Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Irish Indoor Records

• 10-01-2005 12:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭

May I be the first to congradulate Sinéad on her THREE new Irish indoor records that she shot on Saturday at the Irish Open in UCD. The records were:
    Best 30 arrows FITA 18 - 288
    Best 60 arrows FITA 18 - 567
    Best 120 arrows FITA 18 - 1124

Not only that but she and her sisters then had the cheek to go on and win the team event on Sunday against an international field. Not a bad weekends work. Well done Sinéad! And Máire and Mairéad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

You forgot Mairead Trig, there was three of them on the team :rolleyes: :)

Congrats to Sinead on her records . She shoot brilliant all weekend. And a big congrats to all the pink ladies on their excellent performance on sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Sweeet zombie jesus, 288! Best Ive done in competition is 282!

*starts training compulsively*

Seriously though, congrats, Im impressed, to break 280 requires a high amount of cop on and knowledge about your shooting(if I say so myself). Congrats Sinead, youve worked long and hard, and you deserve it.

P.s: did you beat Keith Hanlon for those 30 arrows? I did with my 282, best feeling in the world :)

Regards

Ewan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Aryzel

Congrats on your scores and on winning sunday. Maybe 2600 is on for DIT after all. And ewans record looks to be in a bit of danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

Bravo! most impressive altogether. that's phenomenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Blind man

i too will add my congradulations to the list on a job well done under the suspicion that your after douing something good and i better get me name in.

so fair play to yis on a whatever done well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tech Overhaul

Well done girls, keep up the good work. Any tips for the rest of us?

speaking of scores, anyone else still entering there scores in the online sagitarius league http://archeryportal.net/e-sagi/main.php?edi=indoor2004

Most of ye seem to have fallen by the wayside, also Máire if you enter another score you should got top on the ladies, well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭trig

I was reluctant to post another dismal score (455) but I suppose it may as well go up with the rest of them. Toxof posted his from the weekend too.

Christmas is a quiet time for archery......unless your surname happens to be Cuthbert!

trig wrote:
    Christmas is a quiet time for archery......unless your surname happens to be Cuthbert!

Never a dull moment for the elite.
    Trig wrote:
    another dismal score (455)
    Look on the bright side, i started this sport at the same time you did, and what's my PB??? 397, that's what! so, whenever life gets you down, just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving.............

.........cause there's bugger all down here on earth.

crap, misplaced quote.... what i meant to say is "there's nearly always someone who's worse off to laugh at (in this instance, me)"

And how I do laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 scotsmurf

Hiya, just found this forum and saw these postings.Are we talking Fita 18 scores here of 455 and 397? How long have you been shooting?And are you following the 3 golden rules of archery?

1. Stand up straight.
    2. Pointy end to the front.
    3. Shoot the ******* thing.

Its easy and it works! :)

Yip, FITA 18, none of this imperial round nonsense :P

scotsmurf wrote:
    Hiya, just found this forum and saw these postings.Are we talking Fita 18 scores here of 455 and 397? How long have you been shooting?And are you following the 3 golden rules of archery?

1. Stand up straight.

I can take criticism.
    I can take abuse (although expect to get it back).
    I can even take being calleds crap.

But from a fcuking smurf!!! from scotland???
    That's a bit much.

On a more serious note, i've been half-shooting for 2 and a half years, never very seriously.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

scotsmurf wrote:

1. Stand up straight.

Lets keep it civil. 455 is a good score to some people.

The majority of the people on this board are college archers and not international archers (except for a few - *glares angrily*).

It was not my intention to cause offence, we all started shooting somewhere and had PBs in the 300s 400s and 500s.Scores are NOT the reason for shooting as far as I'm concerned, I enjoy shooting in training as much as in competition.And I enjoy winding people up as well , especially those who take it too seriously.If I ever make it back home to shoot, you too can laugh at my feathery nocking point and squeaky arrows that annoy the hell out of a lot of "international" archers and coaches.But I don't care.
    And whats wrong with imperial rounds away?
    Or do you always shoot FITA?

Hehe... Well we don't ALL have PBs in the 500s (yet?). Someday hopefully.

I do focus on scores somewhat but more being able to shoot consistently. The fun of it is definately a very big side to it. Training by oneself isn't the same as with a group of friends.

As for Imperial versus FITA there's no Imperial competitions over here, ever, that I'm aware of. Perhaps there is but I'll stick with FITA cause I've been shooting FITA distances ever since I started archery. Not that I'm opposed to change. When I get better at FITA 18 I'll consider other distances! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Halenger: we're international archers for one simple reason. Its not privilege, its not natural skill(not in my case for damn sure), its one simple reason:

We train our *asses* off.

We shoot, we shoot, and when everyone else is packing up and had enough, we shoot some more. The only reason Ive reached the scores I have is becuase Im completely, totally, and absolutely obsessed with archery. I was out in the back garden on christmas day, I put in 120 arrows before dinner. Ive been known to get up in the middle of the night and go shooting, becuase Ive had an idea on how to improve my form. Ya really have to go the extra mile in this sport.

And if youre not doing it, dont begudge it to those of us who do.

The end.

Regards

Ewan

Get...a....sense...of...humour.

Fsck sake. I begrudge noone of what they've achieved. I thought you'd know me better by now. *sighs*

I've never heard a convincing reason for archers with reasonable ability to shoot a Portsmouth. I mean the distance is practically the same (20yrs v 18m) but you're shooting at a face with an area 2.25 times greater. Fair enough if you're a beginner and you want to hit the face the whole time, but after putting in a few 400s on the Portsmouth face I don't see any reason to continue using them.

In answer to your question scotsmurf, they still use Imperial rounds up North as they use the GNAS rules the same as yourselves. Down here in the Republic is FITA country though. We still use the Portsmouth faces for our beginners in Intervarsity archery however.
    Why do one thing when the entire of the rest of the world is doing something different? I know there are conversion tables or whatever but it still seems a little backward to me to be using Imperial rounds.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

halenger wrote:
    The majority of the people on this board are college archers and not international archers (except for a few - *glares angrily*).
    Of course, there are one or two scruffy field archers hanging around as well... (*glares back, with hand resting threateningly on quiver*)

You're right of course Trig.But I suppose tradition would be the reason most quoted by GNAS, and as they predate FITA, maybe they have a point.All of our regional championships in Scotland are shot on Portsmouth faces, and theres a postal league as well.But the Scottish champs are FITA18.
    That said , its damn impressive when you're next to someone on the line who shoots a 599, certainly gives you something to think about.
    Just for interest, I've been shooting for 15 years , since I moved here, but its only in the last 2 or 3 that I've improved, partly due to equipment , but mostly due to commitment, theres no substitute for practice.PB for fita 18 is 537 and for Portsmouth 576, yet to reach the heights outdoors though.

Your not from Ayr Archery Club by any chance are you scotsmurf?

I don't want to get into that whole tradition vs progress arguement at all (although it is particularly well timed as all speed limits and speed signs in the Republic went metric yesterday) but its fair to say that I have a deep rooted hatred for imperial measurements due to the crazy ass conversion factors to SI units (I'm a studying engineering).

And I agree, Portsmouth scores are good for the ego. After shooting FITA 18 though it feels a little like cheating to me!

trig wrote:
    We still use the Portsmouth faces for our beginners in Intervarsity archery however.

We do? I thought Portsmouth looked completely different from normal FITA faces - different scoring system was it or am I thinking or something else?

The faces we use in competition are 60cm FITA faces meant for 25m shoots (which we don't have (m)any of really). Unless you're talking about something you use to train beginners in which case.... *ahem* Carry on. :p

I think your studying too much Podge. 60cm = 24" = Portsmouth face size. It has 10 scoring zones and is shot from 20 yards = 18m. Sound familiar now.

Its the outdoor imperial rounds that only have 5 scoring zones, the top score being a 9!!?? Crazy stuff I agree.

Try this link. Its the best thing to come out of Texas since.... well.... lets just say its the best thing to come out of Texas.
    Probably the most through reference guide I've seen for free. And as a happy coincidence, it was written by a Scot!

Aah cool.... But in terms of FITA isn't the 60cm for 25m indoor, yeah?

Oh and studying too much? Any study more than no study is probably too much for me alright! :p

Yes , the 60cm face is for 25m FITA, and the same face is used at 20 yds for a Portsmouth.We don't have many 25 m shoots, in fact just one a combined FITA 25m/18m in Aberdeen.And trig , for your info, the Archers Reference Guide on the Texas website, was written by Murray Eliot of Balbardie Archers here in Scotland and its just the LINK that comes from Texas, see the difference????
    No, I'm not from Ayr, whatever gave you that idea?

I just remember there was a Scottish guy who used to shoot in Dublin Archers every now and again. I still have a pin he gave out that was commemorating an anniversary of Ayr Archery Club. And since you were living in Finglas.... well you get the picture.

Its a very good reference guide, seems to have everything. In truth I only said that to have a swipe at a Texan who has been in the news this week. Not a big fan of that particular guy.

I was living in Finglas cos thats where I was born and bred, worked there as well for Telecom Eireann as was, before moving here in 1989.And you're right again , the reference guide is excellent and I've seen links to it from numerous websites around the world.The Texas Uni site is OK too, I use their tuning for Tens system as a good starting point for tuning my setup.

Oh right, I got it into my head that it was the other way round. I found the refernce guide when I was starting off and its been of use to me ever since.

There's a good article on using the Formaster training aid there too, which I found helpful. Worth a look at.