Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

god damn nackers!

• 15-04-2001 1:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭

i'm a very open minded person, i give everyone a fair chance but i hav gotten nothing but harrassment from travelers!...just moments ago a gang of them came in (cyber cafe) i gave them the benifit of the douth let them work away, then they started messin around, n nickin stuff so i asked them to leave, then one would destract me with the rest try to nick more...n its not the first time... mad.gif

i'm sick of this sh!t from now on if one of them tries to come in i'll grab the nearest brush LOL ... but seriously how can u treat them equally when they carrie on like this! mad.gif

"just because ur not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after u!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Well by not lumping them all into one generalisation would be a nice start.

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!
    art is everything and of course nothing and possibly also a sausage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

I have yet to meet one "new age traveller" that doesnt come under the description that azezil has mentioned.

They always seem to be looking for trouble.

Aka: Dragon,Sexual Harassment Panda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Amp, that's bs, there travellers because they want to be, the ones who arent knackers long ago stopped living in caravans etv. and got houses

Bottom line is,

I've never met a nice knacker, or a knacker who isnt breaking the law abusing the system. Where i live, there are alwasy knackers just looking for an empty field or a bit of pavement to make a ****hole and move on once it gets too dirty. I hate knackers. I hope something bad happens to them ie: a nice ****ing concentration camp, they all have an "accident" and die etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I'd love to agree with amp but that'd be ignoring reality. Maybe part of the reason knackers are such ****s is cos people treat them like ****. The fact is they are ****s! You can't trust them and never turn your back on them.

Get yourself a security camera in the cafe. Reasonable quality ones are cheap enough nowadays. I'd think of it more as a deterrent though. If you filmed them robbing stuff, then called the guards, they probably would find the knackers and hassle them about it, but they probably would smash your windows (or worse) once they are released, then just move on. Put it in plain sight and put up a notice or something and it might deter them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I know, we can start a hate campaign against them, and we can call ourselves, "The Nazis"!

Who is with me?

Give me back my towel. I'll sue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Wow Neuro your an *******.

Right lads I would agree that the majority of travellers I have ever encountered do partake in this sort of behaviour. We had a family of travellers that camped on our land for a long time and wouldn't go. Even after numerous visits from the Garda they really weren't arsed and they stole a dumper we had out there. That's the only real first hand experience I've had with them besides general once off encounters. But we can't say that all of the travelling community is like that. I personally know some that are really cool people so when ye generalise in future please be a bit more thoughtful.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

yeah, this is a debate which, coincedentally, has been mentioned a few times in recent conversation.

say, as a posho rugby boy from willow park or something, you're gonna be middle class but the responsible thing would be to go easy on knackers because theyre underpriviledged and you have to be tolerant don't you? so calling them knackers and actually despising them isn't socially permitted.

why is this? knackers, travellers, skangers etc are nevertheless what the words describe them as - a lot of them are violent, steal stuff and generally give people abuse for no reason whatsoever - without provocation.

i don't care what anyone things, but i don't reckon there's anything wrong with saying you hate knackers. forget political correctness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭androphobic

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by neuro-praxis:
    I know, we can start a hate campaign against them, and we can call ourselves, "The Nazis"!
    </font>

Yeah!

And I thought Irish people were generally open minded..
    I hope this isn't a good reflection of everyone's views.
    Can everyone say "generalisation"? It's not that hard.. really..

And guess what! There's actually a term for this! It's called xenophobia.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Did yous know that theres a new law in only this year to try to stop shop/pub owners etc from discriminating against travelers and blacks etc. It was the case prior to this that if you didn't like the look of someone you didn't have to serve them in your shop or pub, you had the right to refuse admition without having to give an explanation, but not any more with this new law!

If for example you were to refuse a new group of travelers admition into your cyber cafe on the grounds that you had a bad experience with a different group before you could be charged under this new law. Of course this law appears to be very grey area and IMHO was only put in place to keep minorities happy because all you have to say as a shop owner is that it was them who were there before causing hassle, or you could say they were very disorderly and abusive as they were walking in, who they gonna believe?

Xenophobia is a fear of foreigners or strangers not directly related to travellers. Please get it right.

.logic.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by logic1:
    Xenophobia is a fear of foreigners or strangers not directly related to travellers. Please get it right.

.logic.
    </font>

it seems to me that it's related to travellers.. -

for·eign·er (fôr-nr, fr-)
    n.

One who is from a foreign country or place.
    One who is from outside a particular group or community; an outsider.

"One who is from outside a particular group or community; an outsider."

I rest my case.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

androphobic: I think you might find that neuro-praxis comment was a joke, which would go to show that your not very open minded yourself.

neuro-praxis: You might want to change that name slightly.... 'The Nackerazies' might be more appropriate wink.gif

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Blade:
    androphobic: I think you might find that neuro-praxis comment was a joke, which would go to show that your not very open minded yourself.
    </font>

I was aware that he was joking.. smile.gifHe seems to be one of the people who is not anti-travellers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Wow a tread like this really brings out the racist in you doesnt it! smile.gif

Btw you can get a phat fine for calling them anything other than Travellers or New age Travellers.

As for that anti-discriminatory law, i was in a certain town last week at around half four in the evening havin a few beers and every pub in the town closed down when they found out that there was an traveller wedding coming.

Discrimination? Yes.

And if you were a pub owner youd do the very same, if you had any sense.

Aka: Dragon,Sexual Harassment Panda

I'd like to thank Logic for the insult before I go on. It warmed my heart. Truly.

Anyway, is it really that hard to call them travellers if they would prefer to be called travellers? It isn't hard for me.

Is it okay to call black people "****"?

Hate is hate. They may not be a different race, but this is defiant prejudice. I have had bad experiences too - but I have had a damn sight more bad experiences with settled people.

People who are hated react to hate. It is a vicious circle, and these evil attitudes keep those skanky juices flowing.

PS - I have seen no evidence that Androphobic is closed minded in any way, just so y'all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Neuro is a chick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

On the bus last week on the way into Dublin..
    two young ones on the back of the bus, Couldn't understand a ****in word they were saying.. except for one or two sentences:
    "sure all yid have to do is take two or three the poles out and we'd be in then"
    refering to a field surrounded by a fence supported by cement poles.
    This sort of "scouting" was done on several other fields along the way.
    While I agree that they're not all bad, this just took the biscuit, scum is the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

as i said i gave them a fair chance but they pulled this sh!t, and its not the first time, it happened on two other occassions so i'm just a bit pi$$ed off right now, oh and i did call the guards, when they seen me do that they tried to unplug the phone, got really abusive, hell i felt intimidated, so i think i hav a right to refuse addmission to them in future!...

"just because ur not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after u!"

azezil.. you've obviously had a bad experience so of course you have the right to be angry.
    but putting this into perspective.. if that had been a gang of lads (or of course girls) from dublin would you automatically refuse everyone from dublin admission in the future? smile.gif

thanks neuro btw smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

Saying that they are an ethnic group is complete ******. The only thing thats different about em is that they dont care who they **** off, and they dont care about anyone other than themselves. It wouldnt bother me if they all took a long walk off a short pier this evening for all i care.

They arent an ethnic minority, just a bunch of tossers abusing society and playing on their fears of prejudice.

Now, im all for letting people do what they want with their lives... as long as it dosent **** up the place i live / country / world. I couldnt give two ****s what they did with themselves if they had respect for others, and acted like most other civilised people around the world. All i ask from people is some common decency and respect, and whoever i get that from, i return two-fold. The 'travellers' dont get, or for 99.99% of them deserve my tollerance or respect.

**** them all :P

Moriarty
    mrmoriarty@eircom.net

Some of the people here need to wake up.. neuro and andro namely. Knackers are consistently thieving and criminal... **** them... they deserve their reputation..

.logic.

androphobic - the fact of the matter is normal people dont act like they do. Anyone that does is swiftly ****ed over by the gardai, and anyone else they meet.

Moriarty
    mrmoriarty@eircom.net

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by D-Generate:
    Neuro is a chick</font>

woops sorry smile.gif

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Moriarty:
    androphobic - the fact of the matter is normal people dont act like they do. Anyone that does is swiftly ****ed over by the gardai, and anyone else they meet.
    </font>

act like they do? could you be more specific?

[This message has been edited by androphobic (edited 15-04-2001).]

Well Kento-Shiro this new law doesn't cover when or why you close up shop of course smile.gif

But your damn right I would do the same if I were in a small town. Where I am now though small groups of travelers come in to my cafe (not cyber cafe) all the time. 75% of them are loud, rude and extremely bad mannered, but they pay their bill.

The problems start if their numbers are such that their making up the majority of the people in one shop or pub, like them swarming azezil's cyber cafe for example, in these cases your almost certainly guaranteed trouble. It's easy for people who don't have to put up with this kind of thing in every day life to sit pretty in their offices 9 to 5 Monday to Friday and criticize others and call them rascists or Xenophobes but for those who have to work late nights and weekends cleaning up after them, taking their abuse and suffering losses because of them it's a different kettle of fish.

Some of the people here need to wake up.. neuro and andro namely. Knackers are consistently thieving and criminal... **** them... they deserve their reputation..

.logic.
    </font>

yes logic. hopefully one day i will wake up and be reformed. like you i will believe that the whole of one community of people are thieves and criminals. i'm sure i will be a better person for it.

[This message has been edited by androphobic (edited 15-04-2001).]

androphobic- the constant bad manners, violence, and general harshness of all of them to anyone else. The muggings, assaults, and theft. Shal i go on?

Moriarty
    mrmoriarty@eircom.net

But we can't say that all of the travelling community is like that. I personally know some that are really cool people so when ye generalise in future please be a bit more thoughtful.

.logic.
    </font>
    .logic.
    </font>

Some beautiful contradictions there.
    I am fully awake.

Tolerance should be automatic, it shouldn't have to be learned. I have had bad experiences too, namely being 10 and my father being threatened with a crow bar, being 8 and having abused screamed at me and my mother because we didn't have any money to give to a begging traveller...

I still don't hate them. Beacause hate is circular and negative, and breeds mob mentality, and leads to more hate.

I can really sympathise with that experience in the café, and there is no excuse for it. And it is fine to be angry, and fine to refuse admission to anybody that causes trouble.

But travellers can never become socialised members of our communities, EVER, if we continue to push them away.

androphobic, can I ask you a question? what do you work at? You obviously have never had to put up with the kind of cr@p most of the rest of us have from people like these, because I guarantee you if you had you'd have changed your tune a long time ago. It's very comfortable to work in a threat free environment but theres a real world out there that you obviously know nothing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

95% of them are dirty ignorant ****ers....it's all good and well to be saying how we should embrace them with open arms...who wants them living beside your house?...

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">But travellers can never become socialised members of our communities, EVER, if we continue to push them away</font>

They've pushed themselves away from society FFS cop on!

It's easy for people who don't have to put up with this kind of thing in every day life to sit pretty in their offices 9 to 5 Monday to Friday and criticize others and call them rascists or Xenophobes but for those who have to work late nights and weekends cleaning up after them, taking their abuse and suffering losses because of them it's a different kettle of fish.
    </font>

Blade.. I don't have a 9 to 5 office job smile.gif
    Actually I work (part-time) in a holiday hostel so, in fairness, I can honestly say that I've put up with my fair share of hassle from people. ALL people. Irish people, Europeans, Americans, travellers, blacks, whites.. etc etc.

Two years ago my dad owned a restaurant/take-away type thing. We always served travellers, and they often paid my wages wink.gif
    I have seen violent travellers, of course, but I've seen many violent people from EVERY background.

I've been hit while trying to break up fights while at work. I know what it's like for someone to turn aggressive on you.

I hope that answers your question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

girls and their love the world attitude...for **** sake...no offense like...have ye ever had any interaction with tinkers? bar nation wide or the news?......live beside them for a time...or try conduct business with them and then come back and re join the conversation.....

Milk for the baby.
    is the boss man around?.
    bita carpet for the missus?
    gate for yourself sur?.
    finest quality persian rugs...i got them in from france yesterday.
    look at me with my slash hook....

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Moriarty:
    androphobic- the constant bad manners, violence, and general harshness of all of them to anyone else. The muggings, assaults, and theft. Shal i go on?
    </font>

Oh right. And that just applies to the travelling community? Never met a rude/violent settled person? Not even outside a nightclub on a Saturday night?
    Dunno where you live but I'd like to move there.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by SheroN:
    girls and their love the world attitude...for **** sake...no offense like...have ye ever had any interaction with tinkers? bar nation wide or the news</font>

Yes... please don't assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

I personally dont like travellers because they have nothing to offer to benefit society.

Some say the end is near.
    Some say we'll see armageddon soon.
    I certainly hope we will.
    I sure could use a vacation from this....
    bull****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kegser

This thread is funny.

Obviously very few of you have had regular dealings with that fine body of people called the Travellers.

Andro of course it's not only people from the travelling community that cause trouble, I've seen people from all walks of life causing trouble, from the Dublin scumbags to the filthy rich snobs but if you were to look at percentages from my experience of dealing with people on a 1 to 1 bases these would be the percentage of each group that will give you hassle, abuse or talk to you as if your a peice of cow dung:

Travellers: 75%
    Dublin Scumbags: 20%
    Snobs: 3%
    Tourists: 1%

Now thats from my experience over the last 17 years in the same trade, so I think it would be fair to say at least in my position that it's ok for me to be a little xenophobic about them.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by SheroN:
    girls and their love the world attitude...for **** sake...no offense like...have ye ever had any interaction with tinkers? bar nation wide or the news?......live beside them for a time...or try conduct business with them and then come back and re join the conversation.....

</font>

Have you *read* anything that I have written?

And what a profound statement about the tolerance that women have! I am sure that my female peers (who hate gays, blacks, Aisans and travellers) will be thrilled to learn of their tolerant ways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kegser

OI!! What's wrong with Dublin Scumbags ehhhh? smile.gif

... percentage of each group that will give you hassle, abuse or talk to you as if your a peice of cow dung:

Travellers: 75%
    Dublin Scumbags: 20%
    Snobs: 3%
    Tourists: 1%

</font>

84% of all statistics are made up on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

Tinkers haven't called around my estate for months now.
    But last Thursday they were around, sussing out the houses, and then again yesterday. Connection ? rolleyes.gif

The low lifes were checking out the houses because it's a bank holiday and all that jazz.

I would really like to say that I know of nice travellers but I have yet to meet them.

Now thats from my experience over the last 17 years in the same trade, so I think it would be fair to say at least in my position that it's ok for me to be a little xenophobic about them.</font>

obviously everything is relative and if you feel you have the right to be xenophobic then that's your choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

90 percent of this thread is horsesh*t.
    I think blade has something there,though im not sure about the actual figures wink.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I used to work in a Statoil petrol station/shop. The amount of times travellers/knackers/tinkers/whatever you call them yourself tried to steal disel for their 00-D reg shiny new vans is countless. While they're outside trying to do this, about 10 of their children are inside the (small) shop trying to fill their pockets.

I know this is not representative of all travellers but it certainly does not put them in a good light. There was only the occasional incident with "settled" people there, nothing like what the travellers got up to.

- Munch

Thats my experience sorry, yours might be:

Travellers: 0%
    Dublin Scumbags: 0%
    Snobs: 0%
    Tourists: 0%

(That was a joke. I made up my own statistic..)

Sigh

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">obviously everything is relative and if you feel you have the right to be xenophobic then that's your choice</font>

Exactly and therefor everyone else here whos giving out about them has the same right for their own reasons to be xenophobic about them.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">(That was a joke. I made up my own statistic..)</font>

I know and thats why I threw a dig back to make out that you probably have no experience in the matter whatsoever.