Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/

• 10-03-2005 10:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

Heard about this site on the news last night:

http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/

It seems the tables are being turned on the teachers who are receiving unofficial report cards from their students and parents!

Is this sort of thing a good idea? Or is just an easy way for pupils to hurl abuse at teachers they don't like?

davej

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Yeah I seen this yesterday and didnt have much of an opinion towards it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

looks like a lawsuit waiting to happen,

either that or clever teachers have set this up to figure out which students are the troublemakers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

I'd say it will be used more by irate students who failed exams or got punishment etc... And as such, the ratings cant be trusted.. it's far more likely that the people who go on to rate will be doing so to vent against bad teachers, rather than praising good teachers or rating average ones.

Also, schools which are more net/computer savvy will be more likely to be represented, giving an unequal skew. Cannot work tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

LMAO! this is too much fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

I'm waiting for "Rate My Student - the ungrateful brats" site myself :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

cool!! some of my old teachers are on that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I'm waiting for the hotornot-teacher site personally.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

mr_angry wrote:
    I'm waiting for the hotornot-teacher site personally.
    That's exactly what I thought when I saw the topic.

The horror, the horror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭davej

Well at the moment it just looks like they're starting off in ireland. This is an american company that has a nice ratemyteacher template that they can export to different locales.

They seem to be hiding behind some waffle about being a great service to the community:

"In the public discourse on improving education, we believe the most important voices are often ignored. For the first time in the history of public schools, the student is being heard, and parents can share their experiences in an open forum."

Still if it gets a debate going it might prove some use.

davej

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Its unfortunate that theres no way in hell this will be taken seriously and im sure every attempt will be made by the teachers unions to shut it down.

There are so many bad or underqualified teachers in the non-fee paying schools in this country and yet nothing will be, or ever really has been, done about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭shane0312

I think its a step in the right direction so long as it's used responsibly because finally we're giving the people who are most affected, the students a voice. This is important because in the past any student who has tried to legitimately complain about a teacher is dismissed patronisingly by the management saying that they are not mature enough to know what constitutes good teaching and that they should stop complaining and leave it up the adults with superior intellects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

this is the business hahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Burago

There are so many bad or underqualified teachers in the non-fee paying schools in this country

They're in the fee paying schools too! I had some bizzare teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Best laugh I've had in ages. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Neuro

davej wrote:
    Or is just an easy way for pupils to hurl abuse at teachers they don't like?

I checked out my old school and all of the ratings were positive.

As for the teachers, they're probably s**ting themselves. They've always been opposed to any sort scrutiny. The unions will complain that it's not fair or that it violates privacy but what they're really nervous about is the public finding out that some of their number should not be allowed to teach animals let alone children...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

My school already has a Mr Brown, Mr Black, Mr, White, Mr Orange, Mr Pink, Mr Grey etc - it's a crock tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

so far unfortunate unoccuring typo, <snip>

my old secondary school is there aswell!
    Gort Community School.

some comments up, the one about the principal isnt fair tho, he was ok.

there is however a good smathering of ****e teachers there tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

There appear to be two users for my school but no teachers up......thats all changed now.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

why can you only be a parent or student what about past pupils

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭abccormac

The thing that I find most disturbing, is that they link to a site with software to get around software that controls web access. Not a good idea IMO, it could leave schools open to all sorts of allegations if school computers end up full of porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Acting as a moderator for my school after receiving a letter from the guys there. Seems like a logical idea if other moderators do their job properly.

Hopefully it'll unleash some of the power which the ASTI unfairly yields over schools at the moment - using themselves as a shield to protect inadequate teachers who are guaranteed employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

I@m pondering wether or not I should put myself down for mod for my school? Should I guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

JBoyle4eva wrote:
    I@m pondering wether or not I should put myself down for mod for my school? Should I guys?

ive become a mod for the school my mum works in so can delete any 'unhelpful' comments for her :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

its a joke, or at least its being used as one. my old school has ratings for 5 ex teachers, 2 of whom are dead. plus, half the teachers in their for my old school are in it under the nicknames given to them by students.

its a sham. a funny one though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I was tempted to put in a "St Boards" school and see how many teachers we can get in as names here before they cop on.

It is a stupid system as if a teacher was really that worried, they could just spam their name into the system. From what I gather though its already being banned from schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭shane0312

My only one concern about the website is whether or not the comments can be considered libellous or is it grand because its based abroad in america?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Hobbes wrote:
    I was tempted to put in a "St Boards" school and see how many teachers we can get in as names here before they cop on.

Hee hee! What fun! The mods would be the teachers?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Thats a nice find, just looked up my old school and all the teachers are still there, ratings are pretty accurate too I must say.

I applied to be a mod for my school. In fairness most of the teachers are good at their jobs. My school is very selective about their staff. One or two evil ones though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

Thats why you got the guy who was fired from Collaiste Iosagan for **** in class!

Ooooh do tell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

its all said above ask Ana boot it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Neuro

shane0312 wrote:
    My only one concern about the website is whether or not the comments can be considered libellous...

Not if what is written is an opinion, as opposed to something false presented as fact. A statement in the form:

"I don't think Mr. X is a good teacher because Y."

is not libelous whereas

"Mr. X is a heroin addict."

is libelous (but only if Mr. X isn't in fact a heroin addict).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I've started adding profiles for some of my old teachers and all I can say this website is fcuking cool man! However i do think alot of immature teenagers will abuse the website by taking this michael out of alot of teachers by giving them rubbish ratings ..... er wait I've been doing this! :)

Just got an email saying I'm an Admin now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭shelsfan

Apparently it was on the Last Word on Today FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Apparently Jesus Christ is now teaching Biblical Hebrew in my old school, and Mr. Hash Dealer is teaching Work-Related Learning.

Comments about bad teachers are obviously not going to get lost among the spam :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Unfortunately there are only two of my old ones listed under my old school,and I havent a huge opinion either way on either of them. One I had to drop outta his jr cert maths honours class soon after i got into it in 2nd year (lord knows how in the **** i got into an honours maths class-I got a ****ing D3 in LC Ordinary maths,me and algebra go together like anal rape and no lubricant)
    As for the other boyo,he had his pecularities,and i got ****ed outta his class a few times,but i hated him less than most of my mates did

Personally for me,my former deputy principal was my nemesis. That ****er is going for a downfall i tell thee

Wonder who should I add to the site? My old religion teacher perhaps,who was also an English teacher despite the fact she was mildly illiterate (she used to skip or mumble over words she couldnt read,something i hadnt seen regularly in a classroom since I was at least 10),and once told us not to get too stressed over our LC exams lest we end up like some poor ****er she heard about,who stuck two sharpened pencils up his nose and prodded himself to death during an LC exam(he couldnt be removed from the hall because of the rules of the time apparently ) Cough cough, snopes.com bitch please
    Or how about my 21 stone chain smoking PE teacher,who used to drive her car the 80 feet between the dressing rooms and the football courts,sitting in the car smoking and beepin the horn when it was time to go in

Its alarming the standard of some of the younger ones entering the profession these days-if I dont have my kids reading at a decent level by the time its their first day of school theyre ****ed tbh,unless of course by then exam standards have been lowered to match the inabillity of the teachers of the future to actually teach to any standard.

I can see the potential for lawsuits definitely. For example,if I had less sense Id be immeadiately posting that a certain staff member enemy of mine from my old joint was a closet case
    Of course,Ive got more intelligence than to do so.....at least from a computer I can be traced back to having used anyway ;) Wonder where the nearest open net cafe is at this hour?

In all seriousness though,its about time some of the useless kunts in the profession in this country got a public kick up the arse for bein so sh1te. Lets be honest,90% are in it for the money these days. Teachers that want to make an effort (extra classes unpaid etc) seem to be actively discouraged by the ASTI nowadays. The ASTI are money grabbing kunts,nothing more nothing less. No matter what they say everyone knows full well that there is no other job in the country that pays so well for such little work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

All the teachers in my school are rated either really good or Really bad. I agree witht the ratings. The average teachers aren't on it. noone remembers them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

I think the site is great - you can't really put anything bad on it as the posts are checked before being allowed on. It's really interesting to see my kids schools and how the ratings coincide with what my lads think of them.

There is so much rubbish in the local press about the site - it's unlikely that those complaining about it have really looked at it.

There is absolutely nothing to prevent the teachers logging on themselves and getting their own ratings up! It would make a sham of the whole thing.... a bit like some of us did with the rep in the Cuckoo's nest! Maybe they just aren't smart enough to do that though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I had alook at my old school, and the teachers ratings are very accurate. I think the site is a very good idea as long as its moderated properly. A few childish remarks by a student could ruin it for everyone who wants to give feedback on their teachers. The unions reaction to the whole thing is ridiculous but to be expected-there is no such thing as a bad teacher according to the ASTI, and there is no accountability either. So anything which gives a bit of transparency to the profession can only be a good thing

My Mum wants me to renounce my modship on it because she thinks if anythnig slanderous is said i'll be in deep ****. Utter crap though tbh, there is some spam and some really nasty comments but they all get deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I had a look at my old school too, and the ratings are pretty much in line with how I/we felt about those teachers back then.

Funnily enough, I've noticed, especially for the popular teachers, people are happy to leave good comments, but those who want to give negative feedback do so without comment - making it look like it's just for the sake of being a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Crania

I'm moderator for my school. All the ratings are in line with what the teachers are like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

seamus wrote:
    I had a look at my old school too, and the ratings are pretty much in line with how I/we felt about those teachers back then.
    Heh, I just looked up one of my old teachers who used to bully me and be a príck in general... he's got a big blue frown mark beside his name... seems these people never change. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

holy ****!

this old **** of a nun still works at my school... she must be 100 by now :eek:

great site :D
    my old science/biology teacher got 1.8. fairly spot on :)
    i'm surprised at how many of the faculty from my time there are still teaching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭case n basket

Awesome site. Like seamus, all the ratings i'd expect (bar one) are pretty much in line with what I remember.

For the first time... ever, I actually felt a slight feeling of missing school when I read a quote that my old teacher used to say :) I had some ****ing funny teachers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

Deffo step in the right direction(as said above) My school..St Declans college...The great ones all got what they deserve, Excellent ratings and comments, The bad ones, well all the blue unhappy faces says it all.

And for the unions banging on and on....STFU :mad: theres nothing u lot can do about it!!
    In my opinion the irish education is in pretty good shape, Was just never regulated//league tabled....which is the only way.

Listen u guys get all the holidays in the world..STRESS....BOLOX, come work in my office from 8.30 to 6.00...Targets coming out me hole, Staffing crisis the usual ''REAL STRESS'' Oh and BTW u lot never prepared me for it either, and thats because U LOT never worked in the ''REAL WORLD''. Some did and they where the great ones, they knew what was goin on.....SO KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AT RATEMYTEACHER.IE its NEEDED ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

In my opinion the irish education is in pretty good shape, Was just never regulated//league tabled....which is the only way.
    The only way to what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

err me smells a teacher :p

The only way to get the country/ goverment whoever into the idea of performance tables.

My own expierence was when i went to a really tough school in town for a year(Brunner) Jesus did they teach me,They had all the crazy gang from Dublin but yet managed to REALLY TEACH US. Declans, surrounded in all it's grandness was sadly lacking in the personal touch from too many teachers, as a result too many ''neary there's'' where let drift all the way to leaving cert.

Maybe league tables would highlight these situations and ''re-focus'' Teachers into the reason thier there.