Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE ARESHOLES!!!!!! Fools lost F1

• 05-03-2005 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36

I know that i have had my head in the clouds lately, but i have been very busy and strange things have been happening in my life in the last few months. I only have RTE1,2 and TG4 now, only NOW do i find out that RTE are not going to be showing Formula 1 because they lost it to Setanta!!!!!!!!!

Does anyone else think that this is totally ridicolus?

I only look at crap on TV, the only thing i like to watch is Simpsons, and i can do without that. My point is that we should STOP PAYING TELEVISION LICENCES!!!!!! I am not going to pay mine and i am going to fight them in the courts if it comes to it.

As for RTEs stupid add campagne of being embarrised for not paying their fees, come on RTE, who do you think your dealing with. Fear of going to jail is the only thing that would make me pay, and that is only because i like my hole in one piece. So from the point of view of me fighting them i am going to argue that i do not listen to crappy radio, i do not look at TV, or at least i can do without it, and i do not subscribe to anything that this **** state provides to us.

Sorry for repeating that which has definatley been aired here before, that being RTE loosing F1, but i really am annoyed. Again, my point is, why are you paying your TV licence? Stop supporting these retards. I have friends who worked in RTE by the way, and do you know where most of your money is going, I'll tell you. RTE had life time contracts before this, in other words, you were hired as lets say a schedule manager inside RTE, you were doing that job for years but then you got too old to do your job properly, or someone better came along, what do RTE do? They can't sack this person, so they move him/her into another part of RTE... really, and they give them some crap job, seriously. How do i know this, because i have a friend who started in RTE a few years ago, and she is on contract. Now because she started in RTE a few years she is too expensive to keep so they have her, believe it or not, training in her replacement!

So, do you have SKY? If so, do NOT pay your licence, why would you, unless you want to line the pocket of some fat cats. RTE's add campage is about exposing you and the embarrisment of not paying your fees, they way i see it i would be embarrised if people knew i was paying my licence .

Butt raped by RTE, no thanks, you can bend over, but not me....

Robert Hayes

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

LOL lighten up m8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Bought EL football and more GAA so evens it self out, actually with those 2 sports i kinda feel a small part of my licence fee is worth it.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

They got outbid.
    Setanta but up alot of cash because they knew they'd be charging €99 a year for it. There was no way RTE could have gotten their hands on that cash, or justify it seeing as
    A) Last season was woeful and ferrari didn't look like they'd be losing their grip on the sport (at the time of bidding) and
    B)Jordan was looking for buyers ALL last season
    c) no irish drivers anymore

Now i watch f1 and love it, and have done so for many years. But I can count the number of races i watched last season on one hand. They lost alot of viewers. If people aren't watching they cant sell advertising.F1 is not cheap, can u not understand their situation?

Even forgetting about ferrari, jordan and no irish drivers. Setanta wanted f1 and they got it and there was no stoppin' them. Once setanta set their minds on it there was no chance RTE would be able to compete.

I am glad Setanta show practice now though. Brings me back to the eurosport years.

And yeah RTE trying to create a taboo about the tv license is a complete joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Me Hugs My FTV card which i spent all day getting all my channels back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

im with utilitarian on the paying of TV licences just for owning a television. that money goes striaght to RTE whether you watch the stations or not. TV3 provide the exact same service and they get nothing. i wouldnd mind paying a licence as much if the money was split evenly among all irish stations. I miss BBC1 and 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 utilitarian

Ok, i am the person who posted the above, and i understand all your points. and you have good points. rte simply lost out, i am just going through a period of realising that since i have started wanting to be a "better citizen" that you just get dumped on from above.

like, i can't afford SKY, and while that is not rte fault of course, , what am i going to do, am i going to miss nearly all of F1? I have no interest in any other type of sport except motorsport, of which rte shows extremely little in all fairness, sure they don't. i don't find rugby, and gaa or soccer or athletics interesting in the slightest...

what does rte give me, apart from the threat of putting me to prision! when you think about it it does suck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

just get rid of your TV...if its only the simpsons ya want, buy the series on DVD and watch em on your PC... then they cant do ya for no TV licence...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

what does rte give me, apart from the threat of putting me to prision! when you think about it it does suck...
    Don't forget that the license is a government tax, they hand the money back to RTE/TG4 and radio. Have you watched foreign (non-UK) TV ?
    By comparison RTE is fairly OK, and don't forget the demographics Irish channels go for different audiances (unlike the UK terresterials who seem to head to head by showing the same palp on all channels at the same time) RTE can't keep you happy if they have to entertain Aunt Mary and Granny and keep the inhabitans of bally bog hall informed of what is happening down there every once in a while.

And I've lost all interest in F1, apart from the best teams buying the best drivers it seems to be more of a who can build the best car inside the rules than most other things. Two race engine rule might help, but I'd doubt it.

Now if they were to put Gerry Ryan on notice for taking way too many sick days that I'd like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

And I've lost all interest in F1, apart from the best teams buying the best drivers it seems to be more of a who can build the best car inside the rules than most other things. Two race engine rule might help, but I'd doubt it.

I agree with the Capt'n,I can't recall watching a full GP last season whereas one time I wouldn't have missed a single minute.I know several other F1 fans who are the same - you can only admire Schumacher/Ferrari's brillance for so long before it gets boring and I'd imagine RTE's viewing figures weren't too hectic.

I dont have ITV(and wouldn't pay 100 for Setanta) but somehow I'm not too bothered about missing the GP's anymore.

Somehow I think by seasons end it'll be Schumacher/Ferrari again

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

I am glad Setanta show practice now though. Brings me back to the eurosport years

ditto but I wish they got new commentators instead of just robbing Rte's woeful commentators. Gary Anderson really gets on my nerves, he was a $hite designer and he's not a commentator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Ah i used to like switching between RTE&UTV when either one was on a break,not too miss the action.What times are the Setanta station showing the F1?Any one see the coverage they had today about the A1 grandprix coming up in September?

Looks great and cars look good also but a bit F3ish/maybe they are i didnt catch the whole show.Basically the cars will be countries,e.g..France,india,ireland(Ralph Firman) will be driving for ireland and first race will be in Brandshatch.

Cant wait till early hours,anyone staying up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭Ray777

I'll miss RTÉ's coverage. It was always done on a woefully low budget, and therefore lacked the pretentious crap of ITV. Plus, they didn't have James Allen commentating, which is surely a bonus. I want him dead.

Is Setanta's coverage any good? I have no intentions of giving the bastards a penny of my money though - I'm reasonably happy to endure ITV1, albeit with the volume down.

Incidentally, Gary Anderson was a great designer. He was responsible for the beautiful Jordan 191 (first ever Jordan) and the '98 car, in which Hill won the Belgian GP. He was also responsible for a pretty damn quick Stewart Ford.

He's shite on telly though :cool:

ando wrote:
    ditto but I wish they got new commentators instead of just robbing Rte's woeful commentators. Gary Anderson really gets on my nerves, he was a $hite designer and he's not a commentator
    I think he is good because people are willing to talk to him. All the team heads know him and are often a bit bemused when he comes to talk to them, and are happy to saysomething.

He is a real asset.

I think his knowledge is great too and it's interesting to hear him talk about aerodynamics etc.

I remember back in '98 when the Jordan had a new engine supplier, Mugen Honda, we still had Gary as technical directory, and the Jordan's were fighting against the Minardi's....

Then Mike Gascoigne was employed by Jordan. Mike said the car that Gary Anderson designed was fundamentally flaud. As soon as Mike got to work on the car, we flew up the ranks and ended up having a really good season, even though we didn’t score anything before Silverstone

So Jordan went on and had a great 1999. Gary then came back to Jordan when Mike left, and whatya know, Jordans successes start going sharply downhill. I know there was a lot of other things that could be the cause but isn’t it ironic

ando wrote:
    I remember back in '98 when the Jordan had a new engine supplier, Mugen Honda, we still had Gary as technical directory, and the Jordan's were fighting against the Minardi's....

Then Mike Gascoigne was employed by Jordan. Mike said the car that Gary Anderson designed was fundamentally flaud. As soon as Mike got to work on the car, we flew up the ranks and ended up having a really good season, even though we didn’t score anything before Silverstone

So Jordan went on and had a great 1999. Gary then came back to Jordan when Mike left, and whatya know, Jordans successes start going sharply downhill. I know there was a lot of other things that could be the cause but isn’t it ironic

Not completely true. In '98, Jordan's turning point was Silverstone. The arrival of Gascoyne, initially to share the workload with Anderson helped matters massively. Anderson went missing for a few Grands Prix prior to Silverstone, because he was back at the factory, working on the car's chassis and aerodynamic problems. The Jordan 198 was a potentially good car, but Anderson identified the fundamental flaws in its design and fixed it. Some of the improvements were ready for Silverstone and Ralf Schumacher reaped the rewards with 6th place. Incidentally, the 1999 car was designed by Gary Anderson before he left the team.

Do you honestly think that Jordan's downfall from 2001 onwards was as a result of Anderson's designs? The team was short of cash and using a Honda engine, which was inferior to the Mugen unit before it. Gary Anderson certainly isn't one of the greatest designers of all time, but to say that he's 'shite' is ridiculous.

Furthermore, he designed this...
    jordan_191.jpg
    The Jordan 191. Beautiful.

utilitarian, have u ever used irc? Beacuse very often i go on irc during races and theres always someone streaming the race over the net (in channels like #f1 on dalnet etc). Not great quality but good anyhow. Combine that with live timing from formula1.com and it would be a good substitute for the tv.

EDIT: there is commentary on the live timing screen.
    Also: i wonder do f1live.com stream the race? worth a look...

Ray777 wrote:
    Incidentally, the 1999 car was designed by Gary Anderson before he left the team.

do you have any proof of this? Surely he didnt have much input to that car as he left mid season 98

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

STOP PAYING TELEVISION LICENCES!!!!!! I am not going to pay mine and i am going to fight them in the courts if it comes to it.

what are you talkin' about! who pays the tv license anyway, they only sting you when you pay then stop. as for the courts i think your an eejit to even bother wasting your/their time.
    personally i'm delighted rte have lost formula 1 , more time for tv thats actually watchable.

Gary was also race engineer for the drivers at races. He didn't just design cars.
    This makes him a good commentator.
    Superman wrote:
    what are you talkin' about! who pays the tv license anyway, they only sting you when you pay then stop. as for the courts i think your an eejit to even bother wasting your/their time.
    personally i'm delighted rte have lost formula 1 , more time for tv thats actually watchable.
    Right, thanks for coming all the way to the motorsport forum to tell us that. A troll if there ever was one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

I was flicking through the channels earlier and was very surprised to see TV3 showing an hour-long highlights programme. They must have struck a last-minute deal with Setanta to show highlights or something. And when I say "last-minute", I really mean it because there was no mention of it in the press or anything and the way it was done really did look last-minute and just slapped together. For example, the titles/ad-break bits consisted of just a graphic saying "Australian Grand Prix F1 Highlights" in red and black writing over a white background....... and that was it!

I wonder is this going to be a year-long thing with TV3 or was it just for the one race? If it's a year long deal, well, at least those who don't have UTV or Setanta can see highlights, which is better than nothing, I guess.

Though, I wouldn't be surprised if this is the only year TV3 would be doing it. I remember a few years back they got the rights to show highlights of the World Rally Championship, then stopped showing it after that one year. They then showed highlights of MotoGP for a year and then stopped as well. If you think RTE's coverage of motorsport is bad, TV3's is a lot worse. Apart from the "one-off" examples I've just described, what else have you got on TV3? "On The Limit Sports" showing just Irish rallying and, even then, it does be thrown all around the schedule so you don't know when it's on half the time.

The problem is, I think, simply that Irish terrestrial channels cannot afford the rights to show world-class motorsport. And then, even when they do, they have feck-all money left after paying for the rights to do a decent job (RTE's F1 coverage, for example). Compared to the likes of ITV in the UK and pay-per-view satellite coverage (Setanta and F1 Digital+ on Sky Sports a couple of years ago), they just don't have the money, simple as that. I mean, for example, not even counting Formula 1, just look at the likes of ITV. Not only do they show F1 but they also show WRC (even though their coverage is sh*te), British Touring Cars (great coverage and going to be even better this year with more live races), a highlights package of the BTCC support races on a Sunday night ("Motorsport UK"), highlights of the FIA F3000 Championship and Porsche Supercup Grand Prix support races ("International Motor Racing"), and that's not counting their other one-off shows as well ("Formula Woman", coverage of the Goodwood Festival of Speed, the Goodwood Revival Meeting, etc.). Apart from dedicated sports channels like Sky Sports, Eurosport and Motors TV, it seems ITV has become the real "Home Of Motorsports TV" in these islands.

Not meaning to rub salt into the wounds for those who don't have it but, for once, I'm actually glad I have Chorus and can watch F1 live on UTV, as well as the other racing I've mentioned above. It's probably the only reason I'm glad I have Chorus, to be honest! :D

ando wrote:
    do you have any proof of this? Surely he didnt have much input to that car as he left mid season 98

Teams generally tend to have their new car fully designed by mid-season. If I remember correctly, that was one of the reasons Anderson didn't completely leave until a few months after Gascoyne was appointed - he was overseeing the design of the new car. Certainly, the impressive developments and improvements to the Jordan 199 throughout the '99 season were the work of Gascoyne, but Anderson designed it initially.
    superman wrote:
    personally i'm delighted rte have lost formula 1 , more time for tv thats actually watchable

If you don't like F1, why are you posting on an F1 thread? Incidentally, your grammar and punctuation are awful. Why not learn how to use a comma? While you're at it, perhaps you could locate the 'shift' button on your keyboard and learn how to use the occasional capital letter, where necessary. I hope that by pointing out your literary inadequacies, I have at least made your sojourn onto the Motorsport board slightly more worthwhile :cool:

Ray777 wrote:
    Certainly, the impressive developments and improvements to the Jordan 199 throughout the '99 season were the work of Gascoyne, but Anderson designed it initially.

Yea I don’t know where you are getting this info from. I seriously doubt Jordan had their '99 car designed by Silverstone '98. All the resources were going desperately into getting the 98 car upto speed. If Gary did infact make the initial blueprints for the 199, Gascoyne had ample time to make his own amendments to the design in the 9 months before Australia. I cannot see the 199 finishing 2nd in Australia '99, 3rd in Brazil '99 being a Gary Anderson car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

Oh that sucks, i`ve only got Sky Digital in my house. because i had a row with the NTL people. On Sky theres no ITV1 and setanta is PPV.

ando wrote:
    Yea I don’t know where you are getting this info from. I seriously doubt Jordan had their '99 car designed by Silverstone '98. All the resources were going desperately into getting the 98 car upto speed. If Gary did infact make the initial blueprints for the 199, Gascoyne had ample time to make his own amendments to the design in the 9 months before Australia. I cannot see the 199 finishing 2nd in Australia '99, 3rd in Brazil '99 being a Gary Anderson car

I got most of the info from Autosport magazine, which I used to waste all my money on, when I was a sad, anorak-wearing teenager ;) Basically, the 199 was a natural progression from the 198. Apart from the nose, the two cars even looked very similar.

The 1997 Jordan though, despite being indisputably a 100% Anderson-designed car was an absolute gem (off-topic, but it even had a beautiful livery - remember the snake?) It finished on the podium three times, including 2nd place at Hockenheim (I think). If it wasn't for the fact that they had two novices (Ralf Schumacher and Fisichella) behind the wheel, it would have undoubtedly won several races. Sadly, Ralf and Giancarlo were too fond of crashing into eachother at the time...

Most of Jordan's problems in the early 90s centred around crap engines and a lack of money. Without Gary Anderson designing fast cars, the team wouldn't have lasted beyond its first season.

ack, I can’t win with you Ray, You obviously liked Gary, I hated him. I was also an anorak kid, I can remember the 97, 98 and 99 season more than any of the leaving cert :D My memory of 2000 onwards gets very foggy :rolleyes:

BTW, ralf and fissy only came together in 1 race, Argentina 97 ;) Fissy could of won in Hokenheim '97 if it was not for a puncture :( He got a lift back to the pits from Mschumacher

and yea, the 197 was a gorgeous car, I'll give him that

2_991.jpg