Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uncontrollable Bad Language

• 04-03-2005 2:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭

I curse WAY WAY too much.
    i.e. I have a tendancy to put a derivative of the word "f*ck" in most sentences I say.

My g/f is always giving out to me.
    I started cursing in front of my parents last year - they don't even hear it anymore.
    I have been given out to in both my jobs for it - not verbal warnings, but not far off - in one case where the manager shouted at me across the bar.
    I was even chastised on a street in Boston by a complete stranger - but I put that down to him being an over-zealous, anally-retentive, politically correct moron. ha ha!!

I never really paid too much attention to it, until one night I was working at the bar, and I was talking to a customer - pretty little brunette - and I said something like "That's an excellent f*cking drink".

As I said it, she physically shuddered (she shut her eyes suddenly, she moved away from me and stopped smiling), and looked genuinly shocked.
    Don't get me wrong, I said some pretty stupid things down through the years and have got a few peoples' backs-up because of it, but NOBODY has actually physically reacted to what I've said.

Anyway, being Irish, I know that we as a race curse too much as it is.
    Tommy Teirnan (sp?) has a sketch about it I believe.

Has anybody overcome their bad language?

I've heard people using curse jars, where you put 50c into a jar every time you curse (like that episode in the Simpsons).
    I don't know if this will work for me though.

Cheers
    Iceman_2001_ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

it's a habit, habits can't be changed, just replaced.
    find an alternative for it, will be hard to find one so happy hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

the object of the curse jar is to make you aware of doing it. like any bad habit you've to be aware of each instance before you'll learn to stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

yes the curse jar will probably work, but make it a bas***d on yourself. Charge yourself/ get someone else to charge you 5$ every time. Then send It to a worthy charity that you hate ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Give your girlfriend permission to thump you every time you curse. It'll improve your language in no time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

Now that you're aware of it you'll probably start doing it less. If not make a deal with yourself that you'll apologise to who ever you're talking too for you language when you curse. That'll ****ing pull it in for you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

I used to do it too.

Managed over a week to condition myself to change my language to fit the company.

Not hard, just a bit of effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

iceman, do you think about what you are saying while you are saying it or do you just let your mouth do what it wants without thinking about what's being said?

I don't think you are conscious of what you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

As I said it, she physically shuddered (she shut her eyes suddenly, she moved away from me and stopped smiling), and looked genuinly shocked.

I think I know the feeling - you feel like a vulgar thug or something.
    Anyway, being Irish, I know that we as a race curse too much as it is.

You said it.
    Has anybody overcome their bad language?

I've heard people using curse jars, where you put 50c into a jar every time you curse (like that episode in the Simpsons).
    I don't know if this will work for me though.

I wouldn't consider myself someone who curses a lot, I obviously do from time to time in front of people I'm comfortable with or know very well, but I've often been in situations where the last thing I wanted to do was utter an expletive. Once you decide to become conscious of what you're saying it's easy to avoid saying the wrong thing. That's all the advice I can give you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i find that swearing is just a way of trying to express things but without having the vocabulary to do it properly.

increase your vocabulary with a few descriptive words, insert them into your scentences instead of swear words, and you should be grand.

and yes, the irish do swear an awful lot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I used to swear a lot too. Just be concious of when you're speaking and make an effort to improve your vocabularly so when you feel a need to add extra adjectives, you'll have clean clever sounding adjectives instead of vulgar ones.

Some of your stories remind me of the "League of gentlemen" sketch where the mayor with the swearing problem is giving an interview and everything goes perfectly for him until the interviewer says "Thank for your time" and he replies with "It's a ****ing pleasure" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i suffer from swearing inappropriately too.....most of my friends and family have gotton used to it but sometimes i even embaress myself....i actually have to concentrate on not swearing. Like the swear jar idea.....i think i'll try it.... anyone thi nk up some funny witty adjectives to replace the f word with....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

cursing isnt a problem at all as long as its not malicious.i dont even notice it anymore.average friends greeting----how the fu^k are ya?wht the fck ya been up ta ya class bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

anyone thi nk up some funny witty adjectives to replace the f word with....

I use "bloody" and "godforsaken" if I'm totally stuck for a word.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

what the heavenly fudge are you on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

lose the stupid bunny will you?

its not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Stark wrote:
    I use "bloody" and "godforsaken" if I'm totally stuck for a word.

i use godforsaken all the time actually...... :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

me: thats fukin hilarious
    man: thats not very ladylike
    me: oops, excuse me, I'm really fukin sorry

ya, I use to curse a lot too but just for a laugh...I would say obscene things to get a rise out of my firends and ofcourse it worked but then I started cursing when I was angry and it got bad...so I told myslef it wasnt neccessary to curse so fukin much and I dont really curse much anymore. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I curse uncontrolably at times, sometimes even to the extent that I don't realise I'm doing so. My brother stopped me in mid conversation in a pub one night saying that I used the word f**k 4 times in the same sentence. I didn't even notice.

Funny thing is I will never curse in front of my folks, its weird really. I was once driving my folks to town one night and some retard flew right out in front of me with only inches between us, I hopped on the horn and roared your a f**king retard, my folks were horrified, I tried to cover up my sayin this is my car, and I'll use bad language if I want in my own car.... talk about digging a bigger hole!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I curse alot in front of ppl I know but I don't find it hard to switch it off when I'm in work or talking to someone new. Personally I don't find bad language offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

I have a tendency to use the F word as an adjetive (speling) in verbal conversations, but can come up with more colourful language when i get pissed off at something.

personally I dont mind swearing as long as its not used either in anger or an attempt to belittle or humiliate.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Make yourself write a restoration comedy every time you catch yourself in the act of swearing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

yes but some people do, i dont find it offensive. But in some comapny, it is inappropraite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Maybe you've got mild tourettes syndrome...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭Ray777

I used to curse like a cunt all the fucking time when I was younger. I don't anymore though, because when you look at it rationally, it's a great way of telling people that you've got fuck-all vocabulary. There's just no need for it.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Casual Swearing F*CKIN ROCKS motherf*cker! I always feel more comfortable with people who throw the odd swear in there for good measure. It's like you know instantly you can be yourself when when talking to a casual swearer. it breaks down barriers between people.

For example for a research project I had to talk to the IT manager of a company, I was a little nervous about interviewing this guy. when I got there, he was all mad formal and sh*t, went into his office and he closed the door and come out with "F*ck man, this is some sh*t busy day" I was like "sorry I won't keep you long" to which he replyed "no worries, get to sit the f*ck down for a few minutes for a change" he awnsered all my questions in colourful english and gave me loads of ideas, invited me back if I needed anything. I was like f*ck, that lad was sound.

If that crazy b*tch gave you sh*t over bein' a badass motherf*cker, then F*ck that stuck up hoe, the thing with people like that is that if they care so much about mannors, she could have excused herself before leaving you in 'disgust'. The concept mannors was invented by snobby c*nts in order to keep ordinary people down, give up swearing? next you'll be eating dinner with fifty forks and sh*t. There's a lot worse sh*t in the world than a few rude words for people to get offended about, so the next time some b*tchass naysayer gives you the frownin' of a lifetime for expressin' yourself, tell them from me they're a 'French Connection UK'ing See You Next Tuesday!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Spacedog, I'm one of those snobby c*nts you are talking about. Less of the swearing please or I'll ban your f*ckin ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

I'm usually not offended when other people swear (except the C word I dont like that), but I do try not to swear myself unless it's in exceptional circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,938 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Spacedog wrote:
    The concept mannors [sic] was invented by snobby c*nts in order to keep ordinary people down

Twat, tbh. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭iceman_2001_ie

Make yourself write a restoration comedy every time you catch yourself in the act of swearing?

I like this idea.
    Cheers

I've said it to a few friends now, who have promised to make me aware of it, when I do curse.
    Being aware of it is paramount in my opinion - like every problem.

Cheers for all your responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

plazzTT wrote:
    I'm usually not offended when other people swear (except the C word I dont like that), but I do try not to swear myself unless it's in exceptional circumstances.

So fúck is okay, but there's something wrong with cúnt? What the fúck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

f*ck me, this thread is still F**kin' here.

Sorry, i couldn't resist, but ya gotta admit its starting to get comical now.

Just shut the f**k up and stop your cursing, as the movie goes "give up yer olde sins".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Yesterdays conversation. Someone @ her work died overnight.

sis; yeah, he just died.
    me; sh|t.
    sis; he just got a headache, and went to bed.
    me; f*ck.
    sis; would you ever stop cursing
    me; uh... that sucks

=-=

The thing is, some take offense out of certain words. There are some "polite" swear words, and there's some words that you just can't say. Personally, I swear alot. Aside from talking to teachers, or lectures, or me boss, I swear alot. The only time I don't swear constantly, is when I'm teaching swimming to the younger kids, on Saturday'. Aside from that, its f*ck this, f*ck that.

=-=

To all the Politiclly Correct f*ckers out there; get a f*cking life.

I always wondered how "bugger" was a polite form of "fück".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OMG I suffer from this. I was in a job interview for the handiest part-time job ever and it would have suited me down to the ground during college, doing marketing work over the phone getting like 12 - 15 euro an hour for 10 - 15 hours work a week. Would have been so handy.

In the interview "So what kind of experience do you have?"

I answer the question perfectly but at the end I said "and all that sort of **** really..."

He just paused and I tried my best not laugh...or draw any notice to it.

Needless to say I did not get the job...Can you blame them though?

I doubt it was actually the "bad language", more the flippant way you described your experience, that screwed you, or the fact that the experience wasn't all that relevant.