Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celia Larkin...1st Landy of Ireland (?)

• 15-05-2001 12:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

Okey B..B..B..Bertie has gotten a Seperation from his wife, who refuses to grant him a divorce. Some "bad men" in the media have speculated that during his marraige B..B..Bertie was handy with his fists, that may explain his wife begrudging him a divorce.

But his Girlfiend Celia Larkin is performing the duties of a 1st lady. To date I am unaware if even the wife of any Government leader has enjoyed such a role. Firstly she sent congratulations on behalf of the Irish people (thats you and me folks) to the Blairs on the birth of their child. Now she is hosting state dinners on our behalf to honour senior clergy. Again on our behalf.

I applaud the Church of Ireland for the stance they have taken on the issue. Even though they agree with divorce they are dead right in opposing Celia's "prized position" as our representitive, given to her because SHE GIVES GOOD HEAD TO BERTIE.

In everyway this woman sucks!

Sad Socialite or Sick Parasite, you decide.

Keep your powder dry and your pants moist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Are you sure about the fists and the refusal to give him a divorce? Like if he actually got a divorce it would alienate large sections of the electorate, so he probably wouldn't want to do that anyway.

AS for the Church of Ireland or Cardinal Connell or whoever spouting on about it, yes it's great that an organisatin of celibate men in dresses are preaching morality to the rest of us. Marvellous rolleyes.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Whatever about the whole 'should Celia be recognised' thing.

She is a stuck up *****.

I know this. My friend spent a day shopping with her in Dublin and said that the woman thinks she is better than everyonne. When my friend brought her to a clothes shops in the Jervis Centre she was all embarrassed that they it was too common for her to be in.

Stupid cow.

I'm the Dude

[This message has been edited by Jeff_Lebowski (edited 15-05-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭pertinax

She'll be a Sad Socialite and a Sick Parasite in my book. Still between berties little girl and her westlife hunk, american tourists won't have to look further than our own royalty to see irelands finest attempts at inbreeding and be put of tracing their ancestry. But that maybe a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Belisarius

This is the Great Republic that is Eire folks . Our fearless leader and "man of the people" Bertie and his elegant beautiful graceful Companion/Patner/Friend *either way it makes her sound like a dog smile.gif* Celia Larkin . Were forming our own version of the British royal family *without actually holding our paddy cap in hands and bowing before the real deal , republican pride maintained* Its an utter sicophantism inherent in our population , an Insidious undermining and yet somehow benine element of the nations people who i call "Hello Magasine Readers" I dont like to curse on the boards but this is ****ing scurrolous . and I would wager a kidney that within the next month or two we'll see a brand spanking new episode , with the pair of em and a caption stating "Celia and her dreamy catch of a Taoiseach show us thier elegant government function room , ideal for Giving two fingers to the small atom of the population who care about the family unit and presige of the nation internationally"

Its not even the religous element of this that annoys me , the Cardinal , while certainly a man for Ecumenism certainly didnt display much clemency , getting his own digs in aswell . I just hate the idea of that lil Hoe having a genuine influence on the administration of the nation however small , you cannot doubt she does hold leyway with Bertie , and thats bound to have an effect. And of course the sheer gaul and audacity of her aswell , usually when an incident like this happens in another country the the Politician in question shacks up with him/herself within public knowlege , but on any occasion the Estranged Wife will always assume her role as the first lady of her nation . What we have here is a case of a Man so whooped that hes defied international convention and let an unknown unelected uninformed dullard represent our country in all matters ,She is the projection of Ireland in this fould year of our lord 2001 AD . When people think of Ireland people think of Celia larkin . Now thats scary

Not that Berties without blame being the Brave and courageous man we all know him to be he folded like a deck of cards , abandoning celia for the third love of his life , Mary Harney biggrin.gif . While I am obviously not a fan of Ms.Larkin Its brutaly apparent Bertie shafted her to save face . which is a bit nasty to say the least , and some may say *not I mind* that such an Act shows the flippency of thier relationship : That bertie didnt care enough for her to stand by her in a situation where she could have obviously needed support . Bertie ahern proved himself a Coward self intrested spineless Politicial yet again . I take solice in the fact that he had to return home to celia that day , and she mustve bleedin murdered him for standing her up

Shrewgar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Magwitch

I would add to my initial point both a question to ponder and an interesting point...

My Question: If Bertie gets a new girl friend, will she host national events on behalf of the Irish people?

Interesting info Point: It was Celia Larkin who acted as Go between in the case of the architect who was imprisoned for 4 yeas for killing a Tallagh mother of 4 in a drink driving crash. It was she, who knew the Judges wife, who put in a good word (or request) on behalf of Bertie and FF to get the guy off the hook on appeal.

This alone should debarr her from even attending a Government function. She is a socialite (read parasite) who is there to give a bit of "VIP" and "Hello" sheen to the north side accountant we call leader.

Amen brother , Whats sickening is theres enough Mentally obtuse politically naieve morons in the country to let this sorta carry on continue frown.gif . Banana Republic no other name for it

Shrewgar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

I honestly don't see what the problem is. Point one: there ought to be a separation of Church and State, a clear-cut one. Sure there's etiquette at official functions (you woudlnt serve an Orthodox Jew pork) or a Hindu beef but it's not precisely the same issue, in my opinion.

I also don't think the public has a right to interfere with a person's personal life no matter what the circumstances. Do people honestly believe it would be better for Bertie to parade his (ex) wife to these functions knowing that each function could possible end up like a bout between Stone Cold and the Rock? Everyone would know it'd be a sham.

If you want to analyse which relationship is probably more genuine and transparent, you just have to compare bertie and Celia with the marriages of people like Bill and Hillary Clinton and Tony and Cherie Blair. Both marriages are rumoured to be shams.

If we're supposed to be living in a modern society, with a legal separation between church and state, why is this such an outrage? As it was pointed out by a journalist the other day, there might come a time when Ireland has a gay Taoiseach and might bring his/her partner to state functions.

Also, why did the incident cause the newly appointed Cardinal "embarassment"? Surely he caused Celia and Bertie embarrassment as other Clergy members were clearly dismissive and discourteous of her.

The Church claims to be accepting of other religions and people's right to live a life they choose but use this event as a platform to, perhaps, tarnish Bertie's reputation and creat another old fashioned Church/State debate. The only debate should be to once and for all split the actual involvement and influence of any religious body on state practises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

Ye're all very narrow-minded (except dada). What does it matter ? Who cares ? It's more of that "what will the neighbours say" mentality. Personally, I'm far more embarrassed about his dress sense than his partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Castor Troy:
    Are you sure about the fists and the refusal to give him a divorce? Like if he actually got a divorce it would alienate large sections of the electorate, so he probably wouldn't want to do that anyway.

AS for the Church of Ireland or Cardinal Connell or whoever spouting on about it, yes it's great that an organisatin of celibate men in dresses are preaching morality to the rest of us. Marvellous rolleyes.gif
    </font>

Yep there are widespread rumours that Bertie like to play Ali in his own domestic "Rumble in da Jungle" (err Drumcondra).

As for that reception for Cardinal Connell whatever you think of the Church (Catholic) I think they should have been a little more tactfull and realised that having the "lovely" Celia on the invite as "the hostess with the mostess" would have caused problems for the Church.

Also I think Bertie should show he has a spine and divorce his wife if Celia is his long term partner, otherwise he is just a hypocrite (oh yeah he's a politician).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭C B

I completely agree with gandalf.

Firstly Bertie Ahern is a Catholic (or at least claims to be for electoral purposes). In doing so hre allows the Catholic hierarchy the right to comment on his lifestyle (it would be wrong of them to do so if he were not catholic as it is wrong for the CoI Bishop to so currently).

I have no difficulty with an unmarried man being Taoiseach. I have no difficulty with that man's partner co-hosting state functions.

I do however detest hypocricy.

Well spotted CB, I had not though about the right of the church to comment on moral affairs concerning a Catholic (like it or hate it they have grounds).

However I think the invite was calculated to expose or confront the church so Bertie could get his way. I do not think it worked out but Bertie gambled with the state as his colatoral (us and our nations image).

SO no matter what the church siad or did, and fundamentally I do not agree with much they say, it is Bertie who has sullied the nation but dragging it into his own private life. Again a tactic I think was calculated to get him what he wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Well, whatever about a reception in an official residence (residence being hte operative word), e.g. Aras an Uachtaran. I don't think any spouse / partner / girlfriend / boyfriend / part-time f*** bunny, that isn't an elected official should be inviting people anywhere.

Remember the hassle that county councillors get for taking partners on junkets (which is probably more legitimate, as they may be away from home 'comforts' for several days, not an evening) than CL hosting an official reception. Can you imagine "Sir Anthony and Mrs. O'Reilly" inviting the shareholders to the AGM of Independant News and Media?

Dadakopf, I do think the invitation situation was a protocol faux-pas on par with only serving roast pork sandwiches at a function for the Chief Rabbi or insisting that let us say, the President should take part in a Wiccan ritual on one of her 'meet and greet' visits. You can't invite someone to a reception in their honour and carry on in a way that might personally offend them. Would you play Britney Spears on full blast at a Goth's birthday party?

I don't think Cardinal Connell has said anything on the matter in public. this argument (?) is largely between politicians, Martin Manseragh (the Taoiseach's adviser and a member of the Church of Ireland), the Church of Ireland itself and especially the media.

Changing call sign to SIERRA PAPA OSCAR OSCAR FOXTROT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Victor said:

I don't think Cardinal Connell has said anything on the matter in public. this argument (?) is largely between politicians, Martin Manseragh (the Taoiseach's adviser and a member of the Church of Ireland), the Church of Ireland itself and especially the media</font>

Yes, Cardinal Connell has been commendably silent on the issue and it is the media, Manseragh and the Protestant denominations who are speaking out the most - as well as journalists.

I'm just a little confused about the whole thing, though. For example, it is certainly forbidden to eat pork for Jews but priests (Catholic) interact with people who are co-habitees, single mothers, homosexuals, protestants, unbaptised children and, even people of different religions! And may I remind everyone that Cardinal Connell isn't by any means a liberal, open minded person - he may be a grade A Catholic scholar and theologian but he isn't the most progressive pontiff.

I think that either spouses/significant others should be viewed as extraneous to official functions and never invited (except to private party fundraisers) or should be accepted in all their guises. Afterall, politicans are people too! They have, for the most part, real lives. Personally, I'd press for Britnet Spears to be played at ALL Goth parties.

"I collect spores, moulds and fungus."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Magwitch:
    My Question: If Bertie gets a new girl friend, will she host national events on behalf of the Irish people?</font>

Who cares as long as she hosts the events well.

Just out of interest Magwitch are you a FG voter? Just curious, no offence meant.

If the bottom falls out of your world, drink Andrews and the world will fall out of your bottom!!
    games?

Essentially the Churches opinion is irrelivent (though it will prove exactly not that at the election).

The main point I think is that Bertie and FF have engineered an issue, embaressed a major national faith and abused public funds all to make Bertie better off in his personal life.

FF arogance has been especially pronounced with this government but they have offended a spectrum of people well beyond those who listen to the churches. It has become PC to attack the church, and as with most things PC it involves trambling the sensitivites of others adn insulting them. Liz O Donnel is the lastest figure to "come out" against the church.

But her words and those of others will not be ultimitly interpreted as an attack on the church and clergy but as running off at the mouth without taking into account the thoughts and feelings of a wider electorate.

Although not all who have posted on this forum have the vote, most I think do and judging by the reaction here and of the public in the papers, I would say FF is going to suffer or Bertie and the boys are going to have to mount a humiliating climb down. Either way they loose.

And I do not expect FF to climb down.

I must admit I found Liz O'Donnels comments rather brash , If I was a religous man *Which im not BTW so no creepin Jesus remarks* Id find that particularly offensive . It seems that Ms.O Donnel is used by the governement as some sort of weapon against the recent critiscism , IE: using her high profile and reputation as some sort of person with the "common touch" to somehow legitamise thier position.Ill post a more indepth response later to the comments by DadaKoph downwards

Shrewgar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭androphobic

Personally, I don't really see the problem.
    She's his partner.. it hardly matters whether they're married or not.. and she's co-hosting functions - big deal.

Also.. refusing to serve people communion at their child's first holy communion (as is happening in 2 parishes in Kerry) is ridiculous.

The church's problem seems to be that people are having sex outside marriage..

who said Bertie and Celia are having sex? .. nasty thought. wink.gif

Celia Larkins role is the subject of wideer debate. The tendency to discuss it within the confines of the church is exactly what I think FF planned. It constricts the issue the pulls any discussion onto the churches attitude rather than FF's and Berties goings on.

As I siad before the churchs stance is irrelivent. They are not the only ones to object to her pressence in state matters (i.e. the O'Flaherty affair etc).

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

It's a tricky one (for me anyway).

Adultery is wrong - I detest it (cause it ruined my family life).

However, Bertie has always been open about the fact that Celia is not his wife and to my knowledge has always officially introduced her as his partner and so on. This is to be commended. If he was trying to hide the issue - that would be totally unacceptable.

One thing it does prove is that the guy is the same as the rest of us - he's prone to marital break-up, he can have his bit on the side, he's a man of the people.

I'm not entirly happy about Ms Larkin hosting state functions, but she is his partner and so must perform the role of first lady. If it was Bertie's wife doing it, then I'd be furious. They're seperated, it should stay that way.

Yes it's wrong and yes people are upset, but they (Bertie and Celia) seem to be dealing with it in an open and frank way, so I guess we should be happy with that. We don't need another CJ Haughey and Terri Keane (cloak and dagger stuff).

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

Ultimately, I have a problem with people who have not been elected by us doing things on behalf of the Irish people. I have no problem with Bertie and Cecilia doing whatever they like in private-it's none of my business-but Cecilia doing things on behalf of the Irish people I don't agree with.

I was thinking about this last night, and I came to the conclusion that the best way to solve this could very well be to stop everyone who hasn't been elected to a position doing things on behalf of the Irish people... as they do not represent them in the way an elected person is supposed to.

Still open to debate on this BTW smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

If Bertie was still living with his wife, she'd be the one accompanying him to these dos, and she would also not have been elected by the Irish people. Would that be any more acceptable to you or do you just have some sort of hangup about unmarried couples?

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Castor Troy:
    If Bertie was still living with his wife, she'd be the one accompanying him to these dos, and she would also not have been elected by the Irish people. Would that be any more acceptable to you or do you just have some sort of hangup about unmarried couples?</font>
    It's not that Cecilia is accompanying Bertie to this event that bothers me, it's the fact that she has done things "on behalf of the Irish people".

If it was Bertie's wife, I wouldn't have had so much of a problem with it, but I would not be able to support this through rational argument! smile.gif

After thinking about it though, I would think it inappropriate for Bertie's wife (even if they were a happily married couple) to do things on behalf of the Irish people.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by JustHalf:
    I would think it inappropriate for Bertie's wife (even if they were a happily married couple) to do things on behalf of the Irish people.</font>

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by androphobic:
    Why?

</font>

We vote for the politicians - not their spouses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Oh yeah

That's a good point. The whole fabric of demorcracy is at stake here. Democracy - people rule (or something like that), in this case through elected representatives. Celia Larkin appears to have taken it upon herself to represent us. She can claim to speak for the Irish people... but who has any reason to believe her? She hasn't been elected to government so the only person she represents is herself. And currently, she has made a right ******** of that.

On the other hand, it was just an invitation. Perhaps the aim of having Celia's name on it was to add to the informality (as you'll notice in the the dress: informal) bit of the invite. So she helped Bertie host a function, because she's his partner. Where's the crime? As long as Bertie Ahern is in agreement he can put whoever he likes on the invite, because they don't matter.. Wrong word. Bertie Ahern is Taoiseach. He perhaps put his wife- I mean partner's name as a courtesy, not intended to cause such a reaction.

Looks to me like that grass could use a little H2Oh Yeah!

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Oh yeah:
    On the other hand, it was just an invitation. Perhaps the aim of having Celia's name on it was to add to the informality (as you'll notice in the the dress: informal) bit of the invite. So she helped Bertie host a function, because she's his partner. Where's the crime? As long as Bertie Ahern is in agreement he can put whoever he likes on the invite, because they don't matter.. Wrong word. Bertie Ahern is Taoiseach. He perhaps put his wife- I mean partner's name as a courtesy, not intended to cause such a reaction.</font>
    I've got no problem with this (if this is the case, and it wasn't on behalf of the Irish people), but the Blair baby thing I do. She shouldn't be doing things as a representative of the Irish people... if she was just congratulating them on a personal level, that's grand.

I don't mean representative in the context of statistics, I mean it in the elected sense.

Why?</font>
    Check the paragraph above. It feels tolerable, but I can't figure out why. I can think of reasons why not, but no reason other than "she's his wife."

Which brings forward the argument "ah sure, if his wife's allowed do it, sure in this day an' age, why can't his partna do it?"

I *strongly* disagree with Cecilia Larkin doing things on behalf, or as a representative, of the Irish people; as she wasn't elected and she is not an ambassador of this country. I can't have both ideas, as I can't figure out a reason how I can. If you can Androphobic, I'd be much obliged smile.gif

smile.gif

I dunno like.. I guess the Blair baby issue is a slightly different one.

The problem isn't because she's his partner as opposed to his wife, right?
    Therefore technically all she did was accompany Bertie and help him host a function.. etc.

She's not making any political decisions, she hasn't the power Bertie has - he is the elected official, not Celia Larkin..

so.. (I can't believe I'm saying this ..)
    all she did was accompany Bertie and look pretty..

smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Oh yeah

Touché.

Personally, I don't believe I have ever even seen Celia Larkins face..

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Oh yeah:
    Touché.

Personally, I don't believe I have ever even seen Celia Larkins face..
    </font>

hehe I wasn't actually saying she is pretty by the way.. ;)

The problem isn't because she's his partner as opposed to his wife, right?</font>
    This is some people's problems, not mine (but with all the attention this issue has been getting it most certainly is Bertie's smile.gif )
    Therefore technically all she did was accompany Bertie and help him host a function.. etc.</font>
    No problem, unless *she* did it one behalf of the Irish people. It was a joint event, so the line is blurred here.
    She's not making any political decisions, she hasn't the power Bertie has - he is the elected official, not Celia Larkin..</font>
    I don't think so, though I'm sure some people would jump in here with a "I'll get a multimeter and check" joke. Thankfully, I am not one of these people.

I would refer those who feel she has a right to be there (non-controversal as she is) to my previous post about her role in the Hugh O'Flaherty affair. As I siad there, that alone is enough for her to be barred from all official state ceremonies.