Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computer components suppliers - Reviews,Opinions,Suggestions

• 25-03-2002 12:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭

BTW, the Crucial URL is wrong too, its http://www.crucial.com/uk/index.asp

Crucial.co.uk are something quite different!

Matt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭ThreadKiller

www.komplett.ie priced in euros & cheaper than all the above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

they are better than Scan

<SCAN_BASHING>
    That wouldn't be hard.

Scan.co.uk are an evil pack of ba$tards who exist to leech the life and of course money of people building PC's.

I will never buy from them again, and I advise anyone else not to either.
    </SCAN_BASHING>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Inspector Gadget

Originally posted by JJSolutions
    check out the following url

http://www.antenna-electronics.com

I did... and I was sorely tempted to get myself a free (well, it would cost me about E5 in P&P) 15 TFT monitor:

http://www.antenna-electronics.com/showproduct.asp?id=91

...I was _so_ tempted to try and order one just to see if it would be possible to "pull a Kodak"...

Gadget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

YES! they're now based in/near Fairview / Malahide Road. Small place. The (sound) girl there said they don't carry tonnes of stuff, mainly get it in to order, so that's why it looks soo unstocked!

<edit> Map

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Mr. Fancypants

How do you get Ebuyer to accept an address outside England? Their prices are so cheap, and they claim to ship to Ireland, but I can't get it to work. Also, www.novatech.co.uk are even cheaper (GF4 Ti4600 : £179 inc vat), but they don't ship to I

Seems like quite a nice site. I was able to register an account by making up a postcode using 5 digits (00008). That then let me manually put in my address. However, under the country options there was only a choice of UK. I sent a note to them asking if they do actually deliver to the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I've used Ebuyer a lot myself and also had problems with the post code.

Just register as REP IRE, I think Eire might work as well. It will still say UK but they will ship to the correct place. I put in about 8 orders with them in the earlier part of the year working out at over 5000 Euro. Their support and delivery was not a patch on Kompletts, although they are mostly even cheaper and have a bigger selection. I use Komplett myself these days though.

By the way if you call customer support and wait about an hour ! they will set your account up for you, thats what they did for me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Hussey

I have used them (Komplett) and their cheapest cd-r is probably cheaper than the other stores but they don't seem to have the range of products. Also the shipping from K is much dearer so all in all CMI are better value.

My opinion anyway.

Hyzepher

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

The delivery I got was FREE as they had a special with free delivery in Dublin - don't know if it is still available as they just launched a newer looking site. I ordered enough to keep me going for a few weeks so haven't ordered since.

As far as I know they ship via SDS so around €5 to €7 depending on weight.

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Up until today i would of reccomended marx-computers in dublin to anyone. But last week i received a lot of goods of them and 2 items turned out to be faulty (case+hdd) so i rang up marx today to see would they replace said goods, i was answered on the fone by a foreigner (so much for buying irish) and he was more than upset that he would have to try and sort this out, all i asked was a courier be sent to pick the stuff up and then they be replaced and delivered back out....all of which sounds reasonable seeing as i just bought the stuff new and hadn't used it cuz it doesn't work. To all this he said he would have to see about it but made it clear its not his problem he sends out dudd equipment. He was suppose to ring me back hours ago but never bothered so i still don't know what is going to happen eventho i have ppl waiting on me to fix a computer with said goods.

So im advising everyone to stay well away from marx, their brilliant when things are going ok but if theirs a problem ur on your own basically....go komplett, their cheaper, quicker and know that its satisfied customers who keep them employed.

/rant

Farlz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 paws

well here's a qualified vote in favour of Marx..

ordered one of their ADSL modems from them...helpful people over phone, both the Dutch guy and the lady (the two I spoke to). Good price for the almost-no-name router.

When we had problems (someone hacked it we suspect), getting any support from the manufacturer was impossible (bad website, tech support number that didn't work...). Phoned up Marx and gave out stink, asked them to help. Took a bit of hassling to get them to do something, but they eventually phoned up their suppliers and found out how to reset the router (no reset button on the damn box, had to short a jumper inside the box).

End result: they're a small co. who sell stuff for good prices, and who will give you a hand if you persuade them (it never turned ugly). They lent us a replacement router while ours was broken. We had to pay for couriers there and back, but as others have mentioned that's not unusual. Profit margins are probably so slim that paying for couriers would wipe out any profit they make.

paws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭dj_deevey

Argos ??? (no stop laughing :D )

who would've thought that (possibly) the cheapest place to buy flat screen TFT's over here would be Argos , there doing (quite a nice looking one) for less than 300 euro (less than i paid for my first one in ALDI)

and yes im a cheapskate, i bought my comp in aldi too y'know

I know now what i can use my chrimbo vouchers for, they have a few other interesting bits n' bobs in there too, wireless network cards etc..

Guess thats the power of bulk buying ..

laters

steve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭dj_deevey

just a quick horror story about Maplin (although i still buy stuff there so no hard feelings)

Customer service sucks....

June/July 2001 (round then anyways) i bought a hard drive... and it fried (after i had trasferred 15 odd gigs of data and progs onto it) it took about 2 weeks to get it replaced (after getting sent back top to the UK).... few weeks later that one fried (i should mention it was a different make n' model) i brought in the case to them that time (which i had also bought there) they tried the HD and sent it back, 3 weeks later i get (yet another) replacement.... this one burns out too...

bear in mind i have now fried three drives, which i had to bring back (and wait for the UK service report) AND made a trip into town (on the bus) with my PC tower so they could see my setup..

end of the day I had to figure out that it was actally the power supply (nope not them) that was intermittant (which got replaced immediatly, for a change, but was told by the manager when i was collecting my forth drive that the sales guy shouldnt have replaced it till that got tested in the UK too :o )

and then.... after neary three months of losing data, and making a number of trips to, and fro.... and installing windoze and all my software, multiple times... i eventually get a working PC.

Buy stuff in maplin by all means... just make sure its cheap enough to ditch if it doesnt work out.... thats my motto anyways

Was it a once off ??? i dunno, but if stuff has to get sent to the UK to "properly" check it out, before replacing it... that really aint good.

night all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭antoinolachtnai

encom are sound enough. They used to (and may still) supply a lot of eircom.net's hardware. Build good PC's. Should be up to delivering a monitor.

a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

Just a quick note on these two companies who seem to be getting a bit of stick. Marx have been nothing but good for me anytime I bought off them - I even had probs with a CPU they sold me and they ordered another immeadiately - the CPU I had turned out fine (the mobo was at fault) and they made no fuss about them being stuck with a 2nd CPU (PIII 900 - hard to shift I'd say...)

Scan.co.uk (or should that be SCAM) are worse than bad - they're ATROCIOUS. Nice looking prices, and if I lived around the corner from them I'd probably still shop there, but their customer service sucks.

I got 2 60GB IBM hdd's off them and one was faulty - returning it was a nightmare. Eventually (after holding for three seperate one hour calls to UK without getting through) I got through to their customer service (not tech support) and DEMANDED to be put through to someone who could give me an RMA number. During this 3 day nightmare I also emailed their sales director and MD (handily listed in their PR blurb as being 'always willign to deal direct with customers') ... despite 10 e-mails each neither of them responded or got anyone else to respond...

Got the RMA number eventually (only cos I fought hard for it) but was so fearful of dealing with them that I rang IBM directly... 10 minutes later I had an IBM RMA number and all was sorted - got new drive in 5 days....

I also use www.Komplett.ie, www.itbdirect.com and www.marx-computers.com

They've all been fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭woolymammoth

have a look at this link Adrian

if you use the menus at the top of the page, go to Community -> Commercial Interaction -> ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

Elara are definetly a good company , have used them a bit and theyre competitive. Should also try Komplett - 2 days delivery and very hard to beat em on price! Got most of my stuff there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 studiomga

Currently trying to build a high spec. system for CAD and 3d renders but I'm finding the Irish pricing an absolute joke, especially when you compare with UK prices and also the ancient / yellow-pack stock that they are trying to sell.

The best I can seem to find is komplett.ie, probably because they are competing on a european level, but again they have a limited range of manufacturers. I found Elara and IT Direct very expensive, sometimes between 25-35% more expensive than Komplett, which is a disgrace.

I think I'll be ordering from the UK, even though a wouldn't mind paying a little extra to support Irish business.

Ding - tried that compgeeks.com site for your radeon 9700, but couldn't find it listed in its stock.... is it sold out????

Whats the story with buying from the US? Do you have to pay anything at customs when it reaches Ireland? That AIW 9700 pro looks good at about E312 inc shipping

It would be ohh so sweet if theres no vat, €312 euro's - guess im goin 2 be stretching my budget a little :) .

Just had a look at marx computers website. I think they have a great idea with their build any spec system for free idea. Unfortunately their range of compoments is very poor and their pricing is out-dated. The lack of basic information on components is also misleading e.g. the Ram (Memory) section doesn't specify its manufacturer, which might indicate a cheap brand. Can't see any bargins here.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 aragornking

I have just discovered this forum, and I think it is great.

I live in the US and I am coming to Eire for a couple of weeks in August. I plan on building a system for a family member there. I was wondering if people had experience ordering/bringing components (some used) from the US from the viewpoint of customs duty.

I am now thinking of picking up a case in Ireland and perhaps a motherboard, and bringing the rest of the components with me.

Thanks.
    Eugene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Originally posted by aragornking
    I have just discovered this forum, and I think it is great.

I live in the US and I am coming to Eire for a couple of weeks in August. I plan on building a system for a family member there. I was wondering if people had experience ordering/bringing components (some used) from the US from the viewpoint of customs duty.

I am now thinking of picking up a case in Ireland and perhaps a motherboard, and bringing the rest of the components with me.

Thanks.
    Eugene

Myself and a friend both built our comps back in december and he said he checked with some customs people and there is only a duty on pre assembled computers, not on components.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Tazzzie

I have had experience with Dawn computers, they sold a great ro-con Gateway 21"monitor to my mate. cheap as, and top quality.

that was some 3 yrs ago tho.....

Tazzzie_ at h otmail.coom the _ is important

There prices are plus vat , ie you have to add 21% to the webpage price. One of my mates had bought a pc from them, they seen decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

^
    hmm, they're selling a dsl router for €0 :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭mayto

have a look at http://www.jes-computer.de/catalog/default.php
    selling pioneer 106 (bulk) dvd burner for 175 euro, plextor 708a retail for 258 euro.,powercolor 9600 pro for 144 euro. its a german site buts its in english. delivery is 17 euro up to 5kg. credit card surcharge of roughly 3.5% . did'nt get anything off them yet but will get a dvd burner soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭WezzyB

Originally posted by parasite
    ^
    hmm, they're selling a dsl router for €0 :/

I noticed that too and was about to report it to them but I realised that they were non-existent products and were only a placeholder for a link to other sections i.e. Routers and Security. But then again it is a bit dumb/unprofessional to do it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 DaemÈn

i get my printer ink of www.dtl.ie it normally comes fairly quickly. they seem to have a good range . they do refurbished monitors and other components too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Originally posted by Davo777
    the url might be useful http://www.km-elektronik.de/ :D

Despite the option for delivery to Ireland on the site, I got the following reply to a query...
    Hello,

thanks for your Mail.

I´m really sorry, but a I have to tell you that we dont deliver our products to Irland.
    Maybe you got some friends here in Germany so they can buy this product for you and send it to Irland.

Greetings from Germany

Ronny Lischke
    - Vertriebsmitarbeiter -
    Aw, how nice :) Pity tho :(

It is what it's.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Originally posted by zep
    Guys,
    Try this german site - Even cheeper that komplett.ie
    Shipping is a little more expensive.
    http://www.jes-computer.de/

Rgds,
    Zep

I ordered from JES a few weeks ago. A bulk NEC 2500a DVD Writer, 10 4x Princo DVDr and delivery (€17 Deutche Poste, Securicor in IRL) all came to €165 which was the best price I seen. Their payment section is odd in that it uses Paypal VPN. I got my delivery anyway, though it did take nearly two weeks, so maybe not a good place if you're in a rush for stuff.

Still, good prices though, and worth considering. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Scenic911

This may be of interest..link at the bottom.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=14093

Scenic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 magicjoey

I normally would have used www.komplett.ie or www.marx.com and found them good with price and service, but have recently used www.computerbits.ie who are Irish and have good after sale service, no problems to report.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Jokah

www.jaguarcompsys.ie

I went out to their place this morning.

Excellent service, cheap prices. Very impressed.

Just thought Id let you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 burmo

I've been looking through all the links posted - noone has come near Komplett's HDD prices. Specifically 160 & 200gig WD's PATA / SATA

I've dealt with Komplett for a few years now and no problems. Any returns were grand and no DOA yet. Fantastic prices, especially for Ireland... 160WD PATA 98euro?!?!

Anyone found anything cheaper?

What about Socket 754 & 939 cpus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭s10

looking at some of the websites posted
    and overclockers.co.uk seem to be the one for me,
    ive been checking everything except grafics card
    and have just been looking at just the computer (no monitor key mouse)
    and they are 5-10 cheaper in the small items 50 pound region
    can anyone find cheaper ???
    looking for a system for a little as poss say 800euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭daveathome_16

nowafflecomputers.ie

ordered a firewire card here..... reasonable price 30 euro including delivery plus video editing software

received order within three days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Found this site whilst looking around for comp parts its got some good links and some bad ones but have a look. http://www.armchair.ie/computers.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Just want to advise all of ye: do NOT order from overclockers.co.uk

Their customer service is non-existant, they have no one manning the phones (it's just a voice mail telling you to e-mail them, it takes them a day to answer an e-mail and you'll get a one-line reply at best. If your items aren't in stock or something's gone wrong it'll take you days to get it sorted because they're so awful at replying to mails, and you can't even pick up the phone and ring them.

Their site lists items that are in stock, but they don't update the site. They charge your card as soon as you order aswell, even if the parts aren't going to be in stock for god-knows-how-long, leaving you screwed if you want to cancel your order and get it somewhere else.

It's going to take forever to get this sorted, they're absolutely useless and won't reply to my mails so I have no idea what's going on at the moment, and all I wanted was my shiny new hardware :(

Seriously people, stay WELL CLEAR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

koneko wrote:

Their customer service is non-existant, they have no one manning the phones (it's just a voice mail telling you to e-mail them, it takes them a day to answer an e-mail and you'll get a one-line reply at best. If your items aren't in stock or something's gone wrong it'll take you days to get it sorted because they're so awful at replying to mails, and you can't even pick up the phone and ring them.

Their site lists items that are in stock, but they don't update the site. They charge your card as soon as you order aswell, even if the parts aren't going to be in stock for god-knows-how-long, leaving you screwed if you want to cancel your order and get it somewhere else.

It's going to take forever to get this sorted, they're absolutely useless and won't reply to my mails so I have no idea what's going on at the moment, and all I wanted was my shiny new hardware :(

I had a similar experience. I got nowhere with them until I wrote a letter to the managing director and sent it registered post to their office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Xithus

koneko wrote:

I had trouble with them before, I was just about to give them another chance now (2x6800GT's :P) but f*** em ill look elsewhere. They sent my shuttle to Belfast the last time I ordered stuff from them, I spent about 20 squid on phonecalls trying to sort it out :rolleyes:

I'm in the process of getting a refund now, for items they didn't have in stock, weren't about to send me, but charged me for anyway. It'll probably takes ages.

Of course, it took me nearly a week to find out they didn't have stock (despite what their site said) because u can't contact them by phone, and it takes them a day to give you a one-line unhelpful e-mail reply.

On the other hand, I can give praise to www.over-clock.co.uk
    They're super-friendly, customer service oriented, smaller company though so not as much product or stock, but if they have what you want, by all means order from them. They're really helpful. And nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

10 out of 10 for www.marx-computers.com

I ordered a hard drive yesterday and it arrived this morning. They're not the cheapest, but their customer service and delivery speed are second to none.

The shop is near the malahide road / fairview junction. It's really only for picking stuff up that you already know you want from the website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭jk2001

As for the 3rd grade stuff.. I think you'll find that every shop sells products at different prices and qualities. As with everything else, it may be worthwhile paying a bit more to get a better rated product. Often it's a matter of a few € only. I for one have no probs with s4m, have the largest selecting in this country anyway. Customer service seems to be good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭davie_b

DnaDog wrote:
    i have looked right through this thread as i am wanting to buy a few computers and have tried all the links but have not found anything as cheap as dell.ie and they offer free delivery.

just my 2 penneth
    have you got a clue?????
    dell?!
    check whats in a dell,
    pure dirt.
    feck all ram
    celeron processor
    with intergrated ''xtreme'' graphics (must stand for gawd awfull!!!)
    generally a 56k modem.

going in circles or going in circles the dell way :D

Tbh though Davie, if someone hasn't a clue about PCs they're probably better off buying from Dell, and they won't notice the difference anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭davie_b

koneko wrote:
    Tbh though Davie, if someone hasn't a clue about PCs they're probably better off buying from Dell, and they won't notice the difference anyway...

100 %
    just couldn't beleive the cheek!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Darwin

www.rlsupplies.co.uk
    Reasonable post and prices & good quality

Good prices, but very poor communication. They don't show stock levels on their site. They also allowed me to order a discontinued motherboard and then held up my order saying the item was out of stock. My emails were ignored so I had to ring three times to get it sorted out. Arrrgh - I think I'll pay the extra and go with Komplett instead in future.
    Btw Planetmicro seem good value for cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

There's loads of dead links and people asking inane questions from many months ago on this thread. Mod's - this thread can *really* do with some pruning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Would have to agree, but my god there is a lot of questions out there asked and loads of replies tahat a few hrs running through all this stuff.
    Man for the lads(MODS) that would ba a hole in the head :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 tursiops

Hello,

I am searching for a shop where I can buy a cpu in dulbin. Do you know any?

Thank you!