Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seek the Lord and you shall be free

• 28-04-2001 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭

Yea my sins are recorded, yet now in my late 20's I seek atonement for them. I have wronged the Lord High Jesus and seek forgiveness. I lay down the +4 Staff of Sarcasm and pick up the +9 Cross of Holiness.

I feel refreshed and renewed in my non-rejection of the Lord and seek fellow believers in the One True God for guidence in my Time Of Transition.

May The Lord Be With You Always,
    amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

nooooo the lord has claimed another! why!!! biggrin.gif

ur not one of these born again christians, are ya??

"just because ur not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after u!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by azezil:

ur not one of these born again christians, are ya??

</font>

why do you people always have such a bad opinion of people who 'find god'. or have any sort of faith actually?
    do you feel threatened by the fact that people are happy and believe in something bigger than thensleves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

mainly because a lot of people find it dumb.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">do you feel threatened by the fact that people are happy and believe in something bigger than thensleves?</font>

I'm not sure whether to interpret that as a humble statement or an incredibly arrogant one.

True, faith is something that can never be proven (which makes it quite convenient an excuse sometimes) but have you not thought that it takes more guts to, say, be an athiest? With athiests, there's absolutely no comfort and that's much harder. It probably takes more faith to be an athiest than a believer in God or the mystical.

Personally, I'm completely agnostic. I amn't condemning religious people, just challenging the quick assumption these people adopt when challenging their polar opposite, the athiest. Their intellectual hubris is pretty one sided and far from open-minded, quite often.

Maybe a little perspective is a good thing, you know?

"I collect spores, moulds and fungus."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

i just said that cause i went to a few of their cermons, heard a guy preachin about helping the poor n he's dripping in gold!
    watch, neclaces, rings etc. fe<kin hippacrite!

"just because ur not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after u!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteWashMan:
    why do you people always have such a bad opinion of people who 'find god'. or have any sort of faith actually?
    do you feel threatened by the fact that people are happy and believe in something bigger than thensleves?

</font>

I don't mind somebody else having faith, more power to them. I do object to strangers coming up to me on the street and trying to force their religion upon me. Now, not all the Born agains out there will do that. I generally find that when they ask if you'd like to come to a prayer meeting or the like, replying, "No, but thanks for asking" is enough for them to leave you alone. But there are other 'ones' who will not except that on the grounds that they have to save you soul. Generally I just tell them to go away or I'll call the guards. They really do not have respect for anybody elses faith.

[edited because I can't spell]

[This message has been edited by Evil Phil (edited 30-04-2001).]

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Evil Phil:
    They really do not have respect for anybody elses faith.
    ]
    </font>

that can be said for anyone in any context...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

</font>

Eamo - Wouldnt mind knowing if you have ever experienced a "person who has found faith" on a personal basis. I have and the best reason I can make out for why people have "issues" with those who have found faith later on in life is that generally they are very hard to be around.

Usually "born again" people are absolutly resolute in their belief. Much more so than someone who has been brought up as a certain religion.

It is my experience that they feel (in fact they KNOW) they are RIGHT and you/me/any other person who dosent believe in the same things as them are WRONG.

It has a snowballing feeding effect that generally seems to lead to hostility. Combine this with the ***** who come up to you when you are walking around town on your own and ask you to go to a "christian meeting" and you have not a lot to justify being friendly towards them.

I have to say tho the thing that really gets up my nose is those guys/girls who wander around town looking for anybody who is feeling the slightest bit vulnerable, so that they can suck them in. The vast majority of people in those "religions" (and I use the term hesitantly) are people who had just lost a job/ broken up with a girlfriend/boyfriend/other and are down.

Personally I know that the next time one of them approaches me I will without any uncertainty deck him a box. It's happened one to many times now, and is a bit too close to the bone for me to let it pass.

I mean this guy actually stopped his bike the other day, got off and started walking along beside me trying to sell his bullsh!t to me. I am a pacifist and as such he is lucky as his nose is still intact.

If the bottom falls out of your world, drink Andrews and the world will fall out of your bottom!!
    games?

[This message has been edited by SHADOW (edited 30-04-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by SHADOW:
    [BI mean this guy actually stopped his bike the other day, got off and started walking along beside me trying to sell his bullsh!t to me. I am a pacifist and as such he is lucky as his nose is still intact.

[/B]</font>

I cried because I saw a man with no bike... then I remembered I punched him in the nose and stole it, so I feel better now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

if you should seek the lord, prepare for war...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

If you do get to heaven, and St Peter offers you a choice between standard heaven, and Pie heaven, pick Pie heaven.
    I mean, it might be a trick, but if it isn't, mmmmmmmmmmmm, pie.

My Adolescent website:
    http://www.iol.net/~mullent

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by SHADOW:
    [B.

Usually "born again" people are absolutly resolute in their belief. Much more so than someone who has been brought up as a certain religion.
    [/B]</font>
    of course they are. they have found something on their own instead of having someone push beliefs on them.

i guess its like finding you are in love with someone and they are in love with you. you want to tell the whole world about it.
    maybe they are just so splendidly happy that they just gotta tell people.
    although i myself have an issue with people coming up to my doorstep and telling me.
    i used to go out with a born again christian, and although she continuous told me i was going to go to hell (fortunately us protestants dont believe in hell wink.gif) she never pushed anything on me. however, going to prayer meeting instead of shagging was beyond me. hmm, maybe she was doing more than preying when ob her knees smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I love The Lord

Lunacy Abounds! GLminesweeper RO><ORS!
    art is everything and of course nothing and possibly also a sausage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

What's the lord ever done for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

I despise organised religion due to the pain and dismay it has caused me within my life, I only have scars to prove that. A selfish response I know, but I'm forever opposed.

Non.

Lucy la morte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Its that evangelical attitude that causes so much of the worlds pain. On shadows personal level smile.gif or in causeing war after war. Christianity taught people that you have to save your brother from damnation but you dont have to respect his beliefs or his right to chose his own fate/faith. Crusaders went to kill infidels because they believed they were better off dead than living in sin. What kind of a ****ed idea can support this?
    Islam is to my mind one of the biggest threats to the future of my way of life I see. Christianity thankfully is dieing down, but islam is still in the hot evangelical expansionist stage christianity was during the crusades. All over the world people commit atrocities in the name of god. I dont care what god you worship, how can it be right to kill and invade lands for religion.
    And dont say I can choose not to believe. Once the taliban took over people lost the right to choose in afghanastan. Public executions occur weekly, many human rights are taken away. (women cant even be seen unveiled in public). Once you become a muslim in afghanistan, to even try to recant is a capital offence.
    I think expansionist religions could learn a lot from ones such as budism. Which I find no more convincing in its beliefs, but which does value human life. Even the life of those who dont believe. And does not tell its followers to go out and 'convert', ie invade and terrorise.
    A system of morals is necessary for our civilisation, but I truely wish such evangelical religions would die off, leaving the world a much happier place. And as for how this relates to this thread. The unpleasant aggressive evangelicism we see from many born again christians on our streets is a symptom of these problems in many religions. These are the sort of people who strong in their conviction would happily burn the unbeliever to save their immortal soul. And I like my skin the way it is, intact.
    quozl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Well, there are people who have "Faith" and there are people use use religion as an excuse to justify wrong things.

I mean here in Galway, I have seen "Jesus Freaks" marching around Erye Square, holding up traffic for miles, and preaching, and shouting at people, and giving out to them from a megaphone.

I got GRABBED in the street one time by a few of them, and they tried to push me back against a wall and corner me, but I pushed past them and walked on...

I'm sorry, I wont go into any of this really, on how I'm not Christian, but there is a lot of so called Christians who are just begging to be decked.

I swear, if I get grabbed on the street again, I will punch the dip in the neck.

Also, when I was going to see Marduk in Temple Bar a couple of months ago, a friend pointed out something in the paper protesting against the concert.
    Christians usualy don't let people decide for themselves, and if there is something they don't like, then they will attack it, no matter if it is hurting people in the process.
    I mean, I thought there was going to be a riot that night at the concert.
    But thankfully there wasn't, and everyone had a good time.
    And no Christians were hurt, or any of their ideals put in jepoardy.

I mean, there are people who beleive in Christ, and try to follow his path.
    Jesus was the original Hippie. He preached peace and understanding.
    And there ARE people who follow his teaching.
    And I know a good few myself.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Sico:
    What's the lord ever done for you?</font>

created the single most wonderful thing in the entire universe. breasts....

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lucy_la_morte:
    I despise organised religion due to the pain and dismay it has caused me within my life, I only have scars to prove that. A selfish response I know, but I'm forever opposed.

</font>

you are about 14. stop being melodramatic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by AngelWhore:

I mean, there are people who beleive in Christ, and try to follow his path.
    Jesus was the original Hippie. He preached peace and understanding.
    And there ARE people who follow his teaching.
    And I know a good few myself.
    </font>

Mahatma Ghandi said if someone showed him a TRUE follower of christ, he would convert to christianity immediately

Well now that I have had The Lord (we broke up last night over His refusable to bandage those festering holes of His) I have become one with Buddhism.

So next week I shall mostly be worshipping Buddha.

Also in conjunction with this I shall be launching "Religion Format" a new magazine for people who just have time to weigh up the pros and cons of a religion in this fast paced world of ours.

</font>

You have no idea you insensitive bástard.

Non.

Lucy la morte.

Yeah Wwman, did you never watch "The Wonder Years" starring fred Savage?!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

</font>

Man how do you know...no actually just **** off i couldnt be arsed replying to such ignorance!

Citer le Cordeau "JennyRooba" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

She has said she's 14 in a couple of other threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Hendrix

Ahh lesser mortals resorting to swearwords!
    $^"& £^%£%$&^&$%£

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by SpiraL:
    Man how do you know...no actually just **** off i couldnt be arsed replying to such ignorance!

</font>

check out the 'what age are you' thread.
    gosh spiral, that really is very aggressive behavour. what was it i said that was so offensive so that i know what to apologise for?

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by C B:

You should apologise for the assumption that somebody younger than you cannot possibly have experienced pain or anguish.
    </font>

did i say those words?
    where did i say those things?

the melodrama bit was about being 'forever opposed'. no-one is forever anything. people change. it happens, get on with it. we all have our sad stories to tell. people around here are so serious.
    if you are offended lucy, then i do indeed apologise. my aim here is not to offend. as ive said in another thread, to act as devils advocate and entice at least some semblance of debate is a nice pasttime when stuck in work being bored. i post things to get people to react, but id prefer if people thought about what i am saying. try not to read what you want to read. 'what you heard is not always what was said'.
    remember that next time you lose the head.
    as for ignorant? at least i can put forward an argument with out the aid the crutch of swear words due to an inability to express my opinion.
    shame on you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

I suspect WWMan is on a sh.it stirring campaign to point out something or other about the character of the average Boards.ie poster.

But don't take my opinion as valid, I am only 19 and as a result probably don't know anything. smile.gif

My Adolescent website:
    http://www.iol.net/~mullent

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Excelsior:
    I suspect WWMan is on a sh.it stirring campaign to point out something or other about the character of the average Boards.ie poster.

</font>
    very true. but more because im bored and you amuse me
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Excelsior:

But don't take my opinion as valid, I am only 19 and as a result probably don't know anything. smile.gif
    </font>

i dont think your age has anything to do with. you just shouldnt get so hot under the collar, lash out and then expect poeple not to reply. and when they do reply you offer no good reasons or valid opinions for what you say. if you cant stand the heat....
    you might consider asking god to forgive me next time you chat....

I think that it is where the loving and wonderful ideas of most religions get replaced by dogma that most people have problems with.

allmost allways along the way, some well-meaning zealot who doesn't really understand that the message is personal makes a law out of it. then future generations fight each other becuase of that law, and the message is lost.

or maybe i'm just reading it wrong.
    - this is my religion. get your own smile.gif

WhiteWashMan i was actually on about what she may have been through. I wasnt talking about her age at all. She merely stated that she had only suffered when it comes to faith etc and you came back and gave her a "your only 14 what would you know" kind of answer. I just thought it was a bit abrupt and insensitive.

Spiral, you are full of it biggrin.gif woman

WhiteWashMan i was actually on about what she may have been through. I wasnt talking about her age at all. She merely stated that she had only suffered when it comes to faith etc and you came back and gave her a "your only 14 what would you know" kind of answer. I just thought it was a bit abrupt and insensitive.

</font>

perhaps my friend. however how many young teenage girls do you know who arent full of the woes of life?
    no im not being patronising, rude or anything else, its an honest question.

First of all who the **** are you hendrix! some ****0r too afraid to show his real name or just a ****in ejit newbie? Anyways back to the subject. WWM theres still no need to be so short with her. But as im not very up to date on info about young teenage girls i cant comment on their stereotypical feelings on life. So all i can say is i dont know. If on the other hand you do know all about young teenage girls and how they think then i will by all means take your point into account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭C B

perhaps my friend. however how many young teenage girls do you know who arent full of the woes of life?
    no im not being patronising, rude or anything else, its an honest question.

</font>

Alas, i'm not to au fais with the lives of teenage girls smile.gif

However, it would seem that the person in question does have a heart felt grievence with the Church and for you to belittle it is quite patronising.

So apoligise and be done with it.

[This message has been edited by C B (edited 02-05-2001).]

First of all who the **** are you hendrix! some ****0r too afraid to show his real name or just a ****in ejit newbie? Anyways back to the subject. WWM theres still no need to be so short with her. But as im not very up to date on info about young teenage girls i cant comment on their stereotypical feelings on life. So all i can say is i dont know. If on the other hand you do know all about young teenage girls and how they think then i will by all means take your point into account.

</font>

fair enough, take gender out. from experience i was full of the woes of the world when i was 14. most of my friends were full of the woe of the world, and my brother, who is only 11, is already full of the woes of the world.
    nothing is ever black and white. nothing ever happens in ones, if its a bad day, then 15 things that rank at 9.5 on the richter scale of woe happened.
    actually, maybe goths are people who think they are still 14 but can afford to buy their own black clothes.
    that was a joke... smile.gif<-look smilie....
    and, ive already apologised if i am wrong.
    however, now i think we have digressed and are way of topic.
    im surprised no one has actually commecnted on the fact that in another thread i have damned religious types. maybe i should put in disclaimers that this is not the opinion of the writer, mearly argumentitive points.

id like to have an argument
    no you wouldnt
    yes i would
    not until you pay me
    oh right....

Ooooh Spiral, spiraling down your slippy slope, stop swearing girl. It doesn't become you. tongue.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

He did........Some of you people just dont read the posts be for you, and then go and make a fool out of your self!!!

ps......People Do Stuff!?!?!?!

Ciaran Sutcliffe
    aka: sutty
    [HIV]sutty
    For a good time goto:
    http://www.hotinternetvirgins.com

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by sutty:
    He did........Some of you people just dont read the posts be for you, and then go and make a fool out of your self!!!

ps......People Do Stuff!?!?!?!

</font>

what are you wittering about?
    and stop using my quotes smile.gif

In summary for the benefits of Spiral, CB, and Excel:

Stop getting all p!ssy and moany over Wwman's comment about Lucy. Lucy the way you wrote it made you sound like a total drama queen. I'm not saying you are one, just that thats the way your post portrayed you.

What is it about humanities this whether that has everyone up in arms, which totally diverts the topic from its original course, anytime ANYONE says anything thats slightly "un-PC"??

I have yet to see a worthwhile thread that hasnt decended into a flame war.

Hobbes - LOL at that T-Shirt. Is there more of those t-shirts there?

[This message has been edited by SHADOW (edited 02-05-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by C B:
    Alas, i'm not to au fais with the lives of teenage girls smile.gif

However, it would seem that the person in question does have a heart felt grievence with the Church and for you to belittle it is quite patronising.

So apoligise and be done with it.

[This message has been edited by C B (edited 02-05-2001).]
    </font>

ps......People do stuff!?!?!?!

pps.....your quote? ha I never seen you post it anywhere! It's mine.....its all mine Muhahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!! biggrin.gif

Ciaran Sutcliffe
    aka: sutty
    [HIV]sutty
    For a good time goto:
    http://www.hotinternetvirgins.com

Originally posted by SHADOW:

Hobbes - LOL at that T-Shirt. Is there more of those t-shirts there?

the jesus one was funny smile.gif

It isnt a flame war its just a discussion with two different arguments.

Just to put in my SNL values worth (ie. 0).

- WWMan is just being who he is. It's doubtful he meant any offense by his remarks because he tends to be a bit more forward in doing so.

- Lucys comment didn't come across as Drama Queenish in in any way. Seemed like a serious enough comment to add.

- Despite what you think what you consider "The end of the world" is at age 14 is pretty trivial when you get to age 20 or age 30, etc. Which is what WWMan is trying to get across IMHO.

- Peoples feelings on subjects close to them can seem somewhat trivial to others who haven't any notion of the situation. Which is why you should be tactful in certain situations (like not saying "You'll get over it" to people who have lost a kid, or a teenager who got dumped by someone they loved).

Now can we all hug and make up please?

Hmm, sorry for making this thread serious frown.gif

Non.

Lucy la morte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

****ing muppetry. I post a long, well thought out attack on religion. And you all bale on wwman. I thought this was doomed to trolls, but not thanks to Eamo. Damn you Eamo, damn you.
    quozl
    (long/well thought out by the standards of how much effort I am willing to put into this board.)

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by quozl:
    I post a long, well thought out attack on religion. </font>

So just lemmie get this straight greg...u spent all of about 4 and a half seconds posting??
    wink.gifbiggrin.gif

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by quozl:
    ****ing muppetry. I post a long, well thought out attack on religion. And you all bale on wwman. I thought this was doomed to trolls, but not thanks to Eamo. Damn you Eamo, damn you.
    quozl
    (long/well thought out by the standards of how much effort I am willing to put into this board.)
    </font>

sorry frown.gif