Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many drinks in a night?

• 28-01-2005 11:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

Ok on an average night out how many drinks would you have? Personally I drink more than most people I know, but I think this is more relevant to my size and my tollerance for alcahol. With certain/most friends in the first few pints I would drink two for their one until the forth or fifth round. When we get to about ten I would still be ok (Not able to drive but not slurring) and I would probably go on to about 15 depending on my form, and on a big night I have no idea how much more I drink.

Anyway, how about you?

How many drinks do you have on an average night out 68 votes

1 - 5
    0% 0 votes
    5 - 10
    17% 12 votes
    10 - 15
    50% 34 votes
    15 +
    32% 22 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Ten pints and a few shorts/shots then i generally get offered an alco-pop or two.I wouldnt be really locked or in a state but I know that if I drank much more than that in a night I'd have an almighty hangover and/or be in bits on the night itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Depends how drunk you want to get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

very good question, and i've always wanted to know the answer!! i estimate around 10 - 15, because i'd spend about €50 (approx 11 drinks, not all nececeraly pints), im a bit of a stinge (student) so i'd usually have 1 or 2 bought for me (13), but when it comes to the final quater of the night i always seem to have a drink in my hand, i didnt buy, and no-one bought for me, just picked it up somewhere (:D), thats on a night im clubbing..so i'd say on average 15, i'd love to know my record...probably around 25

PS I know drinking isn't cool but im at the age of binge drinking, and getting as locked as possible....when i grow up, ill prob be a 6 - 7 pints a niteout kinda guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

An average night for me would be a can at home before heading out, a rake of pints in the pub, and then a few more in a 'nightclub'.. by 'nightclub' I mean Isoldes Tower...

1 at home
    5-7 in the pub
    3 in the nightclub
    1 at home (if I'm able)

So between 10 - 12

Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I usually only drink 2 or 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

i started drinking at around 17 wit my older brother and friends, they all drink pints so i always had to keep up wit them when in rounds, my female friends think i'm a fish cos when i down a pint, i really down it! i'd drink between 10 - 12 pints to get drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

i dont got out that often so when i do i make the most of it and would have about 15+ drinks!!! they would be a mixture of pint bottles of cider and shorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I normally have about 4 at home, 10 or so in the pub and about 6 in the club. All vodka's. Then about 6 shots on top of that..... Maybe I have a problem. I Normally spend about £50-£60 on a night out.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

er depends if I do pre-drinking drinking

If I do then its most of half bottle of JD or a naggin (depends on the time), then hit the pub and loads of JD and coke and then a nice cup of tea and some toast when I go home

If I dont do pre-drinking drinking then its just loads of JD and coke in the pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Johnnyghia

Once fed and watered normally have a minimum of 10 -15 more on a long nite. I find if Im not fed normally crash and burn after 6 -7. Function fine, chat and have a laugh no driving however. Mmmmmmm beer. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Lump wrote:
    I normally have about 4 at home, 10 or so in the pub and about 6 in the club. All vodka's. Then about 6 shots on top of that..... Maybe I have a problem. I Normally spend about £50-£60 on a night out.

John

If only alcahol was as cheap here as it is in England. I was in Manchester recently and when I gave a tenner in at the bar for 5 drinks I would get change!!! Now that felt good. I also met a lovely girl called Destiny who insisted I show her the inside of the men's cubicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

6-8 cans of Tubourg or Bavaria,
    couple of €3 pints in fibber magees
    shots / vodka redbull in the club (free in). ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

I dont drink much!I usually stop drinking when i get a little drunk!I dont usually want anymore after that!But id say on average 8 pints!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I never have pre-drinks drinks.

So, say on a saturday night I head to the local at about 9 and have about six pints of either Guinness, Miller or Cider.

Then in to town, definitely drink about five more pints of cider in town, no matter what I was drinking beforehand. Then maybe one or two Jacks straight, if I'm in the mood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

joejoem wrote:
    I also met a lovely girl called Destiny who insisted I show her the inside of the men's cubicle.

Ye cant beat birds with class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

ph00r .. i think I have 90 drinks before I even get started!!!*

* this is not true. but as probably many people on this thread the real number is being increased inorder for them to look "cool" and "hip" infront of their internet "friends".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Phil_321

I don't have an average. I drink till I'm in the "zone" and then just stop. I was going right past the zone into the "danger zone" for a while there but now I keep the focus and know when I've had enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Where's the

'i'm not a dumbass and i don't waste my money on that shíte' option?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Jaysus, you guys drink a load.

If i'm goin out i'll usually have 4 or 5 pints in the pub. Possibly a jagermeister or 2 as well before I head home.

Hate niteclubs, and avoid em wherever possible. When I get home I might have 1 or 2 drinks of wahtevers there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭A.S.H.

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    Where's the

'i'm not a dumbass and i don't waste my money on that shíte' option?

Probably in a thread saying I don't like drink and look down on those that do, and not in a thread about how many drinks do you have.

If not interested then don't comment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Blub2k4 wrote:
    Ye cant beat birds with class.

And boy did she have class..... She stood up on the toilet and leaned over to the lads in the main toilet and said "has anyone got a jonny" every time I think of that night I laugh/cringe uncontrolably. She was hot too, the mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Always 4 or 6 cans in mates house beforehand and then usually 2 or 3 pints out.

NOTE: If i drank a 6pack and then bought 3 pints...I would be very ****ing gone. So i NORMALLY settle for 4 fosters and 3 pints out...

Maybe anywhere between 6 and 12