Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

another one for ye?

• 23-02-2005 9:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭

Moved into a new house recently. One of the girls there is a cracker and dead sound to boot.
    But she has a boyfriend. Its a funny situation though because day before valentines she point blank denied to me that she had someone to take her out and asked me joking would i take her out. I joked that id love to but nothing happened anyway. I was only just in the house and didnt want to come across as a physco.

But anyway things are great. Every night we spend hours talking even though she always says she's going to bed in 20 mins at 9 and stays up til after 12.30 most nights. Sometimes she touches my arm and models her new dresss etc. Anytime we talk about her boyf, she says hes wierd and boring an all. One night i dropped her down to meet him she said she was gonna fling him cas he didnt look right on her arm and believe me he doesnt.

I've actually been as charming as its possible to be without being obvious and i jump at any oppurtunity.
    A few times she's asked me to take her out but something always came up either on her part or mine so i dunno. Its probably better that way though.

So, what to do?
    1 - Say f*ck it and ask her out. No way.
    2 - Ask her out or get her out in a covert way. Chat to her all night and if we're both drunk enough at the end then chance holding her hand (always the clincher i feel) andtake it from there. Maybe but hard because of the boyf frequenting our locals.
    3 - Wait til she slings the boy and then do either of the above. Probably but she might never sling him and anytime he calls around which is almost never and always for less then 30 mins and i always feel sick inside. Hes sound enough but id love to hammer him anyway.

What do ye think? Id be taking a big chance cas i dont want to f*ck up the great atmosphere in the house but maybe its worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭LeperKing

Move out, and then ask her out. You're going into a world of hurt trying to start a romantic relationship with someone you live with. (and has a boyfriend!)

If you're that crazy about her throw caution to the wind, but make sure you are aware of all the potential pitfalls that can occur, because you're cohabiting.

She's probably been very friendly/(borderline flirting) to you to ensure there's a good atmosphere in the house.

LK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Man, what do you want her to do? walk into your room naked, jump ontop of you in your bed and say "take meh!!!111"

She's disses her b/f infront of you ALL the time, she hangs out with you as if your her b/f, modeling dresses and what not, and to top it off, she keeps dropping hints for you to take her out!!

Look, she mightn't want to break it off with her b/f for you if she dosen't think she'll get with you....and count yourself damn lucky she drops THAT many hints...that's loads!! The way to show your interested is ask her out in a casual manner...like on a saturday afternoon say "Lucy (whatever her name is...dont actually call her lucy :D) im bored off my ass, lets do something in town"....then show her you're good b/f matieral, go around shops with her, look at clothes, go for some cofee and lunch, then top it all of f by going to the pub for a couple in town (Irish game is on and all, so there's your excuse ;)). Hopefully you wont even notice the time fly, and you'll stay in together for saturday night just the 2 of you too!! ;) (make sure you bring your atm card...you could be in for a while, and buy her a little bracelet or something when she points it out in the shop and says, "aww that's nice")

If you want her dude, be brave....it's not even that bad if she wasnt interested...just keep doing what i suggested and stuff like that, and it'll happen naturally, dont force it! And even if it doesn't happen, she'll just think you're a really cool guy, so no worries about messin up the vibe in your gaf.

Good luck man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

uum wrote:
    3 - Wait til she slings the boy and then do either of the above. Probably but she might never sling him and anytime he calls around which is almost never and always for less then 30 mins and i always feel sick inside. Hes sound enough but id love to hammer him anyway.

What do ye think? Id be taking a big chance cas i dont want to f*ck up the great atmosphere in the house but maybe its worth it

Be carefull dude,she could be just playing you, woman love attention. doesnt mean she will leave him though. If she does __fair game,, go for it. :)

But think of it from his (boyfriends) perspective, would you like it if some slimy cvnt (thats how he will see you, slobbering all over his girlfriend) tried it on with a girl you were seeing... what goes around dude... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭uum

Naw i aint moving out. Class house in a class area.
    I kinda know how this sh!t works now though so i aint going rushing into anything.
    I understand the bit now about girls flirting with you and not actually liking you. I know that they are only here to wreck lads heads (sorry but it is the thing they are best at anyway), but how then do you know if a girl flirting with you actually likes you or not. You have to try i think.
    But the right oppurtunity is whats needed. Need to get that boyfriend out of the picture too. Lay the groundwork in the meantime. She tells me she can drink vodka for days without getting drunk! Well so can i, and i drink mine straight with a squeeze of lemon so we'll see if i can get her out just the two of us some night.

OOh i hope im not reading this situation completely arse ways. Ithink im not but itd be a big kick in the teeth is i was and itd mean i d be house hunting again soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Let things take their natural course. I know the girls I live with will often complain about their boyfriends in front of us lads, will model their outfits for a night out and ask which we think looks best etc. Because a lot of people adhere to an unwritten rule of not dating housemates, she could just see you as someone that it's safe to flirt with for a bit of fun and attention.

Tread very carefully.

Be carefull dude,she could be just playing you, woman love attention. doesnt mean she will leave him though. If she does __fair game,, go for it. :)

But think of it from his (boyfriends) perspective, would you like it if some slimy cvnt (thats how he will see you, slobbering all over his girlfriend) tried it on with a girl you were seeing... what goes around dude... :mad:
    Totally see your point and i hate doing it but everytime he calls over i feel sick physically.
    And im not sliming over her either. I've learned the hard way over the last few years how to play it cool without being over the top and it works a nice bit. Little things like tilting your head sideways when talking to her and gay sh!t like that. Like what to say and when to say it. Plan every conversation and eventualities well in advance.

As for dubguy22's reply. I just dunno man. Ilove it to be like that but we're never really around for the weekend so thats out. Maybe i have been too cool. Some times i try to be too clever and tell her she's gorgeous in the middle of a sentence about home and away or something. It takes a few minutes for her to even realise ive said it and then she blushes and giggles and says "Housemates shoulnt say that to each other" or some such.

Oh aswell i brought a girl back saturday night which i prob shouldnt have in the long run but f*ck that it was cold saturday night.

Maybe she does think im not interested. Have to cut out some of that subtlety but good plan DUbguy

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What does "he doesn't look right on her arm" mean when it's at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

OH FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!!!!

and this annoys me because its a situation that happened to my partner a year or two ago.

you meet someone. they have a partner. they talk to you. in fact, you get on great, and they tell you things, and you tell them things, and you have a fab time, and you have beers. and they still have a partner.

if this was a bloke, would you want to fúck him? or would you call him a good mate.

why is it different if its a woman? why does a bloke automatically think that hes fallen in love with this person, becuase he has managed to revel some deep and eprsonal part of himself in a drunken conversation with a member of the opposite sex?

look, a woman smiling at you, engaging you in conversation, being pleasant, actually giving you the time of day, does not equate to her wanting you in her. full stop. stop thinking with your prcks for one moment, and use your bloody brain to use for 2 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

stop thinking with your prcks for one moment, and use your bloody brain to use for 2 seconds.
    Oh, the ironing...

I agreee with your point for the most part though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

uum wrote:
    Totally see your point and i hate doing it but everytime he calls over i feel sick physically.

So its love then,,
    uum wrote:
    Oh aswell i brought a girl back saturday night which i prob shouldnt have in the long run but f*ck that it was cold saturday night.

Maybe not,, :rolleyes:

leave her alone till she is single..

why is it different if its a woman?

I think this is obvious. Im not gay and im 21. My whole life revolves around good looking girls.
    Did you read my original post? I doubt it.

I think its plain for all to see (well if you actually read my posts) that im not going to rush off and tell her i want to marry her or something stupid. I matured a little bit past that (not much but a bit) but i am big time interested in her. Who wouldnt be? Even a f*ckin snow man would get on a horn if he saw what i saw the other night with her new shopping!

I just want a bit of advice whether its pr!ck teasing or not even that or just being friendly or maybe just maybe for real!

Its built in me to always assume that she's not interested regardless who she is, after the teenage years i had which were as tough as anyone's.

I think its those maybe's that make life what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

uum wrote:
    she point blank denied to me that she had someone to take her out and asked me joking would i take her out.

Sometimes she touches my arm and models her new dresss etc. Anytime we talk about her boyf, she says hes wierd and boring an all. One night i dropped her down to meet him she said she was gonna fling him cas he didnt look right on her arm and believe me he doesnt.

A few times she's asked me to take her out but something always came up either on her part or mine so i dunno. Its probably better that way though.

Slapper, tbh. You don't go around bad-mouthing your bloke and flirting/dressing up for a relative stranger.

What if you started going out with her? How would you know if she was doing the same stuff behind your back?

What's her motive for going out with a bloke she doesn't seem interested in, or apparently doesn't even like? She must be getting something out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

uum wrote:
    she was gonna fling him cas he didnt look right on her arm
    You are really interested in a woman thats that superficial? Go for it ...it wont be long before she is saying the same thing about you.