Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New device that makes flossing easier

• 16-01-2005 12:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭

This has been advertised a lot on TV lately and it looks like it would take the pain out of flossing. Has anyone here tried it? Is it really that good?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What is it exactly? I've never been able to floss without severing gums or loosening teeth, so maybe this whatever it is would interest me*

*only if it incorporates a cure for chronic laziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

well the more you floss the stronger your gums get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Only 7 dollars can imagine what it will cost here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

My mum got one it's very expensive for what it is really.

I used one of the flossing things without the gadget and it was more awkward than the traditional method, although it could be just that I'm used to the old way.

*shrug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

simu wrote:
    OT but the description of the flosser makes me think it's a dildo... :eek:
    Discover the new buzz in flossing. With a simple push of the button, Hummingbird gently vibrates so it feels amazing. And flossing is something you’ll love to do. Everyday.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

mad m wrote:
    Only 7 dollars can imagine what it will cost here.

Probably the same, but 25 euros for a refill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Hehehehe!

I don't think the one on sale in Ireland vibrates though. (Can't remember which brand it is).

I don't like having vibrating things in my mouth but a flosser with a handle should make it easier to reach the back of the mouth, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Miles

I actually have one. It is not worth the agro so I went back to the old way. It's basically a gimmick, and does not make life easier.

simu wrote:
    I don't like having vibrating things in my mouth

i know a dirty mind i have :D

Miles wrote:
    I actually have one. It is not worth the agro so I went back to the old way. It's basically a gimmick, and does not make life easier.

Really? Twas too good to be true then. How much did it cost you btw? (It's hard to imagine flossing being more difficult than it already is :) so I might try this if it's cheap)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

I've got one of those ones, only without any electronic gizmos attached. I'm not big on flossing (metal bar behind some of my teeth means it's relatively impossible) so I'm not experienced with the normal stuff, but I'd say getting a special gadget is so not worth the effort. Buying the refills is expensive, so you might as well just get the little boxes of floss...

My wife uses a sort of flossing handle shapes like a toothbrush.Her dential hygenist recommend them and she found them very good.It was to get into arkward places in mouth.It something like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Evilution

Ah here now, jaysus, you people of After Hours are letting me down. Not even ONE Shane McGowen joke so far!!!!!!!!!

Well for all the shanes out there who need there tooth brushed look no further than here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Evilution

mad m wrote:
    Well for all the shanes out there who need there tooth brushed look no further than here

:D:D:D:D:D
    Poor auld Shane, the only man in the world who ever flossed with rope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

these things are around for years. i got one from a dental hygeinist ages and ages ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

ye i got one of them for a cupla euro last year off me dentist. might open it soon and try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I actually find those little toothbrush thingys more awkward than floss itself. To get in between the back teeth means you have to push really hard and they don't slide in easily. However, with a piece of floss, just wrap it around tow fingers and off you go. easy peasy

I really think that they're just another gimmick. Just like that battery powered dish-washing brush and those bloody diposable toilet brushes and wipes. Who is stupid enough to buy those things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Who is stupid enough to buy those things

The Japanese, perhaps?

dudara wrote:
    However, with a piece of floss, just wrap it around tow fingers and off you go. easy peasy

But that really hurts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

wuss :)

like a previous poster said, your gums get used to it over time. The only discomfort is trying to open your mouth wide enough comfortably to allow access to the back teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

If you look in those Betterware catalogues that sometimes come through the letterbox there are 300 of the floss things for 12.49.. do a search on betterware.co.uk - they are 7.99 sterling over there.