Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi everyone... new to the board

• 05-01-2005 2:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭

Hey everyone... just wanted to say hello.. I am new to this board and have enjoyed surfing around... I was in Ireland for the first time last May and loved it... I'm planning on coming back again this summer sometime if I can get some time off work... I'm 28 years old and single... I live in New Jersey near Philadelphia... I'm just looking to connect with some friends here so I can find some more decent places to visit when I come over... made such wonderful friends the last time I was there... and could use some advice on where else to visit... Happy new year to all!!! Cheers!!

Ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

Ryan,
    You should go to Limerick next time you are over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭RyanfromNJ

I drove through Limerick, but didn't stop... I drove from Dublin to Galway, stayed in Galway for a night, then south to Dingle... I loved Dingle... then to Co'bh(another great place), then to Arklow(wasn't all that great there), then back to Dublin... a lot of driving, but got to see a lot of the countryside!!!

Naw what you want to do is stay for longer in Limerick, rent a nice caravan while you are there.

I'll definitely have to check that out then... I was thinking of just taking busses/trains the next time I'm there... not sure though... was nice having a car to go where I wanted to... I was pondering heading up north though... any thoughts?

Well if Limerick isn't your cup of tea, maybe you'd like to check out west belfast.

aw hell, I may just hit both... I'll just rent a car and drive wherever then... thanks for the advice!!!

No probs - I really hope you enjoy your stay!
    CB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 729 ✭✭✭crazy angel

yea have fun! :)

thanks!! I'll definitely try... quick question... drinking age there is 18 right? I ask because my little brother wants to come over with me... not an issue for me, I'm 28, but wasn't sure if he'd be able to have a few pints with me or not...

if he can walk he can drink over here. I'd have to recommend a fine regional beverage for you fellas to suck down, its called Buckfast, brewed by monks you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Hey RyanfromNJ, glad you had a good time in Ireland and are looking forward to coming back. I'm not sure if you noticed but some of the responses above are a little sarcastic (you'll get that ;)). Limerick City is also know as stab city but that's more of a bad reputation type thing - still worth checking out. Also some nice scenery in Limerick outside of the city.

West Belfast may not be the greatest place (try googling it) but a trip to Belfast can definitely be recomended.

Drinking age is 18 but you'll find no shortage of places that'll serve to people younger :D

hehehe sorry ryan - couldn't resist!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

hehehe sorry ryan - couldn't resist!!
    Ye Langer ye ;)

RyanfromNJ wrote:
    thanks!! I'll definitely try... quick question... drinking age there is 18 right? I ask because my little brother wants to come over with me... not an issue for me, I'm 28, but wasn't sure if he'd be able to have a few pints with me or not...

its ireland. the age limit is just there to look pretty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Make sure to fit Cork, Kerry and Galway in on your travels over here the next time, best scenery in the country, much nicer in summer than in the winter.

true they are nice!

The Rose of Tralee festival takes place in Kerry over the last weekend of August - this would be a good toursity festival I suppose.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Naw what you want to do is stay for longer in Limerick, rent a nice caravan while you are there.

hefty
    you're a nasty fuker! :eek:

Ryan
    ignore any advice given by the above muppet, he's probably part of those two families causing so much trouble in Limerick ;)

if you are going up north, Donegal is just beautiful, stay somewhere along the coast, some of the views are breath taking.

other places that you should see are

Westport in Co. Mayo
    Connemara
    Co. Kerry

co.clare is lovely as well.
    and the rose of tralee festival...... no coment... whatever floats your boat!

Ryan,

If you want real entertainment there is usually a big crowd head upo to a town in Galway called Ballinasloe every summer for a big hooley. Its called the "King of the Knackers" festival and its open to everyone.
    You can pick up and entry form on the day.

ah, I see how it is.... screw the yank!!! it's funny about calling Limerick the "stab city"... when i was there, there were reports of stabbings all over the news!!! hell, I deal with enough of that crap here... I'm a paramedic, and have to take the assholes who get stabbed to the hospital... bleeding all over my ambulance and stuff....

I was in Galway for 2 nights... that was really cool.... Kerry was awesome too... maybe next time I'll take the advice... head into Galway, then up north... I actually wanted to check out Donnegal as well... alright, I'm at work and need a nap... so ya'll take care!!

bye bye have a nice time when ya come over

and the rose of tralee festival...... no coment... whatever floats your boat!

I dont mean the sh*t that they show on tv - the festival in the town is excellent - they have bands playing in the streets and they've a pretty decent carnival too. Atmosphere is brilliant - I went for about 4 years in a row when I was younger.