Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Friend Wanted

• 26-02-2005 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

A warm hellooo to all of you Irish (or non-Irish:) lads & lassies from lovely Galway! ;)

My name is Isabelle. Oh my God I am already 24 and believe it or not I am a kind German girl:)

I am going to visit your beauteous Galway at 30 April – 21 May 2005. I will participate in some English courses at Atlantic Language School. I am searching for some nice pen pals or friends to write em@ils (snail mail), to have fun, and to go out with in Galway. Ayeee, I could also help you with German or Dutch.

I am into mythology, Celtic and Germanic languages, nature, (ice) hockey, martial arts, drawing, literature, music (Irish, Swedish, Asian folklore, rock, classical etc), crazy thingiiies and a loads more... :p

So is there anyone to show me a cool pub, a nice hurling/foortball game or even to go to a nice theatre?

Please, understand that I am on my knees and if you are not scared just drop me a line:)

I hope there is anyone out there to hang out with me and show me the Gateway to Conemarra!

Have a pleasant day!
    Cheers
    Isabelle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

The gateway to Connemara was stolen, galvanised, and resold in Limerick to a boy racer as a bullbar.

There are plenty of Galway folks around on this board, and only some of us are deviant freaks. This is as good a place as any to find people in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Post a picture.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Isabelle wrote:
    Please, understand that I am on my knees and if you are not scared just drop me a line:)
    Send a PM to Asok, he sounds like the type of person you're after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Sarky wrote:
    and only some of us are deviant freaks.
    Amz wrote:
    Send a PM to Asok, he sounds like the type of person you're after.

My ears are burning!

Let that be a lesson. Aural rape is not as much fun as it sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Isabelle wrote:
    going to visit your beauteous Galway at 30 April – 21 May 2005. I will participate in some English courses at Atlantic Language School. I am searching for some nice pen pals or friends to write em@ils (snail mail), to have fun, and to go out with in Galway. Ayeee, I could also help you with German or Dutch.

What part of Germany are you from. I am visiting Munich at the end of April for just under a week or so.

cheers from a Cold Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Sarky wrote:
    Let that be a lesson. Aural rape is not as much fun as it sounds.

You said you were a gentle lover!

It got me a pair of ears, didn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Modesty must be a foreign word here *naughty grin*

Well, Munich is a great city I can tell, especially when it's 'Oktoberfest' (October festival) time. Much of fun, drinking going on...just like a big party.
    Originally I come from Jena. I started there with my studies at the Friedrich-Schiller-University. My parents live around Leipzig (remember next year football world champion ship, hehe).
    However, at the moment I live in Almelo, Holland. Ayeeee, I am glad to go back to Galway :p
    Have a splendid day and relaaaaaaax gentlemen

Isabelle

Oh, people are quite aware of the meaning of modesty. Mostly so it can be avoided effeciently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I'll be keeping my eye on this thread.

Some comments made earlier are borderline, and may well be deleted later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭TheLedge

SyxPak wrote:

Thats tragic. really it is.

Ban me if it makes you feel better. :rolleyes:

Well, guys

1. Are there any good places in Galway where I could see a nice Hurling/Gaelic football match?

2. If I go to pay the NUIG a visit, do I have to make an appointment first or is it possible to 'just walk around a bit'?

Thanks in advance lads & lassies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

If I go to pay the NUIG a visit, do I have to make an appointment first or is it possible to 'just walk around a bit'?

No appointment needed, you can just go and walk around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Ruadan

Yup,its very open. Full of fun deviant types and crazy hippies like meself, thares actually a huge german contingent here as well.

Theres nothing to stop you attending the odd lecture if you went completely nuts and for some reason decided that would be a good idea.....

And what is this modesty of which you speak? :confused:

Ayeeee, good to know that I can just walk around a bit and that people are friendly or of the crazy types, hehe. Yes, I'm German, but at the moment I study in the Netherlands and it is a bit boring where I study. This year I am going to finish my studies anyway, but I thought it would be nice to pay the NUIG a visit and to get an impression of the atmosphere there :p

About the modesty: Well, when I started the thread I hoped to find so to give me some 'insider tips' of Galway, to chat with, have some fun with, or perhaps to hang around with, but then the chaps replied with their funny, :eek: naughty comments!
    So I just made fun of their 'modesty'. Aaaa well, just kiddin' around a bit and who does understand German humour anyway :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Isabelle wrote:
    who does understand German humour anyway :confused:
    Indeed.

Hi Isabelle,
    you can find your gaa info here

You can get a map here.
    The games are played in Dangan.
    Enjoy Galway!

*hug*

Think thats about exam time when youre up, people de-stressing in various pubs around the place ;)

Thank you very much indeed for the great info about the map/sports !
    [plus I humbly apologise for the German humour :p ]

And Ruadan thanks for the tip that the students are de-stressing, hehe
    Go raibh maith 'ad ! *big smile*

Oh yeees, and a question about Irish Gaelic 'babog' (or sth?) does it really mean 'baby'? Is it a (hmmmm how shall I put this?) 'chat-up-line' or what ? *grin*

However I like when the Irish say 'my love'. I think it is really sweet and affectionate, hehe.

Keep the good work eh LOVELY work up!

Cheers m8

Isabelle wrote:
    Thank you very much indeed for the great info about the map/sports !
    [plus I humbly apologise for the German humour :p ]

And Ruadan thanks for the tip that the students are de-stressing, hehe
    Go raibh maith 'ad ! *big smile*

Oh yeees, and a question about Irish Gaelic 'babog' (or sth?) does it really mean 'baby'? Is it a (hmmmm how shall I put this?) 'chat-up-line' or what ? *grin*

However I like when the Irish say 'my love'. I think it is really sweet and affectionate, hehe.

Keep the good work eh LOVELY work up!

Cheers m8

Babóg is more like a doll/baby-doll that a child would have. It wouldn't really be a chat-upline - in my humble opinion at least smile.gif
    'my love' == 'mo ghrá' (pron: mugraw)

Go raibh míle maith agat *Gean gáire * :p

Recently I've found a site with magnificent Irish-Gaelic endearments. I was impressed by the wealth of loving and enchanting expressions:

Ways to express love

First person singular I
    Gráím thú – I love you – Not used often because Irish has been traditionally more of a prepositional language than a verbal one.
    Tugaim cion duit – I give you affection
    Tá cion agam ort – I have affection for you
    Tá mé ceanúil ort – I’m loving/ affectionate towards you
    Tá grá agam duit – I have love for you
    Táim i ngrá leat – I am in love with you
    Is breá liom – I love (a thing/ activity)

However I must say my favourite is:
    Tá mo chroí istigh ionat – My heart is within you

http://www.irishgaelictranslator.com/lessons/article-49-10.html

And I have always been loving this one: Gra-Mo-Chroi!

It reminds me of this Scottish protagonist/ main character James Fraser in the book 'Outlander' written by Diana Gabaldon. Softly he whispers his Claire sweet Gaelic words in the ear :p

Aaaaw, ye know women are helpless romantic, haha :eek:

Irish is a bit of a mix of Germanic and Latin languages, or at least it has evolved as such over time.

It has a neutral form of nouns like german called the neodar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

SyxPak wrote:
    Irish is a bit of a mix of Germanic and Latin languages.

ROFL :):) Irish is a Celtic language . You would be correct in saying that it has a very complete set of grammar rules ...as do German and Latin... but it is not a mix .

The neodar was phased out about 3-400 years ago .

Why dont ye geekeens simply invite her to a Lan party or tell her where to score that GigE schtuff .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Isabelle wrote:
    and who does understand German humour anyway :confused:

I do :)

Sponge Bob wrote:
    ROFL :):) Irish is a Celtic language . You would be correct in saying that it has a very complete set of grammar rules ...as do German and Latin... but it is not a mix .

The neodar was phased out about 3-400 years ago .

Why dont ye geekeens simply invite her to a Lan party or tell her where to score that GigE schtuff .

Good lad.

Have a word with Seamus O'Mairtín about it.
    I'm just paraphrasing what he spent 5 years drilling into us.

I'm just offering a bit of background, what came to my head.
    Nice of you to judge me based on a link in my sig.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

He did his best with what Marys gave him ....no doubt :)

Tell her about the rain, g'wan.

Isabelle, hi and stuff.

Visit Mayo, its cool.

Mythology and folklore interest me also, i'll send you some links if i can ever convince my webmail to let me have them back.

Hiyaaaa lovely lads just calm down

RELA [longest glottal stop ever] X !
    Goodie *strokes their heads* ;)

I’m not an expert in this matter, but I would say that both of you are right in a particular way:
    Gaelic is a Celtic language but it has, of course, Germanic (old Norse etc.) and Latin influences. This is understandable when you contemplate the history of Eire and have a closer look to the etymology of words.

Exempli gratia:
    Common Scottish place-name elements show some old Norse influence (sorry, I’ve just got a Scottish-Gaelic book, but you like your brothers, don’t you?)

-aig => often represents Old Norse vík a bay, as in Arisaig

source: The pocket guide to Scottish words/ Scots Gaelic, Iseabail Macleod

Now as you can see they even have my name in Gaelic: Isabelle = Iseabail! :eek:

Isabella/ Isabelle (from the Hebrew origin Elizabeth) has long been popular in Scotland in one form or another. Gaelic form is Iseabail. Aye, I know how it is pronounced. In Edinburgh, a nice Irish lady said it every time to me.

Thanks guys!

You'll never calm syxer down, he's a rolling ball of un-calm-downable moderating energy :eek:

on another note it would appear you have many potential friends for your visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

SyxPak wrote:

I was wondering where my post disappeared to... :rolleyes:

And it wasn't even naughty!

I had nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

My comment was meant as a joke to all the people who, once they find out a girl uses the internet immediately comes up with "r yu hot?" as an opener.

I didnt think it deserved a delete, it was clearly toungue in cheek :)

Drake - I did not delete your comment and I really don't mind when someone is a bit cheeky. Sometimes my humour is a bit 'lascivious' 2 :p At least my Scandinavian friends say so, hehe. So just relax & enjoy! *naughty grin*

Ruadan - Thanks. I am really fond of mythology, I'm interested in a whole bunch of subjects (sports,languages/culture, music,ecology, law, physics, literature and so forth). However a good sense of humour always works with me.

Besides, Ronan thanks for understanding German humour. Finally someone, haha :eek:

Sponge Bob Yeeaaaah a Lan party would be coool! :cool:

Syx Pak and Sponge thanks for the delight of wisdom and your input when it comes to lovely Gaelic

Must be: Ádh na nÉireannach

Have a staggeringly splendid day lads & lassies !

Now a nota bene to the meteorologists among you: What will the weather be like in May (Galway)? I hope it will not be too cold to wear a short skirt.
    I am not planning to freeze (somewhere :eek: ) haha

Questions:

Ruadan: 1. Are there any lectures around the exam time?
    2. If I may ask: What do you study?

For the Gaelic freaks: What does ‘Ceatharlach’ mean?

General I: Is there a good possibility to visit Ashford Castle and the Lough Mask? (I mean, when you want to start a tour from Galway and go there by train/bus whatsoever)
    General II: Are there any special off-the beaten track places around your area?

Remark about the weather:

At the moment it is ice-cold & snowy. I mean I am fond of nature, but this time I cannot see and do not want to feel the coldness anymore. I cannot wait…roll on gentle & warm spirit of spring! I cannot wait until the Galwegian May will blossom every ice-kissed flower, hehe.

Infinity of snow
    Touches my hair
    Forever snow in my soul

When my lips have the colour
    Of my sword
    Thou art doomed
    To cost icy water
    Thy heart will freeze to death

Ooops, a savage never cares about the weather, rrrright? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Weather:
    Probably rainy and a little cold, most lightly.

Ceatharlach means Carlow, I think im not sure.
    Carlow is a county in Ireland.
    Isabelle wrote:
    Is there a good possibility to visit Ashford Castle and the Lough Mask?
    As far as I know their are bus tours to both just go to the tourist office, they will answer any of your questions

Where is the tourist office:
    Somebody else will have to answer this I havent a clue of the street name.
    I would offer to show you but my exams begin then :(
    Isabelle wrote:
    Are there any special off-the beaten track places around your area?
    Ya there is but at the moment i cant thinks of any, im sure some of the other nice galway people will help you their :D

Good job Arginite ! Thanks so much, lad

Yeeeees, I know where the tourist office is. It is close to the Eyre Square stuffie and the Atlantic (At least sth I know ;)

Are there any cool theatres (town hall theatre/Druid theatre ? which is better) when it comes to 'good old plays'' in English or even Irish?

Thanks in advance

ARGINITE wrote:
    Somebody else will have to answer this I havent a clue of the street name.
    Its on foster street just off eyre square.

You should visit the aran islands for Irish language.
    They'res a cool ring fort on a cliff overlooking the atlantic.
    Aran ferries are on foster street too as far as i remember.

http://www.aranislandferries.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

It helps when you are born there Isabelle.

I know you didnt delete it Isabelle, was talking to the ironfisted mod Syxpak ;D

Ironfisted, for your pleasure Alan ;>

SyxPak wrote:
    Ironfisted, for your pleasure Alan ;>
    PM this stuff please!
    We dont need to know what yee do outside boards. :D

Isabelle wrote:

Ruadan - Thanks. I am really fond of mythology, I'm interested in a whole bunch of subjects (sports,languages/culture, music,ecology, law, physics, literature and so forth). However a good sense of humour always works with me.

Howdy, there should be some courses still running.

I am in second year of a 4 year undenominated Bsc course hoping to get a degree in Chemistry. In my spare time i study much of everything, am the current secretary of the NUI, Galway Philosophy society and reecently failed in an attempt to win a by- election for the position of environmental officer in the Students Union.

Currently occupied with My second campaighn, the same position, but the full term next year. Election next thursday :eek:

Weather, tends to be pretty warm about then, but it will rain.

Peace.

It helps when you are born there Isabelle.

Actually, I do not think that is true :p *yeah ye're rrrright the cheeky Germans*

As I remember you have no street numbers and streets names are rare, too. Some of the street names are in Irish that is alright, but some people (natives) cannot read it either, because they forgot about Gaelic (what a pitty) even in the Ghaeltacht areas. I remember that nice jolly taxi driver, who told me all about that and some people of the Sleepzone who did not know where to find a place that is so close (wrong map). :confused:

Please, don’t tell me it helps when you are born there, hehe. Nonetheless, what I do appreciate are the wonderful tips of the kind Galwegians. Keep the good work up!

Aaaaw, isn't this Eire so lovely chaotic, hehe.
    [Reminds me of the book: Daughter of Lir by Diana Norman
    two strangers from two different worlds. Their worlds collide/clash and yet they are not different enough to love]

Furthermore, I’ve been to Galway once (first week of this year), but it was a very, very short stay, just one week (‘really meager’). I went to the Atlantic to brush up my rusty English and I had private tuition. This was really cool. I had a kind teacher and my focus was on pronunciation (I have an icelandic intonation :eek: ] It was this lovely Pygmalion story just like Eliza and Prof Higgins and I got to know about the wonderful world of ‘Ths’ and how the Irish pronounce the ‘h’ (‘th-test’ – now I try to do my best to support the Irish and pronounce it like the Irish do ;)

About the rest of the days: My friends were not really motivated. They walked around like little divas. This means they were constantly complaining about the weather and they did not want to visit many places, that’s why I haven’t seen so much, but I’m very fond of Eire, I enjoyed my lessons and the small bits of Galway.

This time I am planning to do more things, to see more things and interesting places that often insiders know, therefore I ask the questions about Galway. I want to see things about sports, culture and nature. I really need ‘’input’
    [input: for the computer freaks: some software to install
    for the poets; give me soul food. Feeeeed me, teeeeeach meeeeeee *begging on her knees*

Ruadan: Oh yeees, you have a couple of splendid interests. You’re really the current secretary of the NUIG?
    Oh and I wish you the best with the elections. Besides, Í'm very busy also. I've got two studies and two jobs (teacher of German :eek: / translator of websites).

Irish Blessings
    May there always be work for your hands to do,
    May your purse always hold a coin or two.
    May the sun always shine warm on your windowpane,
    May a rainbow be certain to follow each rain.
    May the hand of a friend always be near you,
    And may God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you!

Alright, Mr hamburger-eating-environmentalist
    Take care

Arginite: Your first name sounds very Dutch to me

Syx Pak: I think it is cool that you use the German thingie: Franziskanerführer of the Knights of Comeonbanus. Why is that ?

Oh yes, it is good to have an enthousiastic moderator. Come on rest, treasssure that :cool:

I like Weissbier more than Budweiser/Heineken/Carlsberg etc.
    It's more fun to pour for a start.
    The Knights are the result of an in-joke on Boards.

You suck John..

Lets have a bit of fun eh?

Read the charter :)

And your posts are more like After Hours or PI fodder.

This is me in official mode.

SyxPak wrote:
    Irish is a bit of a mix of Germanic and Latin languages, or at least it has evolved as such over time.

It has a neutral form of nouns like german called the neodar.

To come back to this topic after all the 'naughty remarks' here and there:

I like the comparison, however, my association refers to the richness of words of both languages. Gaelic has a whole bunch of proverbs and in German there are so many phrases and words for every fine nuance. It's really great! Nay, I'm not just talking about the 11 different words that describe going to the loo :p There are other priorities. (Look Sarky: I'm not that modest either, am I?)

Moreover, for some people it sounds harsh & monotonous, but it can be different. And like I told someone before: It can be so soft and
    sweet as a kiss of a young bride & so dark and powerful as infinity of
    night!

Oh Syxpak, good to hear about the beer :cool:

Isabelle wrote:
    Ruadan: Oh yeees, you have a couple of splendid interests. You’re really the current secretary of the NUIG?
    Oh and I wish you the best with the elections. Besides, Í'm very busy also. I've got two studies and two jobs (teacher of German :eek: / translator of websites).
    :

Nui, Galway philosophy society. "philsoc" for short
    I don't think the NUI even has a secretary.......

Wowzers thats much busyness! I get stressed with 2 lab write ups a week and occasional outdoor part time work.

Ruadan: Ooopsie that I got the secretary thing wrong *shame, red cheeks glowing*

Aye, I'm quite busy and I hope to relax in a cool pub in Galway and enjoy some good traditional or rock music. I've just checked out a demo version of Delorentos. 'Belgium' is kinda cool song ;)

So Roisin Dubh or Sallys would be good to have craic ?
    Any other pubs to recommend ?

Moreover, I've found sth interesting at the Galway Advertiser: Shaw classic to be staged by Compantás Lir at An Taibhdhearc
    Claregalway-Carnmore drama group Compántas Lir will stage the classic George Bernard Shaw play Pygmalion in An Taibhdhearc for two nights next week. ==> Why can't I be there ?

isa_ash.jpg