwear on Grafton Street it it happens in my lifetime.

I've read these reports but as I'll state again the only reason why the gap is closing is because woman train much harder now than they used too. Thus they are getting faster quicker than the men who have had a gradual increase in speed. However women's development should even up to to the same rate as develpment as men in the future. Thus women will never been faster than men.

May I also make the point that the woman's world 100m record stands at 10.48 secs and has since been broken since 1988. That wouldn't even get you to a men's 2nd round heat at the Olympics.

i think it's time for a boards.ie rugby match. boys vs girls. men vs women (not ladies).

o.........................................................................................k, i'm going to go now.

uum wrote:
    Amz im a seriously depressed guy who s jus returned from a nite out. thats why im on here. I hate myself and i hate everyone else. Hete is so in bred in me that violence is second nature. I actually chased guys who asked me for a light tonight juast so i could get into a fight. granted one of their gf's said - dont ask him - hes an ugly bastard. Yes im ugly and not nice to talk to but if you cross me youre ****ed. The sight of the 2 girls tears made me feel different. the sight of the 3 of the lads beggin for no more injury made me feel ....... nothing. b4 i hated myself for hammering guys like that but now they are the enemy. they think im a freak, im a freak alright but **** that i'll amke em wish they never learned to spek

Good night's rest and you'll be grand in the moring.

earlier i said this got weird. not it got crazy.

if you really think you're depressed uum you should make an appointment with a councellor or a doctor. or maybe speak with a close friend or family member.
    if i did dicpher you last message correctly, it appear's you've commited some kind of assult. i think you should go to the gardai and own up.
    if as you said, you battered 3 guys, come join my boxing club.

Well uum, I'm sorry that you feel like that and I can understand (more than you might think) how it feels to be in that position.

But threatening people and throwing your weight around (metaphorical or otherwise) won't help your situation.

Maybe this thread should be cut in half and the last few posts moved to pi.

At the end of the day women just arnt big enough to compete in a full contact sort with 17stone+ men. They cant compete in football which has a lot less contact so rugby is out of the question. Do you think you could find a group of girls to shift the irish pack? or the pack of any senior team? If your really honest with yourself you'll have to say they wouldnt be able to compete. There are plenty of reasons why sports are segregated. I mean there arnt any women snooker players in the rankings and thats nothing to do with strenght or phyical attributes.

Stekelly wrote:
    I mean there arnt any women snooker players in the rankings and thats nothing to do with strenght or phyical attributes.
    Our boobs get in the way ...