Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some US Customs advice

• 16-12-2004 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

I'm coming back from Boston tomorrow and just need a little advice for customs on the other side... while I was here I did a good bit of clothes shopping - say around $550 in all, I know the craic with taking tags off and getting rid of receipts, but even so, are they going to enquire about why I have so much stuff (new)?
    Or do they just buy the line that I had it all coming over?
    I know you are allowed €175 of gifts ~ $230 so that should cover nearly half of the purchases...

p.s been trying to get my hands on an mini ipod over here and they're like gold dust - everywhere is sold out!! I guess it the same as the PS2 at home!!

thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Bass.exe

"What gifts? They were in that bag when I got here!"
    I wouldn't worry too much about U.S. Customs... just don't go doing something stupid, like declaring them, when you get back here....

Oh, and if you are really worried... wear lots of layers of clothes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭dublin_apache

Yo hefty_langer (lol),

I just got back from NY my-self last week. My-self and my family bought a fair bit of stuff, presants etc including a PS2, and we posted most of the items to here.

That might be an option for ya, just put "GIFT" on the packages if you post them... But saying that we didn't have any problems coming back to Ireland and we flew from Buffalo to Chicargo to London to Dublin...

We just used hand luaggage, lol which was 1&1/2 hudge bags of clothes each...

Well I got stopped once in Chicargo because they taught my ipod speakers was a bomb ... :D

[Edit] That reminds me... Would this interest ya ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

nice 1 lads - thought as much...
    I probs could get away with 10 layers of clothes coz the temp here didn't get over -12C yesterday!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

nice 1 lads - thought as much...
    I probs could get away with 10 layers of clothes coz the temp here didn't get over -12C yesterday!!!

They only care if its for reselling and it's obviously not as you have removed tags/packaging etc and it's for personal use, you'll be cool you don't need to cover! they're not the KGB!!

Tell em the euro is real stong & you picked up a few extra bargains on your trip!

All the best & safe trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

Got back from NY myself last week too and like everybody else on the plane we all had loads of bags packed with loads of cheap goodies. Customs weren't bothered a bit when we arrived in Dublin - Im sure they know everybody is over doing their shopping and its not worth checking every single person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭garred

Would'nt worry too much...they're looking for more important stuff like drugs, rather than stopping people with shopping.