Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Medical" on friday

• 02-03-2005 9:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

I'm getting a little freaked out by this. would appreciate any advice on the matter. (irc'ers have already convinced me that i'll be grand. i wouldn't mind a few more opinions on the matter though)

I applied for a job a few weeks ago, had an interview for it today and they want me to start on monday... as long as i've visited their choice of doctor for a physical beforehand.

stupid me got seriously caned on friday night - 6 strong joints between myself and my flatmate.
    what are the odds of the thc being untracable by friday?
    and is there anything i can do to help speed up the proccess? (apart from drinking insane amounts of water, which i've been doing since i found out about the medical earlier today)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭newgrange

Are they going to be testing for it? Many work medicals don't even involve a blood test.

Any I've ever been to have been blood pressure, pulse, general questions about health, smoking, drinking habits etc. - nothing much really, which actually disappointed me, as I would have liked a good going over (fnarr...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Stays in your blood stream for a month my friend... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Moved from AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

sorry about that seamus. couldn't decide on where to post it so i just slapped it in AH.
    i'm not entirely sure this is the right place though? maybe PI would be better suited...
    newgrange wrote:
    Are they going to be testing for it? Many work medicals don't even involve a blood test.
    as far as i know they'll be doing some kind of drug test. not sure whether it's going to be urine or blood based though. i know a few people that work there, so i'll ask what they had to go through.
    would there be any less chance of something showing up in a urine sample?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

More then likley eyes ears chest and thats about it.

If its drugs sure werent you on 78A or local knacker bus and there were bold people smoking marajoanna on it.
    You never touch the stuff. :D

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Albot

Stays in your blood stream for a month my friend... :eek:

'tis true but when I had my medical for this place (5 stinkin years ago) I smoked an awful lot of the stuff and was paranoid but nothing showed up. Should be OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

To my knowledge drug testing is still fairly rare among Irish employers. Any work medicals I've ever had have been directed towards identifying any problems that would prevent me from performing my role safely/adaquetly.

When I worked for Intel they gave a fairly in depth medical with blood tests, spirometer tests, etc, but these were specifically focused on checking general health and were there to allow detection of any issues that might be caused by clean room work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭dearg_doom

I'm fairly sure this is mis-info!

If it was in your bloodstream for a month, then you'd be stoned?

OTOH, I do know that it can stay within your fatty tissues for a month!

Don't know how testable that is though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

if they're sending you for a physical man they just want to check out your lungs and back so their asses are covered if you ever have a claim against them-standard procedure. ive been sent for god knows how many of the ****ers and havn't been tested once. dont worry bout it, even if they do test you the doc will let it slide cause he knows its for a job. anyway- its only dope man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭thesteve

i had a medical for a job in the big smoke there last year, they took a urine test and she tested it there on the spot... 4 weeks prior to this I was doing my final year college exams and got a bad chest infection. So for a week I was on antibioics, tablets to calm my stomach down (antibiotics don't agree too well) aswell as pain killers for headaches so I could concentrate...

The nurse/doctor turns around to me and says with a puzzled look, were you sick recently? SHe didn't elaborate on what she was talking about, high amount of pain killers etc... Told her what happened and still got the job...

I wouldn't worry about it, I told this story to one of the lads who was working there for a while and he said he made his way through a bag of coke the week before his medical, like the lads said, its more a formality to cover their own asses, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

unless they are specifically asked to look for it, you wont be tested for it, and it wont be brought up.
    weed can be recognised in the body for up to 6 months after your last joint by the way, but again, i wouldnt worry too much about it. aprat from the obvious health risk implications of smoking :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

The medical is to make sure you have no pre-existing condition that you could later claim was caused by the type of work you do (and sue them), and to check that you're generally fit to work - you're not going to be out sick six months a year.

Is it a company doctor or your own GP ?

Not that it matters really, neither is allowed to tell anyone anything about any tests without your permission.

cheers for the reassurance so far guys :)
    i called earlier to book an apointment for tomorrow but ended up having to do it today instead.
    had to laugh when i proudly passed my jar full of urine to the doc, she took a tiny swab of it and then poured the rest down the sink :D
    Gurgle wrote:
    Is it a company doctor or your own GP ?

Not that it matters really, neither is allowed to tell anyone anything about any tests without your permission.
    company doctor. but i had to sign a form stating that they could pass on any information that they deemed neccesary to my employer.

anyway. fingers crossed it all went alright. i should find out tomorrow :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

tman wrote:
    company doctor. but i had to sign a form stating that they could pass on any information that they deemed neccesary to my employer.
    That's fairly standard. Otherwise you would probably be covered by patient-doctor confidentiality.

i got the job anyways :)

dont get to start for another 2 weeks though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

tman wrote:
    i got the job anyways :)

dont get to start for another 2 weeks though

on the subject of illegal drugs...

it is actually illegal to be high
    (possession is illegal but once consumed one no longer posses anything)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

vector wrote:

jesus they'll charge ya for breathing next :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

vector wrote:

yes, you can be considered under the influence of an illegal substance, and therefor a danger to both yourself and others.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I know a guy who was refused a job in IBM in Blanchardtown because there were traces of THC in his sample (not sure if it was blood or urine).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

I know a guy who was refused a job in IBM in Blanchardtown because there were traces of THC in his sample (not sure if it was blood or urine).

If I had a company I wouldnt want some stoner working for me either,,