Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bands needed for Eamon Dorans gig

• 17-02-2005 9:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Hey all jus looking to see if any bands would be interested in playing Eamon Dorans with us on the 20th of March? Were called Invocation and are a Dublin based 3 piece Blues/rock band with an average age of about 20 and do all original material. This will be our third gig together and were jus looking to get giging with some similar bands really so we have two places there for the taking. Our website aint finished yet so if anyone interested would like to pm me with some details of their band or email Invocationmusic@hotmail.com. Any music clips would be much appreciated too!

Rock on,

Aaron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

is this a pay to play gig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

God, surely not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jimmy-James

Were renting the place for the night for 150euro so its upto any of the bands interseted wheteher they want to split that with us and then split the earnings on the door or just play for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Bastardisation

I might have a band that's interested! We're like a metal/blues band, and anything else in between, because we're open minded. I'll email you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Gerr

Hey folks, come on I'm sure there's lots of great bands out there looking for gigs. These guys are deadly too, not many bands manage to fill Eamon Doran's on a Monday night and it be their first gig!

Come on and do the Bullfrog Blues....!!!

Hmmm... Since when has dorans been pay to play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Papa Hoff wrote:
    Hmmm... Since when has dorans been pay to play?
    Venues aren't free. He isn't asking anyone to pay, it's out of his pocket.

Sorry Giblet, but (about four years ago tbh) I played Dorans. You NEVER had to pay there around then... In fact they had a sliding scale...
    1) Play support Saturday daytime
    2) Play support Mon/Tue/Wed
    3) Play support Fri/Sat
    4) Headline Sat day
    5) Headline Mon/Tue/Wed night
    6) Headline Thurs/Fri/Sat.

And you got paid for all those gigs...

Is there nowhere that is free to play anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Papa Hoff wrote:
    Sorry Giblet, but (about four years ago tbh) I played Dorans. You NEVER had to pay there around then... In fact they had a sliding scale...
    1) Play support Saturday daytime
    2) Play support Mon/Tue/Wed
    3) Play support Fri/Sat
    4) Headline Sat day
    5) Headline Mon/Tue/Wed night
    6) Headline Thurs/Fri/Sat.

And you got paid for all those gigs...

Is there nowhere that is free to play anymore?
    i don't think so.. i haven't played there(and not lookin forward to playin there as it's a kip!) but afaik you book the place out and then try and sell enough tickets to cover the cost, if you sell enough to cover it then grand, but if you can't then you loose out

Well why the f**k would anyone play there? Whelans (Much nicer imo) is 300 for a weekend night. I'd definitely put more resources into a gig there. I reall thought they still used that scale in Dorans... Oh well, what a sh1tty country/city we live in.

We got the Sugarclub for 300 euro for Boardstock. Whelans was much higher than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭emurphy

Hey all just thought I'd add to the madness here!!
    First off Dorans was a great start to lets hope is the start of an amazing next few months and years of Invocation as a band. We had an amazing crowd for a Monday night in attendance and hope that this gig on Sunday March 20th will bring us a similar crowd.. Gigs in the future will of course include Whelans though. Just not yet. Its goin to be a great summer of gigs though I can feel it!!!
    And secondly and in this case lastly ... anyone who does fancy checking us out we are playing a gig in The Voodoo Lounge tomorrow week , Wednesday 2nd March .. Entry 5 Euro at the door.. See ye there!!!

Eoin -- Bassist
    Invocation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 beach

Hey,
    I sent a mail through to Invocationmusic@hotmail.com - get back to us if you're interested.
    Cheers,
    -n

emurphy wrote:
    Hey all just thought I'd add to the madness here!!
    First off Dorans was a great start to lets hope is the start of an amazing next few months and years of Invocation as a band. We had an amazing crowd for a Monday night in attendance and hope that this gig on Sunday March 20th will bring us a similar crowd.. Gigs in the future will of course include Whelans though. Just not yet. Its goin to be a great summer of gigs though I can feel it!!!
    And secondly and in this case lastly ... anyone who does fancy checking us out we are playing a gig in The Voodoo Lounge tomorrow week , Wednesday 2nd March .. Entry 5 Euro at the door.. See ye there!!!

Eoin -- Bassist
    Invocation

Just curious but did most of the crowd not comprise of friends of the bands playing that were dragged along to make up the numbers? Any gigs like that, that i have ever gone to that has generally been the case. Otherwise that's fairly cool.

Hey nidge yeah your spot on there the crowd was mainly mates and anyone we had dirt on and could blackmail into going! Nothing worth bragging bout really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭jimidalliance

Hey
    We played in Dorans around this time last year for free, on a sat afternoon to a crowd of about three people. They seemed to like it but thats not the point!!! We have to travel up from Arklow (south Wicklow), We don't mind doing that but it has to be kinda worth it! ( i don't mean money, just need to play to more than 3 people!!)
    Avoid sat afternoons!!
    We don't do pay to play but we'll do it for free!
    We play our own indie-rock tunes. We're called Dalliance, If yer interested giz a shout!
    Jimmy :cool:
    jimidalliance@yahoo.com

true our mates and mates of our mates came along anyway and hopefully will do again but its the friends of the other bands there that you get to impress and there was a few of them there also so thats how word spreads about your band by basically robbing other bands friends. Maybe next time theyll see that we are playin a gig somewhere else and they'll come along and bring a few other mates.. So I feel anyway that it was a successfull nit and hopefully the other gigs will be too. Roll on Voodoo on the Wednes March 2nd

Well midday wouldn't be a good time to play any day of the week.

Yeah the whole friends of the other bands thing is a weird one. I mean they really are the only new people you have to play for, but judging by friends they just stand there saying that all the other bands are ****, and if they were good they take no notice, and sure even when the band they came for plays they still don't make much of a noise. Anyway most of the stories you hear about bands that make it big is that they just played everywhere and everntually got a big fan base, that means going all over Ireland. Not that i am saying that this is what anyones doing but one can't play Dorans' once and expect anymore people to come the next time solely for your band. Sad but true....damn.

Bump!

Theres no need to bump a thread that hasn't moved from the top.

sorry man meant ya can get rid of this thread we got all the replies needed. Thanks a lot

If you give us a tour bus we'll go tour ireland no problem would be great craic!!! , until then it looks like its goin to be play as many gigs when and were you can get them.. Anywho did you see that the frames tour bus nearly caught fire on the way to Germany, their tour manager was fixing the chain on the snow tracks and saw the heater had caught fire.. The got out without any trouble though...phew! Maybe we should rethink this touring idea... stick to dorans I think!!! :-)