Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crap jobs @ christmas...

• 10-12-2004 5:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭

While making my way to work in the pissing rain this morning, I passed some old guy on a paddy bike with a sack of post that santa himself would have had a hard time carrying, battling a stiff breeze.
    It got me to thinking what a crap job being a postie is at this joyous time of year. Then I thought of what might be worse and came up with a shortlist.
    They are in no particular order:

Taxi driver (drunken customers, puke, traffic etc)

Postman (rain, large mailsacks, interent shoppers)

Accident and Emergency Nurse/Doctor (at any time of the year is hard enough)

Barman/Waiter (wave goodbye to your social life, say "hello!" to drunken f**ks that only drink at this time of year)

Garda (well the poor f**ks who have to walk a beat)

ESB electrician (storm callouts are as traditional as mince pies)

Single parent (OK not technically a "Job" but it's tougher than most especially now)

If you do any of the above jobs then you have my utmost respect.
    Feel free to add to the list, or bitch and whine about why YOUR job sucks at yuletide...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭cyberbob

bin man , espiceally the ones who wheel those manky electric trollys around in all weather

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

the santa at ur local shopping centre man that would drive me nuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Pennys. You could spend an hour fixing clothes and arranging them nice, then 2 people come in and throw them everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

the guys whose job it is the remove the "special" bins from the ladies toilets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Wertz wrote:
    Barman/Waiter (wave goodbye to your social life, say "hello!" to drunken f**ks that only drink at this time of year)
    Yes Christmas working in a pub absolutely blows!

Thank Christ I'll be finishing up on the 18th... Maybe I'll call in on New Years and rub it in their faces!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

tesco. trust me.
    the shopping never ends. ENOUGH WITH THE CONSUMING ALREADY.
    *groans*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭annette curtain

i do bar work and althouht its not perfect i think its quite cool, you get to earn money have a ball, you still get to keep the social aspect cause welol where i work nrway your right in the middle of all the fun and the christmas buzz! plus you have to have a few "after hour" christmas drinks!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

i do bar work and althouht its not perfect i think its quite cool, you get to earn money have a ball, you still get to keep the social aspect cause welol where i work nrway your right in the middle of all the fun and the christmas buzz! plus you have to have a few "after hour" christmas drinks!!!
    I did bar in a former life and felt the same way (blinded by youth), but TBH it was a lot less hectic in the bar trade back then compared to these days.
    If you can get good days off then I spose it's not so bad but IMO it still sucks.

Oh and tesco looked pretty quiet here today, but then it does have to compete with Sainsburys in Newry. (now the guys that stock the beer shelves in that place DO have the xmas job from hell)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Having to tell every second person who comes in the door...
    "No, we're sold out of PS2 consoles."
    Grr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭cyberbob

ah pish !
    try working on a farm .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Seraphina wrote:
    tesco. trust me.
    *groans*

ahh back in the day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Shops.... people bitch and moan that you're going to be open christmas day, then they are the first people to walk through the door at 10Am.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Lump wrote:
    Shops.... people bitch and moan that you're going to be open christmas day, then they are the first people to walk through the door at 10Am.

John

what shops this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Barrie

Argos at this time of year help!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Statoil I used to work in.

John

cyberbob wrote:
    ah pish !
    try working on a farm .
    well heres one fer yas i live on a farm so have to do farm work all day (to earn my keep) so my daddy says and then when i finished that i have to go work in a pub!
    ha any takers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Wertz wrote:

Taxi driver (drunken customers, puke, traffic etc)

I'd love to be a Taxi driver at Christmas! They must be pulling in a couple of grand a week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Bulletin Board Admin staff! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Pinkchick03

Seraphina wrote:
    tesco. trust me.
    *groans*
    Here here! Worked in dunnes for 3 years - did my head in - working with Christmas music from the middle of November, people panicing because shops closed for two days - well not so much nowadays - on Christmas day you will generally find a shop open - which IMHO is ridiculous! It is scandlous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Having to tell every second person who comes in the door...
    "No, we're sold out of PS2 consoles."
    Grr.

Perhaps a sign saying:

SOLD OUT OF PS2

may help you???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

You'd be surprised at how stupid some people can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

believe me i know... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I always kind of enjoyed Christmas when I was working in Dunnes, granted I was earning hand over fist because it was double-time after midnight and we rarely got out before 5/6am because the shelves were so empty :)

I reckon the hardest job at Christmas has to be having no job at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

You'd be surprised at how stupid some people can be.
    "Sure maybe you've got one hidden away in the storeroom for especially needy customers. Please please, my son has his heart set on one"
    Sleepy wrote:
    I reckon the hardest job at Christmas has to be having no job at all...
    I would tend to agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

The Samaritans
    Must have thier work cut out for them this time of year.
    I'd say it takes quite a positive outlook on life or strong spirit to be able to listen to a hundred thousand reasons to top yourself every day.
    Fair f*king play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Perhaps a sign saying:

SOLD OUT OF PS2

may help you???

ampmoment.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

SantaHoe wrote:
    The Samaritans
    Must have thier work cut out for them this time of year.
    I'd say it takes quite a positive outlook on life or strong spirit to be able to listen to a hundred thousand reasons to top yourself every day.
    Fair f*king play to them.
    I'm ashamed of myself for not even considering that. Jesus, it's a sh*te job at any time of year but at a time when loneliness and poverty bring it all back home to people who use the Samaritans, it's got to be a vocation more than a job.

Obviously not having a job at this time of year is a pisser (having been in that boat many's a time over the years) but TBH there are 2 types of unemployed; those that can't and those that won't. Unfortunately it's the latter who keep us from pitying the former as much as we should at christmas...

To whoever said "Farmer", I'd have said that that's a crap job ALL year. Why does xmas make it any differnet (unless you farm turkeys? ;) )...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Take it

i work as a barman and generally dont mind working christmas everyones in good form, i work nearly every christmas eve i love the athmosphere but i hate it when we have to close the bar and people give you the "but its christmas" (yea but i want to have a christmas aswell!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

That's true. People in bars don't seem to realise barmen have lives too...

yeah i agree!
    people think we're not human and dont mind people yelling at us but
    I have said so many times and i'm sure i'll say it again if people scream and shout at me behind the bar they'll get their drink last but if they order and say something nice like when you gat a chance they get theirs first!!