Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advising other gym users.

• 06-02-2005 2:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

Does anyone approach those gym users who read books/papers while doing a slow peddle on the bikes or people using weight machines with little or no resistance? Or hogging the threadmills while doing a slow walk.

I am always tempted to go up to them and advise that these kinds of activities are pointless. Are they pointless? Maybe I'm wrong. And in the case of hogging machines (especially when watching the televisions) to complain they are being inconsiderate of other gym users.

Am I a nag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

I guess my opinion would be if they pay their membership fee they should be able to skip naked on one foot if they want to (and if its possible to skip on one foot). I've often thought I should say something if I see someone doing something potentially dangerous. Mind you the instructers see it too and say nothing......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

RedRules5 wrote:
    Does anyone approach those gym users who read books/papers while doing a slow peddle on the bikes or people using weight machines with little or no resistance? Or hogging the threadmills while doing a slow walk.

I am always tempted to go up to them and advise that these kinds of activities are pointless. Are they pointless? Maybe I'm wrong. And in the case of hogging machines (especially when watching the televisions) to complain they are being inconsiderate of other gym users.

Am I a nag?
    Why do you care?

If they're not impedeing your workout why should you worry?

I realise that to you these activities seem pointless, but often this is the only physical activity that some of these people get and to be honest it's a helluva lot better than none.

You also have no idea what a person's medical history is when you see them in the gym. Some gym users could have serious heart conditions that prevents them from doing anything more strenuous than a slow walk. They may be on a very specialised activity programme and it's not for you or I to question it.

Unless you are a qualified instructer and know an individuals case history i.e. background in exercise, medical history etc. it is my opinion that you shouldn't interfere in their exercise routine.

Again, with regards to hogging machines, they've paid the same membership fees as you and are just as entitled to use them. If the gym owners didn't want people looking at television while using the equipment then they wouldn't place televisions there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

RedRules5 wrote:
    I am always tempted to go up to them and advise that these kinds of activities are pointless.
    And strangely enough I'm always tempted to tell people with that attitude to go fvck themselves. That's exactly the reaction I'd expect you'd get if you actually did go up to someone and tell them what they were doing was pointless. I hate uppity self-righteous gym posers who think only their way is right. It's none of your business what they're doing or why they're doing it - they paid their money too and can do what they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

^^
    What she (Amz) said.

That's in fact exactly what I was going to post. Scary :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

I read a book when I'm on the bike, I get bored other wise, what's wrong with that? You sound like a typical dumb meat head found in most gyms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Amz wrote:

Again, with regards to hogging machines, they've paid the same membership fees as you and are just as entitled to use them. If the gym owners didn't want people looking at television while using the equipment then they wouldn't place televisions there.

Gyms often have a max time for machines at peak times, if this is the case then make sure it is enforced. Hogging machines is unreasonable beyond a threshold.

Personally - I can't understand why people who go to the gym only to jog or walk do so. because the machines are boring. just do it outside.

If it's part of a greater routine then fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

I wonder why they bother going alright but Id never even think of going up to anyone and saying anything to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Hey i sometimes walk on a threadmill for an hour if there's a gap between classes I want to do - I pay my fees so what's wrong with that?!?! If I had a book I'd prob fall and break my neck so I stick to ipod/tv/counting the cars going by the window...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭delanest

I'm a frequent gym user and I find that January is the worst time to use the gym because of all those new years resolutions. Now in the begining of feb the machines are more available.

I train every day, I was also frustrated on waiting for machines, so currently I train in the mornings before work. a lot of people complain that they dont have time etc, but I think you will find that the majority of people do if they put their mind to it.

Persionally I dont see the point in doing aroebic exercise in a gym, get out in the fresh (cold) air and do it there. Use the gym for swimming and weight training (which everybody should do)

Later ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

RedRules5 wrote:

Unless you work in the gym then these people pay exactly the same fees as you and the manner in which they use the machines, if safe is none of your business.

However if I see someone incorrectly using some equipment and potentially going to hurt themselves I will go up and ask them if they'd like any help with their routine or any of the machines.
    I am always tempted to go up to them and advise that these kinds of activities are pointless. Are they pointless? Maybe I'm wrong.

So you don't even know if they're pointless but you're tempted to go up and tell people they are anyway. Bit narcissistic isn't it?
    And in the case of hogging machines (especially when watching the televisions) to complain they are being inconsiderate of other gym users.

Am I a nag?

This is one where I can agree. The only time I've ever asked someone to move along was during January. On back day I start with deadlifts out of the squat rack. If there's someone using the squat rack when I enter the gym I'll leave my towel beside the rack and go walk on the treadmill until the persons finished.

Now the guy using the squatrack was obviously new, wearing a skin tight wife beater and sunglasses after pulling a bench into the squat rack and proceeding to do 25kg military shoulder presses in there alternating with using the rack as a lock for his feet while he did situp.

He alternated situps with presses for a good 15 sets including his walk around time put him at about 45 mins in the rack all the while the military press station was totally free.

In the end I did approach him and ask if he'd consider using the military press station as I needed the squat rack to start my back session.

This is an extreme example and the only time I've ever had to approach someone to ask them to move on.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Maggie Annie

FX Meister wrote:
    I read a book when I'm on the bike, I get bored other wise, what's wrong with that? You sound like a typical dumb meat head found in most gyms.

bet you're sorry you spoke RedRules!

I agree with Amz, OFDM and FX Meister in particular.

good thing you checked before you went and said anything huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭RedRules5

God yes!

I take the point about people having their own routine and its not for me to interfere (I never have done, and won't now) but just because they pay their fees doesn't automatically give them the right to spend as long as they like on the machines when others are waiting. Its just that it adds to my fustration when they appear to be underusing the machines, but again, I agree that this should be no concern of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Why not just ask the guy can you work in? any time i ask anyone can i work in when they are using a bench or rack i always find it a great way to get chatting and get a good spot also.

I agree with Amz, OFDM and FX Meister in particular.

good thing you checked before you went and said anything huh?

I forgot to mention that I use a lot of the resistence machines and the free weights too. What pisses me off is the spas who take three sets of weights and leave two sets lying by their bench for 15 minutes and the goons who don't bother bringing a sweat towel to the gym.

RedRules5 wrote:
    God yes!

I take the point about people having their own routine and its not for me to interfere (I never have done, and won't now) but just because they pay their fees doesn't automatically give them the right to spend as long as they like on the machines when others are waiting. Its just that it adds to my fustration when they appear to be underusing the machines, but again, I agree that this should be no concern of mine.
    What gym do you use? Thankfully my gym never runs short of machines, Westwood Clontarf (actually fairview). The free weights and benches are a different story though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

FX Meister wrote:
    The free weights and benches are a different story though.

I'll second that. It's hell up there at peak times trying to grab a bench. I also think there's too few mid-range dumbells.. A few more benches and a few more free-weights would go down very well with a lot of members I think..

Kevin.

I'll second that. It's hell up there at peak times trying to grab a bench. I also think there's too few mid-range dumbells.. A few more benches and a few more free-weights would go down very well with a lot of members I think..

Kevin.

I've asked them about this several times, with specific regards to getting dumbells up to 60kg.

Firstly I was told about two years ago that they were expanding the free weights area and would be getting heavier dbs in then. However they chose to build the new studio there instead and not bother getting bigger dbs.

The second excuse I was given a year or so later was that they had heavier dumbells but people couldn't control them and broke them... hmm

The latest one was they don't think it's a good idea to encourage the type of person that would need 60kg dumbells.

What time do ye all train at? I'm sure we've seen each other at some stage.

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I usually go in the evenings after work, but I'm seriously considering changing that to in the morning before work.. I find it just gets too busy these days in the evening..

My routine the past while has been all over the place but I usually try to get in about 4pm these days before it gets too busy. I'd love to go in the morning but can never manage the early bed time to get up early. It's not a lack of money that's the problem, the have tons to pump in where they want to. The whole Dracula thing was only built because they had a huge amont of money left over that year. And getting any funding for the climbing wall is like getting blood out of a stone I've been told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 toad

logic1 wrote:
    I've asked them about this several times, with specific regards to getting dumbells up to 60kg.

Firstly I was told about two years ago that they were expanding the free weights area and would be getting heavier dbs in then. However they chose to build the new studio there instead and not bother getting bigger dbs.

The second excuse I was given a year or so later was that they had heavier dumbells but people couldn't control them and broke them... hmm

The latest one was they don't think it's a good idea to encourage the type of person that would need 60kg dumbells.

What time do ye all train at? I'm sure we've seen each other at some stage.

.logic.

I heard the exact same bull**** about getting extra dumbells, I've given up asking at this stage. Total fitness out in Coolock has a good selection of dumbells, I think Westwood just don't want people who look like they could lift them scaring there ordinary members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

When does this new years rush end? WW is really doing my head on too lately - I'm a machine/class person thou so I'm not hogging your weights thou lads :D Classes wise it's fine but the gym is just packed in the evening. There was even a queue the other night for the showers!!! Also since they put that shelter in for bicycles there isn't many motorbike spaces - every evening it's a military operation to see if I can squeeze in past some eejit who's parked too close to me to just unlock the bike and get on!! If they had no monies for your weights then how comes they kitted the place out with new machines and the new studio and new spinning bikes - which aren't the best IMO - the saddle doesn't come forward enough for little old me :D

They never said they couldn't afford them.
    I think Westwood just don't want people who look like they could lift them scaring there ordinary members.

I think that's true to a large extent although they do give alot of leeway that other fitness gyms don't. For example I always use chalk and chalk up pretty much all the bars I use, I also tend to growl a bit while lifting and they've never pulled me on it.

Although one of the "Fitness Instructors" did ask me to not load the machine so much when I put 8 extra plates on the tricep pushdown stack... He didn't just ask though he basically pulled the pin and was quite vocal about the machines ability.

Other than that I like it. I can train pretty much anytime though with work being supportive so I usually go around 1pm now, nice and empty.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I think when he says people are hogging the machines he means when people sit on the machines between sets.

That is very frustrating.

Especially when I always stand up between sets, someone then uses the machine (no problem) but then remains seated on the machine between sets! (problem.)

It's just basic manners...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

dublindude wrote:
    Especially when I always stand up between sets, someone then uses the machine (no problem) but then remains seated on the machine between sets! (problem.)

I'm in Carlisle Gym (Ben Dunne's new place) - nobody gets off the machines between sets. If you do someone always jumps in and then stays sitting through their sets leaving you standing like an idiot. It's not badness, they just don't know any different because nobody has told them.

I wish gyms would draw up a list of gym etiquitte suggestions (not rules). Tell people what working-in means, that the marked lanes in the pool are for laps not extended "floats" etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭dawballz

FX Meister wrote:

Jesus, relax he didn't say anything to anyone. He thought ahead and sought out other peoples opinions.