Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Touch Knockout!

• 09-03-2005 11:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭

Here's a new video for ye! A police combat instructor takes a pimp out with what they call a "bracchial stun" which is apparently taught to a lot of LEO's in the US as part of their restraint and control work.

One Touch Knockout

So is this a practical application of pressure point fighting??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 mattsylvester

Man did I laugh at that! Good video.

Nice use of forearm :)
    Musashi wrote:
    Here's a new video for ye! A police combat instructor takes a pimp out with what they call a "bracchial stun" which is apparently taught to a lot of LEO's in the US as part of their restraint and control work.

One Touch Knockout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

Ok I laughed my ass off at that BUT - didnt the cop throw the first (albeit only) punch..? I guess it's that unlcear (?) part of the law whereby you can try to claim that you were being 'assaulted' verbally and with threats etc..

Maybe this should be split but self-defence is actually pre-emptive. The dude stated his intent so the guy knocked him out :)
    soma wrote:
    Ok I laughed my ass off at that BUT - didnt the cop throw the first (albeit only) punch..? I guess it's that unlcear (?) part of the law whereby you can try to claim that you were being 'assaulted' verbally and with threats etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

Musashi wrote:

One Touch Knockout

On futher research and discussion. It seems that this guy was with Mr.Dave Rhodes http://www.ryukyu-kyusho.com/home1.htm

Also a cop, who was off duty and was suspended for not arresting the pimp.

Funny :D

He could have hit many places on the side of the neck. It's a mine field for points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Hardly a one "touch" KO now was it? More like a hefty crack in the neck.

How many times did he hit him?
    Roper wrote:
    Hardly a one "touch" KO now was it? More like a hefty crack in the neck.

This is the sort of stuff that we're aiming for. Good hard wallop on a good area. None of this light prodding and poking :)
    Musashi wrote:

One Touch Knockout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Roper's right IMO, it wasn't a touch or restraint, it was a blow which knocked the guy out.

As for any sort of pressure "point", he hit him hard on the side of the neck/jaw, and as such didn't hit a particular point.

Given the situation and posturing, it would have been easy enough to restrain the attacker rather than strike him.

Colm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Touch ,Strike, it was a cool pimp hand bitch slap knockout :)

As for restraining him, he was a pimp,who knows what he was carrying?
    Whenever I've watched "Cops" I have never seen one officer take down and restrain a "perp.". They usually use one or more to take down and restrain so they can search for sharps,knives,syringes,drugs,guns whatever.
    Also, this guy was a use of force instructor for the police PPCT program,if in his opinion a strike was warranted then I for one am not going to second guess him.He deals with that stuff in real life all the time,where I hope I will never have to.
    As regards hitting "points", the neck is what the military call a "target rich environment" with bundles of nerves ,blood vessels,the spine,and all the muscles holding your head to your body.Hitting it hard will impact on any and all of these so whether it was a nerve did the damage or just the percussive effect of a good hit with follow through, the end result is what was looked for.Hitting nerve points on the way can only add to an already damaging technique so why not?

Roper's right IMO, it wasn't a touch or restraint, it was a blow which knocked the guy out.
    Indeed it was, thats the myth about PP's folk think they only have to touch and it will be it!
    As for any sort of pressure "point", he hit him hard on the side of the neck/jaw, and as such didn't hit a particular point.
    Yes he did! And it's riddled with good points to hit. So much so that sometimes a clobber whack can be the job.
    Given the situation and posturing, it would have been easy enough to restrain the attacker rather than strike him.

Colm
    Please! This was a Fu*king pimp! They can tend to be carrying nasty sh*t with them. Anything but striking range would be stupid in this situation. A clinch is a lovely possition to sink a blade into the kidney. It's a case to get in a good few wacks and try not to get in the wrong situation, and get out fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

from what ive read there can be pretty serious consequences from some neck impacts, like hearts stopping, carotoid arterys distintegrating etc :confused:

still, nicely done that fella. Wonder who he was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭pollyantic

I've seen this on TV before.
    It was the pimps head hitting the ground that knocked him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I'm glad he got suspended.

If a security guard did that on Grafton street, he'd be in court before he turned around.

pollyantic wrote:
    I've seen this on TV before.
    It was the pimps head hitting the ground that knocked him out.

Watch it again! When he get hit the pimp drops like a sack of spuds (he was out before he hit the ground) then the fact that he was not able to save himself while hitting the floor would have added to the first knock he got.

Mr. Lee was right to do what he did, the pimp was gonna jump him and Lee could not have taken the chance. I would'int either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

yep he was right to defend himself.

One thing is you never mess with cops in the good ol USA. they certainly do not have the tolerence of our gardai.

I would not attempt to restrain this guy. #1 as someone said, perfect chance for him to gut u with a hidden blade. #2 he may have buds that will pount the life out of you , once you retrain him.
    Please see below come posts from a forum re the animals that are out there. FYI.
    there are no such thing as a fair fight
    February 28 2005 at 8:46 PM
    Score 5.0 (1 person) steve (Login psycosteve)

growing up in a suburb of dc I have seen some ****ed up ****. group beat downs a stabing a shooting a man set on fire in a bar with a shot of 151 and a lighter . through my limited years though what I have seen is your envirement can be your friend or foe. anything that can be picked up can and should be used . in high school at WJ I saw my fellow students wearing boots kick the metal suports ( the thin metal bars that were used to hold notebooks under the chair ) to use as weapons . knives are a standard weapon that were carried for there ability to be easely consealed , glass bottles and even a tape dispencer both have a devisating effects if landed properly . hell even a wallet chain has the potental to do damage if an atacker either wraps his hand with it or uses it to choke you out with it .remember that there is no such thing as a fair fight , kick them in the groin , use eye gouges , stick a pen in there neck , bash them into the wall , and try to cause as much pain as you can to get them to either run away or put them down where there not atacking you anymore . in the systems I have trained in all had a budist back ground (TKD and some wing chun ) all had a code of honor to them . I have had my ass kicked cause I was beliving that everyone fought the way I did. there is nothing dirty in a fight except loosing and I thank god that it did not cost me my life or the life of someone I cared for .

Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.

Author Reply
    Joshua
    (Login Joshua1911) Re: there are no such thing as a fair fight
    No score for this post February 28 2005, 10:38 PM

I live in a trailer park so I know where your coming from. While I have not seen some of the stuff you have I can attest to the fact that "fair fighting" will all ways make you lose the fight, and some times more.

Another thing to look out for is the fear of hurting the other guy. Many people have this happen, some for legal, some for "honor," and some for other reasons. It's like if your friend gets drunk and you have to escort him outta where ever y'all are and then he starts trying to hit you. Now are you gonna hit him back? Most likely not. Lets say he pulls a knife out on ya and starts trying to kill you. You gonna pull out your knife and try to kill him back? Most of the time the winner of a fight is the guy who can "take it up" fastest. Or who ever maims/kills the other guy first generally wins. Now if your still trying to just clam the other guy to get him to think about what he is doing, while he's trying to kill you. Even in a drunken state he's got the best odds of winning.

Now I'm not saying y'all need to go killing your buds who have a little to much to drink, I'm just saying don't be afraid to take it up. This all goes hand in hand with what ***** says when he talks about being morally and legally justified. It's never a good idea to wonder if being in a fight is what you really want after your already in the fight.

Dragonwarrior15
    (Login Dragonwarrior15) sure there is...
    Score 5.0 (1 person) March 1 2005, 1:48 AM

in this day and age most people have a chance to learn the truth about violence. just because they don't learn to deal with it doesn't mean that when a 6'5 300 lbs jackass pounds your head into the pavement, then lets his friends beat you to death with a baseball bat, that it wasn't fair. you had a fair chance to learn things like the *****. you had a fair chance to learn to shoot and cut people up. just because you didn't take advantage of the knowledge that is out there doesn't mean that fights aren't fair, because you had plenty of time before the fight to prepare yourself.
    as for ripping peoples eyes, groin, cutting their throat, breaking their neck, shooting them, etc... what is unfair about any of that? they all had the chance to do it to you, and they just didn't have the balls to take advantage of it.
    almost all fights are "fair." if someone doesn't get ready for it, that's their damn problem. but they DID have a "fair" chance to get ready for it, for years and years and years before you ever beat their asses down.

Joshua
    (Login Joshua1911) Re: sure there is...
    Score 5.0 (1 person) March 1 2005, 9:57 AM

Nicely said Dragonwarrior15, I think the reason people don't accept the facts that you've pointed out is because the media has fostered this whole "it's not my fault" attitude. So when super black belt Billy Bob gets his face torn off by ol Rob the druggie, Billy will say: "Well he did not fight fair, and um, he used a gun on me lets ban guns." And then Rob who was abused as a young boy gets off the hook because he was just using the drugs to take his mind off all his problems. So in the end we have to pay for poor ol Robs rehab, thanks to Billy and his hippie legions we are now having more gun laws shoved on us, worst of all we now have and bunch more hacks popping up with their new super street killer XXX programs that will help you beat the Robs in your life and we have to deal with all the **** they are spewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

These guys sound like the animals that are out there!

And they are in every town and city in the world, even little ones here in Ireland. I think the video missed the start of that altercation as the pimp was wired up and hog wild looking for trouble before he ever got near the Police Instructor.We have no audio either so for all we know he could have been telling the cop exactly what he intended to do to him and then came within range of carrying out any threats he may have made.So it got stopped right there with no posturing and no apologies.A job well done,good show that man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

one thing that i found is helpful is to end the fight as soon as possible. if someone attacks you don't **** around either kick his ass asap or run. the longer the fight goes on the more time his buddies have to sneak up behind you, and then your ****ed, also with the ****ed up legal system you shouldn't hang around after cause people can get away with sueing for anything, even if you were defending yourself

I think the guys posting are in reaction to the animals out there, and there are plenty even in rural ireland. every so often if you scan the court section of the times, you will see some assault case where some violent criminal has bit someones face off or ear off. happens all the time in Dublin, and with the way the booze binge culture is going it is going to get worse.

Look at the post I have put below. This is from a the web site of a serious and world leading self protection instructor, an expert in his field, and a very nice guy too. (I am not going to say who it is, that don't matter) but what does matter is this demonstrates the violent animals on the street. (obviously going beyond the local hardman spilling ur pint in the disco).

Pray that none of us ever come across this...

A PERSONAL STORY

This is a letter written for people who live in apathy and denial. This letter was written to a friend of mine in Texas, who teaches self-defense, by one of his students.

It is a heavy letter and the truth behind it sinks heavily into my soul each time I read it. I cannot begin to imagine the pain that the writer must have felt, must still feel now, although it seeps through every written word.

It was not written for shock value, nor was it written to convince you to take our courses. It was written by a man who was in love with a woman who was savagely taken from him. It was written in hopes that this sort of thing would never happen again but the sad fact is... it did, hundreds if not thousands of times over since.

Please, read with care.

"Hi, my name is Kris.

In 1977, I was engaged to a very attractive young woman named Rebecca. We were totally in love and to be married in another five months, then she disappeared on September 20th, three days before her 21st birthday. Rewards were offered; an investigation was launched, but nothing could be found of her until the following March. (6 months later).

Her body was found in a secluded clearing, 60 miles from where she was last seen. Forensics later showed that she had been repeatedly raped, sodomized, and assaulted. Her right arm had been broken, her teeth were chipped, and finally she had been shot in the head. What had once been a very beautiful and vibrant young woman had been totally destroyed by some animal with a police record an inch thick.

Of course, police arrested her killer. There was even a trial. But under the laws of that state, he was set free, even though the police had a signed confession and he had willingly taken them to her body. I want you all to think very hard about those facts. I cannot go back to the town where he still lives because I know who he is. Do any of you think I could restrain myself if I were anywhere near him? (Could any of you?)

At the same time, I have never visited Rebecca's grave, first because it was too painful for me to do so, and later because she had been laid to rest in a state far from where I had known her. It has been 21 years now, and I still remember everything about her as if it were yesterday. Her auburn hair, her green eyes, her brilliant smile, even the way she laughed and kidded with me about things are still right there in my mind.

I want each of you to think for one moment about what she went through before she died because that is what can happen to any of you. Did she plead for mercy? Did she give him everything he desired? Did she try to be rational with him? And, in the end, knowing what her fate was to be, did she fight and claw and try to stay alive? The coroner says she was shot from behind, probably while running away, and with a broken arm, probably naked and without shoes, no one can run very fast under these conditions.

I imagine it was rather like a hunter following a maimed deer, ready to put it out of its misery with a shot to the head and thus end its suffering. Only this time, it was to get rid of the only witness to the crime. Then, when she had been dead for over five months, this sick individual came back to her body and removed her head, like a trophy, and kept it in his house for a while before going to the police with some made-up story about having "found" a body in the woods.

In the end, no one except her killer really knows what happened, how many sick things were done to her, the humiliation she was forced to endure, the fear and horror she felt, and, in those last moments, the absolute terror she must have suffered. In the end, though, mercifully she could no longer feel those things, but everything she would ever have been -- mother, friend, lover, wife, life-long companion, grandmother, and more -- were gone and impossible to bring back.

Why have I told you this? Because if my Rebecca had not gone with this beast, had she not been coerced in some way into getting into his van with him, had she run away at the first sign of trouble, or had she fought hard from the beginning to prevent him from abducting her; no matter that he had a gun, then I am confident that I would not be writing this letter today.

In the end, I can only say this and hope you all listen very well: If someone tries to force you into a car, if they try to kidnap you, if they have a gun or knife and try to tell you to go with them, then is the time to fight for all you are worth or run as fast you can to get away from them, because if they succeed in abducting you, taking you to a secluded place to where they are totally in control, whatever happens is going to happen over and over and over again until they finally get tired of their game.

And then, to put it bluntly, you will die. At least when you are still free, you can fight for that freedom. At least when you are free, you can run and scream and do everything in your power to get away. And, at least when you are free, you can choose your actions, even if they are your last. To a man, it is usually very simple: Someone attacks or assaults you and you fight back. There is no question of that to men. Women have been very misled into believing that being passive will result in their safety and survival.

No one is an easier victim than a passive person. If you do not fight back, then your attacker will do whatever he wants with you. Remember this above all else. Weakness is an invitation for aggression. You need only be strong enough to get away. And, in the end, that is all that really counts. I hope and I pray that each of you reading these words take every possible step toward becoming a non-victim. It is too late for my Rebecca; do not let it be too late for you."

The reason I was compelled to add this letter is because personal protection and martial arts (including Kickboxing) are not the same thing. There are too many people claiming to teach something they know not much about but market themselves accordingly.

It could be your wife, girlfriend, sister, mother, daughter or friend learning from someone unqualified. Just be weary.

Yeah it looks like the world is a pretty horrible place. Everyone, can you post an even more wicked and disgusting story, that has done nothing to increase awareness, and ability to protect yourself and loved ones (which would increase your appreciation and joy of living) ?

Peace and Love Y'All (I mean it)
    Colm

Yeah it looks like the world is a pretty horrible place. Everyone, can you post an even more wicked and disgusting story, that has done nothing to increase awareness, and ability to protect yourself and loved ones (which would increase your appreciation and joy of living) ?

Colm

Are you gonna cry Colm :D:D:D:D:D

what does colm mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

what does colm mean?

I'd go out on a limb here but that your anecdote was pointless.

It's simply a horror story with no practicalities.

.logic.

As the firt line of the article says...

This is a letter written for people who live in apathy and denial.

Yep obviously a few around here.

Ok all apologies if its above yer heads. Back to yer happy go luck Friends type bubble bath world, and start counting the days until santa comes again, normally around 25 dec!

Funny I was having 2 nd thoughts about posting it and to be honest I did expect this response. Thats why I will not say who the self protection expert is who adressed this letter in an article. Not worth sharing, since some of you boys think you know it all.

OK FOLKS JUST TO KEEP YOU ALL HAPPY. WHAT HAPPENED IN THAT LETTER SOMEONE WROTE, DOES NOT HAPPEN IN IRELAND OR REAL LIFE.

Ok no need to to very train for this sort of distaster. I am sure any rape victim will agree with me.

Like the usual comments from the usual suspects, if you don't like what you hear or ifs it not MMA...rubbish it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

As the firt line of the article says...

This is a letter written for people who live in apathy and denial.

Yep obviously a few around here.

Hey we should just kill everyone with their own opinion right?

Ok all apologies if its above yer heads. Back to yer happy go luck Friends type bubble bath world, and start counting the days until santa comes again, normally around 25 dec!

Such sharpness and wit I haven't witnessed in a long time.
    Funny I was having 2 nd thoughts about posting it and to be honest I did expect this response. Thats why I will not say who the self protection expert is who adressed this letter in an article. Not worth sharing, since some of you boys think you know it all.

Right firstly no one proclaimed to know it all and I sincerely doubt anyone on here would, I'd expect the first thing everyone of us would say is no one knows everything. Secondly I can't speak for Colm but I thought the article was out of context in this thread. It has absolutely no bearing on the original topic and came across simply as a paranoid militia type post.
    OK FOLKS JUST TO KEEP YOU ALL HAPPY. WHAT HAPPENED IN THAT LETTER SOMEONE WROTE, DOES NOT HAPPEN IN IRELAND OR REAL LIFE.

Ok no need to to very train for this sort of distaster. I am sure any rape victim will agree with me.

I'm pretty sure all the main practitioners on here realise this sort of violence occurs, it's hard not to when it's constantly pumped out on news stories, television, newspapers on an hourly basis.

However again if your point was that training should be for this type of encounter then maybe a new topic would have been best and putting your point across in a clearer manner as oppossed to "IF YOU DON'T TRAIN YOUR ANUS IS IN DANGER!!!"
    Like the usual comments from the usual suspects, if you don't like what you hear or ifs it not MMA...rubbish it.

I didn't see anyone post anything like that. Infact the only one showing attitude here is yourself (before I posted of course ;))

Personally I'm well aware this type of thing occurs. Infact I'd probably be more aware than most but I've still never specifically trained for a bout of sodomisation.

I train to handle an assailant in whatever form it may come. In the end I've learned the reactions and instant "hands on" attitude when it's time to roll are the most vital parts of any encounter. You must keep a presence of mind and clearly decide the best course of action then execute it faster than the guy trying to hurt you. Be it flight or fight you have to be better, faster and more aggressive in your intent.

This is a sad story and I feel it unfortunate a girl ended up in this situation but it happens every single day. Modern society is to a large extent numbed to this sort of violence so maybe that's why you received the indifferent reaction to your post.

However I would say be it MMA, TMA or whatever you teach or participate in, if you teach even one person in your life and they later manage to weather an encounter then that makes any art worthwhile.

Hug?

.logic.

i'd like to sit on the fence here and say logic and millionare's posts were very good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Millionaire,

Logic said it pretty conclusively.

Before you go spouting on about our inability to understand your point maybe consider making one.

If a girl wants to seriously train anti-rape then surely the first call is learning some groundfighting skills since that is where the rape is mostlikely to go...
    Who rubbished what you said. We rubbished the lack of context or even analysis on your part. we can all copy and paste!

We all know bad things happen. Many of us have had bad things happen to us or to people we know. You can dwell on how horrible and dangerous the world or you can get out there and live your life. Once you show common sense then you have a pretty good chance of surviving. If you are targeted by some of the arch-psychos out there well then it doesnt matter if youre Randy Couture or a generic Damsel in Distress youre screwed.

columok wrote:
    If a girl wants to seriously train anti-rape then surely the first call is learning some groundfighting skills since that is where the rape is mostlikely to go...

Colum,

I'm sure you'll agree man. That she would first want to learn how not to get into that situation in the first place. Then learn how to get out of the stand up situation then get out of the ground siutation.

Not everything goes to the ground!!

Or, should she learn standup fighting first (as she won't necessarily be taken to the ground first).

More likely she will be approached from behind to be taken somewhere else, or will be approached from the front and attacked that way. Then it will go to the ground when he tries to commit the actual offence.

On a side note, when I was working with the Devon & Cornwall Police, most assaults outside of the nightlife were committed when the victim turned to walk away and were generally always to the back of the head.

Can we split this thread please so we don't lose track of what's being discussed?
    columok wrote:
    l

I do think it was relevant to original thread. movie in thread was of a real life street situation that an LEO had to address. and if he didn't maybe the LEO could have come across alot worse.
    SO my post, relates to real life too.

I think its about time in the self defense world, in this country to start to wake people up to what really is happening out there.

Remember I spent years going up and down floors doing techniques that were crap and roaring Kiais and bowing to photos of long gone old oriental guys. I spend time in the sports martial arts world, getting real fit and fighting FC. and all along lookl back at it from the point of view of REAL SURVIVAL TECHNIQUES THAT WORK. I felt that I was being led on my techers that would not last a nano sec on the street.
    And many of these are out there still giving people a false sense of what works on the street. (naturally I am not knocking their MA techniques, FC ability nor fitness, dedication etc).

So yeah shocking but if it saves one person by waking someone up, my mission is done.

Burn me at the stake, lock me away, I am happy to join the ranks of Galileo and Coparnicous in the serach for the truth!

Love and Peace to all, except to the violent crim rapists out there!

For those who may feel the guy just got lucky!

Jay Lee's Resume'

EDUCATION:
    Walden University, Ph.D. Human Services - February 1993
    St Francis College, M.S. Psychology/Counseling - May 1990
    Indiana University, B.A. Police Admin - December 1976

Dissertation: Occupational Influence on Police
    Personality

Thesis: The Psychology of Combat & Intimidation in the
    Police Profession

CAREER ADMINISTRATIVE POSITIONS:
    Chief’s Staff/Police Psychotherapist, Fort Wayne Police Department
    Lieutenant, Indiana Law Enforcement Academy
    Sergeant, Indiana State Police
    Program Coordinator, Indiana University Police Academy
    Deputy Director, PPCT Management Systems, Inc.
    Chair, Protective Training Services, LLC.
    SWAT Team Leader, Indiana State Police, Allen County Sheriff Department

WORK EXPERIENCE:
    Fort Wayne Police Department - May 1995 - Present
    Chief’s Staff/Police Psychotherapist/Academy Staff.
    Responsible for the development, implementation, and
    instruction of courses dealing with: human behavior,
    psychological issues, people management, human
    relations, instructor development, defensive tactics,
    and firearms. Facilitated department personnel with
    personal and family therapy as required. Provided fit-
    for-duty evaluations, and staffed hiring and dismissal
    issues. Staffed post-shooting incident and trauma team.
    SWAT team trainer/operator.

Staff Instructor, Indiana Law Enforcement Academy - January
    1993 - November 1994
    Responsible for the development, implementation, and
    instruction of courses dealing with: human behavior,
    psychological issues, people management, human
    relations, instructor development, defensive tactics,
    and firearms. In house police psychotherapist
    facilitating basic students, in-service students, and
    police departments throughout the state of Indiana.

Police Psychotherapist - June 1991 - Present
    Serving in such capacity for the ISPACEC organization
    representing members and immediate families of the
    Indiana State Police, Indiana Department of Natural
    Resources, and Indiana State Excise Police.

Training Consultant - June 1991 - Present
    Police and Military Clientele: Defensive Tactics, Close Combat,
    Firearms, and Psychology

Private Practice - May 1988 - Present
    Counseling - Specializing in Police Personnel, Police Issues and
    Police Families

Indiana State Police - August 1983 - June 1991
    State trooper, training sergeant, head defensive
    tactics instructor, SWAT team leader/trainer,
    firearms instructor, academy instructor -(defensive
    tactics and psychology). Facilitated public outreach
    programs such as rape awareness and home safety seminars.

Allen County Sheriff's Department - May 1977 - August 1983
    Sheriff's Deputy, departmental defensive tactics
    instructor, firearms instructor, K-9 handler/trainer,
    18 months in confinement division, 5 years in road
    patrol (3 years on motor cycle), 6 years SWAT team
    leader/trainer.

Indiana University Police Department - May 1974 - May 1977
    Police officer, coordinator/supervisor of Indiana
    University Police Academy, departmental defensive tactics
    instructor. Charged with the direct supervision of three
    supervisors and sixty-four members of the I.U. Police
    Academy. Duties entailed construction and maintenance of
    academy design and function, coordination of department
    operations, scheduling of work assignments, evaluation of
    individual work performance of personnel, applicant
    interview and selection, employee discipline and
    dismissal, public relations and information officer.

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATIONS:
    Board Certified Law Enforcement Expert - Diplomat
    American College of Forensic Examiners

Board Certified Forensic Examiner - Diplomat
    American College of Forensic Examiners

State of Indiana
    Certified Master Police Psychomotor Skills Instructor,
    Certified Police Training Provider,
    Certified Social Worker - Health Professions Bureau,
    Certified Marriage and Family Therapist – Health Professions Bureau

TEACHING AFFILIATIONS & COMMITMENTS:
    Indiana University
    Professor of undergraduate curricula, Law Enforcement
    Studies

Indiana Law Enforcement Academy - Plainfield, Indiana
    Stress and the police family
    Defensive tactics
    Psychology of combat and survivability
    Instructor Development

Heckler & Koch - Internationally
    Defensive Tactics
    Firearms
    SWAT Tactics

John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center - Ft. Bragg, N. Carolina
    Classified Instruction

Task Force 160 - Ft. Campbell, Kentucky
    Classified Instruction

Thunder Ranch - Nationally
    Defensive tactics
    Firearms

P.P.C.T. Inc. - Internationally
    Defensive tactics
    Combat psychology
    SWAT tactics
    Protective Training Services - Internationally
    Defensive tactics
    Firearms
    SWAT tactics

Federal Law Enforcement Academy
    Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms
    State and Local – Pursuit Driving

MILITARY SERVICE:
    Branch: U.S. Army - 1981 - Present
    Discharge: Inactive Reserve

Branch: U.S.M.C. - 1970 - 1974, 1980 - 1981
    Discharge: Honorable

SPECIAL SKILLS:
    Inducted into Martial Arts Hall of Fame 2002
    6th Degree Black Belt, Okinawan ShoRinRyu Karate
    5th Degree Black Belt, Okinawan Kobudo - Traditional
    Martial Arts Weapons
    3rd Degree Black Belt, Shinto-Yoshin Jiu Jitsu
    2nd Degree Black Belt, Korean Tae-Kwon-Do, Chung Do Kwan
    Sparring Partner for World Heavyweight Full Contact Karate
    Champion - Ross Scott

PROFESSIONAL SCHOOLS:
    Police Professional
    ILEA - Basic Police Officer Certification School
    Indiana State Police Recruit School

Police Specialty
    FBI - SWAT School
    Los Angeles P.D. - SWAT School
    Indiana State Police - SWAT School
    Allen County P.D. - Police K-9 Handlers School
    Indiana Law Enforcement Academy - Officer Survival
    IACP – Counter Terrorism School
    Indiana State Police - Fitness and Health Instructor

Defensive Tactics
    P.P.C.T. Instructor Schools/Certifications:
    Defensive Tactics
    Combat Knife Defense
    S.W.A.T. Tactics
    Pressure Point Control
    Straight Baton/Impact Weapons
    Side Handle Baton

Monadnock - Intermediate Instructor - PR 24
    ILEA - Defensive Tactics Instructor
    Taser - Taser Instructor

Firearms
    Glock Firearms Armorer's Course
    Glock Firearms Advanced Armorer's Course
    Glock Firearms Transition Instructor's Course
    American Pistol Institute - Combat .45
    American Pistol Institute - Machine Gun/Combat Shotgun
    Smith & Wesson Academy - Firearms Armorer
    Remington Firearms - Firearms Armorer
    NRA - Police Firearms Instructor School
    Indiana Law Enforcement Academy - Firearms Instructor

Military Specialty
    U.S. Marine Corps - Infantry/Communications
    U.S. ARMY - Armor/Tank Officer's School
    U.S. ARMY - Nuclear, Biological & Chemical Officer's School
    U.S. ARMY - Military Police Officer's School

Notice he has trained in Pressure point Control! A man this well trained and evidently an "Operator" as he went to the JFK Special Warfare School, still wants to learn all he can about all aspects of combat.A guy who is open to all training methodologies and obviously an effective combatant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

wow, that was a long post!
    I spend time in the sports martial arts world, getting real fit and fighting FC. and all along lookl back at it from the point of view of REAL SURVIVAL TECHNIQUES THAT WORK

with respect i think you should add "REAL SURVIVAL TECHNIQUES THAT WORK in theory"

i've still yet to meet anyone from any of these type of RBSD/military based SD systems who could make their 'techniques' work against even minimal resistance.

the only thing that matters is TRAINING METHOD - Timing, Motion and Progressive resistance. you can train all the DIRT in the world all day long discussing biting people, ripping their eyes out, carry concealed weapons etc etc but if you dont introduce the above training method (as used in all good combat sports like boxing/judo/wrestling etc) then none of it will work.

now i'm off to corner the boys - hopefully a clean sweep!!

jk

Sorry I've been away for a few days.

Logic essentially summed up with what I thought was wrong about the post/story. To me, all it really sad was "hey, look at this bad thing that happened!" It offered no advice, no practical steps toward self preservation, no positivite message that could be brought from it. It was just a shock story, hoping to scare you into doing something.

On this (slightly off to the side but it occured to me as I read it)
    I do think it was relevant to original thread. movie in thread was of a real life street situation that an LEO had to address. and if he didn't maybe the LEO could have come across alot worse.

SO my post, relates to real life too. emphasis mine

I once asked an Aikidoka who I trained with once on a public forum whether Aikido was realistic (it was implied that I meant had it real life, verifiable effectiveness). He replied that because it was part of real life it was realistic!

Just wanted to add that story.

Peace Out,
    Colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Peace Out,
    Colm
    Love and Peace to all, except to the violent crim rapists out there!

Cease and desist using my name. It is now a registered trademark of myself and has been therefore removed from the english language.

I am also going to register the word love. Patent pending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

What an impressive CV/Resume, this guy is well skilled MA for sure, not only that but he's been with SWAT, and skilled in firearms and what not..... I like this guy already.

True john
    everything works in theory! there is no guarantees if you are attacked on street when u least expect it. I remember reading years ago the someone challanged the Wing Chun master william cheung at a seminar (in germany i think) and after lanuching an attack, more ol Cheung with head over heels and did not even get 1 technique in. Or the Frank Shamrock knife attack incident. ect etc

i've still yet to meet anyone from any of these type of RBSD/military based SD systems who could make their 'techniques' work against even minimal resistance.

Can you expand upon the above statement. It a fairly broad statement. Do you mean people in ireland u met or RBSD people in general? Did u find the techniques were not good?

While no one has all the answers . I personally find the RBSD techniques to be some of the most effective I have ever come across. Not the techniques i have trained in, but also the techniques I have seen others use.

I mean look at Paul Vunak of PFS, (would be fair to say PFS is not too far different from SBG, (thats not my comment but vunak refers to this on this own web site) . Well his RAT techniques which vunak refers to as the "equalizer" is very similar to some of that is done within KM. and while Vunak is a BJJ man too, he teaches bites etc as part of his system.

As for the type of training you mention. Yes I totally agree. we practice very much "alive" too. and I personally (probably much more so that some of the other KM people ) am a serious advocate of "attribute" training, for example kickboxing type training , conditioning etc etc, I find it really compliments the RBSD training.

actually I learned a brilliant technique from guys, by reading your MMA fight rules you had on some web site. It said finger jobs to the arm pit were not allowed. I was thinking about it and I said well if that technique is not allowed, then it must be an effective technique. anyway not a week later, we were doing our ground fighting training, and a much larger and heavier opponent, pinned me very aggressively. Well I shoot up a wee finger job right into his arm pit, and he did a massive flinch (actually he jumped about a foot off me) and I umpa off his comes and I remount! and excellent little technique...thanks lads!

paul vunak has nothing to do with SBGi. i dont know anything about him, never seeing his training so cant comment on it.

the reason i offered the free class was that most of the questions you ask can be answered in seconds when you are in person but without a common frame of reference its impossible to talk about it here

its best you talk to the KM guys who came to my class. hopefully they can explain to you better what i mean by training method, progressive resistance. stephen for example tried to use a finger in the throat technique to get me off the mount position when i was pinning him. now in theory that might seem good but he found it that it doesnt actually work when someone is resisting - plus it makes it very easy for me to break his arm with a basic arm bar. likewise a finger in the eye technique as an escape from a 'bearhug' might've seemed like a great technique but again when we used the I method (introduce, isolate, integrate) he found it just made things worse for him.

"I was thinking about it and I said well if that technique is not allowed, then it must be an effective technique"

it really isnt. it might work on someone who's very soft but against a 'hard' street fighter caught up in a frenzy of adrenaline/fear etc they wont even notice something like that. these are the type of physical realities which can be shown in seconds in person.

anyway if you are really interested in the gyms training methods take an hour out of your week and drop down for a free private class - it'll all make much more sense then.

jk

Yes I would love to learn more and will defo schedule an hour.

here is the article from Vunak re SBG he is one of top JKD guys in world and very much into BJJ On the ground. from an interview on his web site.

PFS: You have mentioned that you do not agree with everything that everyone says. Could you give us some examples?

What I would rather do is start out by telling you things I do agree with. Let's take our cousins, the Straight Blast Gym, for an example. I will list some of the main areas that the SBG has in common with PFS.

SBG PFS
    (Full Contact) (Full Contact)
    -Jab -Jab
    -Cross -Cross
    -Hook -Hook
    -Uppercut -Uppercut
    -Overhand -Overhand
    -Thai Boxing -Thai Boxing
    -Savate -Savate
    -Mount -Mount
    -Pass the guard -Pass the guard
    -Cross-side -Cross-side
    -North-south position -North-south position
    -Armlocks -Armlocks
    -Leg locks -Leg locks
    -Chokes -Chokes
    -Head butts, knees, elbows -Head butts, knees, elbows
    -Takedowns -Takedowns
    -Full-contact weapons sparring -Full-contact weapons sparring

As you can see, we do so many things similar…all of the above techniques we both train full-contact; we are both heavily into sparring, both very heavily into groundfighting. One of the major dissimilarities between our respective curriculums is that SBG appears to have thrown out anything involving self-perfection drills.

see his site for rest of article. its pretty interesting.

i wont bother to be honest - a lot of people are using the terms SBG and Aliveness nowadays because its trendy at the moment and they've no understanding of it. they think everything has to be 'full contact' and its all about 'sparring'

i'll say it one last time that when you grasp the concept of Aliveness - timing, motion and progressive resistance and also when you understand our training method of Introduce, Isolate and Integrate it all makes much more sense. these can be shown pretty easy within an hour long class but would never make sense just typing out - you have to feel it.

have a great week