Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is utter madness!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Jesus :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

OMFG!!! What an idiot!!!!!!
    That had to be inches!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭abccormac

That's unbelievable!! Holy Crap!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

What a knob goblin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I sometimes do that with ant stampedes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Doper Than U

People like that should be prevented from reproducing. Almost a pity the train missed... I say almost because that is a very traumatic thing to happen to a train driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

It's not just young idiots that do this, many train spotters have come just as close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

FX Meister wrote:
    It's not just young idiots that do this, many train spotters have come just as close.

Ya....those train spotters are bloody addrenalin junkies!!!! WOOT!!?!?!!? :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

pity the train missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

my sentiments exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

What gets my goat is that if the crotch pheasant had been smushed, the railway company probably would have been liable under the protection of retards act, that one where if somebody does something really stupid and gets hurt, it was somebody elses fault for not taking whatever precautions

This may be baseless optimism, but is it faked? two vids spliced? it may be just the video quality but the picture seems a little blurred along a line between the train and the retard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

That makes me feel sick, people I know have been killed by trains, and morons doing that are about as insensitive as a ****ing rapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

JESUS!

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭[Preacher]

Idiotic perhaps. But insensitive?

Rozabeez wrote:
    That makes me feel sick, people I know have been killed by trains, and morons doing that are about as insensitive as a ****ing rapist.

Wow, great comparison, a rapist and a dumb kid. Maybe you know people who have been killed by trains but do you know anyone that's been raped? Cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

god thats really stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

FX Meister wrote:
    Wow, great comparison, a rapist and a dumb kid. Maybe you know people who have been killed by trains but do you know anyone that's been raped? Cop on
    #
    Actually I do know people that have been raped. But that's a little off topic, so let's just drop it.

Well then you should know better than to spout rubbish like that. How would they feel if they knew you were comparing the two like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

ok,ok i think she gets it so drop it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

O My god that person is such a fooking SPA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

You know people that were killed by trains? What were they doing on the tracks?

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

If that's real then he's very lucky. (and a psycho).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

It just occurred to me...

God help that poor train driver.... must've given him the shock of his life.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭^whitey^

Muppet
    But great vid :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

trains create vacumes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Your moving hand creates a vacume (and a time lapse, but that's another matter).

That was bloody mad. Who the hell would try that? It takes a proper moron/pyscho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Shame it didn't hit him. One less idiot polluting the gene pool can only be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

idiot
    he will probably end up dying from being hit by a bicycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

hopefully the train driver hunted the kid down and kneecapped the little basterd and then made him do it again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,737 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Have none of youse ever heard of video editing? It's two clips, filmed from the same mounted camera, one with the guy, one with the train, takes about 4 minutes to edit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

That idiot probably does this regularly to get 'Chicks'.

He looks well 'Trained'!! Get it? :rolleyes:

I saw a guy saw a lady in half once. What a bastard.

Have none of youse ever heard of video editing? It's two clips, filmed from the same mounted camera, one with the guy, one with the train, takes about 4 minutes to edit.
    Have youse even watched the clip? The camera isn't mounted. So it wouldn't take 4 minutes to edit, if you wanted to edit something like that it would take a lot longer.

Trains do create vacumes. I know of a guy in the U.K. who was sucked out from the side of a bridge when a high speed train went past. He lost his arm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Romo

As far as I can tell it's genuine. Both the guy and the train are in the same shot and the camera is handheld not mounted on a tripod. So it would almost be impossible to get a stable edit. To fake something like this is quiet difficult, I think Greenscreen and CGI would be required.

If you look closely the guy jumps clear then sort of judders in mid-air, he's being hit by the displaced air and the vacume created by the train. He could easily have been sucked back in under the train.

Anyway, he still a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    trains create vacumes?
    All moving objects create vacuums of sorts. Generally the larger the object, and the faster moving the object, the greater the vaccum.

All vehicles create a vacuum most noticeably at the rear (terminating in a turbulent wake), but also at the sides. Large vehicles with big flat fronts, like trucks and trains, displace far more air at the front, leaving a huge vacuum at the back, and also quite significantly along the sides of the vehicle, particularly at high velocities. The faster the vehicle, the bigger the vacuum. Since air will always rush in to fill a vacuum, static objects standing to close to the vacuum can find themselves blown into the vacuum by the air surrounding them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

i still think it could be faked. it could be done on a tripod and then jitter added?

CGI? WTF? It's a very simple 2D effect achievable with any desktop video editing package.
    The camera moves for the first bit, then stays steady (slight jitter) for the merged sequences of the train and the jump.

Believe it's for real if you like.

Anyone want to buy The Eiffel Tower, I can let you have it for ten grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Jutter added.... I think not.

John

It seems pickarooney doesn't really know what he's talking about. If you watch properly you will see that the camera doesn't stay steady for the shots in question. Motion control cameras could be used for something like this but it's seriously doubtful? If it's so easy pickarooney and only takes four minutes then why not make one yourself to show us how easy it is?

scene 1: film the train passing
    scene 2: film the guy jumping (he doesn't even need to be at the railroad, he can be in his living room)

Cut around the shape of the guy (film him on a distinctive uniform background and use magnetic shape selection), make the background transparent and superimpose him on the scene of the train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Good work there pickarooney, looks just like the original :D

While I'm completely in agreement about the simplicity of doing something like this (and the judder/blur makes me suspicious), I'm in no doubt that there are people who do these things, and film them, and put them on the web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

scene 1: film the train passing
    scene 2: film the guy jumping (he doesn't even need to be at the railroad, he can be in his living room)

Cut around the shape of the guy (film him on a distinctive uniform background and use magnetic shape selection), make the background transparent and superimpose him on the scene of the train.

....THAT took you 4mins!!!?????? :eek: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

you can see his left leg being hit by the train if you look closly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

If his leg was hit by the train he wouldn't be walking away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

look how fast his left leg moves/accelerates as the train goes by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

it wasnt THAT close.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

kinkstr wrote:
    What a knob goblin

lol