Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Counterfeit Condoms

• 15-03-2005 2:12am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I nearly pissed my paints when I heard the raido....me and the other half are just after having our second baby,she is not yet back on the pill.We were out for a few pints on Sunday night and we were "intimate" ;) for the first time since the new baby.All in all it was a great night,I blew off alot of steam :D

So you can Imagen my surprise when I am driving through the city and I hear on the radio that a load of "Johnny's" have been recalled :eek: I nearly crashed the car....we have a 2 year old and a 5 week old the last thing we need is another baby.

I get my head together and phone home and ask the other half what brand we were using,and after looking for info and checking the news.... it could only happen to me but we got a pack of the boogie ones.

Has anybody else on boards been stung.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

well according to the news earlier theres been 40,000 packets sold before they were recalled.

could be quite a few caught out! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

linkage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Ebonyks

ehhh...what brand?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭spunkymunky

Saw this

unison.ie

""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
    Thousands of condoms have been withdrawn from sale.
    The Irish Medicines Board has said forty thousand boxes of Durex Extra Safe and Durex Fetherlite twelve packs are faulty.

The fakes contraceptives were imported illegally into Ireland.

It is feared they may not be effective against pregnancy and sexually transmitted infection.
    """"""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

40,000 boxes of 12, thats up to 500,000 dodgy condoms that may have been sold :eek: Holy baby boom!!

http://www.examiner.ie/pport/web/Full_Story/did-sgzfant-0t-x-sg7OWirIStPSk.asp

All the fake ones have these batch numbers on them:

Product Name: Durex Extra Safe 12 Pack
    Batch number: 20602503
    Expiry Date: 2007/11

Product Name: Durex Fetherlite 12 Pack
    Batch number: VR3073 U or C or E or €
    Expiry Date: 2008/02

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭spunkymunky

Thankfully its the 12 packs. Im more of a 3 pack, dont push your luck, man!!! Still scary stuff. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

this is a perfect time for some skank to get pregnant and sue the whole world!!! namely durex:)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    this is a perfect time for some skank to get pregnant and sue the whole world!!! namely durex:)

I dont think you can sue as they dont say they are 100% safe,also its not durex fault if some doggy company impersonates their products.

Who would want to be a mid wife in 9 month's time.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i think it was only the feather light, and the extra safe.

comfort fit for me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

In my experience, durex condoms are bad enough when they are working properly (breakage), so I'm not too concerned by this (i.e. I always expect them to fail and this kind of ruins durex condom sex for me - I'm always having to check to see if the condom has broken.)

Anyone else feel like this?

Mates seem reliable.

dublindude wrote:
    In my experience, durex condoms are bad enough when they are working properly (breakage), so I'm not too concerned by this (i.e. I always expect them to fail and this kind of ruins durex condom sex for me - I'm always having to check to see if the condom has broken.)

Mates seem reliable.
    no, you're probably puttin it on wrong, read the instructions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

dublindude wrote:

Mates seem reliable.

Yeah I'd agree. Only used the durex a couple of times and they weren't the best. Mates have always (touch wood) done a good job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

dude, you are probably putting it on wrong or something. never had a breakage or anyhting like that, and ive got a really big todger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Thankfully its the 12 packs. Im more of a 3 pack, dont push your luck, man!!! Still scary stuff. :eek:

Rofl!! Unfortunatly i DO buy the 12 pack as a years supply :eek: (feather lite's ;)) I still amn't through last years stock though...so i'm safe!! :D

........i should really get around to using them, if even on my own..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

haha this scared me so much then i remember.... i'm bleeding like a pig!!!

tee hee hee (i'm an extra safe 12 pack girl myself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    no, you're probably puttin it on wrong, read the instructions
    Or having sex wrong...

I use the Durex featherlites too..

I tried the Mates once... they were horribly uncomfortable. But I guess it's all down to the member in question... yes?

Does anyone know when the faulty condoms entered the market? And what sort of a suplier would sell condoms that weren't from a reputable source.

how do you see if you got good ones or bad ones

thanks for that..

really

i was hopping someone would enjoy the image!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

well, myself and herself are in the clear. It's not the type we normally use but I'm sure at some point in the last year I bought a 12 pack of the featherlight.

Really discomforting.

But I'd love to know where on the supply chain these got in. Questions to be answered there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

cheers that was what i wanted to read while eating my lunch!!!!

but seriously that is crazy!!!i always use extra safe!! and buy the 12 packets (cost efficient)

how do you check? is the writing not in english?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

erm.....

uncomfortable silence

...................................................*
    how do you see if you got good ones or bad ones

You push a pin through them....if they go through easly and quickly, they're soft enough and hence safe...if the pin doesn't go through, they're dodgy and poorly made.*

*Joke, do not try this, repeat, DO NOT TRY THIS. If you really must test a cindom before use, fill it with water, and see if it leaks. Dubguy22 and all it's subsiduarys will not be held responsible for any loss of earnings, birth of unwanted children and/or ruining ones life.

*Page* wrote:

how do you check?

It is advising consumers to check to see if they may have these condoms in their possession.

People should check the outer packet and the condom foil for the batch details. The recall only relates to 12 unit boxes. No other packs are involved. The two counterfeit batches identified carry the following information:

Product Name: Durex Extra Safe 12 Pack
    Batch number: 20602503
    Expiry Date: 2007/11

Product Name: Durex Fetherlite 12 Pack
    Batch number: VR3073 U or C or E or €
    Expiry Date: 2008/02

Consumers are advised to return any affected product to their local pharmacy and those with health concerns should consult with their GP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭abccormac

Ha ha ha I haven't had sex in ages so I'm safe you bunch of losers!! ha ha ha ha ha. No sex life for me!!! ha ha ha ha ha!!!

Wait a minute, thats not right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

on a side note... just out of curiosity .... ;) good oportunity to ask!

Mens perspective on condoms? Is there a standard view point or are most different? From what I gather most are different. Some see them as life savers orthers as a buzz kill. For any of the lads out there that see them as a buzz kill ... what do you do to make them less of a buzz kill ... I mean like .. is there a particular brand or type that are best? alternative ways of putting them on? ;) what makes them less offensive for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭windowgazer

How do you know you don't have an STD? duh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Do you know if "Durex Extra Large" are effected ???

i don't know about that, but 'Durex Super Dick' are fine!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I almost had a fúcking heart attack when I read this. Jesus. But when I actually thought about it I've bought nothing but 3 packs and a 20 pack.

Are you POSTIVE its only the 12 pack? If so then I'm alright but christ almightly I nearly died.... :eek:

And Whoever thinks condoms are a buzz kill is a moron. :rolleyes: I would never do anything without them. Only an idiot would risk everything just so his "buzz" isn't disrupted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

How do you know you don't have an STD? duh!
    Yes. Good point. Bleeding pig blood is a symptom of many a STD...

cause both me and my partner have been checked and came out clear for everything, and neither of us have slept with anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Pinkchick03

solution - go to www.smartpaddy.com (or .ie not entirely sure) and buy in bulk! we always use extra safe (but i'm on pill and take it on time etc so I'd say we're fine!)

that bleeding like a pig remark was disgusting :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Im just waiting for the graph of new babies born since these condoms came out. Id say there are a few on the way unknowns to people. If ya find one (or find you've used one) whats the deal-sue the chemist,their supplier - do you have a come back.............no pun intendedtongue.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

i was hopping someone would enjoy the image!!
    lol.
    do you have a Come back..... classic!!! rofl

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ah, they're probably grand. It's not like they went around piercing holes in them is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

prolly made from crisp wrappers...

• This post has been deleted.

yep, far too long, where's the regulators for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

So dub13 is she up the duff as they say :P ?

ronano wrote:
    So dub13 is she up the duff as they say :P ?

Not sure yet....we are going to "ride this one out ontill the end of the month" ;) I hope not.....but I am getting the hang of this baby thing,well after two in the last two years I should.

come on a year isnt that long... you got your 40-42 weeks to wait for first. and then its the lenght of a letter then the time the complaint is realised and is proved true ect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Yeah I'd agree. Only used the durex a couple of times and they weren't the best. Mates have always (touch wood) done a good job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The next census results should be interesting. :D

went home and checked bar codes mine are a ok!!

*Page* wrote:
    went home and checked bar codes mine are a ok!!

you lucky ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Dub13, look on the bright side: You'll be able to combine Birthday and Christmas presents for number three :P

FatherTed,

I hope not...:D

I cant be the only one on boards to get stung by this...can I be that unlucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

filthy

EDIT: oops, i meant to quote cajun tiger from the first page....

ignore this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 krchooseslife

it is www.smartpaddy.ie, wouldn't buy my Johnny's anywhere else anymore. best condom shop around!
    solution - go to www.smartpaddy.com (or .ie not entirely sure) and buy in bulk! we always use extra safe (but i'm on pill and take it on time etc so I'd say we're fine!)

that bleeding like a pig remark was disgusting :eek: