Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

one night stand, does it mean anything?

• 20-12-2004 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

last wednesay night i met this really sweet guy in the redbox and we hit it off brillantly. i was really attracted to him, and i thought he was really sound so we headed back to his gaff afterwards.
    we had lots of fun and did everything but have full sex(im still a virgin).i was quite merry at the time and although he asked for my mobile number when i was heading,i said best just leave it as i v had a bad experiene with that before.

i really regretted not giving my number a few days latter as i really had good fun, so i decided to post a christmas card to him a few days latter as i remembered where he lived, with my mobile number on it.

id just like to get other people's opinions, did i do the right thing sending the christmas card(i d really like to see him again) or is he just going to think im a stalker/desperate? id especially like guys opinions( i thought he really liked me at the time too). i d hate to think all he wanted was a cheap score and was using me etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

That seems cool. Sending one card isn't stalking.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

unsure wrote:
    id just like to get other people's opinions, did i do the right thing sending the christmas card

sure why not? nothing ventured, nothing gained!
    you just sent him a card
    I'd only call you a stalker if you start hanging around the bushes outside his gaf :)
    if he calls, great
    if he doesn't, well, you tried - either way, tis no biggie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Are you male or female...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

nice one girlly
    you did the right thing had a think and did it then the amount of times i've regreted giving my number is unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

In 20 years which do you think you'll regret more...the fact that you didn't send him the card, or the fact that you did?

Fair play, no problem doing what you did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Not only do I have no problem with it, but if it was me on the recieving end, personally I would think it a rather cute way of getting back in touch...

In my opinion/experience, if you go the whole way on the 1st night, well then the guy just sees you as a slapper and def not relationship material. The fact that you didn't go the whole way is commendable and he may come back looking for more & respect you for it.
    Either way good luck & I hope all goes well.

I take it you gave him your number in the Xmas card yeh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

he's probably thinking why you didnt just give him the number in the first place, sounds like yiz got to know each other pretty well.

fletch wrote:
    Are you male or female...?

what has that got to do with the price of turnips?
    B

Beruthiel wrote:
    what has that got to do with the price of turnips?
    B
    Jus curious thats all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

ehh....dont send a card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

The are you male or female question is fair enough.

Are you too PC to admit there are different dynamics at work in hetrosexual v homosexual relationships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

koaldude wrote:
    In 20 years which do you think you'll regret more...the fact that you didn't send him the card, or the fact that you did?
    yeah, you'll get over embarassment/cringing quicker than curiousity and what ifs. I'd be flattered to receive the card, and if I were interested I wouldn't find it stalkery. My GF would kill me though :p;)

im female 19yrs.

i just always find it hard to tell wether a guy actually really likes you or if its just the drink making them act impulsively. how can you really tell?

yeh, i put my mobile number on the card, the worst he can do is not reply i guess, i don't really have anything to lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

no problem with the card. its just another form of communication.

although, heres a tip for you single flirters out there.
    next time, whether youa re male or female, try and get the other persons number.
    it means you have a day or two to make up your mind if you liked them or not and can phone them for a coffee date or something.

otherwise, the ball is out of your court, and no matter how much you liked them, if they dont phone you (they may be scared to) you will never see them again and its a wasted chance.
    christ peopel, take control and stop bloody worrying abut every little thing!

• He asked for your number, and you gave it to him, no worries you did the right thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

unsure wrote:
    .........i was quite merry at the time........

u just better hope u remembered his address properly!! ;)
    actually, r u sure he didnt bring you back to his mates gaf or something? u might get some random stranger ringin u! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Invader Zim

That would be a cool Christmas present, if he is single and looking that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

He wouldnt have asked for your number in the first place if he didnt want it. The card while quite cheesey was a nice touch and this is coming from a bloke. It will also keep him keener I would imagine as you didnt just give him your number straight away.

Fair play.

no, its definitely where he rents during college term.

though he mightnt get it till after xmas as all colleges are probably shut by now.

thanks for all the posts by the way, i guess ill have to just play the waiting game now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

You sent a stranger a card... what are you insane! If one of my one night stands sent me a card i'd freak out!

Look if you have fun in future just get his number or give him yours, if you don't give it on the night, forget about it.

Sending a card is just weird, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

Am with Az on this! Been there done that! Bumped into her 2-3 weeks later (we both exchanged numbers -both equally deep people :p - never phoned each other). We saw each other from across the bar and she just blanked me and when our gazes met I blanked her - we were both extremely embarassed - as I think she was with her (new - no idea :eek:) boyfriend?

A card from her before this would have had me living like Howard Hughes :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

azezil wrote:
    You sent a stranger a card... what are you insane! If one of my one night stands sent me a card i'd freak out!

Look if you have fun in future just get his number or give him yours, if you don't give it on the night, forget about it.

Sending a card is just weird, imo.

Never mind him, He gets freaked out by cards as he cant remember their faces.

Its really down to the guy and what kinda time yee had.
    If he was as interested in you as you were in him then him recieving your number will be seen as you being interested.

If he wasn't then you have nothing to worry about as chrimbo cards get dumped in january.

Either way, He who Hesitates fails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭handy

You should have sent him a box of roses.

Fair play to ya girl, if you like him then chase him. Message me for my address just in case i never get to meet you at the red box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

Damit..... should have gone to the redbox last week..........You did the right thing whats the harm ? Any normal single guy would be well chuffed.

Sorry Beruthiel..... i think you have a thing for banning me......... or maybe i have a thing for prevoking you to ban me........ happy xmas.... ;)

Fudger
    keep it on topic, either give advice to the thread starter or refrain from commenting
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I would think that that would be a nice thing to get. If he was into you then he would be happy to get a card with your mobile on it, shirley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Every body seems to be spot ont he ball. If nothing comes of it you had a good time ;) and it only cost you the price of an xmas card.

If it does work out then let the good times roll ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

I think depends on the bloke to be honest!If id hooked up with a girl and asked her for her number but instead got it with a Chrsitmas card a few days later i would be well chuffed so i wouldnt worry about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Good idea sending the card but with the Christmas post it might get delayed, you should of registered it that way there can be no mistake if you bump into each other and he says he never got the card.

What you should do now is send him a new years card and register it just to make sure.

Or even better still camp on his door step with you card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Invader Zim

TIPPTOP wrote:
    What you should do now is send him a new years card and register it just to make sure.

Or even better still camp on his door step with you card.

While the card was unquestionably a good idea registering it would be a little emmm.. "kiss the boot"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

While the card was unquestionably a good idea registering it would be a little emmm.. "kiss the boot"

Your right, "Swiftpost" would be much better

TIPPTOP
    Invader Zim

perhaps you missed my comment above asking for this thread to be kept on topic
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Don't be worrying about being a BunnyBoiler unless of course the card had a picture of a bowl of Rabbit Stew on it?

But I have to agree with WWW on his point about if you're not sure about giving your number out, take theirs!!!

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

im amazed that some people get think its okay to go home with a stranger ( 7 possibly have sex) but not to send them a card.
    Send the card & see what happens, theres no problem there if it was me id be chuffed .

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

/me stays VERY MUCH on topic.....

anyway,
    i'm a 19year old guy, and personally i would be well chuffed if some girl did this

any update ?

no i haven't recieved a reply yet. one of his flat mates might have taken the card.
    id also imagine he's gone home back to Cork for Christmas.

how do you know though if you are with a guy, if it ever means something more then just a quick score, you know, if they actually really like you.

iv always thought nightclubs can be meatmarkets, but then on ocassion iv met some nice guys at them. do guys go to them get laid for the most part or are they ever after that special person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

unsure wrote:

how do you know though if you are with a guy, if it ever means something more then just a quick score, you know, if they actually really like you.

well usually if you do EVERYTHING besides full on penetration on the first night you meet a guy. I'd say he REALLY liked you..... at the time.

but maybe he is a decent guy and will call you back.. or maybe he thinks that it was what it was... a one night stand.

and, depending on your meaning of the word, you might not be a virgin anymore.

*edit* and for the record, i would never EVER set foot in a nightclub to find that 'special' person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

yeah,, or some random strangers wife...hee hee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Gambler

I have to say, I have met all but one of my serious GF's in night clubs.

It really depends on the guy.. I have had my fair share of one night stands (probably a few other peoples shares too) but I was always open to the idea that there might be a chance for something more. I do have to say that holding out on the first night is a good idea if you are looking for something more than just a quickie.

If the guy is only looking for a bit of the ole nudge nudge wink wink you'll know by how pushy he gets. "Aw come on.. You know I really like you.. I never normally do this kinda thing.."

If he really likes you he will be ok, he'll probably try his luck (we are male..) but when you make it clear it goes so far and no futher you'll know.

I do have to say that holding out on the first night is a good idea if you are looking for something more than just a quickie.

Do you think she held out cos i sure as hell don't :D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Gambler

I mean the main event :D

sometimes the support acts are more entertaining;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

newband wrote:
    sometimes the support acts are more entertaining;)
    Now I am wearing shiny jeans! Can no longer deny you caused me to p!ss myself! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

If he likes you and would like to see you again then sending him a card with your number is a classy way of doing it, it puts little pressure on him (he isn't standing right in front of you with you expecting an answer) but it lets him know that you liked what you saw and would like to see him again

If he doesn't want to see you again, then f**k it what have you lost, he didn't want to see you again anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 johnscone

i think its a fun idea , if ur hot he will proberly text ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep