Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so, what do you do on St.Patrick's day?

• 16-03-2005 4:37pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭

The big day is tomorrow and I am wondering what most people will be doing.
    In america as we all know, they load up on beer and watch parade's celebrating even the smallest tie they have to Ireland...Everyone suddenly becomes Irish, well they become the "stereotypical Irish" that America has come to know by way of Hollywood.
    but what will you be doing in Ireland while everyone outside of Ireland celebrate's it?

Any local parade's planned? any parties planned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

Big underage session in a field in tramore. ssshh don't tell the Gards!

yeah yeah I know typical irish :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I would normally be getting drunk somewhere. However, I'll be working this Paddy's Day which is a písser. It's not just for Irish people, and who gives a cráp if people suddenly become Irish!? Fair play to them... any excuse for a party I say. Even if it's just celebrating Irishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

I'm going to get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Well, I'm going to watch Americans load up on beer and watch parade's celebrating even the smallest tie they have to Ireland...Then watch them all suddenly become Irish, well they'll become the "stereotypical Irish" that America has come to know by way of Hollywood.

And I'm going to be getting pissed in Boston in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

I'll be celebrating by Birthday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I'm not going to drink at all. So there.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

Well, I'm going to watch Americans load up on beer and watch parade's celebrating even the smallest tie they have to Ireland...Then watch them all suddenly become Irish, well they'll become the "stereotypical Irish" that America has come to know by way of Hollywood.

And I'm going to be getting pissed in Boston in the process.

I will be doing the same thing, just wonderered what everyone else was doing :D I will be getting pissed in Cleveland though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'll probably sleep through most of it (working tonight). However, if I wake up soon enough I'll head to a friend's house and play boardgames, cardgames, videogames, and RPGs all day, sneering with disgust whenever I think of the festering hellhole the centre of Galway is going to become.

It's probably the one day I wish I could say I wasn't Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Myself and my girlfriend are going to Carrickmacross to see the parade there. I'm told it's good craic. A few drinks will be consumed later on in the day alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

im gonna get pissed knacker drinkin, then go into o connell street and start fights and piss in the streets and dont put my rubbish in the bin.

nah, im gonna be stuck in carlow. might head out to one of the 2 clubs in carlow, being the day thats in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Word on the street is that temps are going to be hitting 16 degrees tomorrow, quite high for Ireland in March, so I want to try organise a chill-out session, maybe a few beers and an all-day barbeque.

Want to get to bed early, like 12ish. I still have to work on Friday! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

i'll probably stay in, read a book. maybe write a letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

I'll be hob-nobbing with Irelands finest minds in Dublin city centre , bedecked in celtic jerseys and quaffing flagons of cider before becoming slightly inebriated & viciously assaulting all and sundry for no apparent reason, a typical show of irishness. Begorrah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

I've decided to make DVD buying a St. Patrick's Day tradition cos' last year I bought one thinking it was a completely different film and it's now my favourite DVD (Cabin Fever).

I'm also gonna get some Green McDonald's milkshakes, and see what's goin' on in town. Oh yeah, the parade. I knew there was something I was missing. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i'm working, HURRAY, such joy. it will be the best day ever. tried booking holidays ages ago and they said no holidays for Paddy's Day

i work for a shower of **** btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Boozing tonight for Paddys Eve and then we'll see about tomorrow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I've got a big important report type thing due in on Friday, and am nowhere near finished, so I'll be doing that on Paddys day, while thinking of all my friends out having a good time in town :( (I plan on ringing everyone really early Friday morning though and laughing at their hungover states! :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

TimAy wrote:
    I'll be celebrating by Birthday.

and your parents didn't call you Patrick???? :eek:

I think i'll be sleeping off my hangover til about 11 or 12.. big dirty fry with all the trimmings... then pop out to watch the parade and see what happens after that...

I have Friday off, so technically i could go out tonight and paddys night... ummm... might be an idea :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

I'm goin shopping in Dundrum...avoidng Temple Bar like the plague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

I'm in work, and after what today was like, I'm not looking forward to it, with the whole Cheletnam(sp?) and Patricks day thing. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I shall be getting toasted. Nicely toasted. Going to the local for the day and hopefully sitting in a sunny beer garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fireblade1

maybe watch the parade in galway have a couple of pints nothin major - hate being hungover at like eight in the evening
    paddies night we are all going to roisin dubh to watch the Blizzards- very good band!!
    should be good craic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'll be up early...getting nicely drunk in the sunshine at Landsdowne road, whilst watching my beloved Belvo winning the senior cup. Then off to town, hopefully celebrating, watch some of the parade, then to temple bar, to bask in the glory of worshipped by drunking yanks, and wrap it up with a bit of culutre in some nightclub...what a day!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

Im going to sit in this room and do my ****ing english poetry coursework. Gurr! SO no going into town and having fun with my friends, no, just Robert Goldsmith and Carol Anne ****ing Duffy!

:mad: :mad:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

college essay all day! fun fun fun fun fun....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I'm going to wear some green clothes (!) but apart from that, I'll just be working or procrastinating as usual. I might go for a stroll through Galway to look at all the drunken madness though.

Actually, it's very relevant that I'll be working - the poem I'm working on for college has St. Patrick in it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

smoking pot, maybe take a lil bit of magic mushrooms. We'll see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭gilbert

I Am Going To Have A Look New Shopping Center With My Friend IN DUNDRUM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

St. Patricks Day = Overrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Usually take kids into parade but there getting bigger these days and shoulders wont take the strain.So we're of fishing on the dodder :D .Probably be an hour into it and then the immortal words "Dad when we going home,we're bored".

So then straight to boozer for a few scoops and a bit of a diddle dee.

Have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'm in work. Then I'm coming home to practise my patterns for TKD (black belt grading a month from tomorrow), then eat food and watch films. Think I'm gonna watch Princess Mononoke again. I'm gonna beat the final stage of Super Mario 64 DS and I'm gonna restart Zelda: Wind Waker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

I'm in work. Then I'm coming home to practise my patterns for TKD (black belt grading a month from tomorrow), then eat food and watch films. Think I'm gonna watch Princess Mononoke again. I'm gonna beat the final stage of Super Mario 64 DS and I'm gonna restart Zelda: Wind Waker.

Hey goodluck with grading.Used to do it years ago for five years.Was only a year or so away from your up and coming grade until my lustrious career was cut short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I throwing a party. Unfortunatly most of my friends are going to another party already.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

I was downtown at 5:30am...drank
    parade started at 1pm, watched parade till 2,
    went back and drank till 3:30

got hammered! had a blast! :D