Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cocaine Epidemic

• 19-12-2004 3:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭

It seems every man and his dog are "on the sniff" thesedays...in Jurys in Ballsbridge last nite @ the works office party in the jacks the amount of people who seemed to be doing it was staggering,seems to have taken over from E as the nations drug of choice (asides from hash) comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

i do the odd mind alterating drugs here and there and tbh cocaine is the biggest waste of money ever, I dont understand how people still do that sh*t,but you are right there is a lot more people doing it these days then say,this time last decade,probably because of the fact that it is becoming cheaper/easier to get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Definately agree, even up here in Fermanagh its everywhere, it seemed to arrive here in 1 massive go, it was rare as hell for ages, then suddenly it just appeared everywhere, wierd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Yup tis everywhere. Thank god im poor...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Thank god I'm not a druggy.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

ah yeah, charlie is all the rage these days. i here its what all the kids are looking for off santa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Yeah I was gonna post a thread about this a few weeks back. I've used various rec. drugs for ages in the club scene and smoked weed forever but I never came across the marching powder too often.
    Anyway, having come back onto the scene after a 2 yr hiatus (including from alcohol) I was shocked at the amount, age and class of people taking coke. It really is everywhere, and seems to be accepted as an "okay" thing to do, in comparison to other drugs. Have to say that it's acceptance has to have some sort of bizarre logic to do with the high price and the drug's holywood status.

A mate of mine offered me a bit and I've taken a bit more since then. Definitely highly addictive, definitely a huge waste of money, even as far as drugs go. The only positive I could come up with about in comparison to other uppers was the fact that I didn't feel like complete crap the next days; no drug-hangover, depression, etc. I'm sure with regular usage that would quickly change though.

Big find in Naas the other day will f**k a lot of people's xmas up too. Expect anyone with a large habit to have a long face or a very empty pocket on NYE...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

If you get decent stuff it's not a waste of money in comparison to other drugs it's just most people havent a clue and get ripped off by being sold 90% glucose.

It doesnt leave you as recked as pills would, I do it every few months and the next time I intend on doing it will be New years eve, it's nice to splash out on now and again.

I am MAN wrote:
    If you get decent stuff it's not a waste of money in comparison to other drugs it's just most people havent a clue and get ripped off by being sold 90% glucose.

It doesnt leave you as recked as pills would, I do it every few months and the next time I intend on doing it will be New years eve, it's nice to splash out on now and again.

The stuff I've taken while no more than 60% pure was not "90% glucose".
    I still thought it a waste of money from the perspective that you've only a few lines gone and you're storming for more. And more. And more. Basically you'll take it till it's gone and you can't get more. And that's great, until you can get more...
    A gram or so between a couple of people is fine once in a while; it's keeping to that regiéme that might be a bit tougher for a lot of folk.

The other side to the "coke epidemic" is when we start to see more and more people turning to base or crack; a lot more damaging and more highly addictive as well as being a cheaper form for dealers to produce...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

The facts remain that most coke in this country is basically crap and cut to bits,rarely (unless you actually know a drugs baron) will you get pure uncut coke,ive done it myself several times,ultimately it is a waste of money though,although when i was in NYC stuff i got there was really strong and cheap $50 for what seemed like 2 grams..here its all €100 bags and above,ill probably indugle again on NYE and after that wont bother again for a long time,even though there was a massive seizure a few days ago i dont think there will be a shortage,thats only a small percentage of the stuff thats flooding the country,what i do find disturbing however is the amount of teenagers doing copious amounts of it,around my area it seems every youngfella is doing it and its widely available,jaysus smoking the odd spliff was as far as i went when i was a teenager..how the times have changed eh..... :confused:

A gram between a few people? I wouldnt waste my time, when I do splash out on it I get 100 euro's worth for myself

I get great stuff that deffiently isnt a waste of time thats why I dont have the same views.

Jaysus Jonny68, we get ripped off for everything else in this country; what made you think it'd be cheaper to buy here than in the 'States where they virtually have land borders with countries it's produced in? ;)

On the subject of major finds affecting overall supply: no mattern what, the amount found in Naas the other day was very significant especially on an island with a populace of 5.5mil (?) and will ahve a telling affect IMO. Sure there's other hoardes, gangs and suppliers out there but if this guy was one of the bigger players it could have a major impact at a time of year when demand will be huge.

I am MAN wrote:
    A gram between a few people? I wouldnt waste my time, when I do splash out on it I get 100 euro's worth for myself

I get great stuff that deffiently isnt a waste of time thats why I dont have the same views.

My "gram between a couple of people" remark was a generalisation. What you do is your own business; it's your nose.
    Plus I never said anything about it being a waste of time, unless you're one of these people that equate time directly to money...

err uhh emm, yeah thats it

I am MAN wrote:

is there even such a thing as grams being sold anymore?it all seems to be €100 bags

Yeah it's getting rare alright

On a related note, I love how the Garda press office put a street value on kilos in terms of €100+ per gm. Hence a kilo comes out at €100,000+ when in actual fact it probably won't generate 50% of that money in the time it spends between dealer's stashes and floating around punters nasal cavities.
    Makes it seem like they really are winning the war on drugs.
    I mean €15 for a pill? Aye, dead on... :rolleyes:

haha yeah, Detective Paddy Molloy has found a million euro worth of pills in a coffee jar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Ireland really is a pays de cocagne then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

loads of people taking cocaine in these parts too

waste of money tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

As above, it's just gotten so easy to get hold of (and cheap) over the past few years. I know several people who'll buy a couple of eightballs, flog it in grams and 100 bags, and basically end up with a couple of grams of free coke. It's very much barging into the club scene (to its detriment, IMO) despite the fact that a tenner will get you a couple of good yokes that will probably give you a better time than €50's worth of coke. :confused:

I'm expecting the threads with people asking is it legally OK to import coca seeds and grow plants in their attics to appear on AH sometime in early '05...

Sico wrote:
    As above, it's just gotten so easy to get hold of (and cheap) over the past few years. I know several people who'll buy a couple of eightballs, flog it in grams and 100 bags, and basically end up with a couple of grams of free coke. It's very much barging into the club scene (to its detriment, IMO) despite the fact that a tenner will get you a couple of good yokes that will probably give you a better time than €50's worth of coke. :confused:

And there's the really worrying aspect to the whole thing;
    People becoming class A dealers to "basically end up with a couple of grams of free coke".
    Do we expect the law to change to go easier on these guys simply because they are only looking to score a free buzz? Legally standing if I pass you a coke spoon I'm classed as supplying. I don't know if there are mandatory sentences for Cl A drug supply here but with the way things are going there could very well be.
    Not so free then eh?

On your point about it being on the club scene; mI've not been proper clubbing in years but I can imagine. Got to agree on your point about the yokes too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

despite what dealers will try and tell you, finding 60% pure coke is a good find these days, with most of it being stuck somehwere firmly in the 30-60% pure mark.

a tenth of a gram of 'pure' (>90%) coke would leave most people wondering which way is up, so don't believe everything you're told by your dealer. he's not going to be the most trustworthy person on the planet now is he?

I've had good and I've had bad in my time, but I've had none for a long time, but I'm away to Tenerife for the new year, so I may look up some old friends for a white christmas while I'm there. It wouldn't be my first at any rate! ;)

Yep studies have shown that most Irish coke is around the 30% mark, read that in a news paper a while back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Wertz wrote:
    On a related note, I love how the Garda press office put a street value on kilos in terms of €100+ per gm. Hence a kilo comes out at €100,000+ when in actual fact it probably won't generate 50% of that money in the time it spends between dealer's stashes and floating around punters nasal cavities.
    If it was still to undergo at least one more cut to the 30-40% pure mark, the pricing was probably accurate. If it was 90% pure the pricing was probably highly conservative. You never know with the cops though I remember the Slate (when it was still around) slagging them off all the time for the ridiculous cash figures they put on drugs seizures.

Quote from a movie whose name I forget:
    News Reporter: Cocaine with an estimated street value of five million dollars was seized today.
    Drug Dealer: Man I'd love to find that street.

that's most street coke, not just in ireland.

anyone that tries to tell you any different is either trying to sell it to you or full of 'it'. ;)

there's always one though telling everyone how they know someone who knows someone who can get the 'best' coke possible.

i had a farty little line once off a spanish mate who's cousin had just (and i know it sounds like i'm making this up, but i'm not i swear) come over from bolivia with a little personal stash for him that he was kind enough to share.

anyway, farty little line, and i looked it him like he was taking the piss. he tells me to reserve judgement till after giving me the 'cousin from bolivia' line and 30 seconds later i can't feel my face. :D

he claimed it was around 80-85% and after that experience I'd be inclined to believe him. he then does a very spanish thing of putting a line on a cigarette with half the filter torn out and passes it to me. i really didn't know which way was up for a good 10 minutes.

the one and only time i've had it above and beyond the normal, and you get a bit of a feeling of what it's supposed to be like instead of snorting baby laxatives all night. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Yeh lots more people seem to be doing a few lines of the librarians helper these days. It just keeps appearing at parties and the like. Never tried it tbh but one of these days...

See we need the legal highs forum so people know there's alternatives out there naturally ;)

i think half the fun of it is that it's not legal.

i htink ireland has gotten into it's mid twenties rebellious letting it's hari down stage, and this 'drug culture' is just part of the package.

as usual the establishment will fight it and make it worse whilst doing it off the backs of their secretaries behind closed doors.

all this crap just say no to drugs is silly when thousands every weekend just say YES,you need to educate people from an early age about drugs,if you jusy say to a teenager to "just say no" the chances are he/she will the the opposite..education is whats required...