Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irelands Call Lyrics??

• 02-03-2005 7:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 45

I'm entering a competition with a group of friends and typical fellas, :rolleyes:
    i've been told to chose the songs so coz of our win :D the other day I thought we'd sing Irelands call

The only problem is that I am missing some words in the third verse :o
    It starts
    Hearts of steel and heads of ??
    ?? and never to be broken

and I have the rest... please help!!!
    tanx

btw... no offence to any fellas readin!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Brian017

Hearts of steel
    And heads unbowing
    Vowing never to be broken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Orla1

Tnx :)

No problem.

Bring back 'Amhrán Na bhFiann' I say.

Yea that's cool. But it's the song for the republic and there are players from both sides of the border on the Irish team, that's why they can't use it!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Come the day and come the hour
    Come the power and the glory
    We have come to answer
    Our Country’s call
    From the four proud provinces of Ireland

Chorus
    Ireland, Ireland,
    Together standing tall
    Shoulder to shoulder
    We’ll answer Ireland’s call

From the mighty Glens of Antrim
    From the rugged hills of Galway
    From the walls of Limerick
    And Dublin Bay

Chorus

Hearts of steel
    And heads unbowing
    Vowing never to be broken
    We will fight, until
    We can fight no more

Chorus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Orla1 wrote:
    Yea that's cool. But it's the song for the republic and there are players from both sides of the border on the Irish team, that's why they can't use it!! :)

Thats not strictly true. They could use Amhran na bhFiann if they wanted - sure they did for decades. I believe that Davy Tweed was the only Ulster player ever to object to it, but given his loyalist links that was to be expected, and he only got a handful of caps. None of the other Ulstermen complained about it, as per below - however in their wisdom the IRFU decided to go with a more "inclusive" song after Tweed's complaints received media attention. The new song is good, and will be better when eventually everyone knows the words. But I was at away games 5 and 3 years ago, and it was a bit embarrassing that the players sang it louder than the Irish fans! But I cannot see it ever being any more than a rugby song - its not our National Anthem.
    There were six of them on the Irish team - Ringland, Crossan, Carr, Matthews, Willie Anderson and Jimmy McCoy. That they were mostly Protestant Ulstermen wearing the green shirt of Ireland and standing in line for the Soldier's Song never bothered them. "When you played for Ulster you played for Ulster," Ringland says. "When you played for Ireland you played for Ireland. We were a team. We worked together. I always thought there were lessons in life in that. Any society that works together succeeds. Those that don't fail."

The consensus is a broad one. "Never crossed my mind," says Crossan. "Politics never came into it. Sometimes you'd open the local paper and see some hoodlum giving out about those boys standing to attention for the Soldier's Song but they weren't real rugby people. For us it never became an issue."

If it was, it was more unifying than divisive. Those who were politically motivated, like Ringland, were able to express their views without fear of recriminations. Occasionally the players would discuss politics but, being educated and professional men, the discussions rarely became heated or argumentative.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

What about "There is an isle".. ? The ideal song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Thats not strictly true. They could use Amhran na bhFiann if they wanted - sure they did for decades. I believe that Davy Tweed was the only Ulster player ever to object to it, but given his loyalist links that was to be expected, and he only got a handful of caps. None of the other Ulstermen complained about it, as per below - however in their wisdom the IRFU decided to go with a more "inclusive" song after Tweed's complaints received media attention. The new song is good, and will be better when eventually everyone knows the words. But I was at away games 5 and 3 years ago, and it was a bit embarrassing that the players sang it louder than the Irish fans! But I cannot see it ever being any more than a rugby song - its not our National Anthem.
    If you noticed during the anthems on sunday, humphries did not sing to Amhran na bhFiann, but he did to Irelands Call. Just saying it was something I noticed on tv. Maybe he has personal issues, I remember something about Eddie Irvine getting death threats for having the Irish Flag/shamrock/anthem around him when he was on the F1 podium - could be something similar?? one can never know. Personally I don't have a problem with Irelands Call being played, esp if it means we don't alienate our northeren brethern. or worse still cause a few more "injuries".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

They should sing Amhran na bhFiann and God Save the Queen. Problem solved. And better than that terrible sub-fields of athenry chocolate box oirish twaddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I thought the fields of athenry was our national anthem :confused:

magpie wrote:
    They should sing Amhran na bhFiann and God Save the Queen.

Eh, are you having a laugh?

As for the complaint about the anthem, Humphrys considers himself British, and plenty of potential players do also, and if i didn't have a "national" rugby team and had to play for England for example, i would appreciate a neuatral anthem as a nice gesture to recognise my preferences. So i think Irelands call is not just nececary, but required out of interest of fairness and unity and all that lark...

Maybe if they just acknowledged the fact that the 6 counties are part of a different politcal entity and stopped fannying around with these makey-uppy songs to try and disguise the fact we'd be a step closer to solving the issue.

If the Nornies don't want to sing the Irish National Anthem let them sing the British one. Why not?

As it stands nobody gets to sing their national anthem, they all have to sing this contrived rubbish.

It's sad to see our National Anthem being treated like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

magpie wrote:
    Maybe if they just acknowledged the fact that the 6 counties are part of a different politcal entity and stopped fannying around with these makey-uppy songs to try and disguise the fact we'd be a step closer to solving the issue.

There's an "issue" to be solved here? What's the issue exactly? I fail to see the problem, the only contrived rubbish I can see involved are some of the silly opinions expressed on this thread.

If the Northern Irish players don't want to sing the Irish National Anthem why not let them sing their own National Anthem?

I trust you don't have a problem with their politics when they're on the field so why not acknowledge their diversity and allow them to sing God Save the Queen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

magpie wrote:
    As it stands nobody gets to sing their national anthem, they all have to sing this contrived rubbish.
    Only at away matches. At home matches we play both the anthem and the call. But as I said before, it's not that big a deal to play/sing one more song and if it makes the NI players feel more at ease/included/wanted/respected what harm is there in it. It's a song specifically worded to indicate union of all four provinces. I'd have more of a problem if they played the anthem followed by a second "republican" type song, thus alienating the NI boys more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Dypso

im all for political correctness or whatever. but the song played before the games is supposesd to raise morale unity and spirts for the battle i think this choice of sond is to downbeat and as such doesnt inspire the crowd to cheer or get involved i no the words but i wont be singing it

Only at away matches

So we're the only team that doesn't sing our national anthem(s) at away matches, right?
    it's not that big a deal to play/sing one more song and if it makes the NI players feel more at ease/included/wanted/respected what harm is there in it

So why not make that song God Save the Queen, as the only NI players who'd have a beef with Amhran na Bhfian will be from the Loyalist Community.

Or is it more a question of the rest of the Irish team / fans not tolerating their political diversity?
    It's a song specifically worded to indicate union of all four provinces

Which is non-existant in anything other than song, so why not face reality?

magpie wrote:
    Which is non-existant in anything other than song, so why not face reality?

Yes, except of course for the minor matter of the Ireland rugby team, but you choose to be ignoring that part of reality yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

If players in Irish rugby shirts started singing "god shave the queen" I for one would hurl missiles at them or start an early reconstruction of Landsdown, think how easy them ****ty seats would rip up and make as good weapons for hiting sheep singing "god shave the queen".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

magpie wrote:
    If the Northern Irish players don't want to sing the Irish National Anthem why not let them sing their own National Anthem?

What Danny Boy in Lansdowne Road ?? Man that song does my head in.
    I trust you don't have a problem with their politics when they're on the field so why not acknowledge their diversity and allow them to sing God Save the Queen?

Yeah GRRREAAATTTT idea. Use your head man - they are representing Ireland not bloody England. If Humpty wants to represent England let him off. As far as I can see Maggsy, Easterbys, ROG, etc have no problem singing Amhran na bhFiann.

If players in Irish rugby shirts started singing "god shave the queen" I for one would hurl missiles at them or start an early reconstruction of Landsdown, think how easy them ****ty seats would rip up and make as good weapons for hiting sheep singing "god shave the queen".

I think that answers my question.

Don't you think therefore it displays enormous hypocrisy on yo9ur behalf that you are more than happy to have people for whom that song is their national anthem playing on your team?

The nub of the issue is that we're the only team in the 6 nations that isn't a nation, and papering over the cracks with god-awful sentimental songs about standing shoulder to shoulder with the brave men of ulster won't change a thing.
    As far as I can see Maggsy, Easterbys, ROG, etc have no problem singing Amhran na bhFiann.

OK, if that's the case then do away with the Ireland's call ****e and play our national anthem. Oh of course, there is no national anthem because 'Ireland' doesn't exist as a nation. Time to rename the team 'Republic of Ireland' methinks and let the NI players choose whether they want to play for it or not.

You're suggesting we take a hugely successful team concept, which has managed to bring together 2 divided states in a positive way with a few minor issues (one being anthems), and throw away that and rename the team? Because you don't like a song? What a load of rubbish you are talking.

Oh, and as for the other bigot, well, he's not worth responding to - he cheerfully admits to being at the level of English soccer hooligan scum.

They changed the 'British Lions' to the 'Lions' for similar reasons didn't they?

The reason behind the song is a good one but it does raise some issues... if they sing God save the Queen and Amhrán na bhFiann does that not defeat the whole purpose of having an Anthem for the WHOLE team... it's still segregating the Northern players from the Southern.
    If they wanted to solve the whole problem they'd have to sing both the above anthems AND Irelands call. And by the time they are finished singing all that they will all be frozen solid from standing aroung in one place for so long!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

magpie wrote:
    The nub of the issue is that we're the only team in the 6 nations that isn't a nation, and papering over the cracks with god-awful sentimental songs about standing shoulder to shoulder with the brave men of ulster won't change a thing.

Wales is not a nation either. Can't remember the exact title... begins with a P (Not province ;) ). Not too sure what the story was with Scotland before getting its own parliment. But I'm sure Wales is not a nation as I live there and it's something you are never ever meant to say to someone who is welsh :D (So the English tell me)

The way I see it, the system in place is a good compromise for all involved.

Thankfully most people are more interested in what occurs after kick-off than nit-picking that which occurs before.

Protectorate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

magpie wrote:
    They changed the 'British Lions' to the 'Lions' for similar reasons didn't they?

Well not really, a totally different argument - the official team name was the British lions and is now the British and Irish Lions.

Would you suggest changing the irish Rugby Team to the Irish and a few English lads team ?

Trojan wrote:
    Thankfully most people are more interested in what occurs after kick-off than nit-picking that which occurs before.

Well said!!

Well not really, a totally different argument - the official team name was the British lions and is now the British and Irish Lions.

Would you suggest changing the irish Rugby Team to the Irish and a few English lads team ?

No, just 'Republic of Ireland'. At least then we could have a national anthem as we would be playing as a nation, rather than two.

And missing a province of potential players. Brilliant! I can't imagine why you're not working for the IRFU.

And missing a province of potential players

There's the rub, as long as we can win at rugby who cares if we don't get to sing our national anthem?

Yes, exactly - that suits me just fine. I care about the rugby, not the politics.

"Following the partition of the island of Ireland and the establishment of Northern Ireland in 1921 the then Committee of the Irish Rugby Football Union decided that it would continue to administer its affairs on the basis of the 32 Irish counties and the traditional four provinces of Ireland – Connacht, Leinster, Munster and Ulster. This means that six of the nine counties of the Ulster Branch are in Northern Ireland with the remaining three in the Irish Republic."

The Ulster Branch don't seem to have a problem with it.

Anyways, enough of this rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

magpie wrote:

are ya mad? i'd kill myself rather than have the lads in green sing that piece of crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Wales is a principality, for whoever was wondering. Scotland and Wales both sing songs which aren't their national anthems (as they're not independent nations, God Save The Queen is their anthem), so it shouldn't be a major issue if Ireland uses a song which isn't its national anthem either. Perhaps England should also start using a song which is unique to them as opposed to the general British anthem, as England is not an independent country either. I mean, it's a shíte song in fairness, about wishing good health to an old lady - hardly the blood-boiling stuff of warriors. Compare it with the Haka (I know it's not the Kiwi anthem), the Marseillaise or Flower of Scotland, it's just a bit... wussy, no?

If we're going to talk about songs that get people psyched... well even the most psychotic nationalist will be forced to admit Amhran na bhFiann is not top of the list.

Closing this as this is the _Rugby_ board.