Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men or Woman, biggest liars

• 20-12-2004 1:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭

Out the other night with the lads and this came up, in the end the majority concluded that woman are better and feel less guilty about lying to partner, or friends. Personally I think its equal
    any opinions or veiws!!

Who tells the most porkies 24 votes

Men
    0% 0 votes
    Woman
    100% 24 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Id in general say equal but to go on my own experience id have to say women!Especially more than the blokes i know!
    Most of my mates are brutally honest in most cases!Even when ya dont like it!hehe

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Objectively speaking, women are all lying b!tches without exeption.

7 votes and theyre all for women!

Especting a female outrage any minute now! :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

I'd actually have to say men..How often are we forced to lie to either please our women, or to avoid their wrath..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

I was going to say I was shocked at the amount of votes for women, but then I remembered that most users on here on young men...
    so are you are lying to yourselves by voting and saying women lie more...think about it

Every guy I know will lie when they dont have to just because they think they are sparing someones feelings, so while it may be a 'white lie' it starts a trend doesnt it?

honest now, how many times a day do you lie about something?

I can be honest and say I dont lie (where does it goet you in the end afterall), even when it is to spare someones feelings, I feel that if the truth hurts then I'd rather be the one to give it to you straight than be one of the many others who will lie to make you happy.

For example,
    a friend or boyfriend asks a simple question...
    "do I look okay in this outfit?"
    hell no, take it off and return it to the store that sold it to you, what were you thinking?
    :p

a guy would most likley say...
    sure honey, you look okay

now they may say this to avoid the "look" or just to get out of waiting but it still counts as a lie ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Blah blah blah, nerds on internet are bitter towards women.. OH NO

BEAT, True as ever. Men are the biggest LIARS ever!! Remember peeps, I am one!!

Quick example: How many people have you slept with?
    Reply: Thousands!!!!!

Papa Smut wrote:
    BEAT, True as ever. Men are the biggest LIARS ever!! Remember peeps, I am one!!

Quick example: How many people have you slept with?
    Reply: Thousands!!!!!

Speak for yourself chief!

Im goin on the men and women i would know and the women lie and exagerate more than the blokes!I also have more bloke mates aswell!

All depends on who you know to be honest!Id say overall it would be relatively even!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

Maximilian wrote:
    Objectively speaking, women are all lying b!tches without exeption.
    well! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Men tell more little lies but women are much more likely to lie about something big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

i dunno gals tell loadsa lil lies eg:boyfriend:what do ya want 4 christmas?
    girl:i dont want anything 4 christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

I think the immortal words of Chris Rock come to play here - think it goes something like this:

"You know what? Women are the biggest liars in the world. They lie about everything, man — their age, height, skin colour, hair… name it. And you know what’s the biggest lie of ’em all? This is your baby!"

or

"A man's lie would be something like "I'm going to my friend's house" when he really means "I'm off out on the piss". A woman's lie would be something like "It's your baby".

This part was the killer for me - To paraphrase;
    "Women are the biggest liars... yall wear make up - your face don't look like that, yall wear high heels - yall ain't that tall, yall wear wonderbras - yo breasts ain't that big... and yall expect us to tell the truth!?"

I rest my case :D

::: ven0mous :::

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Its clear to me now that there are some women here masquerading as men. lying b*tches. ...and sly, so sly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I notice the topic/poll says "Men or Woman". Why is men plural and woman singular?

Any woman in particular, Meditraitor? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Oh my, the vitriol flying about is most wonderful.

Lying is spread fairly evenly throughout genders.

Intelligent, good people don't lie, or at least make the effort not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

That's Life! magazine survey (Dec 9 2004) questioned 5,000 women, average age 38, across England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland on their attitudes to truth, relationships, and behaviour.

# The overwhelming majority (96%) admit to lying.
    # Almost half (45%) of the 5,000 questioned told the researchers for That's Life! magazine they tell lies most days.
    # Half of all women would lie to their husbands or partners to keep their relationship going if they became pregnant by another man, a survey said today.
    # Figures showed one woman in two would not tell her man that the baby she was carrying was not his - if she wanted to stay with him.
    # They also said four out of ten (42%) would lie about contraception in order to get pregnant, in spite of the wishes of their partner.
    # Eight out of ten women (83%) admit to telling "big, life-changing lies", with 13% saying they do so frequently.
    # Partners (70%) are most likely to be lied to by women, with friends (65%), parents (64%), customers and clients (58%) and bosses (57%) also being deceived.
    # Six out of ten (57%) admitted to stealing something, while one in four had taken from their parents. A quarter (23%) would "sneak a bottle or two" home if they were invited to a party by a well-off friend.
    # Half (49%) would "kiss and tell" to the media for £25,000 if they had a one-night stand with a celebrity, and 38% say they would marry purely for money. 23% would allow their man to sleep with another woman for £50,000.
    # Meanwhile, some 79% have got drunk at the office Christmas party, while a third admit to "getting off with someone they don't fancy" and 5% have ended up having sex with the boss.
    # An alarming 31% of all women say they would not tell a future partner if they had a sexual disease. This rises for 65% for single women.
    # Nearly half (46%) fake orgasms and more than half (55%) claim they are tired, have a headache, or feel ill to "get out of lovemaking".
    # A fifth of women with a long-term partner (19%) say they have cheated on him by having an affair, while 30% of all women have had an affair with a married man.
    # Most women (68%) do not trust their partner.

Interesting
    # Most women (68%) do not trust their partner.

Got to laugh your ass off the irony of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Trigger! wrote:
    7 votes and theyre all for women!

Especting a female outrage any minute now! :D

Rant rant rant such an outrage rant rant...oh wait, I don't actually care! :p Tbh everyone lies, and everyone lies about different things. I don't know myself if one sex is worse then the other, or what the story is. Would be interesting if they did a suvey among men and women in UCD just to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Women in management are the worst by far.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Psychopaths, whom wish to lie, and wish to get away with such an act, are the best or "biggest" liars.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Hang on, a survey about lying... does anyone see a possible glitch in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Ida

I think it's just different types of lying and both genders are equally fulll of sh1t. How about: who can justify it better? Cause they'll be the ones most likely to say they lie the least too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

a guy would most likley say...
    sure honey, you look okay

Haha if you said she looked "okay" your guarenteed to hear her reply "what do you mean ok" , "only ok". Your supposed to say "you look ****ing great babe".

Women I think are the biggest liars. They are more inclined to tell far bigger lies than men and are much better liars than we are. We just don't catch them out half the time so it makes it seem like men tell more lies.

Just read the likes of the female versions of fhm to see what they really get up to.
    Intelligent, good people don't lie, or at least make the effort not to.

I think intelligent people lie more.

And in regards to white lies!

Blokes really dont hear them or need to really!we dont ask women if we look fat in these jeans/does our hair look good/what your thinking of/yadda yadda yadda!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

*adele* wrote:
    well! :(

awww hugs..........

i think though women lie a bit more, i find men will lie about the little things sometimes maybe lots of little things, but women lie about the big things! or at least the women i've known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Different strokes for different folks.
    Both genders lie, and equally they both lie about big and small issues.
    Also, that survey, if it was carried out in London, would only reflect the worst city in the UK for honesty.
    I think some silly survey in the Sun once said that out of all of the cities in the UK, London had a rate of 4 out of every 5 women had cheated on a partner or some such ****.

But then again, theres Lies, Damn lies and Statistics.
    => women are statistical :D

Doodee wrote:
    But then again, theres Lies, Damn lies and Statistics.
    => women are statistical :D

Jaysus, Everythings a feckin lie!

How do we know your really Doodee!?!?! ;)

Ive told a lie allready today! :o:p:D

HARDY HAR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

TmB wrote:
    I notice the topic/poll says "Men or Woman". Why is men plural and woman singular?

Any woman in particular, Meditraitor? :)

The woman must ahve been my english teacher,,, missspell