Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitz Last nite

• 28-01-2005 10:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭

Who won last nite??
    I went out 35th(there abouts)..

Went out:
    Blinds are 500/1000.I have 11000. In mid position AQo. Player on my right(He post here I think, I know he can lay down a hand..and he does make moves with marginal hands, he had me covered) raises to 3000..I go all in...Comments!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Who won last nite??
    I went out 35th(there abouts)..

Went out:
    Blinds are 500/1000.I have 11000. In mid position AQo. Player on my right(He post here I think, I know he can lay down a hand..and he does make moves with marginal hands, he had me covered) raises to 3000..I go all in...Comments!!!!

If I am sitting with AQ or AK and it hasn't been raised I would def raise it up. However if it has already been raised I am inclined to just call and see a flop. If any of the cards hit I will then bet big. It just means if your card doesn't hit you can get away with some chips left. AJ is similar although I might muck that to any substantial raise. Of course if its late and I need to double up then all-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Hands up, that was me.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Dunno who won, I was dead on my feet by 3:30 and went home (I was the bloke running around shifting people from table to table). One young lad (Tom, from Kings college I think) won a ticket a while ago while on the same freeroll table as me and asked me if he should play or sell it. Given the quality and size of that field I said that if he needed about 230 euros he should sell it. He confided in me that he could really do with the cash but that he also had never played the big game and really wanted to!

Last I saw of him he was carrying 60K to the final table, chuffed with himself. I hope he wins an 4rseload of cash heheh...

DeV.

If that's little Tom who looks no older than 15, he split 1st 5 ways for close to 5k. Have to say he rode his luck a little. Early in the final table Lesley raises to 20k, youngster goes all-in for 60k, Lesley calls. Youngster has K,Q, Lesley holds A,k. Well the youngster flops a queen and poor Lesley looks like he's just been help-up at gun point. Fair play to him though he took my chips when I was monster favourite with 8's against his A,J ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

you get paid again as well davey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

Ni han DaveyDevil!!
    I suppose With AK AQ the power of the hand is over 5 cards...I would prefer not to make a call for 30% of my stack.
    Hope you put my chips to good use after that Davey

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=221145

I call for a merge of the threads oh moderaters. Or DeV could do it I suppose.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

His play was a bit inexperienced alright but the kids got heart hahaha... Daisy was giving him playful needling about his age after he called all-in with KJ to daisys A7 and hit two pair. Daisy starts on about seeing his id etc, having a giggle. Next thing you know he knocks Daisy out when his pair of 66's trips up.
    I'm glad he got 5K! When the lads were talking about the prizemoney and how they wanted to make the 12 grand or 6 grand prize, or even the 3 grand prize he piped up "any grand would be like a million euro to me!" :)

DeV.

Haha, ye got's to love the little fellow. He certainly wasn't playing like a grand was like a million euro. He was playing like it was a 10 euro freezeout.

Have to say though it's great seeing people that young walking away with a wad of cash. Only in poker eh.

Yeah, I think he has only *ever* played the freeroll, thats what he was telling me anyway. His play wasnt complex alright, but I saw him blow away a few people who tried to bully him. There wasnt much fear of sticking it all in even with ropey cards. Its funny to think of it, Kevin the lawyer will be happy to have made it but its not like its going to make a big impact on his life. I'd say Tom's breakfast tastes like ambrosia this morning! Thats college fees paid up for another 2-3 years now :)

DeV.

Fùck college,I think I heard him say he was going pro :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭kevthecelt

yeah toms a mate of mine, the only bit of advice i gave him about the tourney was to not let the 'big boys' bully him, stand up to them, and thats exactly what he did, fair play to him, im so proud :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

THIS is what I love about Poker. :)

Well done the young fella. And you as well Davey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Went out in 7th, called with K8 all-in against Kevin's 44, which tripped up on the flop. Couldn't help feeling disappointed... there's such a big prize difference in moving up at the final table. But shouldn't complain, seeing as I was down to 2K when the blinds were 500/1K!

Davey_Devil, I can see why you were disappointed over the deal being made just after you were knocked out. It's the same as going out in 4th in the Monday/Friday game, where there's nearly always a deal done by the last three. Out of curiousity, would you have allowed the deal if you were in the last 5? BTW, thought you made a good call with your A6 for most of your stack against yer man Peter late in the game.

As for 'the Kid' knocking out Lesley with KJ against AK, in fairness he put in the big re-raise, putting Lesley to the test. There's a big difference between calling with KJ and raising with KJ. And as he said himself, there was very little prize difference between 6th and 9th, so there was nothing wrong with his 'gamble'. It paid off, so fair play to him, he's 5K richer this morning.

One gripe about the tournament though... when it went to ten players, the blinds were frozen, and seeing as the two tables were on different floors, it led to some of the most blatent time-wasting ever. Other than that, excellently run as usual (well done Tom!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭kevthecelt

just using kevins username. last night was a good experience, i wasn't too impressed with the play, at the start it was good poker, good slow play etc, however towards the end and final table it was just tedious. any old ace was all in to steal the blinds,and usually the better hand lost. it shouldn't be played all before the flop otherwise its anyones game.there should be more betting to etc so you can read people, thats what poker is traditionally about, not just going all in with a statistically good hand before the flop and hope for the best. i played loose at the end as there was little point in playing properly as any call was an inevitable all in and i was up 1k anyway. i havn't read any poker books or know all the statistics, i learned it through experience believe it or not and i have a lot more experience to gain, maybe thats how i do well, maybe what i'm saying is a load of ****, but that's just my opinion. **** it 5 grand has saved me 3 weeks work to go to australia!!!!!
    p.s. devilboy or whatever it was aj of hearts misser favari handeri, and you weren't monster favourite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

well done tomsounds like played your heart out ;)

I played in my first game in the Fitz Wednesday, I think I was talking to you then.

Very nice club, first I've been too. Wish I could go more often.

One gripe about the tournament though... when it went to ten players, the blinds were frozen, and seeing as the two tables were on different floors, it led to some of the most blatent time-wasting ever. Other than that, excellently run as usual (well done Tom!).

Really? I didnt see any on the table upstairs. A few people went into the tank but certainly not for any unreasonable length of time.

Thanks for the complement, it was stressful to organise but I hope people feel as you do.

Hey Davey, the look on your face when you went all in as SB with A4 and yer man called you like a shot and stuffed his chips in... then he turns over K5. Lol... man I was SURE you'd walked into at least a mid pair! He donated 50K to you in that hand and went out! Jammy bast4rd!

Tom, well done! I'm really glad you got in the final cut, and fair impressed too. I agree with you about the gamble-fest at the end, its annoying that so much money is at stake when the game turns into a lottery in some ways. Thats why we stopped the blinds to try and make the final table a bit less All-In-ish. Its a problem the world over... I'd say you are glad you didnt sell that ticket now!

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    Really? I didnt see any on the table upstairs. A few people went into the tank but certainly not for any unreasonable length of time.
    DeV.

Well, we had a couple of old campaigners on our table (wont mention any names!), and they, as well as the short stack, delayed as long as possible with every hand. TBH, I was doing it myself, I really wanted to make the final table!

And, trinity Tom, the final table all-in fest has been discussed a lot here. Last night, there were 3/4 players on approx 50K and the blinds were 5K/10K. So calling is difficult, especially when you know that the other players are good enough to try to raise you off the hand. So you might as well go all-in with your marginal hands... you either pick up the blinds or hopefully double up. And when there's little difference between 9th and 6th spot prize money, you might as well gamble (as you saw yourself with your KQ!). Ironically, when you did the 5-way deal, the stack sizes were probably big enough to allow some decent play!

I remember reading in one of Roy Brindleys columns of a tournament structure where the blinds regressed three levels at the final table. This would have given blinds of 4K/8K at the final table which would have made for a lot more play. May be something worth considering....

Regressing three levels from 5K/10K would leave you at 2K/4K. We'd still be there playing!

I agree though that at final table we should regress the antes at least one level. Or the level below (the smallest stack)/10 to leave some play in it.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Tom got 5k! Ah that's brilliant and in what was a very intensely competitive enviroment. Well done that man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

How many played in total? Just thinking about the payout as mentioned here - 5 x €5,000 + 1 x €1,000 + ?? = around €30,000? So over 100 players? Is that typical for the end of month game?

I'll be heading in tonight for the 'Scalps' game - have a flight to Livigno at 7:30 tomorrow morning so I've got loads of time for gambling!

There were 125 runners afaik last night. Thats our second biggest night ever after the Christmas festival which had 140 I think. It was sweet to see the upstairs area completely filled with happy punters (particularly after the irritatingly biased article Mr Brindley wrote in Cardplayer about the second floor).

DeV.

ionapaul wrote:
    How many played in total? Just thinking about the payout as mentioned here - 5 x €5,000 + 1 x €1,000 + ?? = around €30,000? So over 100 players? Is that typical for the end of month game?

As far as I know, 125 players with a 31K prize pool. 12,000 for the winner with no deal!
    DeVore wrote:
    Regressing three levels from 5K/10K would leave you at 2K/4K. We'd still be there playing!
    DeV.

Don't know where I got 4K/8K from, exhaustion is setting in now.... it's impossible to sleep after 9 hours of poker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

kevthecelt wrote:
    **** it 5 grand has saved me 3 weeks work to go to australia!!!!!
    p.s. devilboy or whatever it was aj of hearts misser favari handeri, and you weren't monster favourite
    WTF - you in the porn industry or somethin? 5 G's in 3 wks? Any jobs going where you're workin??

yeah I was wondering about that too :)

Funny when you consider your username Dirkey... :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭henbane

DeVore wrote:
    particularly after the irritatingly biased article Mr Brindley wrote in Cardplayer about the second floor
    Surprising given the nice things he has to say about Luke. Do you have a link for that article?

kevthecelt wrote:

I'd like to add my personal can congratulations to Tom, you rode your luck a little especially when knocking out Lesley in 9th with the K,Q vs the A,K. However you played with balls of steel and any player must respect that.

You might have noticed the little smiley face after I said my 8's were monster favourite against the A,Js. I can asure you I'm well aware of the odd's in this situation and was taking the piss.

Again, well done Tom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

DeVore wrote:
    (particularly after the irritatingly biased article Mr Brindley wrote in Cardplayer about the second floor).
    DeV.
    What was the gist of the artcle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

DeVore wrote:
    yeah I was wondering about that too :)

Funny when you consider your username Dirkey... :)

DeV.
    :D very good