Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the story with culchies with D4 accents???

• 06-03-2005 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭spiderbeast

What's the story with culchies with D4 accents???

It just doesn't seem normal. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

good post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

Yes, it's called "faking it" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Even more to the point... What's the story with D4 accents nevermind who is speaking? THE single most annoying accent in the country with it's Americanisms. Drop all the little "rindabite" Dart riding, 'like' saying, MTV watching, "oh my god" types into a vat of boiling oil and rid this country of this horrible accent once and for all. Give me a culchie accent any day like those Wexford accents on the girls in Jade singing in Your a Star.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

Wow... hostile :eek:

Chick wrote:
    Wow... hostile :eek:

Oh yeah, add to that the fact that most of the female variety of the species are blonde bimbos who "like to shop" and probably think that the opening of the Dundrum Shopping Centre is "Is, like, soooo amazing."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

And maybe their the daughters of construction works/contractors :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

alleepally wrote:
    Oh yeah, add to that the fact that most of the female variety of the species are blonde bimbos who "like to shop" and probably think that the opening of the Dundrum Shopping Centre is "Is, like, soooo amazing."
    The real question is, why do you find it so offensive? do you not think its ''cool'' or the in thing, or is it because D4 bashing is the latest trend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭DirtyHarry

ColHol wrote:
    The real question is, why do you find it so offensive? do you not think its ''cool'' or the in thing, or is it because D4 bashing is the latest trend?

bah D4 bashing is old....its a thing you get used to when your in town everyday and your subjected to it all the time....especially in college.....its just if i complained about knackers and there accents and what they wear...or the growing thread of the "chav" in dublin.....my god dont get me started on the "chav" dubs....geeezzzzz :rolleyes:

ColHol wrote:

Neither of the above, I just can't stand the ubiquity of the accent. Hearing someone from Cork, Galway or wherever speak with an affected accent gets to me especially when the affected accent lacks diction (whether spoken by an actual D4 resident or not). I find it grates on the ear and is harder to understand than some of the fast talking regional accents such as the Kerry accent.

The fact that the "rindabite" set represent a mindset as well as an accent probably doesn't help matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

D4 ****ing rocks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

alleepally wrote:
    Neither of the above, I just can't stand the ubiquity of the accent. Hearing someone from Cork, Galway or wherever speak with an affected accent gets to me especially when the affected accent lacks diction (whether spoken by an actual D4 resident or not). I find it grates on the ear and is harder to understand than some of the fast talking regional accents such as the Kerry accent.

The fact that the "rindabite" set represent a mindset as well as an accent probably doesn't help matters.

Unless you know a person's personal history quite well, it's extremely hard to judge whether their accent is an affectation or not. And indeed, I see nothing wrong in a person changing their accent if they so desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭SirIrish

Easiest way to find out if their faking it is to get 'em drunk. 'Tis hard to keep on a fake accent when ur full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Ajnag

Who cares so long as culchie's with d4 accents remain in dublin never to return.

Pity the dub's tho. Maybe the whole chav thing is a repellant of sorts. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Personally, i find the knacker accent on "jung fella's" to be the most annoying/ridiculasly exagerated....but each to their own i suppose....but coincidence that the majority of people find the D4 accent the most irritating, and D4 bashing is a national past-time, while it's also the accent most associated with money? Ironic...only in Ireland.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

simu wrote:
    Unless you know a person's personal history quite well, it's extremely hard to judge whether their accent is an affectation or not. And indeed, I see nothing wrong in a person changing their accent if they so desire.

you're one of them, aren't you! :D

I find it extremely pretentious when someone from outside of D4 chanes their accent. Why bother? are you ashamed of where you come from? So what if you have a limerick/cork/galway accent. no-one is going to judge you differently.
    I think I know the reason behind this phenomanon (or at least one of the reasons). anyone from dublin who has ever travelled anywhere esle in the country and tried to get accomodation will back me up on this one.
    A few years back I was working in a small town in cork. we were fitting out a tile shop and the guys who ran the place told us there was a B&B just down the road, in one of the pubs. We went in and were greeted with smiles until we bagan to speak. we were then immediately told that there was no room at the inn (insert jesus joke here). the owner assumed we were from dublin and refused to give a room to 'those dublin ****ers'. I know this because the owners of the shop we were working on told us the next day. none of us are from Dublin, nor have we ever lived in dublin.
    point is, maybe these culchies are dublinphobic and think that by adopting a dublin accent they will fit in and not be discovered as the culchies they truly are. perhaps they think that because they hate dubs that all dubs hate culchies and by speaking with dublin marbles in their mouths they will be instantly liked. just a thought.
    living in Leixlip has the drawback of having neither a strong dublin or culchie accent. any time we worked in dublin we were pegged as culchies and vice versa. I'm never leaving Leixlip again. the rest of the country is insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Most "D4" people are 2nd or 3rd generation culchies. Their accent just comes from going to local schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

Just a small point ,(Dublin) scumbags have been around for years & generally have followed certain trends , however the only people who are following the "chav" trend are those who have chose to start using that phrase to describe them.
    posh kids trying to be hard are the worst,if youre going to have prentensions at least point them in the right direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

While I agree some people from the D4 areas do talk like tossers, I have spoken like a (mild) D4 person my entire life.

There is nothing wrong with speaking properly.

(Side note: something I've always noticed is that the people who hate the D4 accent the most are people who cannot pronounce words properly - for example, I say computer they say cam-pew-tur. It's an inferiority thing.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

alleepally wrote:
    Even more to the point... What's the story with D4 accents nevermind who is speaking? THE single most annoying accent in the country with it's Americanisms. Drop all the little "rindabite" Dart riding, 'like' saying, MTV watching, "oh my god" types into a vat of boiling oil and rid this country of this horrible accent once and for all. Give me a culchie accent any day like those Wexford accents on the girls in Jade singing in Your a Star.

Go back to the country you inbred retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Seriously, would anyone really care if a controlled nuke was dropped on Blackrock or Donnybrook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

yes because i live there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭full forward

And roish, I was like Oh my God lets go for a point. And she was like lets pork the cor in the cor pork. And I was like Hello? Roish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

joejoem wrote:
    Go back to the country you inbred retard.

What a constructive contribution to make.

Especially when one considers that people from the country are more inclined to move away from where they were brought up and thus meet people outside their small local gene pool, unlike lots of Dublin people who never leave the city unless its to go to Tenerife or Majorca for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

And roish, I was like Oh my God lets go for a point. And she was like lets pork the cor in the cor pork. And I was like Hello? Roish?

just because someone is from Blackrock doesn't make them talk like that. I hate people who put on that accent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

What a constructive contribution to make.

Especially when one considers that people from the country are more inclined to move away from where they were brought up and thus meet people outside their small local gene pool, unlike lots of Dublin people who never leave the city unless its to go to Tenerife or Majorca for a week.

Hmmm......... 1 Million + people live in Dublin, yes you are right the chances of me sleeping with a relative are much higher than someone who spends his randy teenage years in a small village where everyone is related. I mean everytime I go into town and get talking to a girl I have to stop before I do anything and do a backround check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

LOL great thread.

i work on Leeson St., by a window, and have to listen to a whole new generation of these fcukers going in and out of 'The Institush' all day.

they drink Lattés... LATTÉS!! on the way to school...SCHOOL!! in my day I had to suck the urine out of my school uniform for sustinance on the way to a cold, dark classroom!

anyways. it's great to see the country doing well (in ways) but this new class of 'rindabite' plebs (lovely phrase btw) are doing my head in. can't we all just be humble and irish like in the 'ol days and not all behave and sound like Bob Geldof without the charity!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Quality...
    they drink Lattés... LATTÉS!! on the way to school...SCHOOL!! in my day I had to suck the urine out of my school uniform for sustinance on the way to a cold, dark classroom!

Even more quality...

The "Roish, like I'm going for a pint or Heino in huuuuugans on the Doirt" accent gets on my nerves...
    The "Story bud, pinta bleedin bud mate" accent gets on my nerves equally as much as...

But the country lad/girl with a
    "Roish, like I'm going for a pint or Heino in huuuuugans in my troctor" accent really gets on my tits....
    Why do some, and I emphasize the word some, people from the country do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

karlhoff wrote:
    in my day I had to suck the urine out of my school uniform for sustinance on the way to a cold, dark classroom!
    That's nothing, in my day I had to sneak next door in the early hours and squeeze the neighbours dog so it would píss on my uniform, only then would I have sustenance on the way to a cold, dark classroom.

You had it easy!

LOL, Jesus. :p

lafortezza wrote:
    That's nothing, in my day I had to sneak next door in the early hours and squeeze the neighbours dog so it would píss on my uniform, only then would I have sustenance on the way to a cold, dark classroom.

You had it easy!

A dog? A dog? Proper little Lord Snotty weren't you? We had to dive headlong into ditches in search of rats in the vain hope that we could squeeze a drop or two out of them.

handjobs + lunchtime = chips.

the only maths i ever learned. dogs and rats were childsplay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

:mad: I'm surprised no one has mentioned that horrendous Donegal "ooooh aye" accent that they all try to push on us dubs. "Ooooh aye, I'm jus a wee lassie from the Glenties".....that is the most exaggerated accent I've ever heard and I should know!

Went out with a girl who spoke with a normal nice accent but anytime we met someone new or had to order something in a shop/pub..."Ooooh tae pints of Bud hai? Aye ..aye..thanks!" :mad: :mad:

Well I suppose it worked on me. I'm marrying her in July! Aye! :D

You know the way they say the Irish are begrudgers?

Well, guess what. A D4 accent represents wealth.

I think the problem is not the "sound" of the accent or any **** like that, but plain and simple begrudgery.

Most of the posts in this thread are pathetic. You people really need to take a good look at yourselves.

dublindude wrote:

Yeah roish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

A dog? A dog? Proper little Lord Snotty weren't you? We had to dive headlong into ditches in search of rats in the vain hope that we could squeeze a drop or two out of them.
    Rats eh? rats! That's plural that is, you had a *choice* of vermin to select a prime source of urine. I was stuck with the next door neighbours dog that had fleas, diarrhea, and couldn't pee more than a couple of drops a minute, that's why I had to get up so early to get my urine.

Plus the dog died one morning, and I *still* got a weeks worth of urine out of it! Youngsters these days, don't know how lucky ye are.

This thread is officially hi-jacked

dublindude wrote:
    Most of the posts in this thread are pathetic. You people really need to take a good look at yourselves.

can I presume you're quite partial to a latté and an aul jaunt in Anabels yerself!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

# Every woman, every man Join the caravan of love (Stand up, stand up, stand up) #

karlhoff wrote:
    can I presume you're quite partial to a latté and an aul jaunt in Anabels yerself!?

Not at all. I'm not into that **** whatsoever.

If your problem is people who are tossers (doesn't matter where you are from, of course I agree there are lots of tossers everywhere, "D4" included) than no problem. But that is not what this thread is about. It is about people who come from rich familes and you all hating that fact.

It's jealousy, begrudgery etc. Very pathetic.

I gaurantee if "D4 people" did not speak the way they did, you'd find something else to bitch about.

Really, you just sound like a bunch of petty fools.

dublindude wrote:
    You know the way they say the Irish are begrudgers?

I think the problem is not the "sound" of the accent or any **** like that, but plain and simple begrudgery.

You've got it wrong...
    If its not put on then you can't really fault it.
    But if it is put on, thats what annoys people. And its the exact same as seeing lads from any "wealthy" area going on like scumbags, acting the hard man. Girl I worked with years ago had the most annoying "roish" accent I ever heard, I presumed she was from Blackrock or somewhere like that, turned out she was from Donaghmede (nothing wrong with Donaghmede) and her house was like something out of steptoe and son.
    Why did she have a "Roish" accent? Because she went to Trinity, and to conform with Trinity Society she adopted an appropriate accent, because she definitely didn't grow up speaking like that.
    I suppose people who "adopt" these accents are fearful of other peoples perceptions in relation to accents, are afraid to say where they are actually from (she used to tell people she was from malahide) for fear of being labelled a knacker etc. This applies to country folk too, who don't want Dubs to view them as thick boggers, so they adopt an appropriate accent too....
    Anyway, anyone who develops an accent in order to be accepted by whatever part of society they aspire to be a part of is a sad git in my book....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

An even more worrying trend is the youth of Killiney & Dalkey developing skangers accents to be considered "hard".

dublindude wrote:
    I gaurantee if "D4 people" did not speak the way they did, you'd find something else to bitch about.

Really, you just sound like a bunch of petty fools.

eh, the title of the thread is ' What's the story with culchies with D4 accents!!???', we're saying that the accent is getting on our collective t1ts....at least I am.

i love rich people, especially the one's that did more than inherit their wealth.

i agree begrudgery is a major problem here and i think this accents thing is an offshoot of it. since we now all have a few bob (or that's the theory), the people who used to be the only one's who could afford a few pairs of shoes and a hot dinner have to up the ante to be recognised as financially endowed.

personally i think anyone who wants us to know they are rich or even anyone who wants to pretend to be rich should just wear top hats and tails like the good 'ol days and not mix with us commoners at all....

Keyzer wrote:
    You've got it wrong...
    If its not put on then you can't really fault it.
    But if it is put on, thats what annoys people. And its the exact same as seeing lads from any "wealthy" area going on like scumbags, acting the hard man. Girl I worked with years ago had the most annoying "roish" accent I ever heard, I presumed she was from Blackrock or somewhere like that, turned out she was from Donaghmede (nothing wrong with Donaghmede) and her house was like something out of steptoe and son.
    Why did she have a "Roish" accent? Because she went to Trinity, and to conform with Trinity Society she adopted an appropriate accent, because she definitely didn't grow up speaking like that.
    I suppose people who "adopt" these accents are fearful of other peoples perceptions in relation to accents, are afraid to say where they are actually from (she used to tell people she was from malahide) for fear of being labelled a knacker etc. This applies to country folk too, who don't want Dubs to view them as thick boggers, so they adopt an appropriate accent too....
    Anyway, anyone who develops an accent in order to be accepted by whatever part of society they aspire to be a part of is a sad git in my book....

OK, I agree there is something very sad about people changing their accents to fit in.

But I think the general consensus seems to be that people who talk like a rich boy is a tosser - and I disagree with this.

Most people cannot help their accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The problem is that the accent is completely false. The only people growing up speaking in that horrid, nasal whine are the spoilt rotten little ****ers whose parents invented the accent. The D4 accent is not the Dortspeak of the "D4" accent. The "D4" accent we refer to was originally a badge of arrogance worn by typically country people who made it and bought big houses in Dublin. Now it's just a badge of a spoiled brat.

Sleepy wrote:
    The problem is that the accent is completely false. The only people growing up speaking in that horrid, nasal whine are the spoilt rotten little ****ers whose parents invented the accent. The D4 accent is not the Dortspeak of the "D4" accent. The "D4" accent we refer to was originally a badge of arrogance worn by typically country people who made it and bought big houses in Dublin. Now it's just a badge of a spoiled brat.

Do you know how ignorant that sounds?

May I ask, what is your accent?

As I have said already, I am "very well spoken" although I do not say "roish" or whatever. Although you would probably think I do.

I have spoken like this MY ENTIRE LIFE. It is called being well spoken.

Example: a foreign person comes to Ireland. They ALWAYS say, "The Irish accent is hard to understand, but you know what? I can understand you perfectly."

What is wrong with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭A.S.H.

I also have been accused of having a "D4" accent, I went to a "good" school. I mainly get asked by people if I'm english or else if I'm american I believe this to be from the amount of T.V. I watch, I have a dislike of those who came from well off families and put on the "knacker" accent.

your school got beaten by a poor school at chess.

HA!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

I live in Dublin 4 ( or D4 as people like to call it). I have lived there all my life. I don't have a "D4" accent, however I am in my opinion well spoken.
    What you have to realise is that "D4" is a big place. Not everyone in "D4" lives in Blackrock, DonnyBrook, Sandymount, and not everyone in "D4" are snobs or rich.
    I agree with Dublindude, there is nothing wrong with being well spoken.
    As a "D4" resident though I must agree that the put on accent is a pain in the ass.
    ( not from a stuck up point of view) but from the fact it sounds so false.
    Basically what im saying is that its not fair to generalise all people form "D4" .

More worrying is that more and more Irish people sounding like upper class English prats. Its like the "Roish" accent is now too common, so lets all speak like Jeeves and Harry, tallyho chaps.

Good point made by Dubdude, theres nothing wrong in being well spoken, nothing at all, but the thread isn't about being well spoken, its about country people developing upper class Dublin accents, and my explanation of why they do is in my last post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭A.S.H.

karlhoff wrote:
    your school got beaten by a poor school at chess.

HA!.

Yes and as such we did our good deed fro the week. Allowing the commoners to think that they can win, thus giveing them a good self belief :)

I would also like to add that we lost a lot in rugby as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I dont understand why people get so annoyed about it. Sure the accent might be annoying, put on blah blah etc etc but who cares? They might be intelligent down to earth people, they might be goddam saint not that your never gonna know anyway. So live with it. Nobodys asking you to marry them. If its causing you that much trouble buy earphones or something