Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is a smile a chance...

• 18-02-2005 12:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Here goes: I haven't got much of a social life at the moment, have been back living at home 'down the country' for 7 months now after going to uni and looking for work in UK for 5 years in total.

Friends made at uni are living in UK, 2 travelling and one abroad. I also work for myself from home and don't get out and about as much as I'd like...

Anyway, I was on a business trip to UK a while back and noticed quite a few pretty good looking girls smiliing at me - bear in mind that given the above, this rarely happens - one was at Dublin airport, another at hotel in UK, and a few at UK airports I was travelling through.

Since I'm a bit shy, what's the best way to approach a girl in this situation and is it asking too much to think that I might get her number?

Hope this isn't coming across as stalkerish or anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

1) Smile back
    2)Walk over as full of confidence as possible
    3)when she looks up ask her would she mind if you sat beside her
    4)Then say, hi, my name is ...... and put out your hand

see how you get on then make up your mind wheather you want her number or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

people smile when they are in a good mood. they also smile at people they find attractive.
    id take ti as a little compliment and be happy that you are attractive to women.

but hey, i bet you got a real buzz out of it. some blonde chick smiled at me the other day as i came out of marcs and spencer. it gave me such a good feeling, that pretty soon i was beaming myself walking up the street, until i happen to make eye contact with some other girl, while i had a big sh1t eating smile on my face. and then she smiled. i hope everyone down the high street was smiling by the time i got back to the office .

its just a pretty good felling :)

oh, and to answer your question, if you want to ask them their phone number, then ask for it, but just remember, that becuase they think you are good looking, or are smiling, doesnt mean they want to have wild weasle monkey sex.
    they may just be in a really good mood :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

To be very honest with you, i would make nothing of it. I mean do you not think you would stand out like a bit of a cock by going up and starting a conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

cheesedude wrote:
    To be very honest with you, i would make nothing of it. I mean do you not think you would stand out like a bit of a cock by going up and starting a conversation.
    Well TBH no, feck no, just go up to the girl smile and put out your hand and say:
    "Hi Im [INSERT FIRST NAME], and you are?", then follow up with complements using her name, coupla jokes. If ya get this far your well in!

thats right, if she tells you her name, she is obviously gagging for a good shag...

well your honour, she smiled at me and i took it that it meant 'yes'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭AlisonB

cheesedude wrote:
    Cheesedude? How else are you going to get talking to a girl you dont know?

The ONLY way to get talking to a girl that you dont know is to go up to and start talking to her. How else are you going to do it ? Alot of girls are still old-fashioned in the sense that they will never approach a guy, however, they'll let them know if they are interested in some other manner - smiling could be one of them .. you'll know by the smile ;) . The signs are usually there.

Best thing to do is just approach them and tell them your name and say "nice to meet you"... and carry on from there. Girls are suckers for manners and independence. You'll come across as having both if you do!

Anyway best of luck :)

thats right, if she tells you her name, she is obviously gagging for a good shag...

well your honour, she smiled at me and i took it that it meant 'yes'
    Ya well maybe, if your a f***in' Rapist!

For the rest of the population (male or female), shes not revolted by you, so why not talk to the girl! And if it does lead to sex, you'll start smiling a bit more, whats wrong with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

It was the way you implied that by giving him her name the guy was now "well in" - a load of old arse, as you well know.

wwm was merely taking the piss out of you. :rolleyes:

I didnt mean it in a serious abusive manner mojo, I was messin too with my response... I guess it was a little too subtle, oh well.

hold on now, if ur in a social setting such as a classroom or a workplace or down the pub ok...stick that hand out and try it on...

But for ****s sake, are u telling me, an innocent smile down grafton street, you are gonna go up and talk to her and say hey bla bla bla....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 stuka

she could've been smiling at you, not to you. the former is not a good thing.

First post to say that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 stuka

yeah, but, too late now to change it. mine is a valid point nonetheless

Many thanks for the comments.
    I do realise that there may have been someone behind me or something that she was smiling at, in which case, d'oh!
    Also good to hear the female point of view.

I'll have to try and see if I can make a few dates the next time something like this happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I got a cab the other day in town, and while we were stopped at a set of lights, a Garda car pulled up beside us. I looked accross and there was a really cute female Garda in the car.. I gave her a big cheeky grin. She responded in kind. Cheeky smile, glanced away, and then back again.. I reckon she wanted me, but there was no way I was gonna roll me window down and start trying to pull a Garda in mid-traffic..
    Made for great 'thinking' material later on though.. So yeah.. a smile can mean a lot :D

Kev.

I didnt mean it in a serious abusive manner mojo, I was messin too with my response... I guess it was a little too subtle, oh well.

sorry, i didnt get it at first, but i do now that you pointd out the subtle bit.
    thanks

so, have we figured out yet, that a smile is actually just a smile, and is nice?

would you go and shake hands, personally, its not up my street, unless she was with someone i know in a social setting.

if ti were a street or airport or something, well, i reckon i would just think to myself she smiled coz i was gorgeous, and go about my business smiling to myself and thinking ium gorgeous, and not becuase she just spotted me with my fly undone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

cheesedude wrote:
    First post to say that?
    Nearly a year here, almost a thousand posts and this is one of your additions to this thread/new poster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

joejoem wrote:
    1) Smile back
    2)Walk over as full of confidence as possible
    3)when she looks up ask her would she mind if you sat beside her
    4)Then say, hi, my name is ...... and put out your hand

see how you get on then make up your mind wheather you want her number or not.

How to meet girls.

Should be a sticky really.

Also, to add i did street work for charity for abit in Oz and while doing that I found I could go up to the most beautiful of girls with a bit of cofidence and basicaly chat them up confidence goes a really long long way also eye contact and smiling are also good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pink Bunny

I gave her a big cheeky grin. She responded in kind. Cheeky smile, glanced away, and then back again..
    Kev.
    Yea....I was going to write something along the same lines....it's the body language and also the smile-look away-smile thing that means "I'm interested". But personally I might freak if a guy I just smiled at came right up to me and introduced himself right away. I'd feel more comfortable if we continued the little smiles thing making eye contact for a bit then he came up kind of casual and said "hi".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭combs

Pink Bunny wrote:
    Yea....I was going to write something along the same lines....it's the body language and also the smile-look away-smile thing that means "I'm interested". But personally I might freak if a guy I just smiled at came right up to me and introduced himself right away. I'd feel more comfortable if we continued the little smiles thing making eye contact for a bit then he came up kind of casual and said "hi".
    Yes, of course, you like the flirting and the glances and all that teasing but you're not prepared to trouble yourself with talking. If he did try to talk to you you'd look at him like he was mad. God, I hate women!

Also, that 'smile' does not mean anything. For the smiler it means 'I'm lovely and I'm going to make your day by smiling at you.' The look you want to watch out for is the 'stunned' look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Pink Bunny wrote:

Yeah, because if you can keep up the smiles without talking for a few minutes, that proves you're not a psychopath...

That sort of delay might work in confined areas like trains but anywhere else it's a case of move it or lose it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

You could just jog back to her in a flustered manner and say, sorry I couldn't let you go without chancing to ask you to meet for lunch tomorrow?

I don't think the hand shaking works very well. Especially if you're walking along the street, if somebody smiles at you you're not going to drop your shopping bags and go to shake their hand.

A smile means many things but there is a chance if she is smiling, looking in your eyes with that certain look, she is interested. You will never see her again or anyone else who is walking by so you may as well give it a shot!

If she is in an airport waiting room or anything just go up and ask her does she want a coffee, a 2 player game in the arcade, a race to the top floor, a dance off or something like that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Besprechen

peeps also smile when the sun shines in their faces, or when they're eating something sour or they're yappin on bluetooth devices or they've just thought of somethin nice so do be careful you dont make a right eejit of yourself barging up to them. Try walking to work one day next week, smile at everyone you pass, you'll be surprised at who smiles back and the feelgood factor when you get into work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

You will know if they are smiling at you are not though, if they are looking in your eyes, if this is after they have looked you from head to toe (remember the bitter sweet symphony vid and that gal looks the camera [lead singers eyes] from head to toe and gives a certain "i want you" look) well if you get that, do something about it!!!!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

going to try the smiling thing. Its mad. The day after the all ireland final got the train back to mayo with a rather glum look. I sat in the first set of seats i could find. I usually prefer a seat on my own but the train was busy so i had to take this seat beside this girl. I got talking to her and it was great, It passed the journey down and got talkig about the match. Found out she was just back from italy etc. It was nice and i left the train with a smile and i had a great day.Dont think she wanted me, and i didnt ask for her number as she lived a good bit away from me and i didnt thnik it would work out. But i am glad i started talkignto her all the same. Gave me a bit of confidence and it lasted a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pink Bunny

combs wrote:
    Yes, of course, you like the flirting and the glances and all that teasing but you're not prepared to trouble yourself with talking. If he did try to talk to you you'd look at him like he was mad. God, I hate women!
    Read what I wrote again, Combs.
    "But personally I might freak if a guy I just smiled at came right up to me and introduced himself right away. I'd feel more comfortable if we continued the little smiles thing making eye contact for a bit then he came up kind of casual and said "hi"."
    Wouldn't it be a bit unnerving if you smiled at someone and then they suddenly got up and came over to you? I think so, anyway. And if you wait a couple minutes and just do the flirting thing it also clears up any confusion as to the intention of the first "smiler". The sudden running over to someone just because they smiled at you smells of desperation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭combs

Well, I suppose so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Besprechen

thinkin more about it just now it reminded me of the time a few summers back i called into the boi just off stephens green while waiting for a friend to do some transactions. I was just stood there looking idly around me, when all of a sudden i caught the eye of a pretty cashier and smiled before I realised I was doing it and she smiled right back.
    I walked out and always regretted never queuing up to say hello, and probably looking a right amadán! But i'll never know.
    Anyway, Moral of story, as long as youre not chasing her up the street if she's seems worth it and you think you may regret it then go for it!