Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drugs do bad things

• 16-01-2005 12:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

Small sideline in the Herald yesterday evening of a 19 year old Killiney guy up in court for drugs offence. He was on holiday in Thailand and what did he do only POST a block of hash (about a 1lb weight) to HIMSELF to HIS ADDRESS.

The report in the paper says that he suffered a broken nose as he collapsed in shock when the gardai arrived to his door.

Is there an equivalent Darwin awards for people who are "almost there" - what was he thinking.. Probably stoned when he thought it might be a good idea to post a stash home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

He got what he deserved by the sounds of things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Drugs have also done wonderful things

http://www.dergi.org/272003/images/hendrix.jpg

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Miles

That's classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

If he was caught with it in the post office - he would have got the death penalty - what a fúckin eejit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

unlucky, most gets through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Evilution

alleepally wrote:
    Small sideline in the Herald yesterday evening of a 19 year old Killiney guy up in court for drugs offence. He was on holiday in Thailand and what did he do only POST a block of hash (about a 1lb weight) to HIMSELF to HIS ADDRESS.

I'd say he had some fun licking the stamps :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

posting home is a good idea I should think if you were to say use girlie handwriting on a greetings card to a non-existent female and maybe put a little something wrapped in cellaphane inside the badge saying "KISS ME IT'S MY BIRTHDAY!". That would be safe and have a 90% success rate at least as ther generally check 10% of parcels at most and probably never greetings card. just a thought i condemn mightily that sort of thing of course. Then maybe 1ib = a lot of birthday cards I guess.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i swear it wasnt me!

(19, from killiney, recovering from a broken nose)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77

I know of an incident where a customs officer dressed up as a postie, knocked at the door and got a guy to sign for the package and once he had his signature to say it was him, arrested him.

A bit of advice if you are sending stuff back, use a fictional name. If you know the postie well, tip him off, you could even use a fictional address on your estate e.g if your street runs up to number 58, address it to number 80 and have your postie in the know.

alleepally wrote:

The report in the paper says that he suffered a broken nose as he collapsed in shock when the gardai arrived to his door.

Is there an equivalent Darwin awards for people who are "almost there" - what was he thinking.. Probably stoned when he thought it might be a good idea to post a stash home...

Idiot. He could have got away with it if he claimed he had nothing to do with it. If it were that easy I could post drugs to somebody I didn't like and tip off the gardai.